Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FF/FG/Green Next Government

• Registered Users Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Now you are pathetically trying to bait with the 'foreign' travel bit. What a guy/gal!

Have a lie down. Get up, ask yourself...'do I know whether she had essential business to do or not?'
    The answer will still be the same after your calming snooze...you have not a clue.

Most travel isn't essential though. You can break it down into two categories travel to obtain essentials (I somehow doubt O'Neill was in the convention center to do her groceries) and travel for work which requires your presence. As the leader of a political party in NI, I cannot think of any essential administrative task that she could possibly have had to do in Dublin that could not have been carried out remotely.

• Registered Users Posts: 69,230 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Most travel isn't essential though. You can break it down into two categories travel to obtain essentials (I somehow doubt O'Neill was in the convention center to do her groceries) and travel for work which requires your presence. As the leader of a political party in NI, I cannot think of any essential administrative task that she could possibly have had to do in Dublin that could not have been carried out remotely.

Which just means...you cannot think of any admin task.

Nothing more.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,313 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Thomas Gould embarrassing himself. He was in the chamber yesterday for the vote and still comes out with this rubbish. Disappointing that an elected TD has such disregard for the democratic processes of the state.

Which just means...you cannot think of any admin task.

Nothing more.

No, it's because they're is no such administrative task that requires a physical presence these days.

Unless you can give me an example of one that would require physical presence?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

namloc1980 wrote: »

Thomas Gould embarrassing himself. He was in the chamber yesterday for the vote and still comes out with this rubbish. Disappointing that an elected TD has such disregard for the democratic processes of the state.

That lad was out sick the day they were handing out brains.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

No, it's because they're is no such administrative task that requires a physical presence these days.

A meeting between party members requiring both the president & vice-president of the party in question. This maybe to insure speeches are agreed to, the meeting between the Shadow cabinet and their deputy-leader.

Why wasn't the whole process done via Zoom then? Why was it 'essential' to bring people together at all?

Getting ridiculous now.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

namloc1980 wrote: »

What kind of respect for democracy did you expect from Sinn Fein? And Can we stop going on about Michelle taking a trip to Dublin. They're a collection of criminals, charlatans and thickos but to be going on about this is just pathetic. So she went to Dublin. Get over it. In fairness she didn't kill a guard or rob a bank on the way

Hey LADS why is the Taoiseach facilitating this? Some social distancing going on here among the public and photographers.
    Could he not just have gone home quietly?

https://twitter.com/fiona96fmnews/status/1277242580028329986

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

So even after FF getting FG in on the guest list and the Greens doing what they Greens do...its still all about SF.
    We've seen Dooley who doesn't like to get up early of a morning get rewarded.
    It'll be fun to watch the FG mob defend FF actions :)
    The election is over lads, you'll need justify FF/FG/Green actions at some point. Slagging off the electorate or other parties won't cut it.

Hey LADS why is the Taoiseach facilitating this? Some social distancing going on here among the public and photographers.

Nice bit of whataboutery there.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

Bowie wrote: »
    So even after FF getting FG in on the guest list and the Greens doing what they Greens do...its still all about SF.
    We've seen Dooley who doesn't like to get up early of a morning get rewarded.
    It'll be fun to watch the FG mob defend FF actions :)
    The election is over lads, you'll need justify FF/FG/Green actions at some point. Slagging off the electorate or other parties won't cut it.

This is a good point to be fair. The nonsense about Michelle is hopeless

Absolutely! Anything to point out the pettiness of the selectively outraged.

Pssst it's a thread about a government MM is leading not if MO'N broke covid restrictions. That's the whataboutery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Lads I thought Martin said he wouldn't go into Govt with FG?

It's tragic.

A man who was part of the cabinet when FF drove us off a cliff is now T-shock.

Lying wasters the lot of them.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 27,007 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

flutered wrote: »
    but if you were a 60 year old with arthritis and six more years of cycling ahead of you?

I am completely open to allowing all 60 years olds with arthritis to continuing driving into the city. It should even be easier for them when all the people who don't need to drive are not driving.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

It's tragic.

Events Dear boy, as McMillan said, change things utterly. It's what "de peepel" voted for or not.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

I could see soc dems treble in numbers going forward

Can only speak locally and say labour is dispised,despite waterford being strong trade union city

Id wouldnt be suprised if shinners got over 44 to 50 seats.....they could potentially recruit high profile quality canditadtes like lisa chambers and saoirse mchugh as they turn eyes towards dismantling FF/genepool FFG on local issues....

they seem to have stablised mid 20s% for now,so mathetically possible they could 2 to 3 seats in each 5 seater......if they find enough canditdates

Triple loser and ignored for the Senate McHugh is welcome to SF now that her resignation letter is on the way to Green H.Q.

As for Lisa Chambers she is a Senator. She knows how the system works and will be back in Dail Eireann and a Minister in a future F.F. government.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,971 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

McMurphy wrote: »
    The "rules" didn't apply/weren't enforceable to anyone not resident in the state, be that Michelle O'Neill, or Sammy Wilson, a German tourist, or drew Drew Harris children.

It was a loophole overlooked by...... Come on Edg, you can do it ............

Hmmm, so politicians can be excused any behaviour if it isn't illegal. This is a new one.

We have had constant complaints about non-illegal cronyism on here, I think you were big on a driver for some Minister not so long ago.

How do you reconcile those contradictory hypocritical positions, other than one was FG and the other was SF?

• Registered Users Posts: 27,971 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

How do you know that? Was Martin's niece's trip 'essential'?

SF are an all island party, HOW do you know what had to be discussed or signed off yesterday?

Of all the mealy mouthed stuff to be getting the undergarments in a twist about.

Why does Sinn Fein being an all island party make it ok for Michelle O'Neill to break travel restrictions?

blanch152 wrote: »
    Hmmm, so politicians can be excused any behaviour if it isn't illegal. This is a new one.

We have had constant complaints about non-illegal cronyism on here, I think you were big on a driver for some Minister not so long ago.

How do you reconcile those contradictory hypocritical positions, other than one was FG and the other was SF?

Amazing how this thread has managed to deflect itself away from discussing the FF/FG/Green government and the historic election of FF's Michael Martin by among others, Fine Gael TD's to the office of Taoiseach.

It's obvious you didn't understand his post and repeated clarification.
    How is her traveling cronyism? You don't believe in cronyism anyway.
    This is pretty poor Blanch. How does Dooley getting a senate seat sit with you?

Be more interesting if you lads could defend your party on its actions instead of pointing and saying 'look over there'.
    SF aren't in government, get over it.

Amazing how this thread has managed to deflect itself away from discussing the FF/FG/Green government and the historic election of FF's Michael Martin by among others, Fine Gael TD's to the office of Taoiseach.

They still can't get over the great unwashed moving their vote and are in denial about where they are now. Attacking and diverting because they can't discuss what they are signed up to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭StackSteevens

but doherty was smart enough to fillet two senior goverment ministers live on national tv

And he can spend the next five years doing it all over again if he likes and it won't make a blind bit of difference!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,839 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

It's tragic.

I assume minds were changed for the good of the country since there was no viable alternative. Fair play to them. Lots of Cork in government now I just hope they don't make Cork the capital.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,839 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Why? Was is it in Béal na Bláth he was in, or what? :D

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,131 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

but if you were a 60 year old with arthritis and six more years of cycling ahead of you?

Lots of older people and people with disabilities are finding that eBikes are giving them the kind of extra power they need to allow them to start cycling or continue to cycle.

But even if not, so what? The fact that cycling doesn't work for everyone isn't a reason not to invest in cycling infrastructure. No single mode of transport works for everyone. Cars don't work for everyone, particularly those who can't afford them, but that hasn't stopped us from investing in roads for decades.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭BluePlanet

Why does Sinn Fein being an all island party make it ok for Michelle O'Neill to break travel restrictions?

Ah FFS blanch, do you not know the rules that your party set?

Exceptions
    The only people who do not need to self-isolate are people who are:

arriving in the State from Northern Ireland
    aircraft crew, including pilots, in Ireland as part of their work duties
    holders of a Certificate for International Transport Workers, or drivers of a heavy goods vehicle, who are in Ireland for this work
    ship crew, including the maritime master, in the course of performing their duties.

source: https://www2.hse.ie/conditions/coronavirus/travel.html

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

And he can spend the next five years doing it all over again if he likes and it won't make a blind bit of difference!

They are pretty good at doing their homework, expect Meholes banking irregularities to become centre stage,

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    MM's family are not deputy leaders of a party that is in the Dáil.

Why not complain that the loophole exists by the way? Surely a party that could leave such a loophole in legislation and then be unable to close it isn't fit to govern?

Keeping the wife out of the way in case some journalist asks an awkward question about her bank accounts?