Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back a page or two to re-sync the thread and this will then show latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ireland Reddit closing at night as mods try to 'stem the flow' of extreme racism

• Registered Users Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Should probably try shutting Boards down for a few hours a night too. Give all the lads who spend all day on here, giving out, a chance to at least have a shower. Maybe have an angry **** in there to release some of the pent up rage that shouting at strangers online doesn't quite give you.

Think how grateful their cats would be.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Mr. Karate

Tom Blaine wrote: »
    Reddit mods are the kind of people who genuinely thought Jeremy Corbyn was going to be Prime Minister. Sad, sad little men.

The only difference between Jeremy Corbyn as Prime Minister would be that he would atleast be upfront in saying "**** You. We're not leaving the EU." as opposed to Theresa May and Boris "Out means Out" Johnson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Ps both journal media and reddit should be paying their mods and admins

Pay per ban?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

Pay per ban?

A base rate for being a moderator at least. Performance and consistency reviewed. A proper paying job on the side. Promotion to admin structure too.

Reddit and Journal media aren't paying their "employees "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,570 ✭✭✭RandomName2

Should probably try shutting Boards down for a few hours a night too. Give all the lads who spend all day on here, giving out, a chance to at least have a shower. Maybe have an angry **** in there to release some of the pent up rage that shouting at strangers online doesn't quite give you.

Right wing people are all stinky men who are obsessed loners who own cats. Why yes, I have deep political thoughts that I'd like to contribute.
    Reddit mods are the kind of people who genuinely thought Jeremy Corbyn was going to be Prime Minister. Sad, sad little men.

Ah this is unnecessary. Supporting the UK Labour party is an entirely legitimate political position. Some sort of blanket smear about people just because they back a particular politician is usually a position that is without merit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭bobbyy gee

boards hide a lot of threads at night
    you will see 4 pages of trending treads at night
    then 15 in the morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,202 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

one or two of them are mods here too
    how could you have time for both?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,202 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Well we have the yanks to thank for closing reddit Ireland. thank you merica

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Pay per ban?

Jaysus youd have a story the next day “how i earned 1 million euro in a pay per ban system the day we left the comments section open on a story about travellers”

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 85 ✭✭macpaccrack

Translates to: how dare anyone disagree with me

If its racist opinions then yes.

Anyone who is still engaging in phrenology is clearly a moron and their hate is not worth the toxicity it brings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

one or two of them are mods here too

Really?

This sub forum (Current Affairs) in particular?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,693 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

I had a bit of a look and people have moved to an alternative reddit Ireland page. Post after post discussing what happened.

General consensus is mods have been only allowing one particular political opinion and banning people under any excuse. Someone must have gotten sick of it and decided to bite back in the form of doxxing. They are saying mods told someone to kill themselves repeatedly in one case and other times have banned people and followed them around other pages posting such infantile responses to their posts like "why so mad" etc

If you have "skin in the game " over there then say so as I don't know the full story and only wrote about what I saw.

Ps both journal media and reddit should be paying their mods and admins

More or less right there. Just also seems that the doxxing is directly related to the mod who repeatedly via PM told a user to kill themselves. Said user, published the conversations and a new subreddit will all that's mods details were published.

Reddit mods should not have the power to shut down the whole forum as a way of protest.

Also, mods should not have been using alt accounts to bait people or stir up trouble.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

Such feckin drama :rolleyes:

https://www.reddit.com/r/ROI/

This sub was created in response to mass bannings, suppression of political opinion and general overzealous moderation on /r/Ireland. We are trying to build a friendly community that can challenge the hegemony of /r/Ireland on reddit, free from abuse, harassment and general toxicity that has been allowed to fester on that subreddit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,493 ✭✭✭francois

The only ones moaning seem to be the snowflake free speech warriors who can't grasp the simple concept that free speech doesn't apply to private companies, and the US constitution isn't a global document to govern what is or isn't permissable.

Well you're left wing for sure.

Yea, an effete latte sipping one at that

It's easy to be smug about free speech when you're a leftist and you know the mods are on your side.

Don't know them, don't suffer from a persecution complex either. Term and conditions are there for all to see. If you don't agree, raise an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,570 ✭✭✭RandomName2

If its racist opinions then yes.

Anyone who is still engaging in phrenology is clearly a moron and their hate is not worth the toxicity it brings.

Who cares if someone has a moronic opinion. If a flat-earther disagrees with you, you can point them to the science. They either have to ignore what you have said or admit they are wrong. Either way, job done.

If the person's opinion is not moronic, but you think that their position is immoral, then the same thing applies. You should be able to point to evidence to support your position. If you cannot, or the evidence seems to contradict your position, perhaps you should consider that it is you who are in the wrong.

I've seen noone bring up phrenology here at all.

If the proposition is that potentially divisive topics, concerning things like immigration or social policy, should not be openly discussed for fear that it will attract posters whose views some may consider divisive, that's not a position I can support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,502 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

The Ireland Reddit page is shutting down between midnight and 8am every day to try to “stem the flow” of extreme racist content, which may be coming from American sock puppet accounts.

Colour me unsurprised.

Happening on here, too, no doubt.

francois wrote: »
    The only ones moaning seem to be the snowflake free speech warriors who can't grasp the simple concept that free speech doesn't apply to private companies, and the US constitution isn't a global document to govern what is or isn't permissable.

That's not what is happening

• Registered Users Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Melanchthon

Well since the Reddit admins appear to have suspended the account of the r/Ireland moderator that's apparently at the center of this there is probably more to this than the usual free speech arguments.

On a more general note it will be interesting to see how Reddit as a company responds to these type of actions, I imagine it doesn't help their efforts at monetisation and investment if advertisers see small groups of mods can shut down fairly large sub-reddits.

I am uncertain how Reddit itself is going to evolve, in general it's swung pretty far to the left even on typically non-political subs. This is probably also an issue for in relation to monetisation, I think the management is probably aware of this as they banned the Chapotraphouse.

Well since the Reddit admins appear to have suspended the account of the r/Ireland moderator that's apparently at the center of this there is probably more to this than the usual free speech arguments.

On a more general note it will be interesting to see how Reddit as a company responds to these type of actions, I imagine it doesn't help their efforts at monetisation and investment if advertisers see small groups of mods can shut down fairly large sub-reddits.

I am uncertain how Reddit itself is going to evolve, in general it's swung pretty far to the left even on typically non-political subs. This is probably also an issue for in relation to monetisation, I think the management is probably aware of this as they banned the Chapotraphouse.

These large Internet conglomerates have tools which can analyse in minute detail who, what, and where is ****posting.
    The board weighs up clicks versus advertising so the investors don't want boycotts. If they think a bunch of far right posters are hurting the bottom line, they will act
    If people want to post what they want, there is signal, gab etc.
    So despite the free speech noise, the whingers have alternatives where they can espouse their views. It isn't that difficult to grasp.

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭Cirrus Incus

Reddit is predominately young college educated americans which is why its so left wing.

Can the college educated right wingers not do the same?

These large Internet conglomerates have tools which can analyse in minute detail who, what, and where is ****posting.
    The board weighs up clicks versus advertising so the investors don't want boycotts. If they think a bunch of far right posters are hurting the bottom line, they will act
    So despite the free speech noise, the whingers have alternatives where they can espouse their views. It isn't that difficult to grasp.

You are not in tune with the reality of what is happening

Depends on your definition of reality, but that is a metaphysical argument for another day.

In June the mods closed the forum at night due to an unmanageable onslaught of racist, threatening and violent posts.

Its September now. It's a different thing that's going on. It's a whole different issue

Do you understand what I am telling you?

I think your missing the thrust of my argument, far right posters brigading is an issue in terms of making subs unappealing to normal users and advertisers however what's a bigger issue IMO for monetisation is that mods can shut down these default sub-reddits on a whim and then go to the media about the problems which makes Reddit look bad to investors

In general as well I don't think the far right thing is as big an issue for the site these days in terms of visible impact as it's pretty confined really, it's things like a million angry posts appearing if somebody submits a picture of a cute police dog on one of the default subs that look bad to outside observers.
    The porn thing is also going to be a problem particularly since there is an example of Tumblrs decline if they straight up ban it.

I am pretty skeptical of what Reddits userbase actually is these days, it was always that demographic but it seems to have shifted in tone, possibly thats the Trump effect but some of its strange and inorganic feeling.
    During the last US election for example there was a massive Bernie Sanders following but once he lost the nomination suddenly Clinton was really popular which doesn't feel natural as a Bernie supporter is not likely to have been very enthusiastic about Hillary. That and some of the highly upvoted and engaged with submissions seem pretty artificial.

I'd also add that I think the userbase is actually much younger than one would think, much more 15 year olds than 35 year olds it seems at times.

In June the mods closed the forum at night due to an unmanageable onslaught of racist, threatening and violent posts.

Its September now. It's a different thing that's going on. It's a whole different issue

Do you understand what I am telling you?

Culture wars innit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭JasonStatham

Lol.