Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Benefits of Public Sector over Private Sector

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭talla10

addaword wrote: »
    Well said. They do not want to holiday in countries where the government would run the tourism industry either, because they see what that achieved in countries the the old Eastern Bloc and North Korea. Would they drive a trabant? It's ok for the people who pay their taxes to support their pensions not to have such pensions or pay or security themselves. They want their cake and to eat it themselves. Other people who helped make the cake and worked longer hours with less sickies can survive on 350 per week and no ps pension.

Absolute drivel.

And as i'm sure you are aware Public Servants pay tax as well so this 'we pay your wages' claim is nonsense which i'm sure everyone knows at this point.

If you want a pension nobody is stopping you setting one up- I contribute to approximately 15% of my wages to my pension every week.

I work a basic 42 hour week and routinely work mandatory overtime so don't talk to me about longer hours.

I haven't had a sick day in over 10 years, there are a few pi$$takers but no more so than in any other walk of life.

By 'making the cake' I presume you are talking about the economy- As is well documented we also pay PAYE, PRSI, USC, Property Tax etc.

If life is so easy in PS apply on Publicjobs.ie and join.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭dubrov

Well said. They do not want to holiday in countries where the government would run the tourism industry either, because they see what that achieved in countries the the old Eastern Bloc and North Korea. Would they drive a trabant? It's ok for the people who pay their taxes to support their pensions not to have such pensions or pay or security themselves. They want their cake and to eat it themselves. Other people who helped make the cake and worked longer hours with less sickies can survive on 350 per week and no ps pension.

I think you are getting confused between communism and the public sector

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭Treppen

You look for top quality and maximum value for money, with the best service. You can shop around and choose.

You ever try and ship around and choose a tradesman?.... And get top quality?

.... And there it is. Other people suffer so so must the public sector worker. Then you'll be happy :pac: talk about bitterness.

BTW it's eat your cake and have it. Everyone can have something and then eat it.

talla10 wrote: »
    Absolute drivel.

And as i'm sure you are aware Public Servants pay tax as well so this 'we pay your wages' claim is nonsense which i'm sure everyone knows at this point.

If you want a pension nobody is stopping you setting one up- I contribute to approximately 15% of my wages to my pension every week.

I work a basic 42 hour week and routinely work mandatory overtime so don't talk to me about longer hours.

I haven't had a sick day in over 10 years, there are a few pi$$takers but no more so than in any other walk of life.

By 'making the cake' I presume you are talking about the economy- As is well documented we also pay PAYE, PRSI, USC, Property Tax etc.

If life is so easy in PS apply on Publicjobs.ie and join.

Don't forget the old pension levy ... Which doesnt go towards a pension.

I pay private sector wages too, and get ###£ service for it a lot of the time.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

You disgust me because of your selfishness in looking for such high pay and pensions at the expense of everyone else in the country, who cannot afford such high pay and pensions.

Other than your one example of consultants, you seem to avoid other examples. You also forget to mention that several countries provide better pay and conditions for them, hence we have a huge issue filling those roles (cost of living in the UK is far lower than here BTW). Let's move onto Nurses where basic pay tops put at 45k, Gardai where rank and file tops out at 56k. Yes, just like the private sector, some jobs are overpaid, but alot aren't. I know people on salaries 10 times my own, they don't seem like difficult jobs and for the most part seem to involve smiling and slick talking. I know people on salaries under 1/4 of mine and I wouldn't do their job for my money. The world is unequal but the truth of the matter is, whether public or private, there is always someone doing an easier job for more and a tougher job for less. Your constant stereotyping, which you blindly miss, describes both sides. Private and Public sector have people who aren't good enough for their job and should be let go, both have people who go above and beyond every single day. You keep wearing your blinkers though, if a miserly pension keeps nurses in hospitals, I'm happy to contribute. If you ever have to go into hospital, please take the time to explain to the nurse treating you that you think they are overpaid and their pension is bloated. It's a tough job and including their pension I'd say they should be increasing the top level of pay for rank and file nurses by double. Teachers who I used to think were overpaid, not after a few months of homeschooling, fair play to them. I'm not adverse to the truth, there are quite a few which are extortionately overpaid, but I can find similar roles elsewhere in the private sector that are extortionately overpaid. There are some that are extortionately underpaid, in both sectors, but never let the truth get in the way of a good anecdote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,935 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Ireland spending on healthcare is €4706 per capita, which is a third more than the average across the OECD. High wages gobbled up most of it, it is not invested in beds or ICUs, you are right.
    In March we had far fewer ventilators and ICU beds per capita than most European countries, I blame public servants for gobbling up most of the huge health budget on wages, leaving so little for investment in facilities.

In March Leo had to shut down the economy as he feared our measly icu facilities would be overrun by the pandemic if he did not.

The same health system where hospital consultants are paid 41,000 per year more on average than their UK counterparts. No wonder the cost to the taxpayer per head of population is higher in Ireland, for a worse service.

Every country in the developed world went into lockdown, as no country had enough ICU beds to deal with a full Covid-19 outbreak.

But regardless of that , you've pretty much confirmed your own ignorance of how the healthcare system works.

The low levels of ICU beds is little to do with facilities. What we need for ICU services is more staff. You can get the bed anywhere, anytime. You might needs some extra monitors too. But the real gap is the people - the trained consultants, anesthetists, house doctors, full time nurses at at least 1:1 ratio, including cover for all shifts and breaks, the cleaners, the speech therapists to deal with swallowing, the radiographers and other therapists to do and interpret the diagnosics.

This might be a surprise to you, but healthcare is a people business.
    The same health system where hospital consultants are paid 41,000 per year more on average than their UK counterparts. No wonder the cost to the taxpayer per head of population is higher in Ireland, for a worse service.
    How does your salary/wages for your job/profession/role compare to your peers in the UK? I'm not asking you to reveal your salary - just asking how it compares to the UK.
    salonfire wrote: »
    Most public sector cheerleaders are all mouth and no trousers.

At the end of the day, when it comes to their own health and that of their families, they rely on the private sector health insurance and private hospitals and wouldn't dare do without.

Same with private schools, those that can afford it would rather send their children to be privately educated.
    If you think that customers of private schools and private education are mostly public sector staff, you're living in a fantasy land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭addaword

CramCycle wrote: »
    , Gardai where rank and file tops out at 56k.

You forget about the numerous allowances they get, and you forget any cop worth his salt rises above rant and file, and you forget they can retire after only 30 years service with a six figure tax free lump sum and a defined benefit pension, something nearly nobody in the 2 million strong private sector gets. Average pay for a Garda is over 60k, and with the value of the pension added in, it is the equivalent of 100k a year they get, as confirmed by David McWilliams.

Do not forget the Prime Minister of Spain, where some retired Gardai in their early fifties have holiday homes, only gets paid 72k a year.

No point in reading the rest of your post when you think Gardai are underpaid, given the state of the countries finances.

Treppen wrote: »
    You ever try and shop around and choose a tradesman?.... And get top quality?

Why do you not become a tradesman and learn a skill so? It is never too late to start. I am sure you will make a fortune once word gets around you provide top quality work and service, and you will make a fortune. You can even contribute to your own pension - Eddie Hibbs and the media (Indo, Irish Times etc) and pension experts say the Garda pension pot is worth 1.8 million to a retiring Garda on average, so you should be able to at least beat that. What is stopping you from becoming a tradesman too? Your competition will be very weak, according to you. Go for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,694 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

Addaword and salonfire have lost the plot and underminded their own weak arguments.

Too much nonsense out of them. Jealously is blinding them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

For anyone coming post April 2004 the pension is ****e. It's not even a consideration tbh.

Why not lobby to hand it back so....it is a 120 billion burden on the government, and those who submit their taxes to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭whampiri

Why not lobby to hand it back so....it is a 120 billion burden on the government, and those who submit their taxes to them.

Why should he? He pays into it himself and is entitled to it. In fact he has no choice but to pay into it. If you think that the PS if a bed of roses, go join it.

Remember we have nurses who have put their lives on the line during this pandemic and that we can't keep because their pay is so low. You're saying that they're overpaid? What about the consultants who move abroad for more money, the gardai who have their houses burned out, the welfare workers who deal with addiction and drug rehabilitation, the therapist working with a child who's disabled etc. Yeah all overpaid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭talla10

You forget about the numerous allowances they get, and you forget any cop worth his salt rises above rant and file, and you forget they can retire after only 30 years service with a six figure tax free lump sum and a defined benefit pension, something nearly nobody in the 2 million strong private sector gets. Average pay for a Garda is over 60k, and with the value of the pension added in, it is the equivalent of 100k a year they get, as confirmed by David McWilliams.

Do not forget the Prime Minister of Spain, where some retired Gardai in their early fifties have holiday homes, only gets paid 72k a year.

No point in reading the rest of your post when you think Gardai are underpaid, given the state of the countries finances.

We had this in the last thread- any sources for this?

And for your information rank and file Gardaí make up 90% of the force so they can't all be management.

Average pay for a Garda 60k- again median wage not an accurate reflection of actual wages

100k pension is also inaccurate, as i detailed Garda pensions and how they are calculated in a slightly different thread which you ignored

Any Garda who joined after April 2004 must reach 55 before retirement so in future Gardaí will not be able to retire in early 50s you'll be delighted to know

Again if this is all appealing to you sign in to Publicjobs and apply

That's a lie. Post 2004 pensions do not amount to that figure. And that figure applies over a generation or two, 30-50 years in total, so quoting a single figure is designed to be misleading.

Why do you not become a tradesman and learn a skill so? It is never too late to start. I am sure you will make a fortune once word gets around you provide top quality work and service, and you will make a fortune. You can even contribute to your own pension - Eddie Hibbs and the media (Indo, Irish Times etc) and pension experts say the Garda pension pot is worth 1.8 million to a retiring Garda on average, so you should be able to at least beat that. What is stopping you from becoming a tradesman too? Your competition will be very weak, according to you. Go for it.
    That's the kind of platform that Eddie Hibbs (sic) tried to push forward when he took a leadership position with Renua. How did that work out for him/them?

Another lie there, with your claim that no-one in the private sector gets a defined benefit pension.

Are you still doing the international comparisons? How's does your salary compare to your peers in Spain?

New teachers will barely get out what they put into their pension . Hope your happy addaword

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Source.

Post 2004 isn't much of a burden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,594 ✭✭✭karlitob

I have interview in three weeks for a role, obviously salary is better and more holidays but anything i should be aware of like been easier to let go etc.

Has there been ever a huge layoff of public sector staff?

You make it sound like it’s a surprise that the private sector exists since things are so good in public sector.

Public sector doesn’t lay off, it just doesn’t replenish. Hard to lay off Garda, nurses, doctors, teachers, civil service, etc.

Pension levy will be a surprise on net pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,594 ✭✭✭karlitob

Treppen wrote: »
    New teachers will barely get out what they put into their pension . Hope your happy addaword

B*****x

Another lie there, with your claim that no-one in the private sector gets a defined benefit pension.

I never claimed no-one in the private sector get s defined benefit pension. I said " nearly nobody" in the 2 million strong private sector workforce.
    Big difference. Do not accuse me of lying when I did not lie. Everyone in the public sector gets a defined benefit pension.
    An average Garda pension is worth 1.8 million, extremely few people in the private sector can afford that and retire after 30 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,111 ✭✭✭Technocentral

I never claimed no-one in the private sector get s defined benefit pension. I said " nearly nobody" in the 2 million strong private sector workforce.
    Big difference. Do not accuse me of lying when I did not lie. Everyone in the public sector gets a defined benefit pension.
    An average Garda pension is worth 1.8 million, extremely few people in the private sector can afford that and retire after 30 years.

Why does anyone work in the Private Sector considering the Public one is so amazing?

Because not everyone can work for the government. Ever see an economy where the state runs everything? Nothing functions well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,111 ✭✭✭Technocentral

Because not everyone can work for the government. Ever see an economy where the state runs everything? Nothing functions well.

You should at least try if it's so amazing though, no?

I done the next best thing, I made sure my kids researched their options, evaluated salaries, pensions, security etc, talked to relatives and friends.... and they got jobs in the public sector, as I advised them to. They are delighted. I cannot see them ever leaving for the private sector, very few ever leave the p.s. before retirement.

People don't get to choose their own pensions. Like any employer, the public sector offers a package to new employees, a mix of benefits including salary, pension and others.

If you want to argue for a switch out of DB pensions, you'll be paying both DB and DC pensions for a generation or two. Good look with selling that to any Government.

Apologies, my mistake - I missed the 'nearly' bit.

You did lie about the costs of the post-2004 pensions though.

I done the next best thing, I made sure my kids researched their options, evaluated salaries, pensions, security etc, talked to relatives and friends.... and they got jobs in the public sector, as I advised them to. They are delighted. I cannot see them ever leaving for the private sector, very few ever leave the p.s. before retirement.

And you've told them about your active campaign to cut their benefits, right?

They themselves think that the higher paid people in the public service are paid too much, given the national debt is about 200 billion and the country is borrowing 30 billion just to keep the lights on. It is not sustainable.

But you and they don't think their salary is too much? There's a surprise now.

BTW, if you want to reduce debt, reducing the salary of the small number of higher paid staff won't cut the mustard. You're going to need to cut salary of your own children. Have a good chat with them about your plans and let us know how you get on.

Apologies, my mistake - I missed the 'nearly' bit.

Apology accepted.

You did lie about the costs of the post-2004 pensions though.

No I did not, I was in the ball park, compared to what the other poster was claiming. On Thursday 19th July 2018 the Irish Times reported as follows:

"Public sector pension costs forecast to more than double by 2040
    Contributions from workers to remain static at some €1.6bn per year as bill hits €7.3bn
    Thu, Jul 19, 2018, 21:31
    Pat Leahy

The cost of public service pensions will rise sharply in the coming years, increasing by €2 billion by 2025, while the level of pension contribution from public servants will remain steady.

An analysis by the Department of Public Expenditure has found that the cost of public sector pensions to the exchequer will rise from €3.4 billion last year to €5.3 billion by 2025, while the contributions from public servants will remain static at about €1.6 billion per year. By 2040, the cost will have reached €7.3 billion.

Public service pensions are financed out of current spending, However, pension contributions by public servants amount to - at today’s levels - slightly less than half the total cost of public service pensions being paid out.

But that proportion will fall sharply. By 2025, contributions will be less than a third of the cost of pensions. By 2045, contributions will amount to less than a fifth of the cost of pensions paid out.

The report warns of the need to control recruitment because of rising costs, and says that further reforms could be introduced to limit pension increases to increases in the consumer price index. Historically public service pensions have increased in proportion with pay grades, and any change would need to be negotiated with the public sector unions.

Currently, public servants who retire with full service (40 years) receive a guaranteed pension of 50 per cent of final salary plus a once-off tax free lump sum of 150 per cent of final salary.

Reforms to public sector pensions were introduced in 2013 which will significantly reduce benefits. However, they only apply to public servants who were recruited after that date. In the case of a public servant who retires with full service, that will not be until the mid-2050s.

The report estimates that the total pension liability for the public service at present is €114 billion."

BTW, if you want to reduce debt, reducing the salary of the small number of higher paid staff won't cut the mustard. You're going to need to cut salary of your own children. Have a good chat with them about your plans and let us know how you get on.

The number of higher paid staff in the p.s. is not a small number. You say it won't cut the mustard. I say every bit helps. Look at New Zealand, some people there who were paid by the government voluntarily took a 20% cut in salary when the pandemic hit.

No I did not, I was in the ball park, compared to what the other poster was claiming. On Thursday 19th July 2018 the Irish Times reported as follows:
    That post specifically referred to post-2004 pensions. The article refers to all public pensions, both pre- and post- 2004.

@addaword: I'm unsure if your issue is the wages, the pension, the sick leave policy or the expenses claimed by certain sectors of the ps.

You're coming across as someone with a huge chip on the shoulder. As I've said before, if the ps is so good, why not apply for it yourself? Or maybe run in politics and work to bring down the wages.

We won't mention the enormous wages of IT developers, bank officials, pharmacists, chemical engineers etc. Nah, easier to just take pot shots at those in the PS.

Lots of places have advantages. I believe the Department of Finance booked out a certain stadium a few years ago to throw a massive Xmas party. Then they gave huge bonuses to their staff. Oh, wait, that was Google.

And before you say that they're unique, they're not. There's lots of them that do the same. As has been stated and restated, there's Deadwood in every organisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,686 ✭✭✭barneystinson

Ha, and let me guess, the "higher paid" are a group that doesn't include your kids? that's convenient isn't it!

What do you say to the FACT that every analysis of public / private sector pay shows that the pay gap is greatest at the lowest paid levels of the Public sector, and that the gap in fact becomes negative at the higher levels...? That's a bit of an inconvenient truth, isn't it... no doubt you won't "think" about it too hard though...

whampiri wrote: »
    Lots of places have advantages. I believe the Department of Finance booked out a certain stadium a few years ago to throw a massive Xmas party. Then they gave huge bonuses to their staff. Oh, wait, that was Google.

And before you say that they're unique, they're not. There's lots of them that do the same.

Google is one of the best known and most successful businesses in the world. No mean achievement, given there are millions of businesses in the world. The vast majority of business do not hire stadiums. In Ireland, three quarters of those in the private sector work in small and medium businesses. Nearly nobody nowadays can afford or get a defined benefit pension.

If the top of the public sector got a 20% pay cut very few would leave the public sector. Nothing to stop them doing so if they wish to do so.

purifol0 wrote: »
    Aha, and why are my taxes spent employing people who arent pulling their weight exactly? If a private sector company employs wasters, thats no money out of my pocket.

unless you have ever bought anything ever

You have a a bad experience with company or service you don't continue using them.
    I don't have a choice to fund the largesse of the public sector, it's taken off me at source.

But my taxes and those of my countrymen working outside the public sector aren't enough to pay for it anymore, hence even more govt borrowing. 6 years of growth and the public coffers are not only barren, they're full of IOUs. Public sector don't care about the debt, because that money is borrowed to make sure their pay and pensions stay secure.

Public services are in a woeful state because entire budgets are spent on pay.

more nonsense.

find somewhere without taxes or a public service

send a postcard, tell us how wonderful it is, when you settle

look forward to news from this utopia

Dept did a great job with Western Building Systems didn't they. Well done on signing that off.

https://www.rte.ie/news/education/2019/1112/1090225-school-building-works/

Sure its only 40 million euro. Cant have the builder pay that, nope tax payer will take the pain. Wonderful work there, just like the childrens hospital.

private sector firm, right?

Ireland spending on healthcare is €4706 per capita, which is a third more than the average across the OECD. High wages gobbled up most of it, it is not invested in beds or ICUs, you are right.

do you benchmark your wages against OECD averages i wonder

more nonsense.

find somewhere without taxes or a public service

send a postcard, tell us how wonderful it is, when you settle

look forward to news from this utopia

He did not say he was advocating no public service. He complained about funding the "largesse" of the public service.

no

he complained

as you have done throughout

that you don't have any option but to pay taxes towards the disaster that is ireland and the irish system

there's your option

cya x

Google is one of the best known and most successful businesses in the world. No mean achievement, given there are millions of businesses in the world. The vast majority of business do not hire stadiums. In Ireland, three quarters of those in the private sector work in small and medium businesses. Nearly nobody nowadays can afford or get a defined benefit pension.

If the top of the public sector got a 20% pay cut very few would leave the public sector. Nothing to stop them doing so if they wish to do so.

Name a single Public servant who gets a bonus at xmas? Swings and roundabouts but at this stage I'll bow out of this discussion as there is no possibility of changing your mind. Enjoy continuing your campaign with the chip on your shoulder. I'll enjoy all my sick leave, my massive pension and my ability to do nothing but show up to work everyday and get my huge wages.

whampiri wrote: »
    Name a single Public servant who gets a bonus at xmas?

Most private sector employees I know do not get a bonus at Christmas. And of those that do, it is usually less than 1% ofthe five figure difference between average public sector and average private sector annual salaries anyway.

The best bonus of all is the average € 75,000 to 100,000 tax free "gratuity" public sector employees get on retirement.

It is a great place to work. If you think it is not, feel free to apply for a job elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭History Queen

Can we get this thread renamed "Addaword's life experience and beliefs about the public sector"? It certainly doesn't relate to the thread title anymore

On the contrary, the thread is about the many benefits and advantages the public sector offers to its employees. Now please stay on topic.

Most private sector employees I know do not get a bonus at Christmas. And of those that do, it is usually less than 1% ofthe five figure difference between average public sector and average private sector annual salaries anyway.

The best bonus of all is the average € 75,000 to 100,000 tax free "gratuity" public sector employees get on retirement.

It is a great place to work. If you think it is not, feel free to apply for a job elsewhere.

For the record, I've worked private and self employed so I know what the bonus of each is. For me it's the work life balance, not the money.

But I know it's great. Combine it with our free massages and free meals, parties every night of the week, free health insurance and free car along with our massive pensions and wages. It's great. All the while we laugh at people with chips on their shoulders!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭History Queen

On the contrary, the thread is about the many benefits and advantages the public sector offers to its employees. Now please stay on topic.

Well it reads like your take on public sector benefits rather than a discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Mr Meanor

Then why are you running it down with these constant barrages of nonsense?
    So that your kids job working in the public sector will, in the future you hope have lower pay and a lower pension in their old age.
    Some parent you are! Why don't you show them your posts on this thread about their current jobs

Mr Meanor wrote: »
    Then why are you running it down with these constant barrages of nonsense?
    So that your kids job working in the public sector will, in the future you hope have lower pay and a lower pension in their old age.
    Some parent you are! Why don't you show them your posts on this thread about their current jobs

Some people think of the greater good and think of what would be best for the country in the medium / long term, like those people paid by the government in New Zealand who voluntarily too a 20% pay cut when the pandemic struck.

Other posters and indeed all the media have pointed out there is a large difference between average public sector and average private sector pay in Ireland, while no such premium exists in Germany, UK etc

My kids are delighted to be working in the public sector, it wins hands down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭thenightman

Benefits for new entrants working in the public sector include a two tier pay system for staff doing identical jobs, mandatory pension deduction to fund the amazing pensions of earlier entrants (ours is basically whatever state pension exists at retirement) and no wage increases since recession, just pay restoration. Only benefits I liked was flexi time (gone since covid) and the ability to take leave during summer months for reduced salary.

I was promoted recently to EO and come out with 468e per week (minus 28e for tax saver travel card). For this I do a stressful, fast paced job of some responsibility and little recognition and have to work with and advise everyone from Tusla, Revenue and DOJ to the Gardai. One of my days last week for example, was spent listening to a terrified screaming child while his parent waited to find out if state would be removing it from their care or not. Another was spent being verbally abused over the phone for asking a person for their correct address, as documents sent to them previously were returned undelivered.

Despite the above, I still enjoy my job and get a bit of satisfaction out of it. Something I never got working in the private sector. Still, it is disheartening to read such ignorant opinions being bandied about as fact from the two particular posters on this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Mr Meanor

Some people think of the greater good and think of what would be best for the country in the medium / long term, like those people paid by the government in New Zealand who voluntarily too a 20% pay cut when the pandemic struck.

Other posters and indeed all the media have pointed out there is a large difference between average public sector and average private sector pay in Ireland, while no such premium exists in Germany, UK etc

My kids are delighted to be working in the public sector, it wins hands down.

Will you just answer the question, 'Your kids are delighted to be working in the public sector, it wins hands down' but you are disparaging their jobs!

What have you said to your kids about lowering their pay and their pensions?

Will you just answer the question, 'Your kids are delighted to be working in the public sector, it wins hands down' but you are disparaging their jobs!

When did I ever disparage their jobs or express the opinion that their jobs are of little worth? Get your facts right. Many on this thread fail to do so too.

What have you said to your kids about lowering their pay and their pensions?

It is them who have expressed the opinion that many - not all - in the public service are overpaid and over pensioned. They know the country, their employer, is one of the most indebted in the world per head of population and is borrowing 30 billion to keep the lights on during the crises. They know it is not sustainable and they are better off than most of their friends / old class mates. They think of the common good.

addaword no more has children working in the public service than any other statement they have made is true on this topic over the past three weeks and three or four threads