Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[Cancelled] "Black lives matter" march 6th June 2020

• Registered Users Posts: 12,141 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

I don’t see much wrong with the thread unless you support illegal mass gatherings?

Yes because that's the only reason for thinking this thread is as described.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,945 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

owlbethere wrote: »
    What happened to George Floyd was unfortunate but it had nothing to do with the colour of his skin.

I don't for one minute support any march at this time.

But saying that race had nothing to do with George Floyd's deaths is naive, at best.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,638 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Absolute sh1tshow of a thread. IBTL.

This thread is the only good thing about this shítshow.

Surely it cant actually be let happen.

pjohnson wrote: »
    This thread is the only good thing about this shítshow.

Surely it cant actually be let happen.

Don't kid yourself, neither are good.

Only one will cause a fcuking virus to reignite. The west has done well for the most part why fcuk it up now?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Red_Wake

No, he has his finals that day.

I'm fully expecting that low life to use this as a platform to rehabilitate himself in the eyes of the public.

• Registered Users Posts: 372 ✭✭youandme13

It was announced this morning that no cases pass when outside!!!

Only one will cause a fcuking virus to reignite. The west has done well for the most part why fcuk it up now?

Ask the organisers and those attending.

Why would anyone with a quarter of brain approach the potentially virus ridden eejits.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,555 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

It will be a complete mess just like the one in Dublin yesterday.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,826 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Social distancing how are you, so middle class can get their jollies.

Why would anyone with a quarter of brain approach the potentially virus ridden eejits.

Again I'd direct you to those organising and attending. I believe someone linked a FB page you could ask on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭StackSteevens

Danzy wrote: »
    Social distancing how are you, so middle class can get their jollies.

If Mickey Dee was still a Galway resident, then he - accompanied by the always simpering Sabina - would be leading the march.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

Yeah and next week he's dead from Corona.

God forbid!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Multipass

What is the point of protesting here about the actions of a foreign police force? It’s really stupid... unless the Gardaí have been killing people. Don’t the Indian police hit people with large sticks? Why not march against the caste system? (Or concentrate on injustices in your own country)

• Registered Users Posts: 466 ✭✭DulchieLaois

Since ye are protesting, why don’t ye protest for

Rohingya Muslims in Burma
    Russian occupancy of Ukraine region
    Hong Kong people being suppressed by China
    catholic’s in Northern Ireland occupied by England

Christ, there’s a long list, #alllivesmatter

• Registered Users Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭c montgomery

Virtue signaling morons

The only outcome will be potentially increasing covid and wasting garda time.

If black lives matter than much to people maybe they could financially support groups in the US that work with disadvantaged people.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

See them all now on Instagram then taking selfies and pics in Bikinis saying "black lives matter"

Bunch of knob heads all they want is to bring American culture and politics to Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

Andrew00 wrote: »
    See them all now on Instagram then taking selfies and pics in Bikinis saying "black lives matter"

Bunch of knob heads all they want is to bring American culture and politics to Ireland

Their handbags are bigger than what they are wearing. I wear more going to bed.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,555 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Since ye are protesting, why don’t ye protest for

Rohingya Muslims in Burma
    Russian occupancy of Ukraine region
    Hong Kong people being suppressed by China
    catholic’s in Northern Ireland occupied by England

Christ, there’s a long list, #alllivesmatter

Doubt any of the muppets who will be at it if it goes ahead are posting on this thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 300 ✭✭the immortals

Another embarrassing wankfest of virtue signalling dimwits, American black lives matter more than old Irish white ones, absolute joke of a country

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,417 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

People before Profit looking to organize a bunch of protests next Saturday:

More like Politics before People.

https://twitter.com/pb4p/status/1267441732402151425

• Registered Users Posts: 7,787 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

robindch wrote: »

Drew Harris might take a leaf from his RUC days and borrow some water cannons.

• Registered Users Posts: 729 ✭✭✭Granadino

I suppose if you don't get in quick enough, it'll no longer be trending on social media. But wankery of the highest order. Just saw the clip on the 9 o clock news.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,651 ✭✭✭Milly33

thank god!! I thought people were just going mad, listening to the radio about all these protest like im sorry but it is lock down, take a moment or however long to think and realize that this is just a stupid idea.. Plus I am really sorry but what good will a protest do for anything...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭Whereisgalway

Make sure to self isolate for 14 days if you attend the “gathering”

• Registered Users Posts: 45,476 ✭✭✭✭Bobeagleburger

A march during a pandemic? I know it happened in Dublin but it'll hardly be allowed?

• Registered Users Posts: 45,476 ✭✭✭✭Bobeagleburger

robindch wrote: »

Populist party. Maybe they should sort their own party first.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,441 ✭✭✭JoeA3

This thread (and the Galway forum in general in recent times):

354062.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

ted1 wrote: »
    Disgraceful and disrespectful to all those who have made unemployed, business closed , families who couldn’t attend funerals, people who haven’t hugged family members

The demonstrators will actually alienate people and may actually encourage racism and it’s seen as giving us all the fingers

most "anti-racism" activism in Ireland is the same. In part because they appropriate their ideas from america, but black people in America have been there for centuries, and were brought there forcefully and terribly mistreated all that time. Not exactly the same as a population that chose to come here in the last 25 years and have generally been net recipients of Ireland's resources