Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Boardsies Greatest Music Act of the 90s - Live Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

This must be the first time in one of these tournaments, I've been the voice of reason. A lot of people seem to be simmering with rage. ;)

giphy.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 12,908 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

This must be the first time in one of these tournaments, I've been the voice of reason. A lot of people seem to be simmering with rage. ;)

giphy.gif

Ah, I'm just being melodramatic.

It wouldn't be near as fun if we didn't give out :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Rothko wrote: »
    Ah, I'm just being melodramatic.

It wouldn't be near as fun if we didn't give out :pac:

True of some people certainly, and I'm always a fan of the melodrama, but I'm sensing there are some people genuinely outraged.

Anyone who's feeling genuine rage right now...

giphy.gif

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,216 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

I think lassy's head would have genuinely exploded had Steps beaten Pearl Jam :P

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,336 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

giphy.gif

I've long accepted that what I listened to in the 90s was very different to what most other people listened to. Doesn't mean I can't give out about how wrong you all are. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

If we dont let people know that their taste in music is dishwater then how will they ever know

Zaph wrote: »
    I've long accepted that what I listened to in the 90s was very different to what most other people listened to. Doesn't mean I can't give out about how wrong you all are. :D

I know, I'm just enjoying this stirring opportunity, as usually I'm the one giving out :D

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭lassykk

Necro wrote: »
    I think lassy's head would have genuinely exploded had Steps beaten Pearl Jam :P

As I moved into my thirties I tried to keep my opinions to myself especially online but yeah I think I would have had quite a moment :pac:

lassykk wrote: »
    As I moved into my thirties I tried to keep my opinions to myself especially online but yeah I think I would have had quite a moment :pac:

Don't filter feelings lassykk. It feels better when you get it all out. Not to mention we all love to see a good meltdown. :D

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,605 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

TLC
    Moby
    Emimen
    Foo Fighters

Smashing Pumpkins
    Kylie
    Pearl Jam
    Prodigy

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

My vote wouldn't have changed the result, and I already knew yis all had sh!t taste so ... meh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

Smashing Pumpkins vs Radiohead
    Kylie vs Guns N Roses
    Pearl Jam vs Beck
    Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds vs Prodigy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

Welcome to Round 4

First to 7 votes

No reason necessary in this contest though please provide one if you want.

Lineup

The Cranberries
    Nirvana
    Manic street preachers
    Soundgarden
    Blur
    Green Day
    Red Hot Chilli Peppers
    REM
    TLC
    The Verve
    Emimen
    Foo Fighters
    Radiohead
    Guns N Roses
    Pearl Jam
    Prodigy

R4/M1

Manic Street Preachers

5e6a6b2934a27.image.jpg

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Manic_Street_Preachers

vs

REM

A-74500-1530577034-8285.jpeg.jpg

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/R.E.M.

R4/M2

Nirvana

rs-nirvana-e9e22e4b-f7d9-4fc7-bd94-23c30084ce94.jpg?resize=1800,1200&w=1800

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nirvana_(band)

vs

Guns N Roses

gnr-steven-adler-735x413.jpg

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guns_N%27_Roses

Manic street preachers vs REM
    Nirvana vs Guns N Roses

REM ; my nom

Nirvana ; my nom

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

3 of my nominations left, The Prodigy, TLC and Emimen. For the ones getting upset sure if we all liked the same music it would suck. I love a bit of 90's cheese (likes of steps etc). I think as well its to do with your age/stage of life at the time and how much the music might have meant to you and memories you made.
    May the best act win :D (especially if its one of my remaining acts!)

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Manic street preachers
    Guns N Roses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

Both very difficult!

Being subjective, REM offered more to music, in my opinion even if I have fonder memories of MSP

Nirvana vs Guns N Roses
    Very tough. I love both. Both iconic. Think GnR just edge it

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Nirvana
    vs Guns N Roses-Nirvana had a great output in the 90s, if GnR had released Appetite in the 90s then they would walk it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭lassykk

REM - Absolutely love some of their songs whereas the MSP I like a couple but wouldn't listen to them regularly

Guns N Roses - November Rain is one of my favourite songs and that alone is enough for me to give them the nod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭The Mighty Quinn

Hmm, I enjoy MSP but really love REM's output.

Nirvana vs Guns N Roses
    GNR for 80s output, Nirvana for 90s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭Gru

Manic street preachers - i like them both but the Manics edge it for me.
    Nirvana - my favourite of the two

Rem

Nirvana

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,216 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Manics - Revenge for Oasis plus I like them more

Guns N Roses. My nom and Nirvana won enough on this board already so time to take a stand

It is understandable if people get uset, you pick your favourite bands and send them into the contest only to watch them get savaged.
    It is like sending your child into their first day of school and then they get picked on by a load of bullies :P

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,336 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Manic street preachers - my nomination

Nirvana vs Guns N Roses - ABSTAIN. Both are grand and have some good songs, but I can't say I like one more than the other enough to decide between them.

It is understandable if people get uset, you pick your favourite bands and send them into the contest only to watch them get savaged.
    It is like sending your child into their first day of school and then they get picked on by a load of bullies :P

I don't have or want kids, but I doubt its even close to the same thing...

...having your favourite bands torn to shreds is far worse :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭Sawduck

REM - manic have come far enough, it's time for them to go
    Guns N Roses - both are great but these make for a less predicable winner

• Registered Users Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭Sultan of Bling

Manics
    Nirvana

Rem - manics 2000s would win
    Nirvana - gnr 80s would win

• Registered Users Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭Sultan of Bling

begbysback wrote:
    Rem - manics 2000s would win Nirvana - gnr 80s would win

Thought the 90s was peak manics imo. They're one of my noms.

Agree with you on GNR.

Manic street preachers
    Nirvana

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,478 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

REM and Nirvana

As much as I love the others, it's a no brainer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,028 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

REM
    Nirvana

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,382 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

REM
    Nirvana

Third time’s the charm, nitwit

Nitwit by name nitwit by nature

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,478 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

Third time’s the charm, nitwit

Nitwit by name nitwit by nature

Nope, given up, pic's too big :p

Thought the 90s was peak manics imo. They're one of my noms.

Agree with you on GNR.

Yea actually your right, timttmy coming at the end of the 90’s would be more to my liking, big fan, though still the amount of quality rem put out in the 90’s it’s hard to see anybody touching them

REM - Much better band in every respect. Manic Street Preachers are, to borrow Necro's earlier wording, "drab, moany and boring". ;)

Nirvana - a tad overrated maybe but still pretty damn influential and had some great tunes.

I really don’t want nirvana to win.

Hey, it's the 90s, girlfriend!
    Ask people to name a band from the 90s and most people will say Nirvana.
    But they do seem to be steamrolling all the contests. Cover version, 90s song etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭Irish Aris

I think Nirvana were quintessential 90s. I wouldn't be a huge fan but I can understand why people liked them and I'm OK with them winning.
    Having said that, my vote will go to REM for as long as they are in the competition. 2 amazing and another 2 very good albums during the 90s!!

Manic street preachers 4 vs 7 REM
    Nirvana 7 vs 5 Guns N Roses

R4/M3

Radiohead

_107333264_fb03c957-03e2-456e-b184-995995af2dd0.jpg

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Radiohead

vs

Red Hot Chilli Peppers

d6f67aba8a0a23e3508aa226eaffb066

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Red_Hot_Chili_Peppers

R4/M4

Foo Fighters

56004eb69dd7cc22008bbe82?width=1100&format=jpeg&auto=webp

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Foo_Fighters

vs

Blur

2013Blur-photocredit-Zanna120313-1-2.jpg

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blur_(band)

Radiohead vs Red Hot Chilli Peppers
    Foo Fighters vs Blur

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,028 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

RHCP
    Foo Fighters

Red Hot Chilli Peppers
    Blur

Radiohead
    No strong opinion on the second one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,382 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

Radiohead
    Blur