Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gone with the Wind Cancelled

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,925 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

THE_SHEEP wrote: »
    I was actually going to watch " Blazing Saddles " in their honour .

Quote : " The sheriff is a N.......... " .

Just watch Hateful 8 extended if that’s what you’re tickled for

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

Biker79 wrote: »
    Slavery was an economic system that was widely practised - and still is actually, in Libya. I think some among the Travelling community in England were at it, up until recently.

I believe some version of it is common, also, in the UAE and Saudi Arabia.

My guess is that the majority of slaves were well treated and found the arrangement agreeable in terms of being fed and housed.

I sometimes wonder if sitting on the M50 on the way to an open-plan office, with a w***r boss and a 35-year mortgage, is also some kind of slavery. With a few bells and whistles added on.

Slavery is alive in this country. If you are on social welfare you are a slave to the government and if you are a contract worker with a mortgage you are a serf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭dresden8

The permanently outraged will always find something to be outraged about.

Indeed. The perpetually outraged about murder, will, by, definition, be perpetually outraged while murder continues. it's built in. Oven baked as it were.

"It aint half hot mum" with Windsor Davis is another one to be censored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,085 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

I have it on DVD so the short sighted censorship that these morons insist on won't affect me.

It's backward we're going and pandering to these idiots is inexcusable.

It's times like this that I regret the invention of social media.
    Without it, loudmouthed stupid people would have no where convenient to sprout their nonsense.

I have it on DVD so the short sighted censorship that these morons insist on won't affect me.

It's backward we're going and pandering to these idiots is inexcusable.

It's times like this that I regret the invention of social media.
    Without it, loudmouthed stupid people would have no where convenient to sprout their nonsense.

They are learning this rubbish on stupid courses like Social science, gender studies and other stupid courses at universities where rich kids have nothing to do for 4 years but develop mental health problems and blame everyone else for their problems. Put them on real courses like Science and Business and they will be run off their feet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭Sheep_shear

I watched Breakfast at Tiffanys for the first time recently. Doing a watch-all-classics-you've-missed-on lockdown routine with the missus. The Mickey Rooney thing comes out of nowhere, I guess that'll be on the chopping block too. Shame, I really enjoyed the movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,003 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

What this will actually lead to is a rise in piracy as people go looking for the original uncensored versions (where things have been cut or edited) or simply because the platforms have decided that we need to be protected from these things now :rolleyes:

Remember when the Maud Flanders character was mocked in the Simpsons? Now she'd be running the town

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Kiara Melted Wharf

They are learning this rubbish on stupid courses like Social science, gender studies and other stupid courses at universities where rich kids have nothing to do for 4 years but develop mental health problems and blame everyone else for their problems. Put them on real courses like Science and Business and they will be run off their feet.
    add helicopter parenting - these kids (for lack of a better word) cant do anything for themselves...worked in places where fresh out of college adults have to go to their mother to ring to book a doctor's appointment....and just shriek loudest in protest/on twatter to get their way

• Registered Users Posts: 625 ✭✭✭Cal4567

All this is just the latest chapter in a cultural war initiated by elements of Leftist thought who have been struggling for decades to get a foothold in power. Once they do, they tend not to last very long, although usually propelled back into power by the failure of right wing governments once a significant number of the masses realise they are no better off.

As any good socialist worker will tell you, it is not about being in power, so much can be done from the sidelines, to effect change. Any one who queries any of this is labelled either sexist or racist. A hundred years ago they were 'counter revolutionaries', taken out and shot. Thankfully, these days, the punishment is less severe, normally not going much further than being named and shamed on social media.

If anyone has seen any polls about all of this - George Floyd/protests/looting/taking down statues etc, please do post a link.

I get a sense too that the media after 3 months is fed up with Covid and has jumped on this issue. The Guardian in the UK is revelling in it. The issue should be the policing standards across the US and no more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭Sheep_shear

Cal4567 wrote: »
    The Guardian in the UK is revelling in it. The issue should be the policing standards across the US and no more.

The Guardian supported the Confederacy in the US Civil war. They should be careful!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    What this will actually lead to is a rise in piracy as people go looking for the original uncensored versions (where things have been cut or edited) or simply because the platforms have decided that we need to be protected from these things now :rolleyes:

Remember when the Maud Flanders character was mocked in the Simpsons? Now she'd be running the town

Well I will be holding out on subscribing to Netflix for the time being. I would certainly prefer to pay the same amount for original content than pay for my favourite shows with a warning at the beginning, whatever the source. Streaming sites ought to remember that the majority of their customers are not sad jobless douchebags who have nothing better to do than whinge and cry and call foul because they lost the game of life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭Tork

At the rate things are going, we'll have nothing left to watch, read or listen to. Has nobody ever read a book, listened to a song or watched a film and thought "I don't agree with that" but kept going anyway? I've never seen Gone With The Wind but I'm sure most people who do know that it is of its time and view it through that filter. I'd prefer they left these things uncensored but accompanied them with some sort of short informational just to give the context. It's downright patronising to assume that people don't live in the real world or can't think for themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,645 ✭✭✭Fionn1952

Load of nonsense really. As a fairly left-leaning, socially liberal person myself, I can't help but facepalm through all this.

Then again, if it keeps up, I might make a fortune on my Dennis Wheatley novels on the black market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

vetinari wrote: »
    Honestly I have no idea what you're talking about.
    Gone with the Wind isn't banned.

You're right. It's not. It's been told like a naughty child to "Go sit in the corner and just think about what you said, before we let you out to play again."

Now in the grand scheme of things like police brutality, everyday racism, institutional racism (the two are different), rape, spousal abuse, paedophilia, homelessness, housing shortages, overcrowding, lockdown-induced unemployment, emigration, immigration, international sabre rattling, climate change etc etc it's pretty small beer.

But it's an irritant. And if somebody is granted an op-ed in a leading US newspaper to virtue signal then he must expect a reaction. And if the issue is so insignificant, why is it worthy of such an announcement in one of the US's "newspapers of record" in the first place.?

Banning the likes of Gone With The Wind is the thin end of the wedge. It's a different version of the information silos many people are now immersed in. By only watching Fox Newd or reading the Daily Mail or people they agree with on Twitter, they fail to see the big picture. It's reducing the world to facile soundbites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,724 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Tork wrote: »
    Banning the likes of Gone With The Wind is the thin end of the wedge. It's a different version of the information silos many people are now immersed in. By only watching Fox Newd or reading the Daily Mail or people they agree with on Twitter, they fail to see the big picture. It's reducing the world to facile soundbites.

It's not "banned" though.

We'll see how this current unavailablity pans out. Even if it isn't banned, it's probably going to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

Basil Fawlty and the Germans. That's another one. Too much stereotyping.
    I guess I'll start lobbying to cancel Fawlty Towers too because of Manuel

(I won't)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,159 ✭✭✭Odhinn

We'll see how this current unavailablity pans out. Even if it isn't banned, it's probably going to be.

Unlikely. They put a commentary on the DVDs of the old tom and jerry show where there was some dubious material included. Speedy Gonzalez was ok, but the way his fellow mexican mice were portrayed was completely wrong. As a kid I wondered why they always looked like they were drunk and half asleep.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1fukTk8gJ3M

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CDkwGQFLcjE

This series of videos is from a year ago, so removed from the proximate causes for the movie's removal from HBO Max. It's an interesting watch, and does show why leaving racist ahistorical depicitions can be dangerous and damaging today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

Odhinn wrote: »
    Unlikely. They put a commentary on the DVDs of the old tom and jerry show where there was some dubious material included. Speedy Gonzalez was ok, but the way his fellow mexican mice were portrayed was completely wrong. As a kid I wondered why they always looked like they were drunk and half asleep.
    My favourite scene in all of Tom and Jerry is the one where Tom gets drunk and throws a jug of water over the black woman lying in bed, she then chases him and jumps down the stairs after him.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭vetinari

But it's an irritant. And if somebody is granted an op-ed in a leading US newspaper to virtue signal then he must expect a reaction. And if the issue is so insignificant, why is it worthy of such an announcement in one of the US's "newspapers of record" in the first place.?

Are you a member of HBO Max, a US based streaming service.
    If you are, was that the only way you had to watch Gone with the Wind.
    If it was, were you planning to watch it anytime in the next year.

If any of those are not true, then how is it an irritant to you??
    Why the insatiable appetite to find something to be outraged about?

• Registered Users Posts: 779 ✭✭✭SNNUS

Woke W*nkers!

Who has banned Gone with the Wind?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,202 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Thank **** it was boring and way too long.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭vetinari

That was the other thing I was wondering.
    I looked up the movie length, it's nearly 4 hours!
    Who has time to watch a 4 hour movies from the 1940's these days??

Snowflakes on Fox News are already getting #BoycottHBO rolling this morning because gone with the wind was taken down for the next couple days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

vetinari wrote: »
    That was the other thing I was wondering.
    I looked up the movie length, it's nearly 4 hours!
    Who has time to watch a 4 hour movies from the 1940's these days??
    Don't people regularly binge watch much more than 4 hours of shows like Tiger King, Stranger Things etc nowadays?

That’s different

• Registered Users Posts: 962 ✭✭✭Burty330

Overheal wrote: »
    Snowflakes on Fox News are already getting #BoycottHBO rolling this morning because gone with the wind was taken down for the next couple days.

Snowflake was a term coined for people who are overtly PC and easily offended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Basil Fawlty and the Germans. That's another one. Too much stereotyping.

Gone.

https://twitter.com/guardianculture/status/1271158902868983808

Why are these companies taking these actions? In this case it's BBC owned, so that explains this example, but what of the rest? It's as if the world is under mass hypnosis right now. Radical leftists should be ignored, at best, not yielded to or appeased for heaven sake. They aren't even genuine, much less correct. Daft morons pearl clutching about old TV show and film dialogue, which oftentimes was parodying and lampooning (years ago) the very people they pretend to be offended by (today) but I guess that goes over their empty bloody heads.

• Registered Users Posts: 779 ✭✭✭SNNUS

The crazy left are a bigger plague than COVID.

• Registered Users Posts: 492 ✭✭FarmerBrowne

Gavin and Stacey is removed now as well from the BBC because of the Chinese Alan character, the world is gone absolutely mad. Speaking of the fawlty towers episode above about the war I assume they will also be removing the episode where Sybil racially abused O'Reilly because he is Irish? No? I thought not and guess what they shouldn't, it was a humorous scene.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭mick087

Fawlty towers dont mention the war removed from UKTV

Should we here in Ireland complain about the Builders episode?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,526 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

I'm happy to see so many people on boards who are aware of the cancer that is "wokeness". I honestly though this thread would be full of these morons.

Well done.

mick087 wrote: »
    Fawlty towers dont mention the war removed from UKTV

Should we here in Ireland complain about the Builders episode?

I know that's tongue in cheek...

But if you can't laugh at yourself... It's hilarious. If we start banning everything somebody somewhere finds offensive we'll end up with nothing. Banning comedy is absolutely mental.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Fawlty Towers VHS/DVD are now only purchasable via a bloke called Alan, via the dark web, and if you have the access passphrase.
    If you have one under your TV, and it's on display: cover right now with a suitable cloth, and say x3 HailMary's as penance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,744 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Most of things are really old now.

Will Mrs Browne's Movie never be shown again?

O'Carroll impersonating a Chinese man was a bit much (and not funny).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

I'm happy to see so many people on boards who are aware of the cancer that is "wokeness". I honestly though this thread would be full of these morons.

Well done.

The "woke" are despised, they just don't know it....yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 492 ✭✭FarmerBrowne

Fr Ted calling the Chinese a great bunch of lads is now probably going to be consigned to the scrapheap also on the head of these idiots.

I know that's tongue in cheek...

But if you can't laugh at yourself... It's hilarious. If we start banning everything somebody somewhere finds offensive we'll end up with nothing. Banning comedy is absolutely mental.

Myself i liked Fawlty towers and the builders to me is hilarious.
    Everyone in that show was a total plonker it made fun of everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,937 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Most of things are really old now.

Will Mrs Browne's Movie never be shown again?

we can only hope

Fr Ted calling the Chinese a great bunch of lads is now probably going to be consigned to the scrapheap also on the head of these idiots.

In a way I hope these morons try and get it banned, might wake some people up, grand when you're banning a 40 year old show like Fawlty Towers or Paw Patrol the boot, yes that's a thing. But try taking an institution like Fr. Ted off the airwaves and there will be a huge backlash. Even Graham Linehan himself who was on the other side of the fence for so long with his "wokeness" has realised what''s going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,317 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I was only saying this a few days ago -

It’s of it’s time, what’s to forgive anyone for?

Good movie in any case but I wouldn’t go out of my way to watch it.

Gone With The Wind on the other hand, that’s an actual classic that has withstood the test of time

Still available on Sky Cinema at least... for now! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

I love a woman with spirit, Mrs. Fawlty

I do, I do, I do, I do

O'Reilly was a great character.

The episode with the Major talking about the West Indies cricket team.... heads will explode

Burty330 wrote: »
    Snowflake was a term coined for people who are overtly PC and easily offended.

Then it fits neatly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

Fawlty Towers VHS/DVD are now only purchasable via a bloke called Alan, via the dark web, and if you have the access passphrase.
    If you have one under your TV, and it's on display: cover right now with a suitable cloth, and say x3 HailMary's as penance.
    Bad news, it seems Alan is actually an Antifa agent who likes entrapping and beating pensioners in his spare time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,726 ✭✭✭Feisar

We are going to end up like the film Equilibrium, any thought outside of the status quo is wrong.

First they came for the socialists...

Jimbob1977 wrote: »
    I love a woman with spirit, Mrs. Fawlty

I do, I do, I do, I do

O'Reilly was a great character.

The episode with the Major talking about the West Indies cricket team.... heads will explode

The Major was brilliant :pac: