Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

George Floyd dies after police knelt on his neck (MOD NOTE IN POST #1)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Tasfasdf

Why would they mention slavery if it wasn't brought up by the other person? You think black people go around getting angry and shouting about slavery all the time? As I said, it's all guesswork because none of us were there.

Why would black irish even bring up slavery ffs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭2u2me

Tasfasdf wrote: »

Saw it on the news.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,657 ✭✭✭✭nullzero

Tasfasdf wrote: »

As the saying goes, a little knowledge is a dangerous thing.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,982 ✭✭✭MeMen2_MoRi_

The perception is that it is black lads beating on a white guy, that was the reason why it was posted on this thread!!

Yet there is zero evidence of the attackers being black!!
    I said when it was posted, one of the attackers hands appears early in the clip, it looks like a white hand.

Why would they mention slavery if it wasn't brought up by the other person? You think black people go around getting angry and shouting about slavery all the time? As I said, it's all guesswork because none of us were there.

Yeah lads. Give the attackers the benefit of the doubt. It's probably the white guy who got beaten up's fault.

Can't believe you would be so racist... White guy had privileged ideals

The perception is that it is black lads beating on a white guy, that was the reason why it was posted on this thread!!

I said when it was posted, one of the attackers hands appears early in the clip, it looks like a white hand.

With that said, countless people have clamoured to defend their actions and cite mitigating circumstances because of the perception of them being black, they must have had a "good reason" to engage in assaulting another person.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users Posts: 22,625 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

nullzero wrote: »
    The notion that somebody deserves to be beaten to the ground and then kicked for any reason is repugnant.

Let's say for arguments sake that this young lad in limerick is a steaming racist and unloaded a diatribe against his assailants, do his actions in turn necessitate, or justify the reaction of violence, and violence that continues when the person on the receiving end is in a prone position on the ground?

Had a group of white youths participated in the same behaviour with a black youth on the receiving end of the violent attack would we be citing mitigating circumstances?

Violence is unacceptable in a civilized society. It cannot be justified in any setting. It isn't some sort of a la carte system in which you can pick and choose the type of situations and participants where violence is acceptable. Anyone defending this on a thread which is based on an act of violence against an innocent person should be taking a good long look at themselves. Grow up.

It's easy to say all this when you're sitting comfortably behind a laptop. I assume you've never been the victim of racist abuse? I don't condone violence but to me, calling someone a n****r or some other racist language IS an act of violence against that person. Violence can be psychological as well as physical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭shaveAbullock

Yes it is unclear what race the cameraman is all we know is the attacker was black and the guy attacked was white

095ab5a6460c392e07345bf4114dcec4.png

The shouting about slavery would indicate that race was the motive for the attack.

It's easy to say all this when you're sitting comfortably behind a laptop. I assume you've never been the victim of racist abuse? I don't condone violence but to me, calling someone a n****r or some other racist language IS an act of violence against that person. Violence can be psychological as well as physical.

I hold the same values as that poster and I have been the victim of racist abuse actually so you can take your assumption back.

You shouldn't make assumptions like that.

It's quite narrow minded and shows that you are prejudiced.

Are you willing to apologise?

The worst brutality I've seen is this video, he's been peppered sprayed and then gets shot in the face with something from close range.

https://v.redd.it/w6gbykiyqg251

That chap is far from innocent. I mean he walked up cool as you like and flicked a cigarette at them? Even when pepper sprayed he just turned around and still didn't leave.

Doesn't give the police the right to shoot him with a rocket, but if he acts like this in times like this; I have little sympathy for him.

If the police, who might be on edge, allow one person to come near them the whole crowd might join in. It's riot control.

I hold the same values as that poster and I have been the victim of racist abuse actually so you can take your assumption back.

You shouldn't make assumptions like that.

It's quite narrow minded and shows that you are prejudiced.

Are you willing to apologise?

Nope, no apology but fair play on not reacting violently to the racist abuse you suffered.

The shouting about slavery would indicate that race was the motive for the attack.

Surely it's a bit early to call an 'attack'. I would bet pennies to pounds this was staged.

Remember the grenfell tower effigy, sometimes idiots just see things on the news and want to do something edgy.

I'll eat my words if proven wrong, but if this was recent and not staged it'd be all over social media in this current climate.

Yes it is unclear what race the cameraman is all we know is the attacker was black and the guy attacked was white

095ab5a6460c392e07345bf4114dcec4.png

The possibility is its white/black attacking a white?

If it's a case of black on white, it's racism plain and simple from the words spoken as idiotic they are, it's racism and should be dealt with.

I'm sitting with my phone in my hand to be exact.

Calling somebody a name is verbal abuse. When the name calling is racist it is racist abuse of a verbal nature. If somebody is then physically attacked because of their ethnicity that is an act of racial violence.

There is no basis in which the actions recorded in the video in question can be excused as being a reaction of equal severity to the supposed provocation.

As it happens I have been on the receiving end of xenophobic insults at the hands of British people in the past (I'm sure I'm hardly alone in this). Those people were idiots and don't represent the majority of people in their country, and I would not have been justified in assaulting them as a consequence of their actions. But I suppose being Irish and called names on that basis and being accused of being a terrorist isn't as bad as having a different skin colour in your eyes.

Just to clarify, do you support the assault carried out in the video in question?
    Do you feel it was justified?

Glazers Out!

2u2me wrote: »
    Surely it's a bit early to call an 'attack'. I would bet pennies to pounds this was staged.

Remember the grenfell tower effigy, sometimes idiots just see things on the news and want to do something edgy.

I'll eat my words if proven wrong, but if this was recent and not staged it'd be all over social media in this current climate.

Did you see the kicks he was taking to the head? Impossible that it was staged. However there are no legitimate source on what exactly happened except for what is seen in the video.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,222 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

Was the death of George Floyd radically motivated or was there something else that made the accused keep his knee on his throat for that length?

They did know each other and surely the right thing to do is wait till all facts come out. I'm in no way condoning the death of this man, the use of force was terrible.

Was the death of George Floyd radically motivated or was there something else that made the accused keep his knee on his throat for that length?

They did know each other and surely the right thing to do is wait till all facts come out. I'm in no way condoning the death of this man, the use of force was terrible.

From what I've seen over the past few days with police firing rubber bullets at point blank range at people I think it's a policing issue in the US more than a race issue.

Did you see the kicks he was taking to the head? Impossible that it was staged. However there are no legitimate source on what exactly happened except for what is seen in the video.

There was one kick that looked real, but it's so blurry and fuzzy, it could just be good acting.

Violence is unacceptable in a civilized society. It cannot be justified in any setting. It isn't some sort of a la carte system in which you can pick and choose the type of situations and participants where violence is acceptable. Anyone defending this on a thread which is based on an act of violence against an innocent person should be taking a good long look at themselves. Grow up.

There's some gang of angels on this thread. Fair play to ye all. I'm sure you'd all be this calm and self righteous if you found yourselves in a similar situation as those in the video. Alot don't seem to have a problem with the police going around kicking the **** of innocent protestors though. Funny that.

There was one kick that looked real, but it's so blurry and fuzzy, it could just be good acting.

Is this the video?

https://twitter.com/dementeddivil/status/1268673939670216705?s=20

3 strong kicks at the start very clear with the third one defiantly strong enough to cause a concussion. After that we can only hear and not see what's happening.

There's some gang of angels on this thread. Fair play to ye all. I'm sure you'd all be this calm and self righteous if you found yourselves in a similar situation as those in the video. Alot don't seem to have a problem with the police going around kicking the **** of innocent protestors though. Funny that.

Have I defended police brutality once on this thread?
    Get your facts straight before you start making generalisations please.

If most people found themselves in the situation in the video, most people would not react by recording a video of a lone individual being savagely beaten. Most people wouldn't because most people know that type of action isn't acceptable.

Do you feel it is acceptable?

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,792 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

I shared a pic yesterday of the guy in a wheel chair, I was sure that there'd be video of the incidence, I've yet to see anything of it, it happened in LA from the info of the pic, has anyone seen anything of it?

The worst brutality I've seen is this video, he's been peppered sprayed and then gets shot in the face with something from close range.

https://v.redd.it/w6gbykiyqg251

There's also the one where the young guy is stood on the embankment of a highway and gets shot in the head with something, The attacks on reporters is something that should not be forgotten about either, these incidents are the lowest of the low, they are there to record the events unfolding not be the story, yet it has happened a lot more and deliberately because of the actions of the police.

i dont want to click into that - thats prob some of the problem. i dont like seeing cruelty.

i saw one vid where the arrestee ( what do you call someone being arrested), had his hands up over his head, and a cop took a flying kick into his back knocking the man over, where he was pounced on by a 2 more. this in in the last 2 months.

this is the only vid i could find of it, so apologies for that:

is it a case that a lot of the people that go into the police force in the US are trigger happy? i'm trying to think of a comparison. the only one i can think of is an addict (drugs,gambling, alcohol). they go to the casino to fulfill their gambling needs (gamble a bit) rather than gambling away their own house (kill someone) - after reading this before posting, its prob a senseless point :pac:

now that i think, i wonder how many cops are ex military, or people who failed to get into the military. I suspect a good portion. Like, if youre not sound to defend the country from foreign invaders, no way should you be allowed police the citizens.

Just to clarify, do you support the assault carried out in the video in question?
    Do you feel it was justified?

When you provide a video with the full account of what happened, I'll answer then. If the person on the ground threw the first punch or kick, was the other person entitled to defend himself? You don't know what happened and neither do I so no point continuing this discussion any further.

Cameraman is white

c1c5e5a0e43d47c1d72396ea9f2398d9.png

• Registered Users Posts: 16,792 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

ETA: at least it was a taser

With that said, countless people have clamoured to defend their actions and cite mitigating circumstances because of the perception of them being black, they must have had a "good reason" to engage in assaulting another person.

It's a mute point on this thread, I don't condone violence to a point, that's for another thread!

This thread is about or was about police brutality, it then turned into a steaming sh!t show of near everything. This clip that was posted was from a white supremacist Twitter account and the poster who posted it I viewed it as stirring ****, I'm still not fully convinced, I accept the recent pic posted that there is a bit more merit that it is black on white ie racism, it's disgusting! I hope they're found, and prosecuted under racism laws as well as the physical violence they inflicted.

Cameraman is white

What I was thinking! Thank you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭bloodless_coup

Cameraman is white

Race traitor.

Nope, no apology but fair play on not reacting violently to the racist abuse you suffered.

Why no apology? Are you not sorry that you are prejudiced?

That chap is far from innocent. I mean he walked up cool as you like and flicked a cigarette at them? Even when pepper sprayed he just turned around and still didn't leave.

Doesn't give the police the right to shoot him with a rocket, but if he acts like this in times like this; I have little sympathy for him.

If the police, who might be on edge, allow one person to come near them the whole crowd might join in. It's riot control.

The use of logic... It's really lacking here