Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Mega MK7 & MK8 Golf GTI/GTD/R thread - Part II

• Registered Users Posts: 28,190 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

This Clubsport is for sale a while in Cork, spec is great on it, is it over priced or something else up?

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mk7-golf-gti-clubsport-edition-40/26121587

Nice spec on this R in Carlow, https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/volkswagen-golf-r-310bhp-mk7-5/26384593

Which brings the most smiles, the Clubsport? Presume it might hold it's value a bit better as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

JoeA3 wrote: »
    8-10 weeks from order is typical.

Definitely not anymore unfortunately. 12 weeks is minimum nearly, some Vws are 20 weeks at the moment.

Not sure if that person is referring to the new R but it’s not even available to order yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,238 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Aren't most of the factories at reduced output and longer lead times due to employee social distancing guidelines? I know Germany have introduced more restrictions due to a surge of Covid in the country, I think most of the Continent is the same.

This Clubsport is for sale a while in Cork, spec is great on it, is it over priced or something else up?

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mk7-golf-gti-clubsport-edition-40/26121587

It's private seller. Car is modified.... Last two oil services were DIY so little hope of VW goodwill going forward should something serious go wrong.
    Two sets of plugs installed DIY also. No doubt there's no problem with the work but folk like FMVWSH on these.....

20026 Km (04/06/19)
    30420 Km (29/02/20)
    • Pollen filter 25598 Km (06/10/19)
    • New varta battery supplied by Des Golden’s – April 2020.....

New battery is a weird one IMO

Preventive Maintenance
    • All door speakers sealed
    • Rear bumper vents sealed
    • Boot grommet replaced with uprated version
    • Rear & underbody sealed with waxyol

Not many people with €30k+ will be tempted to buy with that rapsheet IMO ..... That car can't be described as an unmolested example and that's what most folk with 30k want

• Registered Users Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭carsfan2

L-M wrote: »
    Definitely not anymore unfortunately. 12 weeks is minimum nearly, some Vws are 20 weeks at the moment.

Not sure if that person is referring to the new R but it’s not even available to order yet.

Is club sport available to order yet?
    What model would you recommend from residual point of view?
    GTI has generally been a good bet in the past. Are there deals to be done do you think discount wise?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,190 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Augeo wrote: »
    It's private seller. Car is modified.... Last two oil services were DIY so little hope of VW goodwill going forward should something serious go wrong.
    Two sets of plugs installed DIY also. No doubt there's no problem with the work but folk like FMVWSH on these.....

20026 Km (04/06/19)
    30420 Km (29/02/20)
    • Pollen filter 25598 Km (06/10/19)
    • New varta battery supplied by Des Golden’s – April 2020.....

Preventive Maintenance
    • All door speakers sealed
    • Rear bumper vents sealed
    • Boot grommet replaced with uprated version
    • Rear & underbody sealed with waxyol

Not many people with €30k+ will be tempted to buy with that rapsheet IMO ..... That car can't be described as an unmolested example and that's what most folk with 30k want

I like some of the mods the revo tune and upgraded to the touchscreen while keeping the dials is the best of both worlds.

Seems to be tearing through spark plugs, I wonder was it off the road for a while or parked up to flatten the battery the miles are very low.

I didn't know sealing the speakers was a thing. Surprised with all the diy work as it would have been under warranty at the time you'd think they'd keep up the service history.

Even it was a standard GTI, the sunroof and keyless entry would make it stand out, the same with the R it's looks like the only one with keyless. I think the description has changed i'm sure there some mods mentioned on it before.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

carsfan2 wrote: »
    Is club sport available to order yet?
    What model would you recommend from residual point of view?
    GTI has generally been a good bet in the past. Are there deals to be done do you think discount wise?

Be hard to get a deal on a car that can’t be got.

They’re all going to drop like stones, if you’re buying the likes of a 50k/60k golf the only one you can lose less on is the one you pay less for!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,441 ✭✭✭JoeA3

The Clubsport is available to order. The R isn’t. Yet.

There are discounts (assuming no trade in).

The silver Clubsport there in Cork is a genuine car, I’m surprised it’s still available. He did have it up at very strong money, maybe he only recently reduced it.
    Owned by a genuine enthusiast. Goldens (where he had work/maintenance done) is a very reputable VAG specialist.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭carsfan2

L-M wrote: »
    Be hard to get a deal on a car that can’t be got.

They’re all going to drop like stones, if you’re buying the likes of a 50k/60k golf the only one you can lose less on is the one you pay less for!

You're not really selling it to me!
    I know they all lose loads off the bat. Just wondering if the Clubsport would be a relatively safe bet?

carsfan2 wrote: »
    You're not really selling it to me!
    I know they all lose loads off the bat. Just wondering if the Clubsport would be a relatively safe bet?

They’re all going to lose money. And plenty of it in the first 2 years. But the Clubsport should easily hold its premium over the standard car, it’ll be the one that’s sought after / much more desirable on the used market, the same as the PP in the MK7 (and the Clubsport / TCR to an even greater degree).

The silver Clubsport there in Cork is a genuine car, I’m surprised it’s still available. He did have it up at very strong money, maybe he only recently reduced it.
    Owned by a genuine enthusiast. Goldens (where he had work/maintenance done) is a very reputable VAG specialist.

All Golden's did was the battery & • Front diff (Haldex) serviced by Des Golden’s @ 31500Km .

Add reads like he couldn't leave the thing alone TBH.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

I like some of the mods the revo tune and upgraded to the touchscreen while keeping the dials is the best of both worlds.

Seems to be tearing through spark plugs, I wonder was it off the road for a while or parked up to flatten the battery the miles are very low.

I didn't know sealing the speakers was a thing. Surprised with all the diy work as it would have been under warranty at the time you'd think they'd keep up the service history.

Even it was a standard GTI, the sunroof and keyless entry would make it stand out, the same with the R it's looks like the only one with keyless. I think the description has changed i'm sure there some mods mentioned on it before.

I think the DIY servicing really lets it down. It's not rocket science to do but anything that fresh should have a main dealer or good independent history, when asking tens of thousands, it's a basic requirement to me. Does the tune affect how often it needs plugs? I think they are only due every 60k in those. 10k is very excessive.

There was a batch of batterys fitted to these from late 16 to early 18 that all failed pretty quickly (Moll branded, 70ah units) so the replacement battery isn't too much of a surprise. If he had have been using a dealer, his battery would have been warranty for example.

I think it's good he's sealed up the popular leak areas, as IMO the carpets and underlay are never the same after they've been waterlogged.

The biggest disappointment for me is the fact he's stripped the interior to dynamat it. One of the best things about any Golf is the real effort that's already went into sound deadening and good fastenings to make sure there is no trim rattles or squeaks. Breaking all the factory finishes to sound deaden an already well finished interior is counter productive IMO and has probably done more harm than good.

Was that car originally a Frank Keane demo?

• Registered Users Posts: 590 ✭✭✭theintern

Augeo wrote: »

I just had to replace mine in my 162 GTI, so I wouldn't have that down as very strange. From what I read online when I went to replace mine, it's not unheard of to have to do it after 3.5, 4 years.

theintern wrote: »
    I just had to replace mine in my 162 GTI, so I wouldn't have that down as very strange. From what I read online when I went to replace mine, it's not unheard of to have to do it after 3.5, 4 years.

Mightn't be surprising in GTi land but batteries shouldn't fail that quickly. Anyway, it's been mentioned that VW replace them for free....

• Registered Users Posts: 3,381 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

Interesting the different views on that owners approach.

To me that car sounds like it's owned by someone very picky and the car should be immaculate.

Ppf protection, preventative measures to stop common leak areas, oil every 5k miles etc.

I'd have no issue with any of that. Dealer stamps are for warranties, nothing more imo.

vintagevrs wrote: »
    Interesting the different views on that owners approach.

To me that car sounds like it's owned by someone very picky and the car should be immaculate.

Ppf protection, preventative measures to stop common leak areas, oil every 5k miles etc.

I'd have no issue with any of that. Dealer stamps are for warranties, nothing more imo.

This in a nutshell. The guy has looked after that car to an OCD level. I’m sure he’ll eventually find a buyer who appreciates it.

vintagevrs wrote: »

Fairly key to goodwill also.

And any monkey can change oil & plugs but it's not foolproof either so you're taking it on trust that Mr DIY knows what he's at :) This chap seemingly does oil & plugs but not batteries so I'm not sure TBH.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,888 ✭✭✭hooch-85

There's no pleasing some guys. This is a very genuine car and a fastidious owner.

hooch-85 wrote: »
    There's no pleasing some guys. This is a very genuine car and a fastidious owner.

Do ye know the fella?

Yes.

Some of the stuff posted in the last few posts is garbage tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 385 ✭✭SaintsYB

To me, the ad reads like it's a very careful owner that really looks after his cars. I don't think many would go to lengths such as PPFing a car and doing all the extra preventative work if they weren't someone like that.

Yes.

You're obviously referring to my posts, I'm obviously not reckoning my own posts are garbage. Quite surprised anyone would see them as rubbish though..... Bit of VAG boy circle jerking perhaps.

The add suggests there's been loads of DIY work done by someone who isn't a mechanic. Most folk buying 30k cars don't want one that's been tinkered with IMO :)

No VW garage will offer any goodwill to any future owner of that car should there be a problem.

Yes.

To be fair then Joe, you're probably not the most unbiased source to be saying the car is A1, even if it is.

Most people spending tens of thousands on a reasonably fresh, performance car would want a more regulated service history. The intervals and suppliers are all over the shop.

The car is A1. I’m cringing reading the posts on here, in what’s usually an enthusiasts thread, having a pop at it.

I don't think many enthusiasts would reckon a 3 year old, 30k car without a dealer/garage service history looks a good buy. DIY oil changes.... DIY spark plug changes.... DIY soundproofing & then some waxoyl to seal the deal. But the owner goes to a garage for a battery.....

Who the fook waxoyls a fresh car..... VAG are warranted anti corrosion for 10 or 12 years
    I'm not having a pop at it TBH.... Someone queried was it expensive or were there other reasons it's been for sale for a while.

A DIY partly maintained 30k+ car is a hard sell privately... 30k cars aren't easy to sell privately at the best of times.

I don't know the lad & I'm not in any VAG gangs....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,888 ✭✭✭hooch-85

To be fair then Joe, you're probably not the most unbiased source to be saying the car is A1, even if it is.

Most people spending tens of thousands on a reasonably fresh, performance car would want a more regulated service history. The intervals and suppliers are all over the shop.

Daltons and Goldens did most of the work on this car. Two of the most well regarded VAG specialists in the country. I know I'd much rather some like George Dalton work on my car than some first year apprentice in the main dealers.

He did a couple of oil changes himself, that's hardly rocket science.

Personally, i'm not having a pop at it, it could be a great yoke. Just discussing the car and the ad.

It's probably different when you are reading about a friend.

But from the perspective of someone who doesn't know the car or the owner, but who does know a bit about Golf's and cars, i would consider it an off putter, whether it has your toes curling or not.

2x identical cars, you dont know the owner of either. One has a full main dealer/ full Daltons history, the other has had the owner self servicing it. Which would you buy?

Indeed, but if you don't know the lads competent would you want him downng the oil & plugs on your car?

I can't understand folk not seeing why lots of the add makes the car quite unappealing.

....... I know I'd much rather some like George Dalton work on my car than some first year apprentice in the main dealers.

I'd much rather a dealer / garage stamped history than a DIY merchants receipt or photo of the gallon of oil.

The garage stands over the apprentices work....