Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IV - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

hmmm wrote: »
    Dangerous advice. There's a lot of downplaying of Covid on this thread. This is not something you want to get, at any age.

Really? It gave me a sore throat. Life flashed before my eyes.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,976 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Micky 32 wrote:
    Yes there is a “we’ll see†about it. You think people aren’t having sex? You need to go outside and look around. As time goes on social distancing will fade. It’s happening already. It won’t be long until the 2m rule will go to 1m.

Those are some things.

Things that can be catered for and likely will remain are spacing in offices and capacity limits, capacity limits in bars and probably only table service, spacing in cinemas, nightclubs could stay closed, masks on public transport etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭Micky 32

titan18 wrote: »
    Those are some things.

Things that can be catered for and likely will remain are spacing in offices and capacity limits, capacity limits in bars and probably only table service, spacing in cinemas, nightclubs could stay closed, masks on public transport etc.

At the beginning yes. But gradually and gradually things will get closer.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

What a pathetic post, like many of the others criticising this post today.
    Just saw on social media, Gardaí had to be called to Salthill, big fight between intoxicated youths...things are going to boil over and fast if the authorities don’t wake up.
    These young people have had absolutely nothing to do for months, and still 3 more months to go. There’s even talk now school won’t even return properly which is absolutely ridiculous in itself.

OMG. Intoxicated youths fighting on a Saturday night. Yep as something like this never ever happened before the virus appeared in this country and most certainly not in Salthill it has to be because of the restrictions. Case closed.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,654 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    I said it weeks ago, but I'll say it again.

The level of restrictions has been disproportionate to the actual impact for well over a month. They were right at the start to get people's attention, give the health service time to ramp up, and given what we knew in early March.

Since then its become very clear that those who have been most impacted are the elderly with underlying problems and even more so if they are in a nursing home thanks to the mismanagement there.

Every death and loss to a family is a tragedy, but thankfully the overall numbers have been low and despite RTE's focus (and even the other thread here in this forum) on the increasing count of infected, the vast majority of these have or will recover. This thing is not and never was an inevitable death sentence. Many people didn't even realise they had it (especially if they did get it before Christmas).

But the damage to people's jobs, finances, mental health and other physical illness has been massive and the response has been far too focused on the medical advice and ass covering by the weak caretaker Government we're still saddled with. The consequences of this will be felt for years to come.

Thankfully common sense has been restored among the masses as they realise that things do indeed need to go on, albeit in a cautious way, and they are mostly doing that - social distance is being adhered to in supermarkets, people are washing their hands regularly, and some are even wearing masks.

But the level of hysteria from those who can't deal with what they see as madness, the tantrums and name calling, the apparent inability to think for themselves and analyse the situation, is far more worrying. It's pretty ironic that for a nation born out of revolution and a drive for independence that many have become docile and blindly accepting of the words of an unelected medical representative with questionable past judgement, and a populist attention seeker with a good speech writer.

What needs to happen now is an acceleration of the timeline to reflect the reality of where we are now. Not dragging this out and causing more long term damage for another 2 months.

We are nation that fought for its independence for all its people, the elderly included. Indeed it could be argued that it was for vulnerable people most of all. We want rid of this pox so substantial normality can resume for everyone and we cannot be rid of it if mé féiners demand their pub and beach now and screw everyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭bush

road_high wrote: »
    We’ll see...

I wouldn't be surprised if we are all back to normal by Christmas looking at the way it's going in other countries.

This thing is now endemic, it isn't just going to go away on its own. So it will come back again, until we get a way to prevent it. Right now the only option we have is crude social distancing, until we have pharmaceutical interventions.

We've seen how quickly in other countries a small number of cases can explode into a much larger outbreak - South Korea had one person go on a pub crawl and infect a hundred people.

No political party is going to take a chance with a disease which may over-run hospitals or causes thousands of deaths. We've had outrage over nursing home deaths, what would it have been like if we had ended up like other countries with people lying on hospital floors gasping for breath .

The best solution to this is for the government to declare a free for all. People such as yourself can cower in the corner at home living off Tesco deliveries and speaking to your friends through your letterbox. Those of rational mind can do what people do by going out and working, socialising and playing sport. There would be no gun to your head to do the same and I promise you would never, ever get coronavirus or most other viruses.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,976 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Micky 32 wrote:
    At the beginning yes. But gradually and gradually things will get closer.

Definitely, assuming no resurgence in it. I assume we'll have some treatment measures this year anyway that might reduce symptoms.

As someone who works in an office and my job doesn't need me to be in it, I can't see me being in there full time this year tbh. Earliest I'll be back is September I reckon and that will still be with work at home most days Id say.

We'd usually have a large Christmas party in a hotel, and I'm pretty sure that won't happen as normal this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

We are nation that fought for its independence for all its people, the elderly included. Indeed it could be argued that it was for vulnerable people most of all. We want rid of this pox so substantial normality can resume for everyone and we cannot be rid of it if mé féiners demand their pub and beach now and screw everyone else.

What will change between now and August that will allow everything to open then?

• Registered Users Posts: 382 ✭✭Warbeastrior

It's angered me the just few days to see so many people ignoring the social distancing rules. And the arrogance to post it all over social media. People right on top of one another at BBQ's or beaches. Some people are really showing themselves up. Selfishness personified.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,407 ✭✭✭✭road_high

bush wrote: »
    I wouldn't be surprised if we are all back to normal by Christmas looking at the way it's going in other countries.

Life always returns to normal, as it did in past post pandemics. Because the way we live is the best and most free way.
    People queuing outside Aldi like lemons on a cold wet miserable November night? Not a chance

It's angered me the just few days to see so many people ignoring the social distancing rules. And the arrogance to post it all over social media. People right on top of one another at BBQ's or beaches. Some people are really showing themselves up. Selfishness personified.

Then take a chill pill and #stayathome then. You’ll really show them when they all die and you’re still alive at home

Great isn’t it!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,636 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Your curtains must be sick of you

• Registered Users Posts: 8,379 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Jayesdiem wrote: »
    Really? It gave me a sore throat. Life flashed before my eyes.

Whats it going to take for those who incorrectly predicted the apocalypse in March to admit what came to pass was not unusual for a seasonal illness, nor does any evidence exist to say Sweden's approach has lead to 200k excess death's

The fcuk has that got to do with anything?

Its got to do with begrudgery, unfortunately has became all too evident with those unaffected by the restrictions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

This thing is now endemic, it isn't just going to go away on its own. So it will come back again, until we get a way to prevent it. Right now the only option we have is crude social distancing, until we have pharmaceutical interventions.

We've seen how quickly in other countries a small number of cases can explode into a much larger outbreak - South Korea had one person go on a pub crawl and infect a hundred people.

No political party is going to take a chance with a disease which may over-run hospitals or causes thousands of deaths. We've had outrage over nursing home deaths, what would it have been like if we had ended up like other countries with people lying on hospital floors gasping for breath .

By whose definition is it endemic?

Whats it going to take for those who incorrectly predicted the apocalypse in March to admit what came to pass was not unusual for a seasonal illness, nor does any evidence exist to say Sweden's approach has lead to 200k excess death's

One word: time. But unfortunately that’s the problem and how much damage will have been done once “time” has passed? It makes me sick these absolute ball bags happy to sit on their fat arses at home for as long as they can get away with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,359 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

The best solution to this is for the government to declare a free for all. People such as yourself can cower in the corner at home living off Tesco deliveries and speaking to your friends through your letterbox. Those of rational mind can do what people do by going out and working, socialising and playing sport. There would be no gun to your head to do the same and I promise you would never, ever get coronavirus or most other viruses.
    And with your great plan what do the hospitals do with those that do get it and need treatment? what do they do?

Eh, they treat them?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

It's only Donald Trump, the chicken in chief, who thinks wearing a mask or trying to protect other people will make him look less masculine. As if a guy so obsessed with his appearance could in any way be regarded as "masculine".

We're not doing social distancing, and trying to live within certain rules, because we're afraid. We're doing it because it's the right thing for the wider community - including those who would be badly affected by this thing - although it's a lottery and any of us could be affected if we got this. If you're not able to do this go on with your life, the rest of us will carry you.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

There's no "we'll see", you're out of touch with the science, health advice and the general public.

We are going to have social distancing for months at least. Any business needs to plan with this in mind, and not hope everyone is just going to go "ah lads it was all a load of nothing". We have a pretty good idea of how this spreads, and the bottom line is we have to reduce the contact people have with each other.

If this thing takes off again we'll be back into lockdown - most business people and the public at large will do what they need to do to avoid this.

Lol you are the only poster here who is economically naive enough to think our govt has any money to go into any 2nd lockdowns.

Absolute pathetic rubbish.

Why do u think we r getting out of lockdown?? Because we r on our way to eradicating a virus?

Speechless.

It's only Donald Trump, the chicken in chief, who thinks wearing a mask or trying to protect other people will make him look less masculine. As if a guy so obsessed with his appearance could in any way be regarded as "masculine".

We're not doing social distancing, and trying to live within certain rules, because we're afraid. We're doing it because it's the right thing for the wider community - including those who would be badly affected by this thing - although it's a lottery and any of us could be affected if we got this. If you're not able to do this go on with your life, the rest of us will carry you.

Surely we’d be the ones carrying you as you rock back and forth in a hunkered position in your garden shed? By your logic, road speed limits would be reduced to 20km per hour because that would be the right thing to do in order to prevent road deaths in the wider community. That too is a lottery and any of us could fall to it at any time. Unless, of course, you are holed away in your bedroom which you inevitably will be.

• Registered Users Posts: 382 ✭✭Warbeastrior

This thread is toxic.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

Nobody is doing anything of wat u describe there in Dublin 15 anyways. Its not a lottery... if u have bad immune system ur going to have a bad time. If u drink alcohol and eat crisps instead of eating apples and oranges, ur gonna have a bad time if u catch covid or flu. If ur obese and dont kno wat an apple looks like ur gonna have a bad time dealing w a virus.

We need to stop this scaremongering

This thread is toxic.

Is that because people have a different opinion to you? Imagine that

• Registered Users Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Life is dangerous, 100% death rate.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users Posts: 7,359 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    I said it weeks ago, but I'll say it again.

The level of restrictions has been disproportionate to the actual impact for well over a month. They were right at the start to get people's attention, give the health service time to ramp up, and given what we knew in early March.

Since then its become very clear that those who have been most impacted are the elderly with underlying problems and even more so if they are in a nursing home thanks to the mismanagement there.

Every death and loss to a family is a tragedy, but thankfully the overall numbers have been low and despite RTE's focus (and even the other thread here in this forum) on the increasing count of infected, the vast majority of these have or will recover. This thing is not and never was an inevitable death sentence. Many people didn't even realise they had it (especially if they did get it before Christmas).

But the damage to people's jobs, finances, mental health and other physical illness has been massive and the response has been far too focused on the medical advice and ass covering by the weak caretaker Government we're still saddled with. The consequences of this will be felt for years to come.

Thankfully common sense has been restored among the masses as they realise that things do indeed need to go on, albeit in a cautious way, and they are mostly doing that - social distance is being adhered to in supermarkets, people are washing their hands regularly, and some are even wearing masks.

But the level of hysteria from those who can't deal with what they see as madness, the tantrums and name calling, the apparent inability to think for themselves and analyse the situation, is far more worrying. It's pretty ironic that for a nation born out of revolution and a drive for independence that many have become docile and blindly accepting of the words of an unelected medical representative with questionable past judgement, and a populist attention seeker with a good speech writer.

What needs to happen now is an acceleration of the timeline to reflect the reality of where we are now. Not dragging this out and causing more long term damage for another 2 months.

Indeed you did say it before, you were wrong then and you are wrong now.

Your argument is akin to saying that we don't need to vaccinate anymore because the diseases they suppress are no longer seen in the community, forgetting that the reason they are no longer seen is because of the vaccine.

Covid has been suppressed to the level it has due to the success of the measures to date - the distancing has had the same effect as a vaccine. What you are arguing for is to allow a free for all, taking what little protection society has from this disease away. All for what? Barbeques and beers? Seems like we will be potentially giving up a lot and getting little in return. How much of a tragedy do you think every death is when you advocate everyone doing what they want?

Your remarks on a nation born out of revolution and unelected medical representatives says everything we need to know really. Real wisdom there :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 302 ✭✭Muscles Schultz

Chillax pal - you’re day is done. Carpe diem !

This thread is toxic.

You mean you don't agree with the rhetoric and have absolutely nothing of substance to counter argue with.

Ireland will be the most restrictive nation in Europe, possibly the world, this Summer and for no reason.

Good news is, Europe is open for holiday if one has enough annual leave to adhere to Tony's guidelines on return