Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Youtubers

You are better off doing videos when something interesting is happening or to explain a new approach.

The videos on machinery can be dull enough for a lot of farmers that only buy handy amounts of gear

• Registered Users Posts: 3,834 ✭✭✭Odelay

No matter how big or small the farm is, chances are you'll see one thing that they are doing better than you. That has been my experience in all areas of my working life.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,776 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

For full disclosure: I added a signature with the name of my YouTube channel. I couldn't change my username so this was the only way I could do it.

I'm not advertising or trying to entice people to look at the channel so I didn't include the URL link. But I think it's only fair to be transparent about these things. It would be sneaky to remain anonymous on here while being public someplace else.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users Posts: 11,456 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

I picked up how to grass measure from @Siamsa Sessions. I've been shown how to do but when it comes to yourself and inputting figures on the laptop on the kitchen table you begin to doubt yourself. Siamsa's video was a handy guide putting the figures to the visual. I had a complete mental block prior to this. I had the farm mapped but needed a bit extra which the video provided.

• Registered Users Posts: 26 pingg10

Find your videos on the cattle very interesting.

You're not a slave to tractor and machinery videos to get hits.

New shed is also interesting most lads will have done something similar at some stage . Nice to see some cattle in it.

Keep up the good work

• Registered Users Posts: 5 Eweknit

Only found this today, interesting thread. Some stinging criticism but real opinions from real people all the same. Reading too many Youtube comments in a row might only give one a big head!

Agreed, I've definitely been guilty of rambling on and interrupting guests on podcasts. I cringe listening back to any of them now lol

• Registered Users Posts: 3,834 ✭✭✭Odelay

Welcome aboard young lad. Enjoy watching your videos. Keep up the good work and sunny side out.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,253 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Welcome to F&F. Don't be too hard on yourself, you have a great channel which I enjoy watching. Not all the comments about you were "stinging criticism" 🙂 - https://www.boards.ie/discussion/comment/119753912/#Comment_119753912

• Registered Users Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

Hope wasn’t too harsh of a comment. Constructive criticism from a guy who needs a bucket load of it himself!

its great what yourself and cammy have done for sheep farming, and fair play to you. Videos are coming out well on YouTube too. Keep up the good work 👍

Thanks guys! Always open to feedback and keen to improve. I'm only making videos YT Vlogs since the start of the year so I have a right bit to learn yet.

Good to see @IFarmWeFarm7615 and @farmerphil135 here too!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,253 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I agree with what they have done for modern sheep farming. Years ago my inlaws used to keep a few sheep and I always dreaded shearing time. In those days most of them were sheared with a hand clippers and if you were lucky you would get a "professional" shearer in who used an electric clippers/shears. You'd spent half the day waiting for the clippers to cool down after five or six sheep.

Maybe @Eweknit could do a video explaining how modern shears work, keep cool, the different combs etc and a bit about how they start and finish the process. I've seen on videos from Cammy (The Sheep Game) about perfecting different blows (cuts) but I'm sure it would be very interesting to viewers to see the process explained.

Anyway, I've enjoyed his videos to date although Casey would wear out my patience 🤨

• Registered Users Posts: 3,524 ✭✭✭kk.man

Was watching farmer Phil there with father and bro doing up the 1200... brought back memories of my brother and I working with the father many years ago. People should savor those moments. Great vid too.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

@Eweknit you ever done a video of hand shearing?

I remember when I was young that the neighbours would come up and hand clip ours as we only had a small amount. Great memories.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,118 ✭✭✭zetecescort

@Siamsa Sessions golf bag to carry the few fence posts a great idea

I saw someone doing it on Twitter and stole the idea. Looked up golf bags on DoneDeal and there was a fella in Portlaw (small town a few miles from us) giving one away for free. He was after buying a new bag and just wanted to get rid of the old one. I gave him 2 bottle of wine anyway.

It’s the handiest thing ever compared to trying to juggle stakes under your arm when running out or rolling up a reel

I've no idea how it works, but my "estimated revenue" on YouTube says $9.12. I think you need to get to $90 before they pay you anything.

Either way, I'm now looking up $600 cameras: https://gopro.com/en/us/shop/cameras/hero11-black-creator-edition/CHDFB-111-master.html

It's like farming: as soon as you sell any few cattle, you start thinking of changing the tractor or putting up another shed 😀

• Registered Users Posts: 827 ✭✭✭farmingquestion

I used to watch a good few channels but have stopped. I'll give Siamsas channel a go.

I stopped watching because most channels are focused on growing subs than showing interesting content. That's what youtube was before all this monetization craic came in. People creating videos because it's their passion, not as a way to bring in a few bob. Too many lads doing things or doing things certain ways just to create a video.

Once you read a site on how to grow a youtube channel, you just see the same tactics used by them all.

• Edited thumbnail
    • Thumbnail with clickbait "just when everything was going fine, the worst happens *head in hands*"
    • Set schedule/frequency of uploads
    • Uploads over 10 minutes in length

It's like a formula you have to follow to get the most amount of subs and a lot of videos are just ticking the box. I could never trust product reviews or machinery reviews either.

Just watched the daily feeding routine from Sullivans farm. I liked it, no filler or clickbait. I hate those blue tubs for water, always filled with silage and dirty water. The time to fill it and the amount of dirty water thrown out annoys me.

One thing from my own personal point of view that I would like from videos is how to do things. Like how the trough is connected up. Probably easy for most but I've never done it before so would be good to know the steps

• Registered Users Posts: 4,000 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

i think i said you curse to much on your podcasts lol but i like your youtube videos. Out of interest will you go overseas shearing again or will you stay in ireland?

• Registered Users Posts: 688 ✭✭✭bamayang

So you’d like these lads to spend the day filming what they do, spending (probably) thousands on camera/pc equipment and then spend there final few free hours editing videos, and then present all this to you for free, so you can enjoy it sitting on the couch- but they shouldn’t dare do anything to try and grow their following or god forbid actually make a penny out of it.

Oxford dictionary will have to redefine the word entitlement.

🙄

Last time I checked youtube isn't free.

I think the whole point of videos is people find them useful. All I said is what I would find useful.

I myself certainly don't find lads with demo's saying everything is mighty because they're advertising a product that useful, but maybe you do.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

I think what you are looking for is more educational videos whereas most of these farming YouTubers are more entertainment with a touch of the educational aspect thrown in too. Teagasc have very interesting videos if you haven’t already saw any.

also, coolmore have a mini series on YouTube. Very interesting. Well worth a look

If YouTube isn't free I must have a whopper of a bill in the post 👀

• Registered Users Posts: 5,536 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Youtube, or ny social media isn't free. If you aren't paying for it with money, your paying for it with data and the ability to fire ads your direction.

Fair play to all the lads on here showing how they work and what goes on. Must be a constant pain in the hole all the criticism. I find them great. Even if I've no interest in whats happening, it's good to see and be a bit nosey. ya'd never know what ya'd see/learn/think of.

I think the whole point of videos is people find them useful. All I said is what I would find useful.

Are ya joking? For every 1 useful video there's thousands of useless ones. Just go search "cats" on Youtube and see how many useful ones there are

Not one cent of my money leaves me for YT. Data and ads are well and good, but I don't buy based on that. Take Tirlan for example, because I don't pay YT there are ads on the videos I watch, Tirlan ones are excessive in number. Does it follow I'll buy from them? No. I'll do my product research based on my needs, not shiny stuff online.

If you participate in the game, sure. Take data as an example, there are sites & services I wish to use online where I have to agree to the T's & C's, that's fine, works for me. But data is the reason I left the Knowledge Transfer scheme and didn't participate in the "free" soil sampling scheme. There are things I accept, and things I don't. I feel there's a real prospect farm data will be used against my interests, in general. I use the internet for different purposes, and I make purchases based on my own research on a problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,536 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Data in this sense is whats being scraped about you as you browse the internet. It's a multi billion dollar industry and there are huge aamounts of data stored about you across the world, sold on and on and on. And this then feeds into the algrithms that determine what ads to show you. You may think you're not being influenced by them, but rest assured, you are. Say you're looking at a video there from someone and you see something of interest. Then you do a wee search for someething imilar and you leave it at that. You'll now be getting subtle ads for "similar" things. And then you might look at somethign mildly related. It's how the whole show works and the only way around it is to get yourself off the internet. If you are online, you are being tracked and your data picture is being built in the background.

No handing over data where you have to fill in information is a different ballgame. You are totally in control there