Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How long before Irish reunification? (Part 2) Threadbans in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 19,085 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

maccored wrote: »
    what? that unemployed people vote for them? Unemployed people vote for all parties. explain yourself.

Did you know that the votes of unemployed people are weighted differently to the rest?

News to me too

Nice to see them harking back to the days before one man one vote. That was NI at its finest for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Where did I say that?

I said they organise frequent discussions and info meetings about it.
    The whole Brexit debate around the border is organised by them and they included discussions on a UI.

Keep the head in the sand there Shef as much as you wish, but anyone with an eye in their head knows your claims are nonsense.

Of course Francie.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,626 ✭✭✭✭downcow

20 yrs Shef. You'll be on here wondering why FF and the DUP have only 6% of the vote between them.

That's the way it's going at the minute.

Francie, you definitely need to go get your head looked.
    I would much prefer that it was the UUP who were going from strength to strength, but unfortunately I have to admit that it is the DUP. I don't know where you are getting your data.

Here is one on united Ireland showing trends since the GFA. It will make depressing reading for you.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Politics_of_Northern_Ireland#/media/File:Northern_Ireland_Constitutional_Preference.png
    you will see that support for a united Ireland was fading away to near nothing. Brexit has given it a little impetus but it has still not even caught up with 1998 and I sense is on the wane again

downcow wrote: »
    Francie, you definitely need to go get your head looked.
    I would much prefer that it was the UUP who were going from strength to strength, but unfortunately I have to admit that it is the DUP. I don't know where you are getting your data.

Here is one on united Ireland showing trends since the GFA. It will make depressing reading for you.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Politics_of_Northern_Ireland#/media/File:Northern_Ireland_Constitutional_Preference.png
    you will see that support for a united Ireland was fading away to near nothing. Brexit has given it a little impetus but it has still not even caught up with 1998 and I sense is on the wane again

Once a week you say the same thing and use a different poll to back up your pov. And that's fine. More power to you.

And every week I retort that "You have nothing to worry about so!"

So in the spirit of that tradition:

Seems like you've nothing to worry about.

---

Seems that an Irish Language Act wouldn't be the thin end of the anti-democratic cultural destruction wedge that you're making it out to be then?

Once a week you say the same thing and use a different poll to back up your pov. And that's fine. More power to you.

And every week I retort that "You have nothing to worry about so!"

So in the spirit of that tradition:

Seems like you've nothing to worry about.

---

Seems that an Irish Language Act wouldn't be the thin end of the anti-democratic cultural destruction wedge that you're making it out to be then?

I don't remember describing it in any terms resembling that

I just do not want Irish language signs up around me if they are put up to antagonise and dominate (or perceived as such). If it is with respect and consultation then I am fairly sure it could happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 69,155 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

I just do not want Irish language signs up around me if they are picked up to antagonise and dominate. If it is with respect and consultation then I am fairly sure it could happen.

It has happened where unionists live and the unionist world didn't cave in.

I just do not want Irish language signs up around me if they are put up to antagonise and dominate (or perceived as such). If it is with respect and consultation then I am fairly sure it could happen.

What about your catholic/nationlist neighbours who want em??

It seems a harmless compromise tbh.....how can yous ever expect to build political.goodwill to reform parades commission etc,if you refuse to even contence irish signposts

Why would they put them up? Nobody in the north speaks Irish and the few people in the Donegal Gaeltacht areas are slowly dying. More Irish spoken now in south Dublin than anywhere else :-)

Right? Why would an ILA give anyone a right to "antagonise you?

What does the ILA change that will allow such behaviour?

Why do you expect antagonism?

Do you think that Irish Language enthusiasts will try to exact revenge for the sectarianism that the Northern statelet imposed upon Nationalists?

If so why do you think that? What evidence have you that that's a likely scenario?

Looks like the brethren of the Orange outraged by the sight of something are going to be asked by another group of outraged people to reciprocate. I wonder will they understand and remove this man's image?

https://www.glasgowtimes.co.uk/news/18509380.fears-vandals-will-keep-attacking-statues-glasgow/

• Registered Users Posts: 10,666 ✭✭✭✭maccored

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    We are talking about a United Ireland. Going around the border area blasting out rebel songs not going to be very welcoming to our Northern Friends is it now?

What? Who mention doing that?

“ SF arent the party to bring about a UI. The people of Ireland and ALL parties are what will bring a UI” - do you agree? You didnt take the opportunity to tell me yet. Instead you made the quoted post, which didnt make any sense to me

• Registered Users Posts: 3,621 ✭✭✭Fionn1952

All the gurning about hypothetical Irish language signs from Downcow, but not a mention of Linfield's decision to pick UVF colours for their away kit.

.....purely coincidental, so I'm told. The orange sash really sets off the whole ensemble.

In all seriousness, that's the sort of blatantly obvious antagonism both sides need to leave behind. The holier-than-thou faux ignorance around it is even worse.

Really, as much as home will always be home, by Christ I'm glad I'm away from puerile sh*te like that.

That obscure random blog 'Slugger O'Toole' has some more interesting Loyalist introspection today.
    https://sluggerotoole.com/2020/06/12/loyalism-the-enduring-perception-of-loss/

I can accept a lot of this, but I do think Loyalists still have a big swallow to make if they are ever to come to terms with what happened to them.

They need to accept and confront the fact that the statelet they created was wrong and could never be sustained. Then a lot of what happened will make sense to them.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Fionn1952 wrote: »
    All the gurning about hypothetical Irish language signs from Downcow, but not a mention of Linfield's decision to pick UVF colours for their away kit.

.....purely coincidental, so I'm told. The orange sash really sets off the whole ensemble.

In all seriousness, that's the sort of blatantly obvious antagonism both sides need to leave behind. The holier-than-thou faux ignorance around it is even worse.

Really, as much as home will always be home, by Christ I'm glad I'm away from puerile sh*te like that.

Fionn, perfectly correct .

Living in the past, that’s what goes on there.

No effort whatsoever to try to secure the future, and SF have given joining up with these coins a big priority.

Well, in this posters opinion, if you want to wreck this country, go ahead with that aspiration,and watch the economy collapse.

Luckily FG and FF see this and want nothing to do with a party whose policy is dominated by that .

We need realism and common sense here, not pie in the sky rubbish.

Fionn, perfectly correct .

Living in the past, that’s what goes on there.

No effort whatsoever to try to secure the future, and SF have given joining up with these coins a big priority.

Well, in this posters opinion, if you want to wreck this country, go ahead with that aspiration,and watch the economy collapse.

Luckily FG and FF see this and want nothing to do with a party whose policy is dominated by that .

We need realism and common sense here, not pie in the sky rubbish.

The North is best described as a wasps nest.

All parties from all over the World, gave them a kick Up the ass and done the good Friday agreement for them. The opportunity to build on it and move the north forward

What have they done? F**k all. SF have done nothing in 20 years, got an Irish’s language bill I think? With 0.2 of the population use....laughable

The DUP, well they managed to create a pellet stove mess. But that was ok because the leader of the DUP husband happened to be the importer for the pellets.....couldn’t make this sh*t up

Then they just shut down the whole government for 3 years while they pi**rd around, then everyone thought it was great because the DUP went to a match in Monaghan, filling up with washed diesel on the way home.

Now the plan is hand it over to Rep if Ireland so we can get taxed to pay for the shower of plonkers? While the majority of the north with any sense are already working in the Rep or have f**ked off to England

Leave the wasps nest where it is, wait till DUP and SF fix it, then give us a shout...... :-)

All parties from all over the World, gave them a kick Up the ass and done the good Friday agreement for them. The opportunity to build on it and move the north forward

What have they done? F**k all. SF have done nothing in 20 years, got an Irish’s language bill I think? With 0.2 of the population use....laughable

The DUP, well they managed to create a pellet stove mess. But that was ok because the leader of the DUP husband happened to be the importer for the pellets.....couldn’t make this sh*t up

Then they just shut down the whole government for 3 years while they pi**rd around, then everyone thought it was great because the DUP went to a match in Monaghan, filling up with washed diesel on the way home.

Now the plan is hand it over to Rep if Ireland so we can get taxed to pay for the shower of plonkers? While the majority of the north with any sense are already working in the Rep or have f**ked off to England

Leave the wasps nest where it is, wait till DUP and SF fix it, then give us a shout...... :-)

And of course...FG and FF were swapping power down here in Utopia and not devastating the place in a far more profound way. :)

You are good craic Shef.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

FFS......Stop posting sense, dude, not appreciated on this thread.

Lad could get a yella for coming up with that stuff.

Fifty convoluted posts will be needed to sort this out.

Should be ashamed of yourself.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭mick087

If young people in the north dont want this for there kids then they need to vote.
    Voting is the most powerful tool we have. You can give power and take it away.

Change needs to come from the under 25 generation.

And of course...FG and FF were swapping power down here in Utopia and not devastating the place in a far more profound way. :)

You are good craic Shef.

Your 100% right, for once, Rep of Ireland is a million miles away from a utopia.

Still I see thousand and thousand of people from the North travelling every week down to work in Rep, more and more moving down and living in the Rep, so what does that say about the North?

If Rep is so bad why do huge sections of the north want to work and live here?

Looks like FF and FG for all their faults have done a lot better job than the parties in north have managed

FFS......Stop posting sense, dude, not appreciated on this thread.

Lad could get a yella for coming up with that stuff.

Fifty convoluted posts will be needed to sort this out.

Should be ashamed of yourself.

First response was as usual

But but but FG and FF but but but

I was shocked :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 859 ✭✭✭Randy Archer

You are good craic Shef.

Things aren’t and haven’t been anywhere near as bad down here ,even during the recession, least not for people who have the wildlings to get up and work . Bu5 sure, people like you would rather be on the dole, and sit around 20 hours a day on a site like this defending to the death one political party and spend most of that defence in whataboutery

Your 100% right, for once, Rep of Ireland is a million miles away from a utopia.

Still I see thousand and thousand of people from the North travelling every week down to work in Rep, more and more moving down and living in the Rep, so what does that say about the North?

If Rep is so bad why do huge sections of the north want to work and live here?

Looks like FF and FG for all their faults have done a lot better job than the parties in north have managed

It means that those people who are not selfish, who do not live live's of 'I'm alright jack' will fix the problems caused by partition. The problems the FFers and FGers ran away from and ignored to enrich themselves.
    They'll see the sense of investing in a cohesive all island society and how that will enrich in more than the coins you have to jingle in your pocket.

• Registered Users Posts: 859 ✭✭✭Randy Archer

It means that those people who are not selfish, who do not live live's of 'I'm alright jack' will fix the problems caused by partition. The problems the FFers and FGers ran away from and ignored to enrich themselves.
    They'll see the sense of investing in a cohesive all island society and how that will enrich in more than the coins you have to jingle in your pocket.

That’s complete nonsense . Ran away from what ? The damage was done as far back as the Boundary Commission of 1925. Rightfully , the South want **** all to do with the North after that and the **** got real in the 1970s once the Ra start robbing banks and shooting our Police .

There was up enough civil war bitterness down South for decades. We wanted none of that .

The ff and FG got to where they were because the people of the South voted for them . We wanted economic success that the 1990s brought and not the bull**** student politics socialist nonsense that Shinners tried to pretend they possess

Selfish ? Not wanting to be attached to a small parcel of the island who are still up to their neck in sectarianism and hate and a complete economic basket case ? Lol

Easy for the likes of you to comment ,when it was not and will not be your money to worry about

That’s complete nonsense . Ran away from what ? The damage was done as far back as the Boundary Commission of 1925. Rightfully , the South want **** all to do with the North after that and the **** got real in the 1970s once the Ra start robbing banks and shooting our Police .

There was up enough civil war bitterness down South for decades. We wanted none of that .

The ff and FG got to where they were because the people of the South voted for them . We wanted economic success that the 1990s brought and not the bull**** student politics socialist nonsense that Shinners tried to pretend they possess

Selfish ? Not wanting to be attached to a small parcel of the island who are still up to their neck in sectarianism and hate and a complete economic basket case ? Lol

Easy for the likes of you to comment ,when it was not and will not be your money to worry about

****only got real when the violence spilled over to here?

Yeh, Randy...not everyone has the disconnect you have. That is why a UI is not going away.

Haha, what a load of rubbish

Whats rubbish in it?

I was shocked you agreed with Francie, shocked.

What is rubbish, the start, middle and end is the bits I picked out

I was shocked you agreed with Francie, shocked.

What is rubbish, the start, middle and end is the bits I picked out

Your objections to a UI are based on 'I'm alright Jack' to hell with anyone else's aspirations or life.

There is no denying that FG and FF systemically ignored what was happening Irish people in the north. They got enough keys to the kingdom and they sat back..to hell with anyone else, I'm alright Jack.

Right? Why would an ILA give anyone a right to "antagonise you?

What does the ILA change that will allow such behaviour?

Why do you expect antagonism?

Do you think that Irish Language enthusiasts will try to exact revenge for the sectarianism that the Northern statelet imposed upon Nationalists?

If so why do you think that? What evidence have you that that's a likely scenario?

Do you not get it. Or are you trying to not get it.
    The history here means that things one community loves and cherishes have become a source of offence and antagonism to the other community.
    These include, Irish flags, union flags, gaa shirts, ni tops, Irish language signage, etc, etc.
    We need to learn to respect all of these and not be cleansing each area of the ones the majority don’t want.
    It’s going to take a very long time I fear

Your objections to a UI are based on 'I'm alright Jack' to hell with anyone else's aspirations or life.

There is no denying that FG and FF systemically ignored what was happening Irish people in the north. They got enough keys to the kingdom and they sat back..to hell with anyone else, I'm alright Jack.

Another deflection as usual Francie.....:p

I would say I was surprised but it is nothing new......your little comment back fired and instead of admitting it, standard SF and point the finger:p:p