Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 27th Amendment and Jus Soli Citizenship

• 08-06-2020 5:01pm
    Registered Users Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭

It appears from Twitter that the BLM movement has given fuel to some folks who are determined that jus soli (birthright citizenship for all born on the island no matter where the parents come from or their legal status) should be reinstated in Ireland.

The 27th amendment to the constitution (wisely in my view) removed jus soli citizenship by popular referendum, but provides that it can be reinstated by an act of the Oireachtas.

This one is coming folks and will be a messy debate.

Should the activists get the ear of the next government and browbeat them into undoing the 2004 referendum result, we'd be the only country in Europe with jus soli. I'm not sure we're prepared for the influx nor is it desirable in the least. If you think we won't see mothers flocking from all corners of the earth to secure an EU passport for their kid, you've your head in the sand.

This will be interesting to see how it plays out.

*Pro controlled immigration, anti free-for-all reducing the meaning of Irish citizenship to a flight purchase on Skyscanner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

80% of the voters in Ireland approved this referendum for a reason. The sizeable majority of the vote expressed the certainty of the country's wishes.
    Curiously enough, when I was searching for the exact number on Google (79.17%), the predictive results as I was typing was about the repeal of this amendment ..... so the repeal people have already started their online campaign.

The Labour party have been rattling the cages about repealing the amendment, but then again, the Labour party have been shooting themselves in the foot for so long that they have no toes left.
    Plain and simple, the majority will not accept changes to the amendment; irrespective of the tantrums by the BLM/Anti-white privilege mob.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

One of the most important amendments in our constitution. Luckily I think most of Ireland can see how important it is and like 16 year olds voting, its removal would be shot down like a lead balloon.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Ireland harmonised with other countries that requires a parent to be a citizen.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 315 ✭✭coinop

The 27th Amendment was approved by a massive 80% of voters. Rarely do we see such a solid majority in these referendums. Therefore cries to repeal it should not be entertained. For comparison, 2015's same-sex marriage referendum was only approved by a 62% majority and 1995's divorce referendum by 50.28%.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Was this not the one where we were “sold a pup”? We were told there were hordes of pregnant women washing up on our shores ready to “pop”.

They were the reasons our hospitals, and maternity hospitals, were “heaving” and well over capacity. People on trolleys in the halls, and the like. All from these foreigners swarming to our island.

Strange that not much changed with the hospitals after it “passed”. But, then again, not really. But here we are.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Was this not the one where we were “sold a pup”? We were told there were hordes of pregnant women washing up on our shores ready to “pop”.

They were the reasons our hospitals, and maternity hospitals, were “heaving” and well over capacity.

They put a stop to the Lagos express as it was known .

Hey nice try though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭double jobbing

Kivaro wrote: »
    Plain and simple, the majority will not accept changes to the amendment; irrespective of the tantrums by the BLM/Anti-white privilege mob.

I just had a count of how the Dail looks, assuming it ever sits.

72 of 160 seats are taken by FF- FG. While you have the odd born again Bono loon like Charlie Flanagan among them, you would have to imagine most would toe the party line, and I don't see either FF or FG campaigning to overthrow a democratic vote (they never even seemed to agitate for a Brexit re run to their credit). The only possible way would be for the Greens to make birth citizenship a red line. They approve of it but I can't see it being one of their red lines either.

41 seats are in the hands of Labour, SD, Greens, AAA- PBP, lunatic fronts with no respect for anybody, who would have no qualms forcing this through.

SF, with 37 votes, is a strange one. They put in some lip service piece in their last manifesto about a need for some degree of immigration control as they were concerned their previous shouting on the issue was putting off some of their core vote.

All depends on SF really. Go woke or stick to the working class they claim to represent.

There are 41 votes guaranteed for this ****e. SF would add 37, although you would imagine at least a handful would dissent and be kicked out of the party a la the abortion vote.

A few rogue lefties in FF/ FG, or alternatively sneaky ****ers who reckon the ensuing deluge of asylum applications might be good for some hotel they have a stake in, and it's over the line.

The most gas aspect of this being that Paul Murphy was on the radio a while back happily banging on about how a second referendum isn't needed to overturn this.

He is correct.

A second referendum would also not be needed to either outright ban abortion or place serious limits on availability.

I seem to recall during the last election the left was so terrified that this might happen they drew up a list of candidates ranked by the abortion views of all known to have expressed a public view on the matter (those with no recorded public view were to be regarded as potentially conservative and you were advised not to vote for them). That's how terrified they are of a referendum they approve of being legally overturned by elected representatives.

One rule for them eh :rolleyes:

You would wonder how the rest of the EU would view a change in our law. After all the amount of London raised Nigerian lads who have cropped up in Ireland underage teams seems to indicate that a serious amount of the people who used this loophole 20 years ago were more concerned with using it to settle in Britain/ France etc than here.

• Registered Users Posts: 277 ✭✭Madeleine Birchfield

Those born in Ireland to foreign parents ought to live in Ireland for 5-9 years before they or their parents can apply for them to become Irish citizens. If they want jus soli births they could head to the Americas.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,559 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

coinop wrote: »
    The 27th Amendment was approved by a massive 80% of voters. Rarely do we see such a solid majority in these referendums..

the only reason it was needed was because of the changes made to the constitution after the Good Friday Agreement:
    "It is the entitlement and birthright of every person born in the island of Ireland, which includes its islands and seas, to be part of the Irish Nation."

they say the GFA is sacrosanct, but we weren't too slow in changing that, (or finding a way around it at least)

Those born in Ireland to foreign parents ought to live in Ireland for 5-9 years before they or their parents can apply for them to become Irish citizens. If they want jus soli births they could head to the Americas.

It's the Dole they want. Welfare tourists aint going to America.

• Registered Users Posts: 859 ✭✭✭Randy Archer

Yurt! wrote: »
    It appears from Twitter that the BLM movement has given fuel to some folks who are determined that jus soli (birthright citizenship for all born on the island no matter where the parents come from or their legal status) should be reinstated in Ireland.

The 27th amendment to the constitution (wisely in my view) removed jus soli citizenship by popular referendum, but provides that it can be reinstated by an act of the Oireachtas.

This one is coming folks and will be a messy debate.

Should the activists get the ear of the next government and browbeat them into undoing the 2004 referendum result, we'd be the only country in Europe with jus soli. I'm not sure we're prepared for the influx nor is it desirable in the least. If you think we won't see mothers flocking from all corners of the earth to secure an EU passport for their kid, you've your head in the sand.

This will be interesting to see how it plays out.

*Pro controlled immigration, anti free-for-all reducing the meaning of Irish citizenship to a flight purchase on Skyscanner.

Very few nations, particularly in Europe (us the the Belgians were the last ) had his soli rules right up to the mid 1990s

Reality was, it was a back door to getting around immigration rules and it was a abused , it was not just black people getting it btw . Just look at the asylum stats from 1998-2004 and the stats from 2005 onwards . Note the amount who applied , where they were from and most important of all, the amount of withdrawals once they land

They can go and ****e, if the referendum was held tomorrow , the result would be the same .

Even many African nations don’t have citizenship laws that make you a citizen simply because you were born there eg Nigeria

the only reason it was needed was because of the changes made to the constitution after the Good Friday Agreement:
    "It is the entitlement and birthright of every person born in the island of Ireland, which includes its islands and seas, to be part of the Irish Nation."

they say the GFA is sacrosanct, but we weren't too slow in changing that, (or finding a way around it at least)

A European case against the UK in 2003 went against the UK when a Chinese mother succeeded in being allowed to stay in England when, upon advice from her lawyer she went to Belfast (easier to get past immigration, compared to coming to Dublin ) and gave birth to an “Irish Child” thus an EU National . The European Court adopted an odd exception to the usual free movement rules (an adult normally can’t be dependent on a child )

Blaming GFA entirely is not totally accurate. Those born in NI area could still apply for Irish citizenship pre 1998 , it was just a little more to it . Illegality was irrelevant

In fact, the EU commission made a few complaints to McDowell, the then Justice Minister about this ; is and Belgium were the only EU states with such generous rules on citizenship at the time

The referendum was also needed due to the huge amount of cases between 1998-2001 who applied for asylum , dropped the case once they arrived and applied for Leave to Remain - ye may remember the Supreme Court case on rights of parents of “Irish” children in 2001

The first step should be that the parents should be legal first . 3 years legality prior to birth is fair (current rules ) . Not every immigrant is an illegal or a fake asylum seeker. So 5-9 years is rather harsh especially as they ain’t the problem

Even then, just because the child is Irish, that parent, who is legal , still has to do the normal 5 years of legal residency before applying for citizenship

The most gas aspect of this being that Paul Murphy was on the radio a while back happily banging on about how a second referendum isn't needed to overturn this.

He is correct.

A second referendum would also not be needed to either outright ban abortion or place serious limits on availability.

I seem to recall during the last election the left was so terrified that this might happen they drew up a list of candidates ranked by the abortion views of all known to have expressed a public view on the matter (those with no recorded public view were to be regarded as potentially conservative and you were advised not to vote for them). That's how terrified they are of a referendum they approve of being legally overturned by elected representatives.

One rule for them eh :rolleyes:

You would wonder how the rest of the EU would view a change in our law. After all the amount of London raised Nigerian lads who have cropped up in Ireland underage teams seems to indicate that a serious amount of the people who used this loophole 20 years ago were more concerned with using it to settle in Britain/ France etc than here.

The government knows that reversing the rules on citizenship (which could indeed be done without another referendum as Article 9 of the Constitution would give them power) would be immensely unpopular and with such an important national issue , they would defer the matter to the people via referendum , they wouldn’t have the balls (then again, knowing that’s its unpopular they wouldn’t even consider it )

Between a successful economy at the time and the lazed rules on citizenship , this was a major feature in Ireland , during the mid 1990s to just before 2005 being a popular destination for eco omicron migrants claiming to be genuine asylum seekers . Government aren’t going to reverse a good decision that put a plug into the leaking dam

We were catching up with the rest of Europe on this issue back in 2005 . Very few EU states had such generous citizenship rules by 2000

In fact it was the EU COMMISSION who burned the ear of the Minister for Justice for change , in 2003 , When a Chinese woman successfully brought the UK to the EU courts to stop her removal from England. She spent less than 3 months in Belfast and gave birth to an “Irish” child and moved back to Blighty

How a nation decides their citizenship laws has zero relevancy to the EU , they have zero say , thankfully

They were the reasons our hospitals, and maternity hospitals, were “heaving” and well over capacity. People on trolleys in the halls, and the like. All from these foreigners swarming to our island.

Strange that not much changed with the hospitals after it “passed”. But, then again, not really. But here we are.

Best your actually check the records ! The asylum stars are detailed and go back to 1997 to present . They will confirm what the government of the day was saying and it’s down on affidavit in the court cases eg 2001 Supreme Court case of Loebe and 2006-2008 cases of Dimbo . You can get the stats on the office of international protection website

The numbers are way down and have been since 2005 in comparison to the nonsense that happened between 1997-2003

I just had a count of how the Dail looks, assuming it ever sits.

72 of 160 seats are taken by FF- FG. While you have the odd born again Bono loon like Charlie Flanagan among them, you would have to imagine most would toe the party line, and I don't see either FF or FG campaigning to overthrow a democratic vote (they never even seemed to agitate for a Brexit re run to their credit). The only possible way would be for the Greens to make birth citizenship a red line. They approve of it but I can't see it being one of their red lines either.

41 seats are in the hands of Labour, SD, Greens, AAA- PBP, lunatic fronts with no respect for anybody, who would have no qualms forcing this through.

SF, with 37 votes, is a strange one. They put in some lip service piece in their last manifesto about a need for some degree of immigration control as they were concerned their previous shouting on the issue was putting off some of their core vote.

All depends on SF really. Go woke or stick to the working class they claim to represent.

There are 41 votes guaranteed for this ****e. SF would add 37, although you would imagine at least a handful would dissent and be kicked out of the party a la the abortion vote.

A few rogue lefties in FF/ FG, or alternatively sneaky ****ers who reckon the ensuing deluge of asylum applications might be good for some hotel they have a stake in, and it's over the line.

The Greens and SF were the only party who publicly opposed that referendum. Only a handful in Labour eg Mickey Dee opposed the change of the law

Only a lunatic would deny that the change on the law was essential and it worked

No one cares about those anti Irish socialists People before progress

For all Flanagan’s waffle , he is dishing out the deportation orders and he is back to refusing citizenship for minor crimes like road traffic and excessive time on social welfare , as permitted (undone by Shatter who seemed to ignore all that because of his agenda ) His issue is, he gives residency to people who do not deserve it and can be safely sent home , if they live in his Constituency

The government knows that reversing the rules on citizenship (which could indeed be done without another referendum as Article 9 of the Constitution would give them power) would be immensely unpopular and with such an important national issue , they would defer the matter to the people via referendum , they wouldn’t have the balls (then again, knowing that’s its unpopular they wouldn’t even consider it )

The government is hardly averse to implementing legislation that is deeply unpopular with the public.

- Irish Water

- Minimum alcohol pricing, off licence opening hours and other nanny state laws

- unaccompanied L plate driving

- profiteering speed limits that have no relationship to road safety

As said above, the numbers are theoretically there for this to pass.

41 seats are in the hands of parties that are either outright Marxists, pseudo lefties (Labour and Greens, economically right to an extent but socially left) or soft left (SD).

SF are the party that want to be all things to all men and have 37 seats. Whether they would back something that would be deeply unpopular with their voters is unclear, as is how many SF TD's would dissent and be kicked out f the party.

Also worth bearing in mind that unless FF-FG-Greens last five years and somehow manage to

a- weather the COVID economic crisis and come out stronger than before

b- provide a surplus of social, affordable purchase and affordable rental housing

c- avoid implementing some of the loopier Green policies that are designed to hit us in the pocket

Unless these happen SF will wipe them out in the next election. FF in particular, there were plenty (myself included) who voted for them primarily because Mehole vowed not to get into bed with FG ad nauseaum through the campaign.

From memory of watching the live counts he was entertaining the idea as early as Saturday afternoon. An absolute con artist who would sell his mother if Leo let him be Taoiseach for just even a week, to avoid the asterisk on the FF wikipedia page.

The government is hardly averse to implementing legislation that is deeply unpopular with the public.

- Irish Water

- Minimum alcohol pricing, off licence opening hours and other nanny state laws

- unaccompanied L plate driving

- profiteering speed limits that have no relationship to road safety

As said above, the numbers are theoretically there for this to pass.

41 seats are in the hands of parties that are either outright Marxists, pseudo lefties (Labour and Greens, economically right to an extent but socially left) or soft left (SD).

SF are the party that want to be all things to all men and have 37 seats. Whether they would back something that would be deeply unpopular with their voters is unclear, as is how many SF TD's would dissent and be kicked out f the party.

Also worth bearing in mind that unless FF-FG-Greens last five years and somehow manage to

a- weather the COVID economic crisis and come out stronger than before

b- provide a surplus of social, affordable purchase and affordable rental housing

c- avoid implementing some of the loopier Green policies that are designed to hit us in the pocket

Unless these happen SF will wipe them out in the next election. FF in particular, there were plenty (myself included) who voted for them primarily because Mehole vowed not to get into bed with FG ad nauseaum through the campaign.

From memory of watching the live counts he was entertaining the idea as early as Saturday afternoon. An absolute con artist who would sell his mother if Leo let him be Taoiseach for just even a week, to avoid the asterisk on the FF wikipedia page.

Not comparable

Nothing wrong with taxing water, we have seriously under funded water systems , some of which date back to Victorian Times . Rural Ireland already paid for their water. The only ones that really were angry were the peasant class, most of whom are unemployable and want and get everything for free away . It wasn’t a die on the mountain top issue for many

Minimum price booze - again, and issue that got up the noses of the council estate riff raft

Unaccompanied L drivers , well, anything to lessen road fatalities. Again, it wasn’t something people were willing to die on the cross for

The fact that you didn’t include SF in the list pseudo lefties just highlights how clueless you are. They are the biggest spoofers going . Lol , no they ain’t . Populists have no notion whether they are left or right (to be fair, you did acknowledge that they are trying to be all to everyone )

This notion of changing the citizenship law just ain’t happening,

Sf result was a complete fluke ! It won’t be happening again , just watch

As for the treachery of FF joining FG , well , he wouldn’t be the first Cork man to lack spine or betray the cause lol. Least one of them got a bullet to the head

Back to the relevant matter; we have a recession coming , last thing we want is to take more responsibility to people or parents and siblings of “Orish” citizen children , who could get residency rights despite SFA link to the country. Successive governments for which have some of the same people, fought tooth n nail in the courts to stop some of these cases on immigration

• Registered Users Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

SNIP/......
    Back to the relevant matter; we have a recession coming , last thing we want is to take more responsibility to people or parents and siblings of “Orish” citizen children , who could get residency rights despite SFA link to the country. Successive governments for which have some of the same people, fought tooth n nail in the courts to stop some of these cases on immigration

The cherry on the Covid pie.

However,it would do us well to bear in mind that this recession will not be specifically Irish...If one thinks our recessions are bad,then enquire into what a Romanian,Bulgarian or Albanian one feel like.

The Prime Minister of Singapore, Lee Hsien Loong in a recent TV address is quoted in The Spectator as follows....
    Countries will have less stake in each others wellbeing.They will fight more over how the pie is shared,rather than work together to enlarge the pie for all.It will be a less prosperous World,and also a more troubled one.

Not much PR puffery there...eh ? ;)

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭mr_fegelien

Ireland would ironically become a ****hole country if anyone could be a citizen purely by birth.

It works for nations like Canada and America where third world anchor babies can become minimum wage workers but this country/economy is too small. It would be a burden on the taxpayer.

Not comparable

Nothing wrong with taxing water, we have seriously under funded water systems , some of which date back to Victorian Times . Rural Ireland already paid for their water. The only ones that really were angry were the peasant class, most of whom are unemployable and want and get everything for free away . It wasn’t a die on the mountain top issue for many

Minimum price booze - again, and issue that got up the noses of the council estate riff raft

Unaccompanied L drivers , well, anything to lessen road fatalities. Again, it wasn’t something people were willing to die on the cross for

The fact that you didn’t include SF in the list pseudo lefties just highlights how clueless you are. They are the biggest spoofers going . Lol , no they ain’t . Populists have no notion whether they are left or right (to be fair, you did acknowledge that they are trying to be all to everyone )

As for the treachery of FF joining FG , well , he wouldn’t be the first Cork man to lack spine or betray the cause lol. Least one of them got a bullet to the head

Bit early in the morning to be posting drunk.

It was a tax too far, the mass movement against it showed that, even if a core of them were the pyjamas brigade.

Near on most expensive carry out drink in Europe becomes more expensive. Yeah, a real dole lifers one that.

Statistically less deaths and serious collisions caused by unaccompanied L drivers but who needs facts.
    The fact that you didn’t include SF in the list pseudo lefties just highlights how clueless you are. They are the biggest spoofers going . Lol , no they ain’t .

I have absolutely no idea what this drunken catwalkedacrossmykeyboard rambling is about.

If SF row behind it we are 3 votes behind it being carried. While some SF might vote against it and be thrown out of the party, that could be counteracted by a handful of FF FG TD's voting for it.

You really are drunk aren't you.

If an election were held tomorrow SF would run twice, thrice as many candidates and would possibly push beyond 80 seats. They would almost certainly get into the 70's and find willing numbers to go beyond 80 (probably indepdents or a post Mehole FF- PBP wouldn't dare go into power with anybody as it's more craic shouting from the sidelines) They would annihilate FF, people like me who only voted for them to get FG out of office couldn't consider voting for them again.

FG might experience a small bounce among the gullible who think they "played a blinder" over Covid, seeing as the lunatics who gave them a 1st preference in Feb will no doubt vote for them again.

In saying all that, a week, or a few weeks anyway, is a long time in politics. Four months ago the thought of Trump losing to a senile oddball with the charisma and panache of a corpse would have seemed far fetched, yet a virus and national disorder and here we are. Similarly SF were wiped out in Europe and the councils last winter, they looked done for nationally.

SF would win the election tomorrow. Yet they might lose half their seats in four months. You just never know.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Ireland would ironically become a ****hole country if anyone could be a citizen purely by birth.

It works for nations like Canada and America where third world anchor babies can become minimum wage workers but this country/economy is too small. It would be a burden on the taxpayer.

it doesn't even work there. We do not need anchor babies or unskilled migration, at all, I would go as far as to say anyone with a net worth of less than 500k should be barred from immigrating here. We have too many of our own on the bottom end of the ladder.

Bit early in the morning to be posting drunk.

It was a tax too far, the mass movement against it showed that, even if a core of them were the pyjamas brigade.

Near on most expensive carry out drink in Europe becomes more expensive. Yeah, a real dole lifers one that.

Statistically less deaths and serious collisions caused by unaccompanied L drivers but who needs facts.

I have absolutely no idea what this drunken catwalkedacrossmykeyboard rambling is about.

If SF row behind it we are 3 votes behind it being carried. While some SF might vote against it and be thrown out of the party, that could be counteracted by a handful of FF FG TD's voting for it.

You really are drunk aren't you.

If an election were held tomorrow SF would run twice, thrice as many candidates and would possibly push beyond 80 seats. They would almost certainly get into the 70's and find willing numbers to go beyond 80 (probably indepdents or a post Mehole FF- PBP wouldn't dare go into power with anybody as it's more craic shouting from the sidelines) They would annihilate FF, people like me who only voted for them to get FG out of office couldn't consider voting for them again.

FG might experience a small bounce among the gullible who think they "played a blinder" over Covid, seeing as the lunatics who gave them a 1st preference in Feb will no doubt vote for them again.

In saying all that, a week, or a few weeks anyway, is a long time in politics. Four months ago the thought of Trump losing to a senile oddball with the charisma and panache of a corpse would have seemed far fetched, yet a virus and national disorder and here we are. Similarly SF were wiped out in Europe and the councils last winter, they looked done for nationally.

SF would win the election tomorrow. Yet they might lose half their seats in four months. You just never know.

Your replies are laughable

How was water tax it a tax too far ? Rural Ireland have been paying for their water for decades. It’s about time council estate riff raff paid their way. Besides, most of the welfare scrounges were always going to get allowances .

Serious amounts of water is wasted daily ,needlessly

The “mass” movement did **** all. The tax still exists .the government of the day were just spineless

Shouldn’t you be more worried about budgeting for more important things than cheap booze in the offie . ? Supermarkets have also got in on the game . The offie Ain’t making their living off anyone else but the council estate brigade on a daily basis

Oh ,you naive to believe that most of the drivers actually put l plates on their cars ? Lol . Run along and gets those stats by the way

It’s pretty evident you have serious difficulties in understanding things . Why do people like you who have zero experience or knowledge of politics for most of your life then come out acting like you actually know what you are talking about just after 5 minutes of caring about politics . You are talking horses manure with tag lines like “pseudo lefties“

You Shinners have a lot to learn about politics . FG and FF won’t vote in any way in conjunction with any hair brained SF proposal

This is knee jerk reactions from nut jobs who haven’t a clue as to why the laws changed in the first place and the impact it had on the state finances . It’s attention seeking virtue signalling from them

The law ain’t going to change. Besides, your typical bar stool Shinner ain’t so immigrant friendly as their parliamentarians

Getting told I’m a drunk by a spoofer who could write all hey know about Irish politics on a beer mat. Hilarious . Shinners will lose their Two seats in the midlands /mid west next time around . They proved that vote management is not their forte ie Donegal 2016 .

Recession is coming, and no one outside the council estate riff raff will be voting from headbangers devoid of any experience . Mary Lou since the election count should have a rubbish leader she is .

Sf capitalised on Michael Martins completely limp worsted campaign snd waste of 5 years . Even Shinner leaders couldn’t believe it, not after the kicking they got in the locals

If an election was tomorrow , they’d run more candidates 😂😂😂😂😂

How ? They don’t have suitable candidates . Get them from where ? They did well to maintain the non Dublin seats and even add a few more , despite defections from members eg Nolan in Laois /Offaly . They LOST hundreds of party members of councillors due to allegations of bullying and they almost got wiped out of many town and county councils

Their manifesto was a joke then and it’s proven to be one now. They have done nothing to suggest they would do better and they DO NOT have Enough personnel with proven Track record for elections

Clueless stuff . Just remember , never trust council estate riff raff for voting