Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland Reddit closing at night as mods try to 'stem the flow' of extreme racism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Should probably try shutting Boards down for a few hours a night too. Give all the lads who spend all day on here, giving out, a chance to at least have a shower. Maybe have an angry **** in there to release some of the pent up rage that shouting at strangers online doesn't quite give you.

Think how grateful their cats would be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Mr. Karate

Tom Blaine wrote: »
    Reddit mods are the kind of people who genuinely thought Jeremy Corbyn was going to be Prime Minister. Sad, sad little men.

The only difference between Jeremy Corbyn as Prime Minister would be that he would atleast be upfront in saying "**** You. We're not leaving the EU." as opposed to Theresa May and Boris "Out means Out" Johnson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,439 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Ps both journal media and reddit should be paying their mods and admins

Pay per ban?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

Pay per ban?

A base rate for being a moderator at least. Performance and consistency reviewed. A proper paying job on the side. Promotion to admin structure too.

Reddit and Journal media aren't paying their "employees "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,570 ✭✭✭RandomName2

Should probably try shutting Boards down for a few hours a night too. Give all the lads who spend all day on here, giving out, a chance to at least have a shower. Maybe have an angry **** in there to release some of the pent up rage that shouting at strangers online doesn't quite give you.

Right wing people are all stinky men who are obsessed loners who own cats. Why yes, I have deep political thoughts that I'd like to contribute.
    Reddit mods are the kind of people who genuinely thought Jeremy Corbyn was going to be Prime Minister. Sad, sad little men.

Ah this is unnecessary. Supporting the UK Labour party is an entirely legitimate political position. Some sort of blanket smear about people just because they back a particular politician is usually a position that is without merit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭bobbyy gee

boards hide a lot of threads at night
    you will see 4 pages of trending treads at night
    then 15 in the morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

one or two of them are mods here too
    how could you have time for both?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Well we have the yanks to thank for closing reddit Ireland. thank you merica

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Pay per ban?

Jaysus youd have a story the next day “how i earned 1 million euro in a pay per ban system the day we left the comments section open on a story about travellers”

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 85 ✭✭macpaccrack

Translates to: how dare anyone disagree with me

If its racist opinions then yes.

Anyone who is still engaging in phrenology is clearly a moron and their hate is not worth the toxicity it brings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

one or two of them are mods here too

Really?

This sub forum (Current Affairs) in particular?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,063 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

I had a bit of a look and people have moved to an alternative reddit Ireland page. Post after post discussing what happened.

General consensus is mods have been only allowing one particular political opinion and banning people under any excuse. Someone must have gotten sick of it and decided to bite back in the form of doxxing. They are saying mods told someone to kill themselves repeatedly in one case and other times have banned people and followed them around other pages posting such infantile responses to their posts like "why so mad" etc

If you have "skin in the game " over there then say so as I don't know the full story and only wrote about what I saw.

Ps both journal media and reddit should be paying their mods and admins

More or less right there. Just also seems that the doxxing is directly related to the mod who repeatedly via PM told a user to kill themselves. Said user, published the conversations and a new subreddit will all that's mods details were published.

Reddit mods should not have the power to shut down the whole forum as a way of protest.

Also, mods should not have been using alt accounts to bait people or stir up trouble.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

Such feckin drama :rolleyes:

https://www.reddit.com/r/ROI/

This sub was created in response to mass bannings, suppression of political opinion and general overzealous moderation on /r/Ireland. We are trying to build a friendly community that can challenge the hegemony of /r/Ireland on reddit, free from abuse, harassment and general toxicity that has been allowed to fester on that subreddit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,521 ✭✭✭francois

The only ones moaning seem to be the snowflake free speech warriors who can't grasp the simple concept that free speech doesn't apply to private companies, and the US constitution isn't a global document to govern what is or isn't permissable.

Well you're left wing for sure.

Yea, an effete latte sipping one at that

It's easy to be smug about free speech when you're a leftist and you know the mods are on your side.

Don't know them, don't suffer from a persecution complex either. Term and conditions are there for all to see. If you don't agree, raise an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,570 ✭✭✭RandomName2

If its racist opinions then yes.

Anyone who is still engaging in phrenology is clearly a moron and their hate is not worth the toxicity it brings.

Who cares if someone has a moronic opinion. If a flat-earther disagrees with you, you can point them to the science. They either have to ignore what you have said or admit they are wrong. Either way, job done.

If the person's opinion is not moronic, but you think that their position is immoral, then the same thing applies. You should be able to point to evidence to support your position. If you cannot, or the evidence seems to contradict your position, perhaps you should consider that it is you who are in the wrong.

I've seen noone bring up phrenology here at all.

If the proposition is that potentially divisive topics, concerning things like immigration or social policy, should not be openly discussed for fear that it will attract posters whose views some may consider divisive, that's not a position I can support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,041 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

The Ireland Reddit page is shutting down between midnight and 8am every day to try to “stem the flow” of extreme racist content, which may be coming from American sock puppet accounts.

Colour me unsurprised.

Happening on here, too, no doubt.

francois wrote: »
    The only ones moaning seem to be the snowflake free speech warriors who can't grasp the simple concept that free speech doesn't apply to private companies, and the US constitution isn't a global document to govern what is or isn't permissable.

That's not what is happening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Melanchthon

Well since the Reddit admins appear to have suspended the account of the r/Ireland moderator that's apparently at the center of this there is probably more to this than the usual free speech arguments.

On a more general note it will be interesting to see how Reddit as a company responds to these type of actions, I imagine it doesn't help their efforts at monetisation and investment if advertisers see small groups of mods can shut down fairly large sub-reddits.

I am uncertain how Reddit itself is going to evolve, in general it's swung pretty far to the left even on typically non-political subs. This is probably also an issue for in relation to monetisation, I think the management is probably aware of this as they banned the Chapotraphouse.

Well since the Reddit admins appear to have suspended the account of the r/Ireland moderator that's apparently at the center of this there is probably more to this than the usual free speech arguments.

On a more general note it will be interesting to see how Reddit as a company responds to these type of actions, I imagine it doesn't help their efforts at monetisation and investment if advertisers see small groups of mods can shut down fairly large sub-reddits.

I am uncertain how Reddit itself is going to evolve, in general it's swung pretty far to the left even on typically non-political subs. This is probably also an issue for in relation to monetisation, I think the management is probably aware of this as they banned the Chapotraphouse.

These large Internet conglomerates have tools which can analyse in minute detail who, what, and where is ****posting.
    The board weighs up clicks versus advertising so the investors don't want boycotts. If they think a bunch of far right posters are hurting the bottom line, they will act
    If people want to post what they want, there is signal, gab etc.
    So despite the free speech noise, the whingers have alternatives where they can espouse their views. It isn't that difficult to grasp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Cirrus Incus

Reddit is predominately young college educated americans which is why its so left wing.

Can the college educated right wingers not do the same?

These large Internet conglomerates have tools which can analyse in minute detail who, what, and where is ****posting.
    The board weighs up clicks versus advertising so the investors don't want boycotts. If they think a bunch of far right posters are hurting the bottom line, they will act
    So despite the free speech noise, the whingers have alternatives where they can espouse their views. It isn't that difficult to grasp.

You are not in tune with the reality of what is happening

Depends on your definition of reality, but that is a metaphysical argument for another day.

In June the mods closed the forum at night due to an unmanageable onslaught of racist, threatening and violent posts.

Its September now. It's a different thing that's going on. It's a whole different issue

Do you understand what I am telling you?

I think your missing the thrust of my argument, far right posters brigading is an issue in terms of making subs unappealing to normal users and advertisers however what's a bigger issue IMO for monetisation is that mods can shut down these default sub-reddits on a whim and then go to the media about the problems which makes Reddit look bad to investors

In general as well I don't think the far right thing is as big an issue for the site these days in terms of visible impact as it's pretty confined really, it's things like a million angry posts appearing if somebody submits a picture of a cute police dog on one of the default subs that look bad to outside observers.
    The porn thing is also going to be a problem particularly since there is an example of Tumblrs decline if they straight up ban it.

I am pretty skeptical of what Reddits userbase actually is these days, it was always that demographic but it seems to have shifted in tone, possibly thats the Trump effect but some of its strange and inorganic feeling.
    During the last US election for example there was a massive Bernie Sanders following but once he lost the nomination suddenly Clinton was really popular which doesn't feel natural as a Bernie supporter is not likely to have been very enthusiastic about Hillary. That and some of the highly upvoted and engaged with submissions seem pretty artificial.

I'd also add that I think the userbase is actually much younger than one would think, much more 15 year olds than 35 year olds it seems at times.

In June the mods closed the forum at night due to an unmanageable onslaught of racist, threatening and violent posts.

Its September now. It's a different thing that's going on. It's a whole different issue

Do you understand what I am telling you?

Culture wars innit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭JasonStatham

Lol.

Culture wars innit?

Yeah you got it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭wurzlitzer

...and we're back

https://old.reddit.com/r/ireland/comments/inwjhu/7th_september_2020_update/
    We're reopening r/Ireland after the admins engaged with us, and removed accounts which were actively doxxing r/Ireland moderators.

We're moving forward in assuming the admins are working in the best possible faith to eliminate areas of reddit which are set up explicitly for these purposes.

With this, there's three things we wish to address as a group;

Firstly, /u/Jester252 has stepped down from the Moderator position on r/Ireland.

Secondly, on a far more serious note, it's been raised to the attention of the active moderators that a mod on here responded to harassment from sockpuppet accounts with an egregious response. The active mods reached out to this moderator, and it has been flagged with the admins.

Lastly, we are aware that one of our moderators was site-wide banned last night. The remaining Moderators have asked for information on his ban, but have not received any response as of yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,625 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Bambi wrote: »
    Sounds strangely like a power play alright, a few weirdos with weirdo political opinions take up a position of influence and suddenly their safety is under threat if Reddit does not aqquiesce to their demands. If Reddit, of all places, isn't buying into your accusations, we would have to wonder about the veracity of the demands.

Another ISF in the making

You get banned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Terrible whiff of student union politics about this story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

The mods are dead right. There's an online element of right wing trolls who are desperate to infiltrate Ireland reddit.

They are trying to prevent it from becoming like Boards (which is a ghost town since it became full of racial threads). The race threads and the posters they bring tends to summon such toxicity and unpleasantness.
    I seriously don't understand why people like you even use discussion sites. They serve only as propaganda when there's only "correct" opinions allowed. You can dress your authoritarian desires up as being against "toxicity" all you like, but you're still an authoritarian at the end of the day.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭virginmediapls

Irish people appear to be very bad at running online communities.

Regardless of the sock puppets and shills and bots and blah blah blah:

It's good to have it back

With 300,000 subscribers, even if a third of them are bots, it would've been a shame to lose an online Irish community that large

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭jammiedodgers

The whole thing is just embarassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Not even drama like this can make me read that ****e site

The whole thing is just embarassing.

Most reddit users generally are. The place is worse than a mental asylum.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭SchrodingersCat

TomTomTim wrote: »
    I seriously don't understand why people like you even use discussion sites. They serve only as propaganda when there's only "correct" opinions allowed. You can dress your authoritarian desires up as being against "toxicity" all you like, but you're still an authoritarian at the end of the day.

I suspect you are getting the wrong end of the stick here. Irish Reddit had a night-time shutdown. Why do you think that they had to do this? Surely the hours that someone posts should have no bearing on how right-wing or left-wing or how much they despise or love Niall Horan and Lyons tea, should it?

The problem was, it did. The Irish Reddit site was getting swamped with posters attempting the influence the discussion from outside of Ireland. This is why they shut down Irish Reddit at our night time to limit their ability to post in their timezones. Yes, it just so happened that they were posting right-wing opinionated pieces (as with other social media sites here and elsewhere in Europe, but thats a different story). But this wasn't the reason for the night-time shutdown: A night-time shut-down should have no influence on what opinions were being posted if they were all coming from Ireland.

Because of this push back by the moderators the members attacked in turn by doxxing the moderators and other nasty stuff. Which led to the disagreement with the Admins when they would fail to ban these members and to the full closure and reopening and where we are today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

pjohnson wrote: »
    You get banned?

Nope, gave up on the place. It's run by the same type of weirdos who try to turn LOI soccerball supporters clubs into branches of the Connolly Youth Movement :D

Irish people appear to be very bad at running online communities.

Power corrupts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Hego Damask

I knew this thread would bring 'em out lol

Thanks for prooving the point

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 27 Thomas Hudson

Nope, gave up on the place. It's run by the same type of weirdos who try to turn LOI soccerball supporters clubs into branches of the Connolly Youth Movement :D

Why does this always happen? Why do leftists always ruin online spaces with their political views?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭SchrodingersCat

Why does this always happen? Why do leftists always ruin online spaces with their political views?

Is this your view of Boards? As someone who only registered today and made two posts, you formed that anti-leftist view surprisingly quickly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

You want a ghost town try the politics forum (it still exists :D) over the years there was always a problem with the various mods and their orbiters in there and once there was an alternative on boards everyone bailed be the new time.
    Haha every time I try to post or create a thread there it's deleted with no explanation and I only realise when I go back to check days later.

Control. They've gotten used to ideological dominance in the last 10 years, especially online. The more dissent that exists the more rabid they get. It's all about keeping their power, and they'll do anything and everything to keep it.