Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Build a rural house close to the road...or well back on a much 'better' site?

Options
  • 03-06-2020 12:05pm

Hi,

I'm a part-time farmer in the midlands (have a full-time off-farm job too). I'm hoping to build a house on my own land. There are limited options for a 'site' on which to build a house on this land.

I already applied for planning and got permission - to build on a specific location on the farm. However, the house (while 'fairly' close to the road - needing a 50m lane/driveway) would be almost beside (and set back from - so almost behind) a neighbour's farmyard and sheds.

I'm not very keen on this, but that's the only suitable location to build on that's 'close' to the public road.

The other option is to build in a location (on the same farm) that's over 400m back from the public road. I don't have permission to build there, but my architect reckons there's a good chance of an application being approved (subject to giving up the 'existing' permission on the existing 'site').

The plus point about the (400m-in) site is that it's generally a much nicer setting. It offers much better views and it's not beside/behind another farmyard.

Putting in and maintaining a 400m-long lane/driveway doesn't phase me, as we have access to machinery and I will have to put in a farm roadway (albeit rougher) along much of this distance at some point in the future anyway.