Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Joe Duffy, International Man of Misery, sez Farewell to Fungus

• Registered Users Posts: 4,800 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

I think he was the 2pint man Enda Kenny used meet from time to time for a chinwag about the economy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,270 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

buried wrote: »
    This lad is going to start crying over it

Joe would have drawn those tears out minutes ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,941 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

He was caught between 8:30-9pm. He had driven from Dublin. As adult male passes approx. 1 unit of alcohol per hour through their body. What was his blood alcohol level like when he got into the car is something I'd be more interested in? He claims he had 2 pints with a meal before the match (throw in at 3:30pm). I personally don't believe he only had 2 pints.

Sorry, I have zero tolerance or sympathy for drink drivers.

Ahem...
    "It subsequently emerged that he would have been under the limit had he been driving on a full licence rather than a provisional one."

So, not anything like pissed, then.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,713 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

And dis is whoy we get de politicians we deserve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,274 ✭✭✭shearforce

pricks like this lad are what's wrong. Hates whistle blowers etc etc...

I've posted an article to show that he has been convicted.

The presenter has confirmed that he was convicted.

Both are incorrect I'd say?

To be convicted don't you need to be convicted in court?

The case did not go to court.

I murdered someone, I did de time, now can I just not get on with it?

Well a certain newly elected TD has done exactly that

No, because you're on a lifetime licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

BPKS wrote: »
    Joe would have drawn those tears out minutes ago

He'd have asked half the callers if anyone in their family had died in a traffic accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Are there any pics of him driving with L or N plates?

• Registered Users Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Park Royal

Is there any hope the 1 in 13 without car insurance might be focused on.

Always feel the Garda are not doing a half decent job getting compliance of rules of the road.

Time they were relieved of the responsibility and a new body formed in their place.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭boardise

A few questions.

Why don't they perform background checks on government ministers, and if they do, why didn't a drink driving conviction show up?

Secondly, did he make a complaint about the garda record before now, and, if so, why has it taken so long to resolve?

Thirdly, if Mr Cowen is telling us the truth here, what will happen to the garda involved and will Mr Cowen be reinstated?

Fourthly, what does an ex FF government minister have to do to be criticised by his voters?

Conor Lenihan made the key point on RTE this morning that routine Garda
    vetting is done on any Ministers -to-be ( and presumably anything that comes to light would be reported to the Taoiseach). Surely this must be looked into.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,468 ✭✭✭jetfiremuck

Look ffs at the dail bar bill yearly. They are all at it for the most part. Mehole knew Barry was toxic...he had no choice.

Answer questions in the Dail is it? It's all a charade reading out prepared statements. It's all a game an were all in on it

Look ffs at the dail bar bill yearly. They are all at it for the most part. Mehole knew Barry was toxic...he had no choice.

Do they not have drivers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭tampopo

Flukey wrote: »
    He'd have asked half the callers if anyone in their family had died in a traffic accent.

In a creche???

• Registered Users Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

Both are incorrect I'd say?

To be convicted don't you need to be convicted in court?

The case did not go to court.

Then you have to ask whether these two statements are potentially defamatory?

If so what action has been taken to rectify this.

On what basis do you assert that these are untrue?

This whole debacle would have been avoided if meehole canned him from the start.

Damien's view - drink driving is perfectly fine as long as long as you don't hit anyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,679 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Jaysus boring the hole off me

boardise wrote: »
    vetting is done on any Ministers -to-be ( and presumably anything that comes to light would be reported to the Taoiseach). Surely this must be looked into.

Míchéal Martin won't last, he will bring down the government, it's all over. Shortest Taoiseach term in history??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 886 ✭✭✭NasserShammaz

What's all this feeling sorry for his family bulsh#te..you'd swear he won the lotto but lost his ticket.....ohh wait he dianna fall , he's a Cowan. The skum are truly back and as odious as fine Gael are these clowns are the gold standard for sleveen skuming

sligojoek wrote: »
    Are there any pics of him driving with L or N plates?

...or a pint glass?

Indeed. Surely this situation could have been avoided if what he says is true

De Whats App groups?

Jeez, that's serious shyt, so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I wonder will they have anyone on that's been affected by accidents involving drunk drivers?

Absolutely ridiculous how the traffic - no pun intended - is 90% Pro Cowen.

Bet the f#cker had no insurance

wrong....the mbi would cover it as an unsinsured driver

It's like FF were never out of Government.

They are the standard by which all irish strokers should be judged.

That's saying something considering the turkeys that we have in parliament

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,159 ✭✭✭bigroad

This wan is a know it all clown.

Arghus wrote: »
    I wonder will they have anyone on that's been affected by accidents involving drunk drivers?

Joe is off this week, so no stories of tragedies.

jesus....are you asking for an archaeological dig on it missus...ffs

• Registered Users Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭boardise

Park Royal wrote: »
    Is there any hope the 1 in 13 without car insurance might be focused on.

Always feel the Garda are not doing a half decent job getting compliance of rules of the road.

Time they were relieved of the responsibility and a new body formed in their place.

There's a certain equation at work that suggests that one on-duty garda death cancels out 10,000 examples of garda carelessness and inefficiency.

(I'm not having a go at the 'bobby on the beat' I believe mid-rank garda 'management' would be the main cause of such ineptitude)

bigroad wrote: »
    This wan is a know it all clown.

One of the most sensible callers IMHO.

wrong....the mbi would cover it as an unsinsured driver

They're a body that had to be set up to cover accidents caused by uninsured drivers

Oh hear, back to some painting.

vetting is done on any Ministers -to-be
    ( and presumably anything that comes to light would be reported to the Taoiseach). Surely this must be looked into.

If Sinn Fein ever get into power then this would render the majority of them unfit to serve as a minister.

What if it was all a "mistake"?

jesus....are you asking for an archaeological dig on it missus...ffs

This happened nearly 4 years ago, so for some people that's ancient history.

He was full allright.. Full of porter

These points about all being forgiven if he'd come clean at the beginning are nonsense frankly,

If he'd come clean at the beginning he'd have had to resign from the FF Front Bench.

Which is fine, but lets not pretend we wouldn't be asking for that resignation, too.

Arghus wrote: »
    One of the most sensible callers IMHO.

Katie doesn't know the bad line trick or the caller would have been gone. She obviously didn't read Joe's manual.

A load of unadulterated bullshyt.
    Move on to something worthwhile.

If Sinn Fein ever get into power then this would render the majority of them unfit to serve as a minister.

That's what the checks are supposed to be there for.

Cowan
    Lawlor
    Flynn
    Ahern
    Doherty
    Haughty
    Lenihan
    Callaly
    Fahy
    On
    And
    In
    And
    On
    It goes..... .....just of the top of my head

Pure f@ckin skum

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    A load of unadulterated bullshyt.
    Move on to something worthwhile.

What's unadulterated bullshyte?

I love this woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

a very notorious murderer and snappy dresser, found chez attorney general was often seen sauntering around Dublin pre covid

"...no Joe, you rang me !..." A.Caller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,713 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Go'won caller