Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Chelsea Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2023/24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Tubbs4 wrote: »
    Conte gone again with a nice payoff. Spurs next as they seem to love to hire chelsea managers but he may ask for too much for spending money.

Nah, he wants to join a winning team, one that can challenge for the big honours.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,603 ✭✭✭grumpymunster

Tubbs4 wrote: »
    Conte gone again with a nice payoff. Spurs next as they seem to love to hire chelsea managers but he may ask for too much for spending money.

Conte whilst an abrasive chap is a fantastic football manager, seems a bit in the Jose mould do well, leave, rinse repeat.

Can't see him at Spurs they have a great stadium and seem to be very ambitious in the business world but not ambitious in the football world, potentially losing a player of the ability of Kane for the reason he is leaving is not a good advert.

More likely see him rock up at Old Trafford or Madrid I would have thought. Would be a nice 2 year stint for him doubt it would be longer.

Cool guy though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Barr

Conte would be a serious upgrade for a lot of clubs - hopefully he won’t be coming back to England any time soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,079 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Looks like Conte is destined for Spurs according to sky they're in talks anyway. In other news, it's been posted (on reddit so must be true) Chelsea will be wearing this season's kit rather than the new one, which is good news if you're superstitious and think the new kit is cursed.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭bullpost

Looks like Conte is destined for Spurs according to sky they're in talks anyway. In other news, it's been posted (on reddit so must be true) Chelsea will be wearing this season's kit rather than the new one, which is good news if you're superstitious and think the new kit is cursed.

I'd say Utd. will be a better fit for Conte and an upgrade for them after last night.

bullpost wrote: »
    I'd say Utd. will be a better fit for Conte and an upgrade for them after last night.

Yeah I'm talking b*llocks (no change there), Pochetino now all the talk with Spurs.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,603 ✭✭✭grumpymunster

Uncle Tom Cobley and all linked with Spurs job

• Registered Users Posts: 351 ✭✭Okon

Uncle Tom Cobley and all linked with Spurs job

They might prefer Uncle Tom Cobley to some of the names being mentioned! :)

Just looking at the odds for tomorrow night

Chelsea are 4.9 , City are 1.9

Surely we are worth a punt !

Barr wrote: »
    Just looking at the odds for tomorrow night

Chelsea are 4.9 , City are 1.9

Surely we are worth a punt !

We're winning it, put the house on it.

Today's the day.

Star number 2 coming back to London.

I won't change the habit of a lifetime and be confident enough to predict a Chelsea win, bit here's hoping I'm wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭weiland79

Hopefully we're not embarrassed tonight with a 3 nil scoreline at half time.
    Nerves kicking in now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,022 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

weiland79 wrote: »
    Hopefully we're not embarrassed tonight with a 3 nil scoreline at half time.
    Nerves kicking in now.

Luckily the history of this competition has shown that 3-0 at half time isn't insurmountable :)

First goal feels huge tonight though - especially if City score it.

But I just have a feeling that City's strikerless system plays into Chelsea's hands. Directness has been what's hurt Chelsea most this year - like CR7 for example (Callum Robinson 7). I kinda think City faffing about outside the box is grand with Tuchel - he'll be happy enough for Chelsea to soak pressure, hold them at arms length, and try to break. It's what Pep's downfall was last year against Lyon, going for total midfield control, and getting hit in behind.

The last two meetings of the pair saw Werner set up goals, and Ziyech score goals - interesting if we see the same thing pay off this time.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭Garzorico

I know this sounds (and prob is) wrong but I feel the Chelsea squad as a whole are calmer than City’s when it comes to the big games.

I’d like to see Werner out on the wing and Pulisic if he must start out on the left wing.

Mendy

James Christensen Thiago Rudiger Alonso

Kante Kovacic

Werner Havertz Pulisic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,022 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Garzorico wrote: »
    I know this sounds (and prob is) wrong but I feel the Chelsea squad as a whole are calmer than City’s when it comes to the big games.

I’d like to see Werner out on the wing and Pulisic if he must start out on the left wing.

Mendy

James Christensen Thiago Rudiger Alonso

Kante Kovacic

Werner Havertz Pulisic

No Azpilicueta? Think I'd definitely want his experience and leadership over either Christensen or James.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

I hope it's a frontline of Ziyech Werner Mount myself

I'd rather keep Pulisic on the bench for an impact of the bench, he and Werner are our two threats in behind, I'd rather have Pulisic fresh to come on at 60 or so

I'd guess

Mendy
    Azpi Silva Ruidger
    James Kante Jorghino Chilwell
    Mount Havertz Werner

Zieych is awful, so I hope he doesn't feature at all.

Yes, he's scored against City in the last 2 games but he's been seriously under whelming and I can't see us being able to carry him in the biggest club game of them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭RichT

Didier has something to say.......

https://twitter.com/i/status/1398687407390724096

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Starting to get nervous now!!! Beer to calm the nerves!

GavRedKing wrote: »
    I'd guess

Mendy
    Azpi Silva Ruidger
    James Kante Jorghino Chilwell
    Mount Havertz Werner

Not a bad guess Gav

Still not sure why Reece James is part of the back 3 as opposed to being a wing back, it's quite fluid under TT but he should be on the endline putting in balls

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzovision

Madness Tammy can't even make the bench with 2 keepers there......

• Registered Users Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭tombliboo83

Madness Tammy can't even make the bench with 2 keepers there......

On his way out the gap I'd say

Not a bad guess Gav

Still not sure why Reece James is part of the back 3 as opposed to being a wing back, it's quite fluid under TT but he should be on the endline putting in balls

Some journos have Azpi at rcb and James rwb.

I'd say it could easily change throughout the night.

City's front 6, let's face it, they've no recognised DM, Gundogam can do a fantastic job deeper but it looks like pep is going to go hyper fluid so James maybe better served with his pace at rcb.

Azpi is more than decent enough to keep Zienchenko honest on his flank and not allowing it all to spill down that side.

I wouldn't be surprised if some stage we see a back 4 for Chelsea and 5 in the middle, mount Havertz dropping behind Werner and James making the extra defensive option alongside Kante and Jorghino.

Fascinating night in store.

Confident we're winning but the last few results/performances have to be taken into account and they were seriously poor.

Take our chances, we should come out on top . Some night ahead

Even if we lose,I don't know any City fans personally so there's that.

:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,826 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

COME ON YOU BLUESSSSSS!

Very very nervy start by Reece James.

Warner will be the death of me

Good first half, if we had a striker that could finish it could be dead and buried. Hopefully more of the same in the second half. Lots of space to exploit there.

Johner wrote: »
    Very very nervy start by Reece James.

Has been excellent since that first few minutes tbf.

So far so good , hopefully pep doesent mix things up second half

• Registered Users Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭Garzorico

Johner wrote: »
    Good first half, if we had a striker that could finish it could be dead and buried. Hopefully more of the same in the second half. Lots of space to exploit there.

I’d say Pep will be shoring up that midfield for the second half.

Garzorico wrote: »
    I’d say Pep will be shoring up that midfield for the second half.

More than likely but I still think we can get joy on the counter, especially when City get a bit desperate if it’s still 1-0 after a bit of the second half.

Great to have pulisic in the bag as well , when he comes on he will give pep a right headache

• Registered Users Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭tombliboo83

On 70 minutes kovacic for Werner, pulisic for mount

That should have been the game

Note to kova, don’t get robbed in a dangerous position

Get that f**king up ye.

What a f**king win.

Give tommy Tuchel the keys to the castle.

Can we play city every week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,068 ✭✭✭DenMan

Arsenal fan here guys. Congratulations, Champions of Europe. Well done!

Kante a fookin legend

Mason Mount assisted the winner in a Champions League final

Unreal lads, cant believe it

I had 200 quid on the game as well, now breath

Remember when we were getting hammered by Man City under Sarri

Tommy T, what a man

YES YES YES YES WHAT A WIN!!!!!! CANT BELIEVE IT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

Delighted for Chelsea. Delighted to see Fraudiola fail again.

There's something great about stopping City and Pep.

Even sweeter than the first one.