Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LIVE THREAD - GREATEST SONG SUNG BY A FEMALE ARTIST

Finalists

Receiving 374 points by our judges 9 of whomever gave it top marks. Average score 16 (rounded).

This song received a single nomination but was one of 3 different songs nominated by this band.

Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This) Eurythmics

Also receiving 374 points by our judges 7 of whom scored it top marks and 1 (have a guess who) scored it no points. Average score of 16 (rounded).

This song was nominated by 3 different players and Sinead O’Connor had 6 different songs nominated overall.

Nothing Compares 2U Sinead O'Connor

FIRST SONG TO 10 VOTES WILL BE CROWNED THE GREATEST SONG BY A FEMALE ARTIST

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Eurythmics - Sweet Dreams, because I like being inconsistent in my voting patterns, and enjoy both songs anyway.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,319 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

This song was nominated by 3 different players and Sinead O’Connor had 5006 different songs nominated overall.

Fixed that for ya Strawbs ;)

Voting for Sweet Dreams. Definitely not even close to being the best song sung by a female but it's a billion times better than anything that other yoke ever came up with

time to admit........I can't listen to Annie Lennox.

I do get that she has a good voice, I understand people liking it. I appreciate she is a great singer. But i just don't like it.
    I turn off her songs when they come on.

so, my vote will have to go to Sinead O'Connor.

I don't think either of these 2 are the greatest song sung by a female, not by a long shot, but at least nothing compares to you is a Prince song & I love Prince.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,349 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

Eurythmics - Sweet Dreams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,212 ✭✭✭Irish Aris

Sinead O'Connor ftw!!

One of her crowning moments, one of the many great songs that Prince throughout his prolific career - and one of my nominations!!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Sinead O' Connor.
    Lennox is good too but NC2U is an amazing song.

Voting for Sinéad O'Connor

Even if Prince wrote it, she definitely made it her own with a wonderful vocal performance.

Sweet Dreams is grand, I wouldn't rush to change the radio if it came on but otherwise I don't have any particular affection for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

Eurythmics - even if it's not the best version of that song, it's the best song in this final :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭lassykk

I drop off line for an hour (potentially more!) and it's the final ;)

This is impressively quick!

My vote for Sinead anyway - Always loved the track

Neck and neck

9678d0b314e493570b1ade8a6ba35b78.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,465 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

Nothing compares to you, great cover song. Gets my vote

Never really liked sweet dreams, thorn in my side is much better

• Registered Users Posts: 12,926 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Nothing Compares 2 U - Sinead O'Connor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,947 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

Eurythmics, best song of the 80s

Kolido wrote: »
    Nothing compares to you, great cover song. Gets my vote

Never really liked sweet dreams, thorn in my side is much better

I think the same. Sweet Dreams would barely make a top-10 of my favourite Eurythmics songs - part of it is because it is fairly overplayed.
    Be Yourself Tonight, Revenge and Savage are my favourite albums of theirs.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,343 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Well just to be consistent with my initial scoring, my vote goes to Nothing Compares 2 U - Sinead O'Connor.

Agree with Kolido, if Thorn In My Side was the other song it would have gotten my vote.

Irish Aris wrote: »
    I think the same. Sweet Dreams would barely make a top-10 of my favourite Eurythmics songs - part of it is because it is fairly overplayed.
    Be Yourself Tonight, Revenge and Savage are my favourite albums of theirs.

Just because the Eurythmics have ten better songs, doesn't mean this one isn't better than 2U ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Sinéad, for necro's conniption.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭Pretzill

Sweet Dreams only because there's a much better cover version of it out there and I was expecting Sinead's entry to be the predictable win :(

Estimated Time of Arrival: ;) It's Greatest Song...and I think Nothing compares to you is a dirge.

• Registered Users Posts: 24 thenetherrealm

Sweet Dreams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,478 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

Has to be Sinead O’Connor

I’m shocked to see the other song anywhere near a final

Just because the Eurythmics have ten better songs, doesn't mean this one isn't better than 2U ;)

wrong hahahahaha!!!!
    I am not sure I would rate any Eurythmics song above Nothing Compares 2 U - For me it is one of the magic songs that I never get bored listening to it!!

We have our winner

Nothing Compares 2U by Sinead O’Connor!

Nominated by Irish Aris, Kane toad & Kathleen Grant.

Thank you to everyone that has contributed over the last few weeks. I didn’t realise how many songs would get nominated and you all deserve a pat on the back for listening to them all.

I hope you found some new songs to add to your own playlists.

That’s it, I’m done! Cya next year for a mammoth event :D

That was fun. Well gruelling too, but fun. Thanks for running it Strawbs, I think you deserve a rest after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

A deserving winner.

Thanks for running Strawbs. Definitely discovered some great new songs along the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,986 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Sinead's voice in that song is amazing, a tough top vocal nothing does compare to it, Sinead gets my vote if not too late

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,465 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

Thanks Strawbs, brilliantly run and mammoth effort. Happy enough with the winner.

Nothing Compares 2U? I demand to see the manager, I want a refund of the last three weeks of my life!

Nah, only joking, worthy winner. I used to work in an Irish bar though, so have a pavlovian hatred of it through over exposure

Well done Strawbs, some serious effort went into that. Thanks a mill for running it :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭Sawduck

Predicable but good winner nonetheless, cheers Strawbs for hosting this,you did an awesome job and i have discovered many new artists/songs

Well done Strawbs, thanks a million for running it. Really enjoyed a lot of the submissions - Skunk Anansie, Aoife Ní Fhearraigh and the Flying Lizards have made their way onto my playlists now. :)

Very happy with the winner, also happy that one of my nominations (Teardrop) got to the semi-final stage.

Now can someone who knows Photoshop please do a gif of Sinéad O'Connor ripping up a picture of Annie Lennox? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭lassykk

Amazing effort to run this with the number of songs! Ran very smoothly too!

A blatant plug here for those wanting to rank songs to check out my SURLAW:

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2058084703

...happy that one of my nominations (Teardrop) got to the semi-final stage

So we both submitted Teardrop and Sour Times?

tumblr_m49s92dZbE1rr1eyyo1_400.gifv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,349 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

strawbs and other hosts, thanks a million for running that. a huge effort so much appreciated.

Cheers for running Strawbs. Some effort

The winner though

Seriously? Out of 300 odd songs this steaming turd of a tune is the favourite?

Democracy has truly been broken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,835 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Awww I missed it.

Well done Strawbs. Good craic.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,926 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Predictable winner but a great song nonetheless.

Thanks for organising this, Strawbs. It was obviously a lot of work so very much appreciated.

I think it is the first time that one of my nominations win!!

Strawbs, thank you so much for organising this!! I don't know how you did it, this was like a full project!!!

Irish Aris wrote: »
    I think it is the first time that one of my nominations win!!

Strawbs, thank you so much for organising this!! I don't know how you did it, this was like a full project!!!

It was great to get the chance to use my brain. I also learned how to do graphs and charts!

Couple of tournaments coming up soon or currently running.

I think my own next project is going to be an ecumenical matter though.... ;)

Necro wrote: »
    Couple of tournaments coming up soon or currently running.

I think my own next project is going to be an ecumenical matter though.... ;)

Greatest Bishop? :pac:

or

Greatest Bishop in a Sci-Fi? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,947 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

What's this 'superior' cover version of Sweet Dreams everyone is talking about? If it's Marilyn Manson you're having a laugh

Greatest Bishop? :pac:

or

Greatest Bishop in a Sci-Fi? :D

Is Shepherd Book a bishop? If he is, he gets my nomination.

Zaph wrote: »
    Is Shepherd Book a bishop? If he is, he gets my nomination.

Since I don't think anyone is actually running such a competition, I'd allow it. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭Pretzill

That was great fun Strawbs - thanks for running - and I was introduced to a couple of good tracks too which is always a bonus -
    Nothing compares to that!

Thanks Strawberry, great contest.

For your sterling efforts.
    We salute you.
    200.gif

ShaneU wrote: »
    What's this 'superior' cover version of Sweet Dreams everyone is talking about? If it's Marilyn Manson you're having a laugh
    tenor.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,517 ✭✭✭✭Tauriel

Thanks Strawberry for all of the time and effort you put in to running this competition. It was great craic :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,387 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

It's all over? Didn't know the knock outs had started... didn't get to vote