Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Parking and traffic in Phoenix Park

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

Pat Dunne wrote: »
    They’re not closing it!
    They’re closing the Gates (except Castleknock & Parkgate St) to vehicular traffic, not to Pedestrians or Cyclists.

I thought that was understood, and didn't have to be spelt out.

Stark wrote: »
    My housemate got back from a lunchtime run in the Park earlier and said it was mental with all the traffic and cars parked absolutely everywhere. So not just a "virtual marathon" thing.

I haven't been in the park that much this year. But its mostly very quiet when I've been there.

I was out in other local parks at the weekend and noted it was very busy. I assume because on a decent day in between rainy days everyone grabbed their stir crazy families stuck indoors and hit the parks. Sane people will keep their distance from each other. I'm far closer to people when I've had to go to shops, or banks etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭ligerdub

My housemate got back from a lunchtime run in the Park earlier and said it was mental with all the traffic and cars parked absolutely everywhere. So not just a "virtual marathon" thing.

Well that's not true for starters. I was up there myself at lunchtime today for exactly the same reason and although there was a bit more cars driving around (note: moving, not parked) than I'd expect, there was absolutely no "mental" traffic nor cars parked everywhere. The traffic was fast moving, with no tailbacks and I'd say the majority of cars were merely going through the park to a destination outside of it. Even at that I'd say the number of cars driving was maybe 5% more than usual. My run involved going through 3 park gates, the 15 acres and the bulk of chesterfield avenue plus the furry glen, so covering a fair bit of it. I did a route yesterday that took in the areas further north within the park, and again there was nothing unusual to report re: parked cars in unusual spots.

The car parks looked reasonably occupied but there were some spaces, and where I'd expect to see overflow used on the roads (15 acres grassy verge/furry glen adjacent/road at Ordnance survey), there was absolutely none. Your housemates claim makes it sound like what we saw in the great weather around April time, which in itself was completely overblown in terms of shame tactics, whereas in reality it was just a run of the mill quiet and pleasant day in the park.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,620 ✭✭✭Grudaire

They’re not closing it!
    They’re closing the Gates (except Castleknock & Parkgate St) to vehicular traffic, not to Pedestrians or Cyclists.

This is exactly the point - access is maintained but now the North and South roads are safer for families, cyclists and walkers.

This will remove a lot of traffic and cars parking.
    Dublin Zoo warns it may have to permanently close as COVID hits finances

https://extra.ie/2020/11/18/news/irish-news/dublin-zoo-losses-covid-19
    In a normal year, the zoo would attract a million visitors a year.

• Registered Users Posts: 245 ✭✭I told ya

beauf wrote: »
    This will remove a lot of traffic and cars parking.

https://extra.ie/2020/11/18/news/irish-news/dublin-zoo-losses-covid-19

Just the opening salvo for a state bail out. Can't see the zoo being allowed to close.

I seem to recall Bertie giving them a dig out back in the 1990s.

I told ya wrote: »
    Just the opening salvo for a state bail out. Can't see the zoo being allowed to close.

I seem to recall Bertie giving them a dig out back in the 1990s.

There’s zero chance of the zoo being let go IMO. Will just try to get as much private support as possible before the state steps in....perhaps a corporate sponsorship deal.

From a park perspective, I hope it is saved. I can imagine that if that space become available, someone in government or Failte Ireland will come up with some hairbrained scheme for a new tourist attraction

• Registered Users Posts: 245 ✭✭I told ya

There’s zero chance of the zoo being let go IMO. Will just try to get as much private support as possible before the state steps in....perhaps a corporate sponsorship deal.

From a park perspective, I hope it is saved. I can imagine that if that space become available, someone in government or Failte Ireland will come up with some hairbrained scheme for a new tourist attraction

You're on the money with the 'hairbrained scheme'. That's exactly what some genius would come up with.

The beauty of the PP is the lack of development/commercialisation and wide open spaces.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,991 ✭✭✭✭Stark

I remember there was a draft plan for the park published a year or so ago that pretty much turned the Park into a shopping centre. Thankfully the widespread public opposition meant it got shelved.

That scheme included a cablecar type deal from Magazine Fort to Memorial Gardens!

• Registered Users Posts: 20,991 ✭✭✭✭Stark

No hairbrained scheme is complete without a cable car.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,077 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

An Taoiseach has already responded that there is no question of the Zoo being let go to the wall.

He's right too. It may make its money from leisure visitors but its a major player in conservation and vetinary and zoological education, far too important to let disappear.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭Phil.x

Remember the greens suggesting building council houses in the park, I'm sure it was ciaran cuffe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

Phil.x wrote: »
    Remember the greens suggesting building council houses in the park, I'm sure it was ciaran cuffe.

It's much older than that. That was talked about back in the 80s. There was also a proposal from a councillor to build an open air swimming pool on the 15 acres and to put the rest of the park to 'good' use. I can't remember his name but he was a colourful crank.

• Registered Users Posts: 911 ✭✭✭angel eyes 2012

No hairbrained scheme is complete without a cable car.

Or a monorail, similar to Springfield, I wonder was this suggested.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭Pat Dunne

Or a monorail, similar to Springfield, I wonder was this suggested.
    Yes, it was. I recall seeing plans for the Phoenix Park back in the 1970’s which included one.

Trying to make a huge tourist trap, visitor attraction, but not having a clear transport strategy, and wanting it to be primarily natural park seems to be a slightly confused mindset.

Its about time they acknowledged the 3,000 jobs on no fewer than 13 sites within the Park walls and began planning a comprehensive internal movement strategy without delay.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,505 ✭✭✭daymobrew

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Its about time they acknowledged the 3,000 jobs on no fewer than 13 sites within the Park walls
    Do you know the approximate distribution of these? Are a lot in Garda HQ?

daymobrew wrote: »
    Do you know the approximate distribution of these? Are a lot in Garda HQ?

I don't actually, I've seen it cited in various reports, but you'd have to surmise HQ along with the Zoo and, St Marys Hospital are the biggest three.

I don't knew whether they include McKee Army Barracks either. It has an entrance via the side of Garda HQ, but technically wouldn't be in the Park I guess.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭BlazingSaddler

Can anybody recommend a nice family cycling route in the park please?, We went last weekend and I hadn’t realised that the original cycle paths on Chesterfield Ave had both become pedestrian only. No way was I going to let the 5 year old cycle on the ‘new’ cycle lane on the road. Such a shame as it used to be a lovely relaxed family cycle

The area across the road from the pope cross has a nice loop and you can cycle on the grass. Or the track from Castleknock gate to mount Sackville gate in the trees. Furry glen, and fuze road are closed to cars as is military road to the magazine. The road from the pope's cross to magazine is also closed to cars.

The other thing is none of it enforced anyway. If your aren't cycling like a moron and give way to pedestrians most people won't say anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭Pat Dunne

Larbre34 wrote: »
    I don't actually, I've seen it cited in various reports, but you'd have to surmise HQ along with the Zoo and, St Marys Hospital are the biggest three.

I don't knew whether they include McKee Army Barracks either. It has an entrance via the side of Garda HQ, but technically wouldn't be in the Park I guess.

Ah c’mon Lads and you call yourself locals, think about it!
    Heres my guess at the various employers within the Phoenix Park, in a rough descending order.

Garda HQ.
    Dublin Zoo.
    St Mary’s Hospital.
    OPW Phoenix Park (not including Farleigh).
    The Ordnance Survey.
    The Cara Cheshire Home.
    Áras an Uachtaráin.
    Deerfield, The American Ambassador’s Residence.
    Phoenix Park School.
    Phoenix Cafe.
    Phoenix Tea Rooms.
    Phoenix Park Bikes.

Ah c’mon Lads and you call yourself locals, think about it!
    Heres my guess at the various employers within the Phoenix Park, in a rough descending order.

Garda HQ.
    Dublin Zoo.
    St Mary’s Hospital.
    OPW Phoenix Park (not including Farleigh).
    The Ordnance Survey.
    The Cara Cheshire Home.
    Áras an Uachtaráin.
    Deerfield, The American Ambassador’s Residence.
    Phoenix Park School.
    Phoenix Cafe.
    Phoenix Tea Rooms.
    Phoenix Park Bikes.

I think most people know what's in the park. But I'm not sure that was what was asked. The distribution of jobs.

I think they were really asking how many cars do these places add to the traffic in the park. That is not simple as someone might park out side these places and walk into it. Earlier in this thread people wanted visitors to the Zoo to park 20-30 mins walk away from it out side the park.

Some places like Mary's have day clinics, day hospital, scanning facilities. But then have families visiting in the evenings. Cycling hire is mainly walking tourist's I would assume. You've also got Farmleigh which drags traffic through the park into it. Even though it's not in the park itself.

Very varied use cases.

Traffic on Chesterfield Avenue is at a standstill, end to end.

Phil.x wrote: »
    Traffic on Chesterfield Avenue is at a standstill, end to end.

You mean today? A Sunday. What's causing that. Everyone going for a walk in the park or heading into town for a walk.

Yes, I text from traffic.

Just avoid it entirely then it's never a problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭ligerdub

I'm just back from there, traffic is at a complete standstill, about as bad as I've ever seen it. I was on foot and they seemed to have closed off access to a couple of roads off Chesterfield Avenue.......so traffic was going all along the main road, fairly ridiculous (and I'm not pointing fingers at the people in their cars).

Just avoid it entirely then it's never a problem.

Just open the gates as it was never a problem.

I called cabra garda, usual tosh about covid was the reply, I said send someone up to manage the traffic, he said he'd make a call but I guess he was too busy eating doughnuts, as both lanes are blocked.