Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arson attack on Garda's home, Dundalk

• 08-06-2020 2:46pm
    Registered Users Posts: 8,559 ✭✭✭

https://www.rte.ie/news/2020/0608/1146129-garda-home-arson-attack-dundalk/
    The garda, his pregnant wife and their two children, aged under ten, were in the house when the attack took place at around 11pm last night.

The children were taken from bed and the family escaped without injury but remain severely traumatised.

It is the third such attack on the home of a garda in the Dundalk area in the last 18 months.

Gardaí believe the attack is connected to the garda's work. He is stationed in another county but was involved in a significant local drugs seizure.

had a quick google and there have been quite a few seizures in the last 6 months around that area of the country, crime gangs must be getting more desperate

• Registered Users Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭WrenBoy

Either more desperate or more violent as the next generation replace the last the more violent and willing to do these types of things will be the gang that ends up on top of the heap until the next group come along that are willing to take things further and claim the top spot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

The full force of the Irish State should be brought down on those responsible. An attack on the people who defend us on a daily basis is an attack on society as a whole.
    Hit back at these criminals ........... and hit them back hard.

• Registered Users Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Telly

That's absolutely disgusting. His pregnant wife and two kids in bed. Scumbags!

• Registered Users Posts: 20,056 ✭✭✭✭neris

Kivaro wrote: »
    The full force of the Irish State should be brought down on those responsible. An attack on the people who defend us on a daily basis is an attack on society as a whole.
    Hit back at these criminals ........... and hit them back hard.

We should be sending the army out with the gardai in certain areas and on certain operations. These scum are a danger to the state

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭Hairy Japanese BASTARDS!

Shur it's are culture, boss.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Attempted murder on kids, I really hope they are found and the key is thrown away after they lock the monsters up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

Country is ****3d.

We have traveller gangs shootings and petrol bombing with impunity and black gangs beating up white teenagers in racist attacks.

Country has gone to the dogs.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,559 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Shur it's are culture, boss.

i thought their culture was fighting for a 32 county socialist republic, hard to know what culture we're talking about

• Registered Users Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Country has gone to the dogs.

I don't think much has changed for the worse, all things considered.

People were stabbing people in Ireland long before the influx of people in recent times. People were shooting Guards dead in their squad cars or blowing them up in traps/burning them alive in Garda Stations.

The public were either being blown up or sexually abused en masse or emigrating in their tens of thousands in the past, how can it be that the country has "gone to the dogs"?

The difference is people being whipped into a frenzy online and on social media.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

perhaps they were just getting on board with the f*ck the police narrative which is all the rage?

donvito99 wrote: »
    I don't think much has changed for the worse, all things considered.

People were stabbing people in Ireland long before the influx of people in recent times. People were shooting Guards dead in their squad cars or blowing them up in traps/burning them alive in Garda Stations.

People were either being blown up or sexually abused en masse or emigrating in their tens of thousands in the past, how can it be that the country has "gone to the dogs"?

The difference is people being whipped into a frenzy online and on social media.

I assume you think the same about the whole ‘black lives matter’ thing? People being whipped up into a frenzy?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

I assume you think the same about the whole ‘black lives matter’ thing? People being whipped up into a frenzy?

Not sure what that has to do with this thread, Dave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭Hairy Japanese BASTARDS!

This is something Singapore does right.

If you're caught with 15g of heroin or cocaine, it's a one way trip to the gallows.

donvito99 wrote: »
    Not sure what that has to do with this thread, Dave.

I said the same to myself when you started talking about sex abuse and emigration, Ted.

This is something Singapore does right.

If you're caught with 15g of heroin or cocaine, it's a one way trip to the gallows.

String them up!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭pinkyeye

Anyone who attacks a Gardaí should get double the normal sentence automatically with no parole.

If we start to allow attacks like this on our law enforcers we'll end up in real trouble.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Scumbag behaviour

• Registered Users Posts: 378 ✭✭newuser99999

There needs to be a serious reform of the law here. If you killed a cop in Canada you’d be looking at a mandatory life sentence. Here we have Sinn Fein advocating for the release of Gardaí killers under the guise of the Good Friday Agreement.

• Registered Users Posts: 56,343 ✭✭✭✭walshb

A direct attack not only on this man and his family, but on the state and its people.....This man is a servant of the sate. Serving us, the people.

But, really, what does it matter, because it is highly likely that the person or persons who did this, if caught, will be handed a very basic punishment...

These acts/crimes/attacks deserve serious jail time.....real serious.

Ar best a 5-7 years sentence, when this crime should warrant a minimum 25 years sentence

This is why mandatory sentencing should be introduced by legislation for these types of crimes.
    It takes it out of the hands of liberal judges.

This is why mandatory sentencing should be introduced by legislation for these types of crimes.

Sadly most judges find a way around that.

They might work within a graduated system. Say for example, if your fifth conviction for the same offence meant you had to be sentenced to a minimum of 10% the maximum sentence. For theft that would mean no suspended sentences or probation, 5th strike = 1 year in jail. They can give higher of course but it would curtail the daily offenders.

Sadly most judges find a way around that.

They might work within a graduated system. Say for example, if your fifth conviction for the same offence meant you had to be sentenced to a minimum of 10% the maximum sentence. For theft that would mean no suspended sentences or probation, 5th strike = 1 year in jail. They can give higher of course but it would curtail the daily offenders.
    The graduated system would be a lot better than what is happening now in Irish courts. When our great, great, grandchildren read about our times and the numerous criminals that were continually allowed to roam our streets even after hundreds of previous convictions; they will think that we all were smoking pot or something ...

I have qualms myself about mandatory sentencing but at this stage we need some form of change in our judiciary and sentencing structures, because the current system ain't working.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,435 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

Good news. Gardai arrested a scrote this morning in connection with this arson attack.

• Registered Users Posts: 640 ✭✭✭da_miser

Hold on a minute
    I have been keeping a eye on the protests the last couple of weeks
    The media tells me these are justified peaceful protestors
    I see people walking side by side with lovely handcrafted signs, BLM, ANTIFA, ACAB.

Whats this all about?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,824 ✭✭✭irishproduce

That's an excellent point.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,824 ✭✭✭irishproduce

With respect, I think you underestimate just how much income the free legal aid solicitors and barristers would lose out on. They are meddling and lobbying all the while in the background.
    There isn't enough work for them so the ones who cant get work on merit, get free legal aid work to plug the gap.
    It is necessary therefore to have repeat offenders providing an income source.

• Registered Users Posts: 83,483 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

This mentality has wrecked the US. Careful what you wish for.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,994 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

Apparently Dundalk is the worst posting in the country...Know a couple of Guards and the stories of lads leaving the force due to not being able to get reposted/location

• Registered Users Posts: 4,994 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

Overheal wrote: »

Think the 3 strike rule caused more danage

• Registered Users Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Vic_08

Overheal wrote: »

That is absolute crap.

The incarceration rates in the US are ludicrously high but that is a symptom of an already broken country where poverty is almost a guarantee of being swept up in the corrupt criminal justice industry.

A country with virtually no social welfare safety net, a country where a hospital bill can bankrupt an entire family and leave them actually homeless, a country with a heroin epidemic almost entirely fuelled by the reckless over-prescription of opiate painkillers that is a one way ticket to criminality and incarceration.

The idea that longer sentences for serious and habitual criminals doesn't work because it hasn't worked in America is one of the most frequently trotted out fallacies on here.

I guess it is easier to make the utterly stupid comparison with America rather than actually justify allowing violent gang members and career criminals to walk the streets after numerous convictions rather than be locked away from the society they have proven they are unwilling to live in legally.

The US is wrecked; it is not because of mandatory sentencing. Appropriate jail terms will not wreck Ireland, it will definitely make it a safer country for the majority of citizens who live their entire lives without engaging in any criminality.

Of course we are supposed to just slave away so the taxes that prop up the criminal classes and the trough feeders in the "justice" system are being paid and never expect our betters to actually lift a finger to make the country a safer place to live in.