Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Youtubers

• Registered Users Posts: 10,768 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

This thread starting to get a really nasty vibe to it. Not keeping with the normal good humoured banter we have on this forum.

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

• Registered Users Posts: 190 ✭✭KAMG

I'm sorry you feel like that. I hope none of my comments are seen as nasty by anyone. Certainly that was never the intention. I have been watching Phil's videos for years. Mainly the cattle stuff to be honest. My biggest point is that for all the work Phil and the rest of them put in on the farm, that he/they should have more out of it. Lets be honest, most beef farmers here are only part time, myself included and we do not actually rely on it for an income. He does.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

TBF - both of them mainly joined to counter some of the things that were said about(against) them on here and also to clarify things posters were discussing between themselves.

That's correct, I remember thinking I hadn't enough popcorn in stock at the time the YT names showed up 😃

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,776 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

I've been on boards for years contributing to various threads and discussions, including some I have no business getting involved in!

I only started the YouTube thing a few months back. I include the channel name in my signature on here only in case anyone thought I was trying to hide the fact. It's for info only, not advertising. That's why I don't include the link to my channel.

Coincidently enough, I will be referencing the farming forum here on boards in the next video I do.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users Posts: 827 ✭✭✭farmingquestion

You're not one of the ones I was referring to, you've been a member since 2011 and have thousands of posts on boards.

Coincidently enough, I will be referencing the farming forum here on boards in the next video I do.

Ah jaysus don't - every crank between Timahoe and Timbuktu will be logging on to stir things up :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,834 ✭✭✭Odelay

They are taking their own free time to answer questions some interested members here on boards have. Simple as.

There is an old Irish problem where there is a great suspicion and begrudgery someone else is making a bit of money.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,523 ✭✭✭kk.man

I like the u tubers on this as I refuse to log onto u tube. I can ask them questions or pm...its a great facility for communication.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭Deub

Weird comment to be honest. In the same post you say they post only on one thread but it is for free advertisement. They are not targeting a large audience then. Especially as they mostly reply to people that already watch their videos… Return on investment doesn’t seem great.

I see their posts more of a way for them to clarify points/ answer questions some people have. They already do this in the comment section of their videos. And who can blame them doing it here when you see some of the theories or judgments some people are posting about them on this thread…

• Registered Users Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

My username on my Gmail is my name, I don't want my name up on a public forum. I have no need for u tube tbh except looking at certain farming and DIY channels. This is the only social media I'm on and I don't want any more.

If you are interested, you can change your viewable name in YT only. Click on the circle with your name/initial. Select 'Your Channel'. Then select 'Customise Channel'. Click on 'Basic Info' tab. You can change your name there.

The blurb states:

Choose a channel name that represents you and your content. Changes made to your name and picture are only visible on YouTube and not on other Google services. You can change your name twice in 14 days

• Registered Users Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

I was just curious ,I find it brilliant but I do lose alot of time aswell looking at it!

Yes me too. Going to have to cut back... I don't watch TV as much as a result.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭roosterman71

I don't understand this. Do you not watch youtube due to your gmail name or is your concern about commenting on videos showing your name?

As other posters point out..I can change my name (which I was unaware of) but not really interested in other social media..I don't have the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

If I watch tv for half an hour a week now it’s as much. YouTube and a bita Netflix does me, although Netflix is getting poor enough. My screen time watching programmes is way down compared to ten of fifteen years ago( obviously phone is more that making up for that 😢) Corrie wouldn’t be missed for the world one time!

• Registered Users Posts: 827 ✭✭✭farmingquestion

Yeah because this thread is about youtubers. People post about channels to watch so by them coming here, and answering a few questions they get supporters.

It's clearly working, a few of the channels who never posted here before having their youtube channels already have resident lick arses here!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭roosterman71

• Registered Users Posts: 11,455 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

• Registered Users Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Something very soothing about watching this man fix broken power tools. It's actually nice to see repairs rather than just chucking something away, his videos on the Milwaukee grinders with cheap Chinese bearings are a real eye-opener.

I watch that fella all the time on tiktok. Learn quite a bit from him. Seen one of his videos recently about the batteries on Makita and Milwaukee and why Milwaukee are not good.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,882 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

I've only come across him lately and I find the whole regenerative grazing concept interesting. I'm of the opinion that there is an opening for selling beef from such a set-up if you could complete the cycle from farm to fork. However that's a fair undertaking and tbh I'd be fairly confident of my ability to get the raw product ready for processing but the route to market and sales from there on in would be the issue.

As regards the cow I think it was more the lack of a fluke dose at the appropriate time that was the main issue. Granted I'm only looking at the video evidence but she shows all the signs of a cow with an acute case of fluke in my own opinion. A "bottle jaw, ill thriving, dry hair on her and she didn't look to do an exciting job on her calf. I get that he's trying to move away from routine dosing ect but that doesn't happen overnight and tbh I think he made the wrong decision with her. The rest of the cows look in good enough order but she needed more attention.

It's easier to keep a cow in fair condition at this time of year than to try and build her up. Once they go down you're fighting a losing battle and I wouldn't think she will get up again tbh. I've seen it all down through the year's that lads run with buckets of nuts, doses, whiskey, poitin and various other quacking to cow's when there down and yet if they were half as good to them when they were standing they'd have stayed up. That's not a comment on his stockmanship as such but there's not much point in spoiling them where there lying stretched.

I also think he's making a mistake trying to do what he's doing with Shorthorn's as a base point. I like Shorthorn's as much as anyone but the majority of them are on the harder fed and maintained side. They'll produce and milk well if they're looked after but there not suitable to the back of the bush type setup in my experience. If I was in his shoes I'd be looking more towards Angus, Galloway or maybe even an Irish moiled or some sort of cross between them. You'll need a smaller type hardy, naturally easy fleshing cow that's able to look after herself first and foremost with minimal intervention. Calf quality and milking ability are secondary concerns imo, if the cow isn't able to go in calf, rear her calf, go back in calf (and obviously stay living, healthy and in good condition throughout) then you're backing a loser from the start. I don't think the majority of modern Shorthorn genetics will lend themselves to that without a real baptism of fire along the way, maybe I'm wrong but I think he'd want to revise the breeding strategy.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,834 ✭✭✭Odelay

Cubicle dimensions, feed passage widths & head locking barriers with O’Donovan Engineering - YouTube

This man from O'Donovan Engineering knows his stuff. All in the fine detail. Stuff seems to be designed for the end user, not for ease of manufacture. They have done a fair few other videos for different types of farms.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭dmakc

Very good video.

Is there much difference in convenience between guillotine versus up and over gates I wonder. The up and over seem to be 200 extra

There is a whole series Grasstec done with that fella - was it all at the same farm? The entry to the parlour with the automatic backing gate coming down from above was pretty flash.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,000 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Im watching a channel called superserious farmer on youtube. Find him interesting as hes starting out in sheep with all rented land.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭older by the day

I'm watching "yellowstone" on television at the moment. Won't be going down that road

• Registered Users Posts: 11,455 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

I'm watching this couple in the US. Ambition strikes is the name of their channel. Basically showing their journey from buying a site in the mountains to building a house, building a road, buying fabricating machinery, building their own power supply.

Both of them are mechanical minded and love their machines.