Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IV - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users Posts: 7,359 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    The predictability is the throwing of toys from those who can't handle differing views or people looking at the situation for themselves and making sensible decisions for their own mental and physical health and that of their family.

[B[We've raised a generation of people who have absolutely no skillset to deal with opposition and worse who can't even understand that not everyone thinks as they do. I predicted that the end of lockdown would cause such extreme reactions weeks ago. [/B]

People are getting back to living. Those who are at risk will continue to be protected. It's what people and the country as a whole need.

I'd argue that it isn't a lack of skills to deal with opposition but that we've raised not just a generation that can't deal with adversity, but generations. The concerted genuine common effort started to unravel at Easter and today I'm guessing we're looking all less than 50% compliance.

Your words are empty. We can't protect those that need protecting while at the same time choosing to ignore the regulation's designed to achieve that

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

Micky 32 wrote: »
    Sure when they realise there won’t be a second wave they’ll start flocking back to the climate change shyte threads to try and rekindle the alarmist doom posting there.

What else is your magic crystal ball showing you?

mjsc1970 wrote: »
    Say the guards stop you outside your 5km, and they don't take your excuse of it being an essential journey, is there a fine?

Up to 2500 euro according to the regulations. I don`t think this has been enforced though.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭Micky 32

I better not tell you, it might upset you.

• Registered Users Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

Stay home until 2026. The ball’s predictions cannot hurt you then.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,845 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I'd argue that it isn't a lack of skills to deal with opposition but that we've raised not just a generation that can't deal with adversity, but generations. The concerted genuine common effort started to unravel at Easter and today I'm guessing we're looking all less than 50% compliance.

Your words are empty. We can't protect those that need protecting while at the same time choosing to ignore the regulation's designed to achieve that

I said it weeks ago, but I'll say it again.

The level of restrictions has been disproportionate to the actual impact for well over a month. They were right at the start to get people's attention, give the health service time to ramp up, and given what we knew in early March.

Since then its become very clear that those who have been most impacted are the elderly with underlying problems and even more so if they are in a nursing home thanks to the mismanagement there.

Every death and loss to a family is a tragedy, but thankfully the overall numbers have been low and despite RTE's focus (and even the other thread here in this forum) on the increasing count of infected, the vast majority of these have or will recover. This thing is not and never was an inevitable death sentence. Many people didn't even realise they had it (especially if they did get it before Christmas).

But the damage to people's jobs, finances, mental health and other physical illness has been massive and the response has been far too focused on the medical advice and ass covering by the weak caretaker Government we're still saddled with. The consequences of this will be felt for years to come.

Thankfully common sense has been restored among the masses as they realise that things do indeed need to go on, albeit in a cautious way, and they are mostly doing that - social distance is being adhered to in supermarkets, people are washing their hands regularly, and some are even wearing masks.

But the level of hysteria from those who can't deal with what they see as madness, the tantrums and name calling, the apparent inability to think for themselves and analyse the situation, is far more worrying. It's pretty ironic that for a nation born out of revolution and a drive for independence that many have become docile and blindly accepting of the words of an unelected medical representative with questionable past judgement, and a populist attention seeker with a good speech writer.

What needs to happen now is an acceleration of the timeline to reflect the reality of where we are now. Not dragging this out and causing more long term damage for another 2 months.

• Registered Users Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Cushtie

What a good example to your children.

Thanks. They loved it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭Bits_n_Bobs

So we're hoping to hop in the bimmer and whiz down to west cork for a couple of weeks r&r from 6th of June. Lovely holiday home booked and since we had to cancel trip to spain during easter feel like we're well deserving of the break.

What are the chances of Leo and overpaid incompetent in hse lifting travel restrictions? Been a seriously long year without a holiday and while we've flight to California booked in Oct that seems like a long time away :(

• Registered Users Posts: 4,478 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

So we're hoping to hop in the bimmer and whiz down to west cork for a couple of weeks r&r from 6th of June. Lovely holiday home booked and since we had to cancel trip to spain during easter feel like we're well deserving of the break.

What are the chances of Leo and overpaid incompetent in hse lifting travel restrictions? Been a seriously long year without a holiday and while we've flight to California booked in Oct that seems like a long time away :(

It must be hard only having two or three holidays a year booked

• Registered Users Posts: 28,845 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

No one knows. Holohan would keep the country locked up until a sustained 0/0 level is achieved (and to be fair, that's his job as a medical practitioner. Do no harm), but the wider issues of the needs of the many and the country are supposed to be balanced against this advice by the Government

Unfortunately we're still stuck with the same lot that most were railing against only a few months ago (hence the election results) and a particularly weak Taoiseach who's more concerned with his twitter account and selfies.

So I'd imagine they'll try to drag it out as scheduled meaning mid July, but I think the fact that the Gardai have started to stand down (because the money has run out) and more businesses are - thankfully - restarting, means that the restrictions will be gone in practice long before then.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,544 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

They will drag their heels on it until a new Government is formed, never thought the day would come when I would say this but things might move a bit quicker if Martin takes over in the bosses chair because I think he seems more in favour of speeding things up.

Varadkar is happy to just sit it out and let Holohan call the shots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 917 ✭✭✭MickeyLeari

Be careful on the roads and hopefully you have nice weather when you are there.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,266 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

What a pathetic post, like many of the others criticising this post today.
    Just saw on social media, Gardaí had to be called to Salthill, big fight between intoxicated youths...things are going to boil over and fast if the authorities don’t wake up.
    These young people have had absolutely nothing to do for months, and still 3 more months to go. There’s even talk now school won’t even return properly which is absolutely ridiculous in itself.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭Bits_n_Bobs

Had to take a 20% hit in my salary too...and work has been hectic. Seriously thought things would slow down a bit but its mad. We're very tired at this stage and really do think a holiday is necessary. We're thinking of just going to spain for a couple of weeks in june if Ireland remains closed, but it's usually scorching in june so would rather west cork

• Registered Users Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

The fcuk has that got to do with anything?

Jayesdiem wrote: »
    The fcuk has that got to do with anything?

It’s exactly one of the reasons that make me think the lockdown merchants have a different agenda.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,690 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Just saw on social media, Gardaí had to be called to Salthill, big fight between intoxicated youths...things are going to boil over and fast if the authorities don’t wake up.
    These young people have had absolutely nothing to do for months, and still 3 more months to go. There’s even talk now school won’t even return properly which is absolutely ridiculous in itself.

Although not having school/college, being denied access to working jobs youths do like Pub Lounge work, Cafe servers etc.
    The Sun, cheap booze(from essential alcohol sales not being banned) all comes together to form trouble...

2013: https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/garda%C3%AD-called-to-portmarnock-amid-youth-disturbances-1.1412140

• Registered Users Posts: 19,407 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Amazing how people living outrages some...
    Great example to kids- live your life and enjoy the good times and not stay holed up in perma-fear waiting to die. A fantastic lesson on a great day out.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Since then its become very clear that those who have been most impacted are the elderly with underlying problems and even more so if they are in a nursing home thanks to the mismanagement there.
    Dangerous advice. There's a lot of downplaying of Covid on this thread. This is not something you want to get, at any age.

I’m sure they work hard and deserve them. No Need for snide begrudgery just because people want to live their lives. The months of pointless control are over

There’s even talk now school won’t even return properly which is absolutely ridiculous in itself.
    Social distancing is going to continue in our lives for a long time, perhaps until we get a vaccine or a treatment. There is no going back to "normal" or "properly" anytime soon.

hmmm wrote: »
    Social distancing is going to continue in our lives for a long time, perhaps until we get a vaccine or a treatment. There is no going back to "normal" or "properly" anytime soon.

We’ll see...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,266 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

I don’t agree. Why are we continuing social distancing indefinitely and at what cost? If there are hardly any cases of Covid in Ireland for months, why are we still making a mess of society by implementing this nonsense?
    No one asked us voters if we agreed with it, and if it was a good idea long term considering the damage it will do.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

road_high wrote: »
    We’ll see...

All well and good saying it'll continue, could well be a guideline for months to come but even as it is now its widely not being observed, it's not something that's going to get better. People as is human nature are slipping back into their normal life just with less places open and feck all to do, its pretty clear having been out most of today.

road_high wrote: »
    We’ll see...
    There's no "we'll see", you're out of touch with the science, health advice and the general public.

We are going to have social distancing for months at least. Any business needs to plan with this in mind, and not hope everyone is just going to go "ah lads it was all a load of nothing". We have a pretty good idea of how this spreads, and the bottom line is we have to reduce the contact people have with each other.

If this thing takes off again we'll be back into lockdown - most business people and the public at large will do what they need to do to avoid this.

I don’t agree. Why are we continuing social distancing indefinitely and at what cost? If there are hardly any cases of Covid in Ireland for months, why are we still making a mess of society by implementing this nonsense?
    No one asked us voters if we agreed with it, and if it was a good idea long term considering the damage it will do.
    This thing is now endemic, it isn't just going to go away on its own. So it will come back again, until we get a way to prevent it. Right now the only option we have is crude social distancing, until we have pharmaceutical interventions.

We've seen how quickly in other countries a small number of cases can explode into a much larger outbreak - South Korea had one person go on a pub crawl and infect a hundred people.

No political party is going to take a chance with a disease which may over-run hospitals or causes thousands of deaths. We've had outrage over nursing home deaths, what would it have been like if we had ended up like other countries with people lying on hospital floors gasping for breath .

I better not tell you, it might upset you.

Go on. I`ll take the chance.

There's no "we'll see", you're out of touch with the science, health advice and the general public.

We are going to have social distancing for months at least. Any business needs to plan with this in mind, and not hope everyone is just going to go "ah lads it was all a load of nothing". We have a pretty good idea of how this spreads, and the bottom line is we have to reduce the contact people have with each other.

If this thing takes off again we'll be back into lockdown - most business people and the public at large will do what they need to do to avoid this.

Yes there is a “we’ll see” about it. You think people aren’t having sex? You need to go outside and look around. As time goes on social distancing will fade. It’s happening already. It won’t be long until the 2m rule will go to 1m for a start.

The Taoiseach turned it into 1 metre last weekend.