Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Youtubers

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,666 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Odelay wrote: »
    Out of interest, anyone here with their own youtube channels?

There's a few alright, if you do a search for 110-90 you never know what you might find.....
    heldel00 wrote: »
    I haven't read through the whole forum yet but just wondering are these farming youtubers suitable for children??
    We have a tractor/ farming mad 5 year old and he watches farming simulator on YouTube but i know he'd love some real-life videos.

When you upload a video you get an option to say whether it's suitable for children or not, so I presume if you search you probably have the option of avoiding swear words.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,219 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

heldel00 wrote: »
    I haven't read through the whole forum yet but just wondering are these farming youtubers suitable for children??
    We have a tractor/ farming mad 5 year old and he watches farming simulator on YouTube but i know he'd love some real-life videos.

The Funky Farner channel would be very suitable, as his own two lads feature a good bit.
    Few kids I know watch and love Buckin' Billy Ray Smith, a very positive, uplifting guy. Lots of chainsaw chat and action, so if you don't want your 5 year old developing an obsession with big saws .....

• Registered Users Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    The Funky Farner channel would be very suitable, as his own two lads feature a good bit.
    Few kids I know watch and love Buckin' Billy Ray Smith, a very positive, uplifting guy. Lots of chainsaw chat and action, so if you don't want your 5 year old developing an obsession with big saws .....

Or hatchets. Talk about gifted splitting timber he is a savage at it.
    I think anyone using saws or hatchets should watch a few of his videos

• Registered Users Posts: 2,275 ✭✭✭Gillespy

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Saskdutch kid is better again them 10th generation dairyman, it's some set-up, its gas how while their intensive systems the labour is their that its alot more relaxed pace and less pressure then 99% of typical one man band irish farms

Can't warm to him at all. Unreal place though. No expense spared by the looks of it. Canadian milk price is supposed to be good but I doubt it's that good.

More labour but still put in long days. Andy Hourigan is up feeding cows at 3am before doing a long day driving something or in the workshop fixing stuff. 10th Generation milks at 4am and does a good day afterwards. Based on watching a lot of them, I reckon they have a better attitude to it, at least what they show on video. A lot of Irish farmers should note they don't tend to talk about ''hardship'', saying that they don't have jobs like liming cubicles or feeding a few silage bales. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,130 ✭✭✭davidk1394

leoch wrote: »
    Donkey is hard to listen to some times

Comes across as a bit of an eejit in the videos. Their main audience seems to be age 12 to 20/22. I used like them but wouldn't bother looking in over the field at them now. I know 2 people who work as sales reps/ demo machines and they both said his hard to listen too. Farm flix have good videos and stuart dubois photography.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

• Registered Users Posts: 8,245 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

Reggie. wrote: »
    Supposed to be back in the day john wanted the grassmen to be done like farmflix is with all aspects of farming where donkey wanted to keep it silage only. Grassmen has changed since mind you

Not really a fan of Grassmen. They seem to only be interested in the biggest and best - yet they admit themselves in one YT that the video done with the 3 older tractors was one of their most popular. Their only YT that I found really interesting was the one with the Michelin guy on setting up tractor tyres. Although, tbf to them it was a smart idea to go around the manufacturers and chat to them when there was no shows on this year.
    The has to be a sizeable niche for someone going around with older/newer smaller stuff.
    I enjoy watching the other fellas show around their place and doing their daily routines - still picking up some things from them and seeing how useful things like headscoops are in reality prior to purchasing.

I also like watching greendragons timelapses, but would love to see some more video footage in them, but they do good tidy work.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Not really farming.

But there's grass fed steak, a Suzuki jimni, a Dahaitsu kei truck, kangaroos, off roading in the Australian bush, Aboriginal art and heritage and a better than Top Gear vibe off this.

https://youtu.be/7tfSBS3HyTc

Really well filmed and narrated.

• Registered Users Posts: 769 ✭✭✭French Toast

Bought a subscription to FarmFlix recently, £52 for the year I think it was.

Excellent content. Machinery, stock, farmyards etc. A nice bit ahead of what's free on YouTube.

Worst thing about it is it shows you how poor Ear to the Ground is.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

Excellent content. Machinery, stock, farmyards etc. A nice bit ahead of what's free on YouTube.

I got the free trial a few weeks ago and binged on it. Really enjoyed the stockyard series and Alan clydes section. Alan showed all aspects which was brilliant to watch. From losing the heifer and two calves the one day to having to put down his neighbours ewe it was raw to watch. He made things a bit hard on himself and a few small adjustments would make life easier, but I wouldn’t feel it fair for me to criticise him. I’d admire him for showing warts and all. His father was very enjoyable to watch.
    I dunno does he read this but I can’t wait to see the sheep numbers increase!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭timple23

Really impressed with the On The Pull, nice to see something original and different.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,531 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Watching the sheep game lately

https://m.youtube.com/channel/UCekKN_0816MX4XIvom9bmEw

Your man doing it comes across well...

Ya pretty much the only farming channel I follow on YouTube too.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭Tileman

Yea I got the trial on farm flix. It was excellent really enjoyable. I liked Alan and auld Tom. He showed warts abs all although he is very hard on himself. Almost dreading my own lambing after watching him.😀 he doesn’t enjoy the sheep.

Very good content. Meant to sign up before the price increase. Forgot to. What price is it now.

• Registered Users Posts: 58 ✭✭AgriLad

Tileman wrote: »
    Yea I got the trial on farm flix. It was excellent really enjoyable. I liked Alan and auld Tom. He showed warts abs all although he is very hard on himself. Almost dreading my own lambing after watching him.�� he doesn’t enjoy the sheep.

Very good content. Meant to sign up before the price increase. Forgot to. What price is it now.

Thinks it’s 60 pounds now for the year

• Registered Users Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭X6.430macman

Not sure how farmflix plan on sustaining the interest long term and keep punters coming back year on year with ever increasing access to high quality free content.

Mike Mitchell Is a YouTuber I've started tuning into lately and it's an impressive tillage operation they have in Canada with 10(?) Fendt Ideal combines and the like

• Registered Users Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

Not sure how farmflix plan on sustaining the interest long term and keep punters coming back year on year with ever increasing access to high quality free content.

Mike Mitchell Is a YouTuber I've started tuning into lately and it's an impressive tillage operation they have in Canada with 10(?) Fendt Ideal combines and the like
    I find it hard to beat the closer to home stuff. I know what you are saying though

• Registered Users Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭X6.430macman

I find it hard to beat the closer to home stuff. I know what you are saying though

I get where your coming from, people find the greatest interest in whatever they are at themselves, I think this is a big part of Grassmen's success

• Registered Users Posts: 530 ✭✭✭Stan27

Anyone find the online news media sites anygood ?
    Not sure if i can name them!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,130 ✭✭✭davidk1394

I'm sure he was mentioned but ifarmwefarm is very good. Dairy NZ have some good videos about cow welfare and handling facilities. Temple Grandin has some very good videos about animal handling.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Not really YouTube but this poor fella gets awful hardship. I remember him from when I worked in Mullingar and he is exactly as I remembered.

https://vm.tiktok.com/ZMJwwR2dM/

• Registered Users Posts: 4,011 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Watching the sheep game lately

https://m.youtube.com/channel/UCekKN_0816MX4XIvom9bmEw

Your man doing it comes across well...

Best on youtube i find. That and the episodes of this farming life. Any other sheep ones reccomended?.

I watch the teagasc videos on finishing stores too

• Registered Users Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Evenflow put up his 3 bale challenge there . I think it's brilliant even though it's not usually the kinda stuff that would interest me

• Registered Users Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭einn32

Bullocks wrote: »
    Evenflow put up his 3 bale challenge there . I think it's brilliant even though it's not usually the kinda stuff that would interest me

His long draw video is hilarious and the cattle breaking out. Some of his other stuff is off the walls!

• Registered Users Posts: 24,449 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

He only cut 2 bales tho

• Registered Users Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Great scene at 9 minutes in.

Lovely sound

He edits his videos excellently

Lovely sound

The Sun always shines on Evenflow. :p

There's never a wet day.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭Tileman

Only came across him recently. He is very good. Great entairtain ment.

Tileman wrote: »

Only came across him recently. He is very good. Great entairtain ment.

You'd nearly be expecting Scooter to make an appearance on the next clip.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Lovely sound

Father that's a lovely 110-90 wherever you got it from!

Whoever said he would use the con saw wasn't that far off.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Father that's a lovely 110-90 wherever you got it from!

Whoever said he would use the con saw wasn't that far off.

No, he was swift enough with the chain saw!!

He manages to remind me of about 6 different people. The type of people who draw cheers when they enter a packed room