Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Youtubers

• Registered Users Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Reggie. wrote: »
    He only cut 2 bales tho

I thought that was the best bit along with not calling out anyone else to participate in stuff they don't want to.
    I'd say the camera man came close to the end of the chainsaw when he swung from one bale to the other.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,203 ✭✭✭orm0nd

what ever about the bale challenge , that was some pilot in the white S15

• Registered Users Posts: 16 The middle inch

I recently came across OLLY Agricontract on YouTube and find his videos very interesting. He is based near Liverpool and has diversified into a good few areas. He has a 10 to 15 minute video most days and every video covers multiple things happening on the farm.

Despite all the content on YouTube, I think FarmFlix is well worth the money. It's not all about big machines. John in particular is very good at getting fellas to talk and drawing interesting stories and opinions out of them.

While I prefer some channels to others, I say fair play to anyone who puts their farming up online. There are plenty of begrudgers and armchair critics out there who are well able to have a pop at them, and it takes a huge commitment to keep content coming even once a fortnight not to mind more frequently.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭timple23

Some videos are starting to feel like advertisements, noticed some of them asking for recommendations for a certain product, imo it means they want a company to send them stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭ruwithme

Your right,one of late is getting a nice bit of new stuff & featuring it.(i know I'm just jealous) or maybe it's he's dairy farming. Shur that's where the money is i suppose.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,806 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

MC Milking It
    Don't know if he got a mention or not. Well thought out outdoor cubicles.

'If I ventured in the slipstream, Between the viaducts of your dream'

ruwithme wrote: »
    Your right,one of late is getting a nice bit of new stuff & featuring it.(i know I'm just jealous) or maybe it's he's dairy farming. Shur that's where the money is i suppose.

Cheaper throw out a few free throughs and jackets to a few people than pay for an advertisement campaign. I expect to see a good few products featured from a plastic manufacturer from out west soon.

Those folk earn it with the hours of editing etc, but I would like to know if they actually paid full price for it or were gifted a product.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

timple23 wrote: »
    Some videos are starting to feel like advertisements, noticed some of them asking for recommendations for a certain product, imo it means they want a company to send them stuff.

Spot on, i used to watch ifarmwefarm, his videos are generally very good and i find them interesting and learn a lot, but, the ever increasing plugs in the videos are annoying, i don't mind the odd one if you genuinely came across a good product but most of them are shill videos dressed up as farming videos.

Company sends product free of charge, farmer plugs the **** out of it on videos and then shouts it's an honest review, if you get something for nothing and are expected to "review" it then there is a bias involved, end of rant.

Anyway the farming side of ifarmwefarm youtube is actually very very good credit where it's due, but the shill videos and clickbait titles are seriously off putting.

• Registered Users Posts: 330 ✭✭The Rabbi

"These are brilliant,I have them nearly an hour and I think they're absolutely brilliant"
    "Don't know how I got on without them before"
    Giving a review as soon as they take something out of the box.

• Registered Users Posts: 657 ✭✭✭josephsoap

orm0nd wrote: »
    what ever about the bale challenge , that was some pilot in the white S15

Love that scene :D

Cheaper throw out a few free throughs and jackets to a few people than pay for an advertisement campaign. I expect to see a good few products featured from a plastic manufacturer from out west soon.

Those folk earn it with the hours of editing etc, but I would like to know if they actually paid full price for it or were gifted a product.

I see he is also talking about putting in a new crush ....perhaps he can also swindle a free one out of nugent or teemore or someone :D

• Registered Users Posts: 876 ✭✭✭mengele

josephsoap wrote: »
    I see he is also talking about putting in a new crush ....perhaps he can also swindle a free one out of nugent or teemore or someone :D

Now while he might be getting stuff discounted and the odd bits free, you could get addicted to buying new stuff just to make new content. For example he bought a new log splitter, a new chainsaw, a new full set of tyres for the tractor, another two typsybins all in the space of a month. Hes then talking about a new shed and a new crush. You could become addicted to buying new stuff quick in order just to keep making videos.

I still enjoy him though, he comes up with good ideas and is very neat. After watching his videos he would put ideas into you for tidying up your own farm.

mengele wrote: »
    Now while he might be getting stuff discounted and the odd bits free, you could get addicted to buying new stuff just to make new content. For example he bought a new log splitter, a new chainsaw, a new full set of tyres for the tractor, another two typsybins all in the space of a month. Hes then talking about a new shed and a new crush. You could become addicted to buying new stuff quick in order just to keep making videos.

I still enjoy him though, he comes up with good ideas and is very neat. After watching his videos he would put ideas into you for tidying up your own farm.

Yes he is the model farmer IMO

• Registered Users Posts: 5,043 ✭✭✭endainoz

Been following this lads videos lately. He's not a farmer but he's going into fair detail with his restoration of this Zetor. Converting it to a 40k. Fairly colourful language alright though, definitely not suitable for children to be watching!

https://youtu.be/6Wz8EF-ERZc

• Registered Users Posts: 4,130 ✭✭✭davidk1394

That company have a very clever marketing team. Like you said it's cheaper to post out a few freebies than take out ads on the IFJ or other media outlets.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭minerleague

Was looking for ideas for calving shed on YouTube and came across "Danny Rice" , very tidy calving shed ( don't know how to link direct )

• Registered Users Posts: 4,203 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Was looking for ideas for calving shed on YouTube and came across "Danny Rice" , very tidy calving shed ( don't know how to link direct )

• Registered Users Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Just found out Evenflow is on tik tok! Best Valentines ever

• Registered Users Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭Tileman

Just found out Evenflow is on tik tok! Best Valentines ever

Gas ****er

• Registered Users Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

What about the "merch," coming soon

• Registered Users Posts: 4,011 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

liam7831 wrote: »
    What about the "merch," coming soon

I watch all his videos and think he produces great quality informative videos but id never wear a hat or hoodie like that

I see Jeremy Clarkson has a new farming show: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8fsHK5w2QCo

Good sheep content here, especially interesting how she lambs regularily: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCmVMNXTsmxr1wkaQ5sExJ9A

Most Irish Farming Youtubers can be summed up by; And in today's video of what did I buy this week?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,590 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Most Irish Farming Youtubers can be summed up by; And in today's video of what did I buy this week?

The main Irish lad I watch is IFarmWeFarm. The money he has spent on things this year alone has me nearly going out and buying a few cows to milk. I've no idea how he manages it.

I've started watching MC Milking It lately too. He has 400+ cows and housed outside in winter. Big operation with very few machines around by the looks of it. Yard is old and rough looking too. Some operation there all the same

• Registered Users Posts: 16 SpraySafely

The money he has spent on things this year alone has me nearly going out and buying a few cows to milk. I've no idea how he manages it.

I don't wish to denigrate the man, but he is likely getting those machines/gadgets at a heavy discount (unikely to be free but wouldn't be surprised either).

He is a very tidy operator, but I can't watch something when I know his opinion is skewed by indirect sponsorship.

Like anything in life money ruins everything. Some of these farming channels can be decent until they hit a certain level, then (most of them) are on the take.

https:// www .youtube.com/watch?v=GQxS-yRue8s

Heres a different vibe, no machinery as the farmers are very hands on. It's possibly geared towards a certain audience.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,826 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

This is how the yanks roll

I don't wish to denigrate the man, but he is likely getting those machines/gadgets at a heavy discount (unikely to be free but wouldn't be surprised either).

He is a very tidy operator, but I can't watch something when I know his opinion is skewed by indirect sponsorship.

Like anything in life money ruins everything. Some of these farming channels can be decent until they hit a certain level, then (most of them) are on the take.

https:// www .youtube.com/watch?v=GQxS-yRue8s

Heres a different vibe, no machinery as the farmers are very hands on. It's possibly geared towards a certain audience.

agree, i used to really enjoy his videos but the product placement would do your nut in on them now. Auto sparky, Tipsy Bins, Lakeland machinery and John Conaty are mentioned constantly.

Farmer phil had a video up and openly called out that he had a price reduction from Liffey Mills and that he wouldnt of bought the product usually due to price. Id say hes fairly genuine

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,666 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I think wranglestar, in Canada I think he is, really takes the biscuit for ads and product placement. Seen somewhere else that he's considered to be 'a national embarrassment' by some.

I was enjoying Mr CVX, but the new products are more noticeable now too.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users Posts: 16 SpraySafely

blue5000 wrote: »
    I think wranglestar, in Canada I think he is, really takes the biscuit for ads and product placement. Seen somewhere else that he's considered to be 'a national embarrassment' by some.

Yeah he is an embarassment. Everything is an ad.

I don't know how much you tube views = $$$, but at his level these lads must be really coining it in.

ProjectFarm is a good channel for tools comparisons, seems to go out of his way to be unbiased.

A good rule of thumb is if you see an attractive female in the thumbnail of a video which is supposed to be about farming/diy/whatever, its unlikely to be educational in nature.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,826 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

A good rule of thumb is if you see an attractive female in the thumbnail of a video which is supposed to be about farming/diy/whatever, its unlikely to be educational in nature.

I posted a link to a great video earlier in the thread with a girl replacing a hydraulic pump of a MF 35.

If I want to hear or see a fat grumpy oul' lad moaning about sick cows or broken machinery I don't need youtube for that .... I can walk down the road to the neighbours :pac: