Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FF/FG/Green Next Government

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Redgirl82

McMurphy wrote: »
    Nice try, let's try again.

Listen, you made a post that was completely factually incorrect, and misinformed - which you still haven't revisited.

People couldn't "do what they wanted" during lock down, people were fined and arrested for breaking certain restrictions, teenagers were actively stopped from congregating and loitering etc.

The govt "didn't ban personal responsibility" spiel you're trotting out in an attempt to mask your brain fart isn't going to wash here.

Leo or Simon appealing to the public to be personally responsible at bank holiday weekends and not travel to holiday homes would have been simply that, appealed to, and trusted that they could be personally responsible.

Instead.

Drivers face bank holiday checkpoints after crash deaths soar
    I think I even read about a dope being rightfully fined for driving hundreds of km from his home to buy a feckin puppy, guess people like that just can't be trusted to be "personally responsible" hence legal restrictions, doh.

Are you doing to double down on this, were you really blissfully unaware of the legal restrictions put in place by the govt who (in your world) didn't make it illegal at all:D?

Looks like I'll be sharing them with you, so mind not to put the popcorn on for longer than the manufacturers recommended time, hate when the kernels char.

So you agree people have personal responsibility?

Maybe you want the thread full of everyone posting the same thing 20 times just because you are, well lets just say "not the brighest spark".

So for you and your buddy who is cowering away on another thread. Please provide a link to any media source confirming the government has banned "personal responsibility".

I will wait with my popcorn. I dont need a page long answer of bulls**t either. Just the answer to that question. I don't need one of the other regulars jumping in with some other stupid statement.

Off you go, see you soon

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Redgirl82 wrote: »
    So you agree people have personal responsibility?

Maybe you want the thread full of everyone posting the same thing 20 times just because you are, well lets just say "not the brighest spark".

So for you and your buddy who is cowering away on another thread. Please provide a link to any media source confirming the government has banned "personal responsibility".

I will wait with my popcorn. I dont need a page long answer of bulls**t either. Just the answer to that question. I don't need one of the other regulars jumping in with some other stupid statement.

Off you go, see you soon

I've already posted a link as to how the govt legislated to enable the guards to enforce certain measures during lockdown because there's always going to be a certain element within society who prove they cannot be entrusted with personal responsibility, hence the legislation (this really isn't difficult to understand, but you seem intent on contradicting that)

You're on record here of stating that the govt didn't make it illegal for county to county travel, I've posted numerous examples of how they actually did do that - and there's plenty of examples and stats available to back up fines being imposed, and people being arrested.

Try arresting or fining people for something that's perfectly legal, and let me know how that works out.

I'm not entertaining any of your other twaddle, of course they didn't remove every single aspect of personal responsibility from people, like people don't need legislation to know bringing the microwave into the bath isn't the most clever or responsible thing you could do.

However, people have proved that they cannot be trusted to "be personally responsible" during a pandemic, and to not make unnecessary journeys to go to holiday homes/buy puppies or go sight seeing etc. That's why they made legal restrictions, a fact you seem to have difficulty getting your head around.

Are you going to correct yourself, about the govt not making certain travel restrictions during lockdown, and how breaking them in certain conditions was in fact "illegal" or are you going to continue to put your head in the sand pretend it didn't happen, and allow me to have fun with you today?

Bowie wrote: »
    Can they send a health inspector? Ffs...
    If a pub opened it would be raided and rightly so.
    Something ****ing stinks.

No need. The outbreak has been brought under control.

McMurphy wrote: »
    I've already posted a link as to how the govt legislated to enable the guards to enforce certain measures during lockdown because there's always going to be a certain element within society who prove they cannot be entrusted with personal responsibility, hence the legislation (this really isn't difficult to understand, but you seem intent on contradicting that)

You're on record here of stating that the govt didn't make it illegal for county to county travel, I've posted numerous examples of how they actually did do that - and there's plenty of examples and stats available to back up fines being imposed, and people being arrested.

Try arresting or fining people for something that's perfectly legal, and let me know how that works out.

I'm not entertaining any of your other twaddle, of course they didn't remove every single aspect of personal responsibility from people, like people don't need legislation to know bringing the microwave into the bath isn't the most clever or responsible thing you could do.

However, people have proved that they cannot be trusted to "be personally responsible" during a pandemic, and to not make unnecessary journeys to go to holiday homes/buy puppies or go sight seeing etc. That's why they made legal restrictions, a fact you seem to have difficulty getting your head around.

Are you going to correct yourself, about the govt not making certain travel restrictions during lockdown, and how breaking them in certain conditions was in fact "illegal" or are you going to continue to put your head in the sand pretend it didn't happen, and allow me to have fun with you today?

Thank you, so it only took you and the other lad how many posts to final agree I was 100% right.

P.S. I don't need to correct anything, I never made that point, if you read the posts or got a proper update from the other lad you would know that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Hawthorn Tree

The government roll out the new 'plan' on the day that we hit the highest cases since May (357, 218 Dublin) and tell Dublin that they are Level 2 (or 2.5) along with the rest of Ireland.
    2 days they are talking about Level 3, 3.5 and even 4. FFG were afraid to tell the truth. There will be massive anger if they close the Dublin restaurants today. The coalition of chaos have caused utter confusion again.

I am looking forward to a weekend of talk radio and newspapers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

The government roll out the new 'plan' on the day that we hit the highest cases since May (357, 218 Dublin) and tell Dublin that they are Level 2 (or 2.5) along with the rest of Ireland.
    2 days they are talking about Level 3, 3.5 and even 4. FFG were afraid to tell the truth. There will be massive anger if they close the Dublin restaurants today. The coalition of chaos have caused utter confusion again.

Ah sure we all partied.

I personally look forward to a weekend with friends and family.

Each to their own

• Registered Users Posts: 19,568 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Thank you, so it only took you and the other lad how many posts to final agree I was 100% right.

P.S. I don't need to correct anything, I never made that point, if you read the posts or got a proper update from the other lad you would know that.

Lot of mud slinging Redser, from these lads until late into the night.

The tactic.

Keep firing the mud and hope some of it however vacuous will stick.

I don’t know which shift is on this morning but best bring your packed lunch with you, lot of anger out there......

• Registered Users Posts: 69,207 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

I didn't think I could be shocked by these guys anymore but the way they have treated people this week has been just that - shocking. They will throw the country into chaos as well as themselves navigating a way out of this. This restaurant owner will not be the first to express their anger.

https://twitter.com/colmkeane/status/1306857494678056961

Lot of mud slinging Redser, from these lads until late into the night.

The tactic.

Keep firing the mud and hope some of it however vacuous will stick.

I don’t know which shift is on this morning but best bring your packed lunch with you, lot of anger out there......

I have previous with these lads. I am well aware of the tactics they use. One makes a stupid statement, suddenly one of the others jump in and take on the batton with a completely different topic.

Imagine not one but two of them spend a considerable amount of time yesterday and then this morning trying to argue that the government had banned personal responsibiliy. Baffling stupidity

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Each to their own

Really? Statically the community transmissions is more dangerous. You'd want to take personal responsibility and stay away from friends and family.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,568 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

I have previous with these lads. I am well aware of the tactics they use. One makes a stupid statement, suddenly one of the others jump in and take on the batton with a completely different topic.

Imagine not one but two of them spend a considerable amount of time yesterday and then this morning trying to argue that the government had banned personal responsibiliy. Baffling stupidity

Ok Redser, so you know the tactic, well done, you described the m.o. perfectly.

You are obviously well equipped to counter their garbage.

Have a good day.

Each to their own

Yes indeed I believe the government are encouraging more and more house parties instead of meals/socialising in controlled environments. It's a hard to tell what they are pushing now.

The radio presenters are extremely agitated about the government this morning. I dont think the public are as frustrated - I think they have written off the coalition of Chaos already. Is this Day 83 of this runaway train?

• Registered Users Posts: 692 ✭✭✭atticu

smurgen wrote: »
    Really? Statically the community transmissions is more dangerous. You'd want to take personal responsibility and stay away from friends and family.

You obviously have not heard of WhatsApp, text messages, Skype or Zoom.

You mind will probably explode if I try and explain FaceTime to you.

Ok Redser, so you know the tactic, well done, you described the m.o. perfectly.

You are obviously well equipped to counter their garbage.

Have a good day.

Two posts now this AM and not a single word about the topics being discussed, just rather pathetic attempts to flame the thread and shut down those discussions.

atticu wrote: »
    You obviously have not heard of WhatsApp, text messages, Skype or Zoom.

You mind will probably explode if I try and explain FaceTime to you.

Forget to switch accounts when replying?

Yes indeed I believe the government are encouraging more and more house parties instead of meals/socialising in controlled environments. It's a hard to tell what they are pushing now.

The radio presenters are extremely agitated about the government this morning. I dont think the public are as frustrated - I think they have written off the coalition of Chaos already. Is this Day 83 of this runaway train?

How is spending time with friends and family a house party?

Radio presenters are some sort of guide now? Was this Lotty Ryan you listened to?

Bit rich you trying to get on a high horse and you didn’t even understand the phrase yesterday

Radio presenters are some sort of guide now? Was this Lotty Ryan you listened to?

As someone who was offering lectures in personal responsibility yesterday you seem utterly clueless. If everyone as uninformed and confused as you appear exercises their personal responsibility we're screwed.based upon your demonstrable lack of knowledge it shows the government need for proper intervention even more so.

I find the anger level is proportionate to the level of chaos the new FFG government is causing. ;)

I would say we are at Level 4 right now. All hands on deck to deflect...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,800 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Bit rich you trying to get on a high horse and you didn’t even understand the phrase yesterday

You could apply personal responsibility to speeding in traffic, paying your bus fare, jaywalking, clocking into work on time, bringing your kids to school etc but it still requires other measures to ensure the above things happen.
    Same applies to Covid.

Level 3
    Am I allowed to have social or family gatherings?
    You are allowed visitors from one other household only in your home or garden. No social or family gatherings should take place in other settings.

Fann Linn wrote: »
    You could apply personal responsibility to speeding in traffic, paying your bus fare, jaywalking, clocking into work on time, bringing your kids to school etc but it still requires other measures to ensure the above things happen.
    Same applies to Covid.

People have been trying to tell Redgirl and others that all day and evening yesterday...penny hasn't dropped yet.

People like Redgirl are the reason why peanut packets have a contains nuts warning written on them.

Ah go easy lads, she is good fun to be fair. It's only politics.

Ya it's just our health and safety.

People like Redgirl are the reason why peanut packets have a contains nuts warning written on them.

Ya it's just our health and safety.

Seems like I touched a nerve with the (y)locals.

It seems the other one has run for the hills after admitting his mistake.

Seems like I touched a nerve with the (y)locals.

It seems the other one has run for the hills after admitting his mistake.

ok then, good to have you back Redser a chara as BB would say. You are getting more like him with every day ;)

Back to the coalition of chaos and your Level 3 house parties then...:pac:

So far you have yet to confirm if you understand what personal responsibility is, I think it is a waste of time talking to someone who clearly lacks a proper education.

P.S. If is not the governments fault if you didnt get a proper education before you start down that rabbit hole

Now the patronising invective.