Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FF/FG/Green Next Government

• Registered Users Posts: 69,271 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Given my observations of Varadkar as a human being and as a politician, I'm certain that such a person would hold Trump in utter contempt. In fact, I can't think of an Irish TD who would have admiration and respect for Trump. Can you?

So just an opinion then, as I suspected.

I don't know if there is an Irish TD who would have admiration and respect for Trump.

If I find one, I'll let you know.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,375 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

I don't know if there is an Irish TD who would have admiration and respect for Trump.

So when you said this:

"Leo could ignore the very real and uncertain Covid dangers and head off to sate his capitalist wet dreams and see his buddy Trump?"

It was just an opinion, as I suspected. It's very obvious you don't know much about Irish politics if your opinion is that Varadkar is a "buddy" of Trump.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Two people have pointed to an article with Leo view.

SF seemed to have no issue running after his for a few quid in the past.

Even when he got elected the mighty Gerry Adams had nothing back to say about him.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

So when you said this:

"Leo could ignore the very real and uncertain Covid dangers and head off to sate his capitalist wet dreams and see his buddy Trump?"

It was just an opinion, as I suspected. It's very obvious you don't know much about Irish politics if your opinion is that Varadkar is a "buddy" of Trump.

Sure didn't he joke about fixing the windfarm planning application for trump after trump called him directly.

So when you said this:

Well he is more of a 'buddy' of his than I am.
    And you do realise I was sending up Johnny's trite opinion that anyone who is Socialist has 'wet dreams about Cuba and Venezula'. I even quoted Johnny in that post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭StackSteevens

smurgen wrote: »
    Remember when it was imperatives that we got a Government together but not a unity government because of all the immediate emergency stuff coming up? The need for a strong and stable government right? They must have done some work to say they can still take this break so soon.

https://twitter.com/rte/status/1289085484111745024?s=19

Evidently you're under the delusion that a TD's main work is done in the Dáil chamber. It isn't - it's done either in Oireachtas Committees which will continue to sit - or, sadly, back home at constituency clinics and funerals!

smurgen wrote: »
    Sure didn't he joke about fixing the windfarm planning application for trump after trump called him directly.

While we talk about planning:

I do find this funny

Sinn Féin's justice spokesperson Donnchadh Ó Laoghaire said: "There is no way that politicians should intervene in the planning process by way of phone calls and backdoor interference."s

then

Sinn Féin TD Reada Cronin and her husband built a €1m home without full planning permission, and then sought help from a sitting minister to be allowed keep it.
    https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-30983512.html

:P:P:P:P
    Which is it lads?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,375 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

Well he is more of a 'buddy' of his than I am.
    And you do realise I was sending up Johnny's trite opinion that anyone who is Socialist has 'wet dreams about Cuba and Venezula'. I even quoted Johnny in that post.

As a government politician, he has no choice but to be respectful and civil to POTUS. The idea that this translates into being his buddy is nonsensical. Johnny said "Paul Murphy" not "anyone who is a Socialist". But I take your point.

As a government politician, he has no choice but to be respectful and civil to POTUS.
    I never said anything different and actually defended the Paddy's Day jaunt here on this site.
    The idea that this translates into being his buddy is nonsensical. Johnny said "Paul Murphy" not "anyone who is a Socialist". But I take your point.

And the point of that satirical post was to 'infer' that he was a 'buddy' in the same way the poster 'inferred' that because somebody was socialist they were having 'wet dreams about Cuba etc.'

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

McMurphy wrote: »
    Wonder if that would have later transpired as having any influence on why the yanks later decided to sideline Leo and declare the 17th of March 2018 as "Gerry Adams day" leaving Leo like a gooseberry. :D

https://twitter.com/sinnfeinireland/status/974977733573926912?s=19

Gerry Adams was instrumental in ending the lives of hundreds of Irish people. He’s no more representative of the Irish state than Conor McGregor is. Leo is more of a statesman than a disgusting creep like Adams could ever be.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,563 ✭✭✭political analyst

https://www.rte.ie/news/politics/2020/0731/1156610-green-party-politics/
    Green Party Leader Eamon Ryan has said members of his parliamentary party cannot abstain or vote against the Government.

He was speaking after TD Neasa Hourigan and Minister of State Joe O'Brien were sanctioned by having their speaking rights withdrawn for two months.

Last night Ms Hourigan voted against the Residential Tenancies Bill and Mr O'Brien abstained from voting.

But I thought the Green Party was all about 'live and let live' and all that.

Surely, the government chief whip doesn't have jurisdiction over what goes on in the smaller party that is in government.

Of course they do. That’s what the whip system is about.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Gerry Adams was instrumental in ending the lives of hundreds of Irish people. He’s no more representative of the Irish state than Conor McGregor is. Leo is more of a statesman than a disgusting creep like Adams could ever be.

You're telling that to the wrong person john, twas the yanks made March 17th "Gerry Adams day" not McMurphy here in sunny Ireland.

Your Varadkar is better than Adams rhetoric is the internet equivalent of helicoptering your mickey at me dude.

Of course they do. That’s what the whip system is about.

The Taoiseach wouldn't dare to sack the Green ministers if Ryan didn't sanction the rebel Green TDs because to do so would lead to another general election this year.

FG would be very happy with that tbh.

Why?

• Registered Users Posts: 27,975 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

McMurphy wrote: »
    Wonder if that would have later transpired as having any influence on why the yanks later decided to sideline Leo and declare the 17th of March 2018 as "Gerry Adams day" leaving Leo like a gooseberry. :D

https://twitter.com/sinnfeinireland/status/974977733573926912?s=19

I would say that other than Gerry, you are the only person in Ireland who remembers that.

Mary-Lou?

She certainly copies his political style.

Eh, it's in the name - government chief whip.

blanch152 wrote: »
    Mary-Lou?

Varadkar's intemperate rants (how many now?) would be completely Trumpian if you wished to get into comparisons.

Improve the vote and either be the main party in a new government or the main party of opposition while SF and FF hop into bed together. See how the bullhorn merchants deal with that.

Eh, it's in the name - government chief whip.

But the chief whip wouldn't have a deterrent if the Green Party leader refused to sanction rebel Green TDs. FG wouldn't dare to take the risk of having another general election this year because of the prospect of SF forming a government.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Mary-Lou?

How so?

FG certainly have similar ideas about policy to Trump. Support business even when it costs the tax payer.
    Varadkar has the arrogance and disrespect of Trump down. Not saying it's like for like but certainly closer than the leader of any other Irish party except maybe The National Party.

Bowie wrote: »
    How so?

FG certainly have similar ideas about policy to Trump. Support business even when it costs the tax payer.
    Varadkar has the arrogance and disrespect of Trump down. Not saying it's like for like but certainly closer than the leader of any other Irish party except maybe The National Party.

Ya, because a homosexual man from an immigrant background who gave up much of his spare time to volunteer during the first wave of the pandemic, and was leader of a party who increased the healthcare budget by 5 billion during his tenure is exactly like Trump.

Do you even understand what you say? It’s almost stream of consciousness at this stage. Bizarre to be honest.

Ya, because a homosexual man from an immigrant background who gave up much of his spare time to volunteer during the first wave of the pandemic, and was leader of a party who increased the healthcare budget by 5 billion during his tenure is exactly like Trump.

Do you even understand what you say? It’s almost stream of consciousness at this stage. Bizarre to be honest.

I disagree.
    Do you read what you quote at all Johnny?

Another milestone:

The Greens can't be too happy...but they signed up with these people.
    Supreme Court quashes 2017 plan to tackle climate change

They argued that the National Mitigation Plan permitted an increase in greenhouse gases and so was contrary to the 2015 Climate Action and Low Carbon Development Act, which required the publication of a plan for transitioning to a low carbon climate resilient and environmentally sustainable economy by 2050 described at the National Transitional Objective.

The unanimous judgment of the Supreme Court delivered by Chief Justice Mr Frank Clarke was that the 2015 Act requires a sufficient level of specificity in the measures identified in a compliant plan to meet that National Transitional Objective by 2050, so that a reasonable and interested person could make a judgment both as to whether the plan in question is realistic and as to whether they agree with the policy options.

Speaking on RTÉ's News at One, spokesperson Clodagh Daly said it was a "groundbreaking and landmark" verdict and thanked those who took the case on their behalf.

She said the verdict means the Irish government "can no longer make promises it will not fulfil" and has a legal obligation to protect citizens from the worst impact of climate change.

https://www.rte.ie/news/courts/2020/0731/1156645-environment-ruling/

"PROTECTING OUR ENVIRONMENT AND MOVING DECISIVELY TOWARDS A CARBON NEUTRAL FUTURE"

Not quite Fine Gael, not quite.

Another red banner day for the coalition.

The Greens can't be too happy...but they signed up with these people.

"PROTECTING OUR ENVIRONMENT AND MOVING DECISIVELY TOWARDS A CARBON NEUTRAL FUTURE"

Not quite Fine Gael, not quite.

Sometimes I wonder do you even understand the links you quote.

The Greens will be absolutely delighted with that result. One of the concerns that they had with the Programme for Government was that while it committed to certain overall levels of climate change, it was not specific enough. That isn't good enough, according to the courts.

For example, we are now going to have to properly legislate for a carbon tax, make it close to impossible for future governments to reverse it. Now, a carbon tax is something you are on record of opposing, but your colours are clear today. Something that brings a carbon tax closer, which you claim to dislike, is now suddenly welcomed by you, just because you believe it puts egg on FG's face.

Is there no policy you are willing to sacrifice in your tirade against FG? In previous guises you ranted and raved about jobs, jobs, jobs, but when FG solved that problem, you quietly dropped it but reemerged with housing and health as the new issues. If they get solved, you will find some other reasons to criticise FG, because nothing is sacred to you except your bitter hate.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,581 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

You got that one right Mr B

Sometimes I wonder do you even understand the links you quote.

The Greens will be absolutely delighted with that result. One of the concerns that they had with the Programme for Government was that while it committed to certain overall levels of climate change, it was not specific enough. That isn't good enough, according to the courts.

For example, we are now going to have to properly legislate for a carbon tax, make it close to impossible for future governments to reverse it. Now, a carbon tax is something you are on record of opposing, but your colours are clear today. Something that brings a carbon tax closer, which you claim to dislike, is now suddenly welcomed by you, just because you believe it puts egg on FG's face.

Is there no policy you are willing to sacrifice in your tirade against FG? In previous guises you ranted and raved about jobs, jobs, jobs, but when FG solved that problem, you quietly dropped it but reemerged with housing and health as the new issues. If they get solved, you will find some other reasons to criticise FG, because nothing is sacred to you except your bitter hate.

Some of the genuine Greens of course but sleepy Eamo is on board with FF/FG and this was their effort. Or do you think FF/FG will completely change tack on environment? Seems like Eamo is following their lead, not the other way around.
    Made up stuff again. Where am I supporting Carbon tax here? I've no issue if the money goes on green initiatives.
    I'll side step your fixation on the personal. You must be delighted, being a Green?

How does MLMD copy Trump's political style?

Why would Garda enforce government 'advice'?

What legislation might they bring in to enforce this 'advice'?

Just catching you up.

Some of the genuine Greens of course but sleepy Eamo is on board with FF/FG and this was their effort. Or do you think FF/FG will completely change tack on environment? Seems like Eamo is following their lead, not the other way around.
    Made up stuff again. Where am I supporting Carbon tax here? I've no issue if the money goes on green initiatives.
    I'll side step your fixation on the personal. You must be delighted, being a Green?

All of the above is your personal opinion and based on nothing.

You posted a link which you either didnt read or didn't understand. Own it and move on.