Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Accidentally Shoots Himself

• 12-06-2020 10:04am
    Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭

I know familiarity can breed complacency but come on! Does anyone know how much training these people receive? As a firearms enthusiast myself I can say that the fact I'm handling/using a lethal device is always tucked away in the corner of my mind. Maybe that comes from being taught from an early age.

https://www.rte.ie/news/2020/0611/1146938-garda-gun-accident/

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 538 ✭✭✭Sonic_exyouth

Feisar wrote: »
    I know familiarity can breed complacency but come on! Does anyone know how much training these people receive? As a firearms enthusiast myself I can say that the fact I'm handling/using a lethal device is always tucked away in the corner of my mind. Maybe that comes from being taught from an early age.

https://www.rte.ie/news/2020/0611/1146938-garda-gun-accident/

I think a rake of lads were appointed at the beginning of the Covid Crisis before their training had been completed.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,066 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

I think a rake of lads were appointed at the beginning of the Covid Crisis before their training had been completed.

But they wouldn't be let anywhere near a firearm.

They are the mules out on the beat doing the sh1tty jobs.

Feisar wrote: »
    I know familiarity can breed complacency but come on! Does anyone know how much training these people receive? As a firearms enthusiast myself I can say that the fact I'm handling/using a lethal device is always tucked away in the corner of my mind.

Do you know how it happened?
    Or are you just assuming that he forgot a gun was a lethal weapon?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭LessOutragePlz

Some might say that he shot himself in the foot.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 23,641 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Thankfully not severely injured.

All the reports say is that he was in his car getting ready to leave the Israeli embassy when it happened. I doubt there will be anything else released tbh.

https://www.buzz.ie/news/garda-hospitalised-after-accidentally-shooting-himself-in-the-leg-373378

• Registered Users Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Possibly had the weapon in a holster and came loose putting on taking off a coat.
    But carrying a loaded weapon is dangerous and no room for complacency.
    An army man told me once that most people are killed by empty guns i.e. "I thought it wasnt loaded"
    In the States if a cop is going to commit suicide he often has the cleaning materials on the table.Verdict. Shot accidentally while cleaning his gun. That means the family gets the insurance and pension

• Registered Users Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

You're never supposed to have a live round in the chamber unless there is an imminent threat.
    And if an imminent threat does suddenly materialise it only takes a split second to rack the slide.

There is also a device called a safety catch fitted to all guns which should always be on safe, unless again in an imminent threat scenario.

So you see guns are quite safe if handled correctly and proper procedures are followed..those procedures should be second nature to anybody entrusted with a firearm or indeed any other potentially dangerous tool.

But then the most dangerous tool in those type of accidents is always the one handling the implement.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,783 ✭✭✭KungPao

Police Academy stuff.

De de de de, de de de de...

• Registered Users Posts: 410 ✭✭AlphabetCards

archer22 wrote: »
    You're never supposed to have a live round in the chamber unless there is an imminent threat.
    And if an imminent threat does suddenly materialise it only takes a split second to rack the slide.

There is also a device called a safety catch fitted to all guns which should always be on safe, unless again in an imminent threat scenario.

So you see guns are quite safe if handled correctly and proper procedures are followed..those procedures should be second nature to anybody entrusted with a firearm or indeed any other potentially dangerous tool.

But then the most dangerous tool in those type of accidents is always the one handling the implement.

What experience do you have with firearms? Not all weapons have 'safety catches'.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,386 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I can think of two firearms used by security forces in Ireland without "safety" catches.
    The pistol used by AGS has to have a chambered round in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭CtevenSrowder

I can think of two firearms used by security forces in Ireland without "safety" catches.
    The pistol used by AGS has to have a chambered round in it.

How does this work? I've never come across a pistol that doesn't need to be cocked.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

The Gardai used have Smith and Wesson revolvers. Six in the chamber and no safety catch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Embassy duty's a long and boring shift; which can have consequences.
    Like the two armed Gardai who went on the piss and scrapped in front of the US Embassy before one drove home drunk.

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/gardai-sacked-after-drunken-embassy-brawl-287170.html

I wonder if they just throw the washed up soaks onto it as an easy beat?

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,577 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

KungPao wrote: »
    Police Academy stuff.

De de de de, de de de de...

Think you're getting it confused with de Police

De do do do, de da da da ....

I'm afraid you don't know as much as you seem to think.
    There is not a safety catch fitted to all guns, & of course a guard on duty has a round in the chamber.

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    Embassy duty's a long and boring shift; which can have consequences.

I think you will find that AGS did not say the member was on duty at the embassy.

bubblypop wrote: »
    I think you will find that AGS did not say the member was on duty at the embassy.

You got me.... "On duty at a diplomatic residence". Apples and Oranges.
    Good to see you focusing on the big picture

You got me.... "On duty at a diplomatic residence". Apples and Oranges.
    Good to see you focusing on the big picture

I don't believe AGS said that the member was on duty at a residence either.
    And I'm pointing that out because you seem to suggest that members on those duties are somehow not as good as gardai in other duties.

I don't believe AGS said that the member was on duty at a residence either.
    And I'm pointing that out because you seem to suggest that members on those duties are somehow not as good as gardai in other duties.

Naturally they're going to be tight lipped about anything that makes them look bad.
    I doubt we'd ever have heard of the lads scrapping in front of the US Embassy if it was possible to cover it up.

I'm just trying to make sense of it from the information available.
    But yeah, you could well be right. I hope the Garda's well soon.

I'm afraid you don't know as much as you seem to think.
    There is not a safety catch fitted to all guns, & of course a guard on duty has a round in the chamber.

And one in his foot as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

What clowns, and some of them armed.

My opinion and I'm entitled.

Edgware wrote: »
    The Gardai used have Smith and Wesson revolvers. Six in the chamber and no safety catch.

You can have five in the chamber and the hammer resting on an empty chamber as well for safety.

Anyhow surely they are not carrying revolvers guarding the Israeli embassy..if Hezbollah turned up they would be very impressed :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭swarlb

Amazing all the same (on Boards) the wealth of expertise and knowledge, not only of weapons and how to use them, but on general 'police' methods and practice.
    I wonder would it be prudent for these members to offer such knowledge to the Minister in charge.... might not only save lives, but also crime and whatever other 'failings' exist with our police.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,938 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

swarlb wrote: »
    Amazing all the same (on Boards) the wealth of expertise and knowledge, not only of weapons and how to use them, but on general 'police' methods and practice.
    I wonder would it be prudent for these members to offer such knowledge to the Minister in charge.... might not only save lives, but also crime and whatever other 'failings' exist with our police.

I think the unfortunate Garda himself might struggle to explain how instead of shooting from the hip, he somehow managed to shoot himself in the hip!

Relieved to hear he’s ok though and nobody else was injured in what has to be said are truly unfortunate circumstances. Hopefully in time he’ll see the funny side... arm...

Ok I’m leaving :o

swarlb wrote: »

You seem incredibly aggrieved that people are discussing this at all. Do you have anything to contribute yourself?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭swarlb

You seem incredibly aggrieved that people are discussing this at all. Do you have anything to contribute yourself?

Yes, I do.... I hope he's ok. Everyone makes mistakes.

• Registered Users Posts: 41 Konvict

He was probably the most professional person in the room at the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,164 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

of course a guard on duty has a round in the chamber.

Why?
    How often does a guard have occasion to discharge his weapon while on duty in Ireland?

GreeBo wrote: »
    Why?
    How often does a guard have occasion to discharge his weapon while on duty in Ireland?

Ah well it's not the point how often it happens, the point is that if it does happen, every second counts.