Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

David Dorn - 77 years old shot by looters - no protests for you

• 03-06-2020 7:19am
    Site Banned Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭RIGOLO

In more current affairs...
    seeing as how we are having threads for victims of heinous crimes in America , lets have one for David Dorn.

Shot dead trying to protect a business from looters and peacful protestors who were honouring George FLoyds memory by destroying everything they could lay their hands on.

He was a retired St. Louis police captain who became a small-town police chief and was found fatally shot early Tuesday outside a pawn shop that was looted after protests over the death of George Floyd turned violent.
    He was shot in the stomach and left to bleed out on the sidewalk at 2AM .

It was just one of 50 plus businesses damagaed in that small area, by the peacful protestors out expressing anger at their communities being left behind by destroying the livelihoods and stores in said community.

He deserves to not be forgotten just as poor old George Floyd .Especially after giving 38 years working as a police officer in that neighbourhood.

https://abcnews.go.com/US/small-town-police-chief-killed-officers-cities-wounded/story?id=71017820

Lets bare a few moments to think of the widow he leaves behind. May she find solace and comfort.

There wont be any editorials, or much column inches given over to David Dorn in the main stream media or up-coming weekend newspapapers.. I guess they didnt teach critical thinking in journalism college these days. They dont have the language to even discuss it other than to give a footnote and small bio and move on to the more exciting race-baiting micro-macro aggression that runs off the global newswire they all suck the teat of.

Theres no spin to put on his death that will help the media with their virtue signaling rating battle. So rather than discuss it and potentially say the wrong thing, its far safer to not really discuss it all.

So no worldwide vigil for you David Dorn, no global sigh for the loss of your life, no protests, no rememberance, no headlines, no rioting.
    You didn’t fit the narrative for main stream media race baiting and politicising white on black crime to attack the incumbent President of the USA.
    So what time is the protest in Galway City this weekend to honour him ?

The liberal left wont be up in a huff over your passing. The indoctrination they subject themselves to daily, some of it knowingly some unknowingly, does'nt give them a lexicon to verbalise on your sad end. There are no social justice buzzwords they can throw out ad-nauseum with your shuffle off this mortal coil. Even their verbal gymnastics would struggle to get the N word (1936 Germany N word) into the conversation on your exit. So they will scuttle off to regroup and find another bandwagon to jump on. A bandwagon and a megaphone , twitter handle , press release where they will compete with each other to see who can be the most outraged and woke.

So RIP David Dorn.
    I suppose we should give credit where credit is due, at least the peacful protestors didnt rob a cheesecake to honour your memory.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

It’s footpath not sidewalk

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

vicwatson wrote: »

ffs

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

We're only interested in deaths that can be used politically against Donald Trump.

The death of Mr Dorn, while unfortunate, is simply collateral damage of the righteous actions of protesters.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,527 ✭✭✭✭fits

His attackers were not being paid by the taxpayer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭Brianmwalker

fits wrote: »

You'll find most of them were. Where do you think the 1,200 stimulus check came from?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,768 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

vicwatson wrote: »

It is in America so technically it’s a sidewalk.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    It is in America so technically it’s a sidewalk.

But we’re not in America so either it’s the pavement or the footpath. Too many posters on this thread already imagine they are living in a “walk up on the upper east side” when what they live in, and all they’ll ever live in, is a semi in an estate on the outskirts of Athlone .

• Registered Users Posts: 236 ✭✭THE_SHEEP

We're only interested in deaths that can be used politically against Donald Trump.

The death of Mr Dorn, while unfortunate, is simply collateral damage of the righteous actions of protesters.

Also , no " bad white person " kneeled on him , so he doesn't count , he's only a stat to be forgotten .

His death , is therefore of no use to " certain individuals / groups .

Lewis Hamilton and co will not care .

• Registered Users Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

fits wrote: »

well these lads were - in 2020 too so not a historic case. Duncan Lamp (21) shot in bed by the cops from outside the house. Software Developer - No criminal record.
    He was shot over a rumour on the internet . no riots ,protests or 24h coverage for him.
    Why? We all know why....it doesn't sell but a black man...well the media (and politicians) they can sell that...and they don't care about the cost . Once they get what they want.

All cases like this and (George Floyd) are both a tragedy and a disgrace . But the current situation is the media (and others) playing the people like a fiddle

https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2020/mar/14/duncan-socrates-lemp-maryland-shot-police-officer

• Registered Users Posts: 54 ✭✭ShareShare

Awh very sad. Whilst i agree with the protests and narrative. The spill over violence is disgusting and abusive.
    OP, you seem to really have a thing against the narrative and protestors, instead of having a problem with the violent looters and abuse.

Why do you merge the two things into one and hate them both? Why dont you hate the violence and looting etc, whilst simultaneously supporting the protesting of state enforced racism?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,305 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Uses death of a person to score points and indulge in political posturing in order to point out how bad the "liberals" are for using the death of a person for politician posturing. Yup, that checks out.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭RIGOLO

ShareShare wrote: »
    Awh very sad. Whilst i agree with the protests and narrative. The spill over violence is disgusting and abusive.
    OP, you seem to really have a thing against the narrative and protestors, instead of having a problem with the violent looters and abuse.

Why do you merge the two things into one and hate them both? Why dont you hate the violence and looting etc, whilst simultaneously supporting the protesting of state enforced racism?

Becauue give or take about 15 minutes after the protesting began it became meaningless once the first business window in their neighbourhood was smashed, just to show the world that they were law abiding folk being victimised by the state and that their nieghbourhood , which they were about to trash needed investment.

The press reaction to the incident became meaningless , give or take about 25 years ago.

Whenever whoever shot him is found they'll go to court and receive a lengthy prison term. The same doesn't happen when the police kill someone.

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 47,313 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

As with the other thread started by the OP, he is deliberately avoiding the whole issue about George Floyd's death - that he was killed by people whose job is to protect people and uphold the law. Both victims in the threads he started were murdered by common thugs, a terrible fact that is repeated multiple times every day across the States. This doesn't make their deaths any less tragic, and if anything it highlights how sadly commonplace murder has become in the US that their deaths have probably gone largely unreported except by local press. But again, they weren't killed by the very same people whose job it is is to deal with these thugs and ensure more innocent people aren't killed by them. As an ordinary citizen George Floyd would never have expected to die at the hands of those who are paid to "Protect and Serve", and it's this simple fact that has shocked decent people everywhere so much. It's really not that difficult to understand, unless you wilfully choose not to.

Zaph wrote: »
    As with the other thread started by the OP, he is deliberately avoiding the whole issue about George Floyd's death - that he was killed by people whose job is to protect people and uphold the law. Both victims in the threads he started were murdered by common thugs, a terrible fact that is repeated multiple times every day across the States. This doesn't make their deaths any less tragic, and if anything it highlights how sadly commonplace murder has become in the US that their deaths have probably gone largely unreported except by local press. But again, they weren't killed by the very same people whose job it is is to deal with these thugs and ensure more innocent people aren't killed by them. As an ordinary citizen George Floyd would never have expected to die at the hands of those who are paid to "Protect and Serve", and it's this simple fact that has shocked decent people everywhere so much. It's really not that difficult to understand, unless you wilfully choose not to.

Metaphorically, I could throw a stick out the window and hit 1000 crimes ignored by the media because it didnt fit their narrative and they dont have a lexicon of virute signaling catchphrases to discuss them .
    lets take one
    Angel Moms ... google it ....
    Let me know how many articles you find in the Irish press about them
    then come back to me and we can have a debate about balance and analysis.

you ignored my post on the recent case of Duncan Lamp which pointed out the same does happen to all races.

Some US cops are thugs - I won't deny that. Their militarisation seems insane to and how the people cheer that is bizarre. I've seen some shows where a swat team raids the house of a 10stone decrepit dealer with no history of violence for a few bags of weed. And thats the stuff they publicise.:eek:

But I'm not convinced they hate anybody or any race specifically.

I think cases like George Floyd are used by media and politicians for their own ends.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭Nermal

As an ordinary citizen George Floyd would never have expected to die at the hands of those who are paid to "Protect and Serve", and it's this simple fact that has shocked decent people everywhere so much.

'Ordinary citizen'.

https://twitter.com/whattingh/status/1267876694028947457

Absolutely puke-inducing to watch idiots all over the world kneeling for this waste of space.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Nermal wrote: »
    'Ordinary citizen'.

Absolutely puke-inducing to watch idiots all over the world kneeling for this waste of space.

The complainant in this case is probably white. A popular chant this week has been “all whites must die” with lots of white people joining in.
    Can you see how your point is completely invalid?

'Ordinary citizen'.

I think thats a bit much tbh. He may have had a record but he is entitled to be treated properly.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

george floyd might have been a convicted criminal and up to no good but he didnt deserve that and the book should be thrown at the officer responsible who himself has a very dodgy record

however , the politicisiation of everything (including the profile of those who die ) by the left is toxic , if you dont make their sacred cow list , you dont count

that mass exhibition of intelectual armpit sniffing by those at the american embassy on monday was nauseating

• Registered Users Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭Nozebleed

police in america are supposed to protect law abiding citizens from people like george floyd. this seems to be forgotten in the whole saga..its terrible that he died at the hands of the police. but was it intentional? was it racism? was it an execution? as is being touted by the media? i think not.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    however , the politicisiation of everything (including the profile of those who die ) by the left is toxic , if you dont make their sacred cow list , you dont count

He says, while politicizing this man's death. Toxic.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,588 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

Thing is, we don't know who shot David Dorn, or the other people (civilians and law enforcement) who have been shot and killed during the riots.

Which would not have started, had George Floyd not been executed by the Minneapolis PD.

https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2020/jun/02/george-floyd-protests-people-killed

• Registered Users Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭Nermal

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    george floyd might have been a convicted criminal and up to no good but he didnt deserve that and the book should be thrown at the officer responsible who himself has a very dodgy record

https://nypost.com/2020/05/28/cop-in-george-floyds-death-was-the-subject-of-10-complaints/

Read for yourself.

Don't skip over the commendations for valour.

How he responds to domestic violence complaints, as opposed to instigating them like this guy that morons around the world are worshiping.

Unsubstantiated complaints, no doubt logged by malcontents, are not comparable with a criminal record.

'Ordinary citizen'.

Whilst George didnt deserve what he got, no man does and the cops should go down.
    The irony of this story, if indeed it is true is that if GEorge FLoyd had pulled the trigger on this woman, killing her and her unborn baby, then the social justice warriors would just call it , how was it someone put it earlier, "just someone murederd by a common thug" ...no protests or memorial or news coverage for either of them, especailly the victim....

but now they want to beatify George Floyd at their altar of identity politics...

Which brings me back to my premise , yesterdays common thug is todays twitter class hero in their world where we all share the same bathrooms all becasue he serves their idealogical purpose and indcotrinated thinking.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

I wont quote the op as it's extremely long and detailed(fair play)and great post.

But HERE HERE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

splinter65 wrote: »
    But we’re not in America so either it’s the pavement or the footpath. Too many posters on this thread already imagine they are living in a “walk up on the upper east side” when what they live in, and all they’ll ever live in, is a semi in an estate on the outskirts of Athlone .

What have you against Athlone? My family hails from Athlone.
    What stunning Metropolis are you from?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

RWCNT wrote: »
    He says, while politicizing this man's death. Toxic.

i condemned his death unequivocally

the thread is about how another persons death is ignored by the identity politics brigade

that is the politicisation of death

• Registered Users Posts: 20,385 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

I mean, it is. It's a major movement bourn out of institutional injustice over a long period of time. There are peaceful protestors and some violent protestors and some who are just along for the excitement of the riot.

But the fact that the movement has become huge is generally a good thing. It's not a coincidence that the ones who are always on the side of opposing recognising racism, are also the ones who are more concerned about the George Floyd movement not being successful and are much more concerned with highlighting the negatives of the movement.

Fact is that the lid has been kept on the pressure cooker for decades (generations in fact) and the lid has blown off. The movement isn't about any individuals anymore. It's about the system as a whole. There will be lots of collateral damage.

RIP David Dorn and anyone else who is killed in this revolution. I also feel sorry for anyone who is hurt or has their livelihood ruined in the process of achieving necessary change. There has been plenty of time for them to change things voluntarily and they have chosen not to do so. This is an unfortunate consequence.

I hope David Dorn's killers are brought to justice

• Registered Users Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

This mans death is horrible. The poor man working at 77 to end up like that.

It should be publicized to try and stop the violence and the acceptance of violence that is happening.

Oppression doesn't justify destroying innocent people's property or beating people or killing inocent people just doing their jobs. Its disgusting and taking away from the protesters who are doing this peacefully.

How are the killers of this man any better then the policeman. Are you not protesting brutality and you brutalise other people from your own community.

Also it gives people the excuse to ignore the legitimate concerns of police brutality. Oh they are all just looters anyway, its just scumbags.

Can you be against both murders? Can you find both abhorrent?

Can I think the murder of both is wrong? Or only one or the other.