Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How long before Irish reunification? (Part 2) Threadbans in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 11,625 ✭✭✭✭downcow

When ? You mean , If !

That will never happen, anyway. There are Unionists who would rather see the place go to hell that join the Republic . Sectarianism still happens up there .

The likes of me pays for and will continue to pay for their (And your) lifestyle choices . The likes of me don’t tolerate sectarianism . The likes of me will never be answerable to scum like that . It will be our house our rules of **** off

Peter Casey ? Lol . You really are a complete spoofer . You seriously need to get a hobby, you are on this site almost 24 hours a day seven days a week and dealing with more or less the same topics .

I am curious if you are referring to me as scum?

• Registered Users Posts: 859 ✭✭✭Randy Archer

jm08 wrote: »
    The Stormont Government of 1921-1972 had a Cabinet with a Prime Minister who reported to the King/Queens representative in Northern Ireland (Governor), a similar relationship that the UK PM & Westminister Parliament had to the Queen. The Government of NI reported to the Stormont Parliament and not the Westminister Parliament.

I assume they will take place on the same day because that is what was decided for the GFA referenda.

Read of the Government of Ireland Act 1920, as amended ffs and stop guessing . That’s the legislative basis for Northern Ireland right up to the GFA

The Stormont government was a talking shop with limited powers . The House of Commons, for which they continued to return members to, still had final say on major matters such as foreign trade and relations, currency (big deal) and defence . They also continued to pay dues to the exchequer and Imperial Council . Revenue in LONDON dictated import and export policies for Northern Ireland !

On the contrary, the Lord Lieutenant continued to be THE Crown’s presence in Ireland (Northern Ireland) till the Statute of Westminster 1931ish - which later brought in the Title Prime Minister (and preciously Governor in 1922 after the IFS was established) However a LG or Governor remained in Norn Iron on behalf of the Crown between 1922-1972 (and was then replaced by a Secretary of State for NI ) . Prime Minister of NI wasn’t the same as say the Pm of the U.K. or the Rep of Ireland, his powers were limited in comparison

It doesn’t fall under the idea of “going out on their own” ,which to anyone with a brain, knows that means FULL INDEPENDENCE and sovereignty

eire4 wrote: »
    Clearly you have the opinion you do and that is your right but less use of the "we" you do not speak for me certainly when it comes to wanting to see Ireland reunified which I do.

You and people like you don’t speak for most of us ,nor do you contribute in any way to our country . Take take take is all the likes of you barstoolers do .

• Registered Users Posts: 11,625 ✭✭✭✭downcow

There are Unionists who would rather see the place go to hell that join the Republic . Sectarianism still happens up there .

The likes of me pays for and will continue to pay for their (And your) lifestyle choices . The likes of me don’t tolerate sectarianism . The likes of me will never be answerable to scum like that . It will be our house our rules of **** off

So randy any chance of clarifying who the ‘scum’ are.
    Your posts have little credibility if you cannot clarify the

jm08 wrote: »
    It would be impossible for everyone in NI to vote for a UI anyway. Secondly, how do you know what protestants voted for in a secret ballot. They, more than like won't tell you how they voted, particularly if they voted in what some would consider, against their community. Similarly for catholics - some may vote to remain in the UK in a secret ballot, but would say they voted differently to their own community.

What’s religion of a person got to do with it ? I know it’s a sectarian **** hole , but it’s more advance than that. Catholic’s can be Unionist up there too .

The issue is Nationalist /Republicans and Unionists (loyal to the U.K. ) and a few in betweeners who are neutral to both groups

Based on the elections; Stormont , local and Westminster and EU Parliament ....Unionist continue to hold the majority

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Plenty of people in the North will end up losing their job if a United Ireland would happen. At least half the public service would be shut down if not more. The companies like DPD/Parcel Wizard etc would be shut down over night. Companies supplying coal etc to Ireland again would be shut down

Some companies are based in Belfast because they are in UK, shut down. Construction companies who work in the South but are from the North would lose that benefit

You would have mass unemployment These people will not want a United Ireland. Doesn't matter what their background is

Edward carsons MP seat is now held by a shinner,if ever anything signified how time has run out on the union,it was this

Your viewpoint is easily provable,hold a poll and see

Hold a poll but ask the right questions

Would you want a united ireland if:
    IN Rep of Ireland your take home pay would be hit significantly
    In North that your job would be gone

Very aggressive ré entry into the thread there Randy. But you're very much correct and i agree with you.

There's no sense to concurrent referenda.

Really? The UKGov pretty much ignored the North. Don't forget why the British Army had to be sent in the first place.

Simpleton nonsense , can’t even understand the basic words “Going out on their own”

The U.K. Government also pretty much ignored the rest of England north of Birmingham during that time too .

Don’t forget ? Lol ffs . The British army always had a base in NI . Why did they send more troops over ? Because they spent years trying to deny that there was a war over there. Neglect yes, but it doesn’t support the factual and legal position that Northern Ireland ever was out on their own ie an Independent country

Waffler . Pointing out facts isn’t being aggressive either . Man up, you don’t like it ,move on

Why are DPD closing down upon reunification?

NI has failed as a state,it can only thrive in medium term in a utd ireland.....its poorest citizens,working class loyalists,stand ironically to gain the most from a utd ireland

DPD Parcel Wizard section would be dead in morning, so would Parcel Motel

Northern Ireland if it had a proper government would thrive no problem, the issue they have is SF are useless and so far I dont know enough about DUP but they seem similar

mehico wrote: »
    Such as a single all island economy as opposed to two small competing economies. As an example, this could potentially lead to increased FDI into NI due to a common corporation tax regime. This in turn would increase productivity and result in increased government tax revenue. Obviously this is at a macro economic level but it demonstrates opportunity.

I'm not from Derry by the way but would take exception to your remark about the city. Incidentally Derry City and Strabane District Council and their counterparts in Donegal County Council are already working closely together and attempting to develop the regional economy to benefit people living in the region.

Northern Ireland won’t be able to compete with us . It’s not remotely in the interest of cities like Galway ,Cork or Limerick to have Derry n Belfast and Newry trying to compete either . Belfast can’t even compete with their neighbours Glasgow ffs - you can be damn sure that those are issues that Galway and Cork lads will be thinking off

We have over 30 years of peace ,and both of use over 40 years of EEC /EU membership . There was very little stopping Letterkenny - Strabane - Derry from making a go of things to improve their commercial attractiveness . Nothing . They have achieved feck all. Oh wow a few shopping centres (Letterkenny)

Actually, we had a Mayo Taoiseach whinge about lads going over to Strabane n Newry for cheaper cans of Tennants et all and how we should put on the green jersey

There’s no way Dublin is going to stand back and watch Belfast swallow up fdi’s either

Derry is a **** hole, grimy boarded up dump . Still see POW slogans over the council houses coming in from Letterkenny. Sod that . The other side of the river, is still no go . Saying that, it’s got a pretty good night life

Hold the border poll and inform folks of risks and benefits of joining one supposdely richest countries in the world,

which promises civil and relogious freedoms to all.......we can do better as an island,with the post brexit slump coming,NI will be a much poorer place in next 10 to 15 years,the brits are never gonna spend money there,and our people will be in abject poverty again there

This will poll well north of 70% in free state imho,

Their is no post Brexit slump. The World will be in a post Covid slump. Staying in the UK might be better than going into the Rep because the UK has more money to support the North. Thats simple economics. IN the next 12 months you will see large companies in Rep cutting jobs in the hundreds. They cant now because of PR nightmare of doing during lockdown but soon after you will see big hits across the board

Northern Ireland won’t be able to compete with us . It’s not remotely in the interest of cities like Galway ,Cork or Limerick to have Derry n Belfast and Newry trying to compete either . Belfast can’t even compete with their neighbours Glasgow ffs - you can be damn sure that those are issues that Galway and Cork lads will be thinking off

We have over 30 years of peace ,and both of use over 40 years of EEC /EU membership . There was very little stopping Letterkenny - Strabane - Derry from making a go of things to improve their commercial attractiveness . Nothing . They have achieved feck all. Oh wow a few shopping centres (Letterkenny)

Actually, we had a Mayo Taoiseach whinge about lads going over to Strabane n Newry for cheaper cans of Tennants et all and how we should put on the green jersey

There’s no way Dublin is going to stand back and watch Belfast swallow up fdi’s either

Derry is a **** hole, grimy boarded up dump . Still see POW slogans over the council houses coming in from Letterkenny. Sod that . The other side of the river, is still no go . Saying that, it’s got a pretty good night life

So in other words it cant be any worse to try something new,like a utd ireland for instance

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭mehico

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    IN majority SF supports are sitting on the social, so wasting millions of euro on a referendum makes little difference to them as they never put a penny into paying for it in first place.....while the rest of us have a little more concern with how our money is spend as it is coming out of our hard work

Don't know where you got this information but it is obviously not true that the majority of SF supporters are on welfare.
    Plus run it once but set in it that it cant be run for another 20 years, otherwise we will be listening to SF trying to run it two weeks later

I think under legislation this can be held again after 7 years.

Cities are further neglected because every two bit one horse kip needs a bypass.

As long as we have parliamentarians and legislators that act like county councillors that's gonna keep happening. If anything, a UI would dilute the power of the Grealishes and McGraths.

Eh, the bypasses were constructed to get from one city to the other ,fast. Not sure a town like Kinnegad ,with those small and narrow streets can take all that traffic from both parts of the West (Galway n Sligo direction) , try going through Church St in Athlone before their laughable one way street .lol

We are ALWAYS going to have PARLIAMENTARIANS who behave that way because that is the mentality of the people ,on both sides of the border . To badly paraphrase the now much maligned John Waters ; all politics is local

• Registered Users Posts: 1,532 ✭✭✭Finty Lemon

60% of voters opted for pro-Union parties in the 2020 election despite the spin to the contrary.
    This figure was 64% in early 1980s.

At the current rate of change, those who wish for a sectarian headcount to change Northern Ireland's status will be waiting 90 years to even get close to success. If a referendum fails at that point, push it out to 120 years.

During this time, it is likely that the rate of change will slow. Why?
    Reduction in relative birth rate in Catholic families
    A track record of peace and stability within the UK can allow the NI economy to develop, creating more opportunities for the local population.
    An increasing Nationalist middle class will become content with their lot and the advantages of dual citizenship between ROI and NI
    If Unionists catch on (big if) to the notion cultural parity (i.e. promotion of Irish language and GAA within NI) the impetus for change will reduce further among the Catholic middle class.
    The memory of violent conflict will fade over time, except in the interface areas where it will be stoked for gain by extremists on either side
    A third identity, Northern Irish, will begin to emerge as the country moves towards its third century

Republicans will have to try to foster a continued sense of oppression to counter this gradual shift. A functioning Stormont assembly cannot be allowed to develop as a result. Violent campaigns will be difficult to justify now so the 'fight' will become one of activism and agitation. Unionism holds all the cards however and can easily counter the Republican agitation, but the more extreme elements do not have the foresight or subtlety to deliver. Still, they have nearly 100 years to figure it out

Actually this is also very true. Slipped my mind that.

I can't imagine it would go down well with our Partitionists and Contrarians.

There would be a referendum , don’t let Francie’s piss poor armchair legal interpretation of what the law and Constitution says, fool you

You can always spot a chancer when they try to argue “technically”, it’s a by line for people who are not capable of actually explaining things . Even then, when he cites the line ,he ignores the fact that it must be accepted democratically. Oh sure, our laws do “aspire” to a UI , but what kind of UI ? Few if any actually sit down and talk about what UI would be .

Do we go federalism ? (Assuming Ulster want to keep power ) , how will civil service work ? How many seats in Parliament and which county gets x amount of seats etc .... symbols n flegs ... little has been discussed

A UI requires a change in several articles of the Constitution and that can only be achieved by a direct vote of the people .

In reality , to appease Unionists ,we would probably have a brand new Constitution (unnecessary really as our Constitution is grand and can easily be amended anyway - it would be more a symbolic gesture )

There is most deffo a post brexit slump,though the breakup of eurozone could be all sorts of amazing for world post covid (though your right about a slump,pension funds invested in stocks are facing wipe out)

The uk is barely staving off collaspe,with clever accounting,that makes paddy-econmics seem honest....they are utterly fcuked

The offial position of the UK regarding NI,is it isnt of stagetic self-interest to them,why would they pour money into it,to stimulate the econmy?

That some prime A BS as they say round these parts.

Unfortuneatly none of it is true. Post Brexit didn't have anything close to that, in fact the UK was ticking along nicely and most of the hyperbole of what would happen had passed. The flock of companies supposed to leave UK never happened etc

If some of this happens due to Covid is another story and in fact Irelnad will be hit harder

That some prime A BS as they say round these parts.

Unfortuneatly none of it is true. Post Brexit didn't have anything close to that, in fact the UK was ticking along nicely and most of the hyperbole of what would happen had passed. The flock of companies supposed to leave UK never happened etc

If some of this happens due to Covid is another story and in fact Irelnad will be hit harder

Brexit deal isnt done?

Like uk based compnies,will likely need a eu base to trade(hopefully not here)

There is most deffo a share collaspe coming too,and pensions are in stark.danger,whats going on regarding stock markets,can only be decribed as corruption,imo

(The eu and eurozone collaspeing is just what should in theory happen,given its reached its conclusion,and all empire-type society eventualy collaspe,hopefully :D)

They had a chance of running Ireland and they ran into the shadows till the real politicians came up with a plan, then SF pop back out complaining

They are more afraid than the rest of us at been given power because they know they will make a balls of it, just look at North. Three years without a government, another example of how poor Mary Lou is. Any country in the world ever go 3 years with their government shut down because of children bickering?

And we are supposed to believe they know how to unite Ireland? Your having a laugh.

Ah, here, they had ZERO chance of forming a government with non FG-ff parties . Zero . It was obvious by midnight of the count

PBP don’t really trust SF ,and they have issues with NI being based in sectarian divide . I know Ruth Coppinger wasn’t one of them , but she’s on record pointing that out, and to be fair ,it wasn’t an unreasonable attitude . NI has to move away from that
    .Labour despise SF and are a threat to them

Mary Lou showed her amateurism when ,like a student union type got excited and lost the run of herself categorically declaring that she would try to form a government without either FF or FG on the Sunday evening after the main count. Nothing wrong with saying that before the count, but when it was mathematically impossible to do it and with the “left” so fragmented (and SF ain’t really a true left wing socialist party ) that was utter stupidity of the highest order .

Imagine in business ,during a high stakes negotiation , someone plays their cards so publicly like that when there is only one likely out come ie FF or FG would be in power ... and then coming back with their tail between their legs .....naturally FF n FG would tell them to sling their hook. What happened immediately after Mary Lou got all shouty . Next two days the Irish stocks took a big hit .... that ,kids, was a person with notions of being the Chief. As bad as Albert Reynolds was, he never did stuff like that ... “ nothing ruled in, nothing ruled out” .

When they claimed people voted for change,lol, and that stunt she pulled, it wasn’t possible for them to suck it up and talk to FF (even if FF wanted to, which was 50-50)

They are pure chancers and it will be seen come the next election ,be it national or local . They got real lucky in two constituencies in the Midlands and mid west ,and that was purely due to cock ups by the other candidates . Those seats will return to their rightful owners

To be fair to SF up North, bar the insistence on a wasteful language act, they were doing a decent job working with them shower of ***** and with limited powers . It wasn’t politically wise to jump to hard on Sharlene and her cash for ash crap either , just like they were wise in how to deal with (Swiss Tony) Peter Robinson’s issues with his wife (classic stuff)

mehico wrote: »
    Probably fair to say the aspirations of the main political parties to unification reflect the views of the parties membership and of their supporters.

Aspiration and reality are two different things. Dev and Charlie were great lads for using the Green Card (Northern Ireland) when domestic matters were going tits up . Ya heard very little from them About the North when things were doing alright

Let’s discuss and see in fine detail what type of UI we can realistically have first, Eh ? How government would be structured ie Dáil seats (Probably won’t be allowed to call it the Dáil ) ,constituencies borders , civil service , federalism or not etc , health services and more importantly, who pays for what

What will it mean for the wallet . That tends to focus minds a lot better once the rebel songs and up the ra are sung

Ah, here, they had ZERO chance of forming a government with non FG-ff parties . Zero . It was obvious by midnight of the count

PBP don’t really trust SF ,and they have issues with NI being based in sectarian divide . I know Ruth Coppinger wasn’t one of them , but she’s on record pointing that out, and to be fair ,it wasn’t an unreasonable attitude . NI has to move away from that
    .Labour despise SF and are a threat to them

Mary Lou showed her amateurism when ,like a student union type got excited and lost the run of herself categorically declaring that she would try to form a government without either FF or FG on the Sunday evening after the main count. Nothing wrong with saying that before the count, but when it was mathematically impossible to do it and with the “left” so fragmented (and SF ain’t really a true left wing socialist party ) that was utter stupidity of the highest order .

Imagine in business ,during a high stakes negotiation , someone plays their cards so publicly like that when there is only one likely out come ie FF or FG would be in power ... and then coming back with their tail between their legs .....naturally FF n FG would tell them to sling their hook. What happened immediately after Mary Lou got all shouty . Next two days the Irish stocks took a big hit .... that ,kids, was a person with notions of being the Chief. As bad as Albert Reynolds was, he never did stuff like that ... “ nothing ruled in, nothing ruled out” .

When they claimed people voted for change,lol, and that stunt she pulled, it wasn’t possible for them to suck it up and talk to FF (even if FF wanted to, which was 50-50)

They are pure chancers and it will be seen come the next election ,be it national or local . They got real lucky in two constituencies in the Midlands and mid west ,and that was purely due to cock ups by the other candidates . Those seats will return to their rightful owners

To be fair to SF up North, bar the insistence on a wasteful language act, they were doing a decent job working with them shower of ***** and with limited powers . It wasn’t politically wise to jump to hard on Sharlene and her cash for ash crap either , just like they were wise in how to deal with (Swiss Tony) Peter Robinson’s issues with his wife (classic stuff)

Mary Lou, in the local election and now in the General election has shown she is a poor leader. Even after saying she wanted to join with FF/FG. Instead of having conversations she done one call with FF, came out and done an interview with RTE. The interview was more or less her showing that she had the big boots on, I told FF this and I told FF that....

Either she is an idiot or she didn't want to go into government with FF because the day she done that it finished all conversations. Based on her comments afterwards about still wanting to form a government with FF she is then an idiot and doesn't know how to deal in politics

downcow wrote: »
    Who are you referring to as the scum?

BOTH communities who are knee deep in sectarianism and whataboutery

downcow wrote: »
    So randy any chance of clarifying who the ‘scum’ are.
    Your posts have little credibility if you cannot clarify the

I have answered just now. As for credibility, get back into your box

Edward carsons MP seat is now held by a shinner,if ever anything signified how time has run out on the union,it was this

Your viewpoint is easily provable,hold a poll and see

Look at the CURRENT make up of Stormont and the Locals . Unionists still are the dominant group

Don’t hold your breath on that changing anytime soon. They just have to watch the baboonery of SF in the South to see that SF doing well is just a phase . In fact, it will freak out the Unionists more to make sure their men get back in

Hold the border poll and inform folks of risks and benefits of joining one supposdely richest countries in the world,

which promises civil and relogious freedoms to all.......we can do better as an island,with the post brexit slump coming,NI will be a much poorer place in next 10 to 15 years,the brits are never gonna spend money there,and our people will be in abject poverty again there

This will poll well north of 70% in free state imho,

You seriously deluded to believe that religious freedoms are a priority for the youth of this island ? Lol How many even believe in a God ?

“Supposedly richest” ya, “supposedly” . Recession is coming and we are ****ed . Our health service is a joke, we pay multiple different taxes and charges (bins, water etc ) but the proceeds don’t even go to the relevant services but or pay off the EU for the loans ...

Religious freedom lol 😂. If we left it to those loons north n South, we probably wouldn’t have gay marriage or liberal abortion laws

Cavan ,Louth, Monaghan n Donegal are closer to the North than most Southern counties ..... they aren’t nor have they ever done great despite several high profile Ministers and the odd Tainiste

Free State ? That ended in 1947

So in other words it cant be any worse to try something new,like a utd ireland for instance

New ? Nothing stopped the border counties trying to achieve economic improvements for the past 30 years of EU membership and peace

Look, you are clearly devoid of any basic economics Experience or knowledge so just stop Embarrassing yourself

Anyway, up coming post Covid recession will Cool things off for a good long while

Mary Lou, in the local election and now in the General election has shown she is a poor leader. Even after saying she wanted to join with FF/FG. Instead of having conversations she done one call with FF, came out and done an interview with RTE. The interview was more or less her showing that she had the big boots on, I told FF this and I told FF that....

Either she is an idiot or she didn't want to go into government with FF because the day she done that it finished all conversations. Based on her comments afterwards about still wanting to form a government with FF she is then an idiot and doesn't know how to deal in politics

She’s an idiot . Pure and simple .

Multiple declarations she has made in her time,preaching to her party who have **** all say in the leadership role once Anderstown makes the decision

She knows how toxic her party is in the South and could easily done stuff to sort that out but nope, Mary Lou loves acting like student politics

She Recently went to New York to raise funds from Plastic Paddies who have laughable notions of the country (no issue with that ) and stands in a parade with the Banner “Brits Out “ ...amateur stuff

Then there’s the demand for a needless Presidential election and selecting, much to many grassroots annoyance, a literal no body as their candidate (ya sure, she was an MEP)

Then there’s the rant post election and how she handled that despite the numbers being clear - no interest in being in government .

And lately, declaring that the Troubles were justified lol. Whatever about pre 1979 , once the 1980s kicked in thats bollox. Oh, and as former FF ogra member (bear in mind there were some pro IRA hawks in FF during the Troubles, but bar Blaney, they were all barstoolers) she’d fancy herself as taking part if she was old enough lol. Anyone who remembers gob****es down here during that time waffling that but doing nothing ,find it hard not to laugh

Talk about making sure SF would never see power. Okay, maybe she really believes all that guff, but don’t bloody say it in public

New ? Nothing stopped the border counties trying to achieve economic improvements for the past 30 years of EU membership and peace

Look, you are clearly devoid of any basic economics Experience or knowledge so just stop Embarrassing yourself

Anyway, up coming post Covid recession will Cool things off for a good long while

I guess we just have to agree to disagree mate,time has run out on the union,stormont has failed...its been 100 years,deosnt and wont ever work

The fight for irish freedom is going on with hundreds of years,why you think a.recession will.stop the will to be free,is beyond me(if this held any weight the troubles wouldve stopped in the 80s)....but im not a liberal money-obcessed malcontent

• Registered Users Posts: 69,154 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

The 'poor leader' has to be the one that has brought the worst result for their party in what you frequently like to claim is the 'only poll that matters'.

That would be Leo in third then Michael Martin in second, then Mary Lou as the best.

That may change next time out, but for now that is the only metric we got.

If you want to use the latest polls then there is a shift around with Leo in No.1 spot then Mary Lou and then Michael Martin (being quickly caught by the also rans!) :)

I guess we just have to agree to disagree mate,time has run out on the union,stormont has failed...its been 100 years,deosnt and wont ever work

The fight for irish freedom is going on with hundreds of years,why you think a.recession will.stop the will to be free,is beyond me....but im not a liberal money-obcessed malcontent

No. You are just plain WRONG . You have zero economic experience and really ought not to be commenting on that front .

So Stormont has failed, and you want us to inherit those lunatics ? What have we done in another life to deserve that ? Let them grow up and work for their community first, then we can talk

The IRA went out of their way to make Stormont unworkable

“Fight for freedom”

😂😂 American nonsense . The “fight” which a minority supported out things back decades. Bombing ,maiming etc . Stormont was a road plan for GFA , (to be fair, it was Loyalists who ruined that ) then there was Downing Street Declaration 1993 and then GFA . All it needs is to convince the majority of NI to join the Republic. Bombing doesn’t work

A Lot Goes above and beyond you ! But, with a life on welfare, you wouldn’t know much difference . I have to assume your lack of understanding of how a recession would affect things is rhetorical

Why haven’t Shin Fein not pressed on a poll Since GFA ? They know they’d lose .