Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are your views on Multiculturalism in Ireland? - Threadbanned User List in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭Yellow_Fern

I don't. Even if I did you seem to think that Irish and Gaelic are interchangeable and unchanging. They're not. The Irish people are an ethnic group which overwhelmingly descends from Gaelic people, but which also assimilated English, Scots, Normans, Vikings etc. Those non-Gaelic peoples were always a tiny, tiny minority in Ireland though. To place things in their proper context, 1 in 5 of Ireland's population was born abroad - that is unheard of.
    You seem to believe the Irish are unchanging in your view Ireland is still based on the tribes which made up the misnomer - Celts! You are the one who had gone on about Irish as a people from the 5c and 6c. There has been 1000 years of intermarriage between the Normans, Anglo-Irish, Saxons and so on!

You are parroting a Republican myth that was manufactured around the late 19th/ early 20th century! I find it hilarious you believe it!
    You are definitely having me on.

No. Learn your history. The idea of the Celts is a 18th cen phenomenon. The Saxons did not arrive here in any great numbers. Vikings probably not either.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭Gervais08

I give up you are off the wall and have invented your own sense of reality with one contradiction after another. I doubt you are a floating voter you clearly have a hidden agenda in relation to the issue of multiculturalism.

If you are young now I think you will not like the next 30 years. Because change is inevitable as Ireland matures as nation and moves away from old myths.

Whet is your problem??? Why are you accusing folk of not seeing darker skinned Irish people as “really Irish” which is absolute bollocks.

I’m white and because the mother couldn’t travel to have me here and we had to stay in the UK because of family circumstances I don’t have an Irish accent.

Are you the arbiter of who people can think are Irish ?? Cos there are people who hear me talk and say I’m not - will you defend me as vehemently???

• Registered Users Posts: 18,806 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

And... my last post to you. You reap what you sow. Your attitude and posting style on the thread has been pathetic and I see no point dealing with your ignorance. I'll leave it to others.

But bear in mind, that it was you that was unable to form a coherent and logical argument... and also you that focused on working class people as being racist towards migrants. Your virtue signalling efforts need some serious work.

I don't use trendy internet phases like 'virtue signalling' invented by British journalists in 2015

https://www.spectator.co.uk/article/i-invented-virtue-signalling-now-it-s-taking-over-the-world

Maybe that is your nod to multi-culturalism????
    Aping a British journalist? :D

Phrases like that is normally a sign that someone has lost an argument.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,923 ✭✭✭enricoh

Kivaro wrote: »
    And there we have it .....
    Over 20% of the population in Ireland were born outside of the country, but yet we are still in need of a ................ "revamp".

Read a post earlier about foreign exchange students complaining about being housed in a culturally enriched and revamped district in Stockholm. Sweet Jesus , the list of incidents they had was unreal, it wasn't far off a warzone.

Then we have this genius telling us the normans integrated with the paddies in the 8th century so it'll all be A ok!

No. Learn your history. The idea of the Celts is a 18th cen phenomenon. The Saxons did not arrive here in any great numbers. Vikings probably not either.

I specifically mean a creation of a myth of an 'Irish race' to suit a Republican narrative. You only have to look at P.H.Pearce's comments at the time.

Gervais08 wrote: »
    Whet is your problem??? Why are you accusing folk of not seeing darker skinned Irish people as “really Irish” which is absolute bollocks.

I’m white and because the mother couldn’t travel to have me here and we had to stay in the UK because of family circumstances I don’t have an Irish accent.

Are you the arbiter of who people can think are Irish ?? Cos there are people who hear me talk and say I’m not - will you defend me as vehemently???

Well one poster on here implied the the true Irish derive from the 5th-6th centuries and should not be exposed to multiculturalism.
    Sand wrote: »
    I mean the European ethnic group commonly described as Irish, who primarily descend from the same people who lived on the island of Ireland in the 5th-6th century and even before. Those Irish people. Would you be okay with that ethnic group becoming a minority in their own homeland? So long as they were displaced by better, more productive and cost effective workers?

I also pointed out with intermarrying over the centuries there are very little true Irish left.

That is what the poster said though - 'Sand' it was daft stuff. At least you are making a coherent point.

America, Australia, etc were being conquered and the indigenous populations were being wiped out.
    I have no dislike of mass immigration to Ireland because in my view Ireland has a very lukewarm (at best/confused at worst) sense of Irishness.

If you look at data on what percent of people are willing to fight for their country, you will see ireland is off the charts compared to many of our European neighbours (mainly we are exceeded by the Scandinavian and Nordic countries and the Poles).
    https://www.reddit.com/r/MapPorn/comments/dikz9r/percentage_of_people_willing_to_fight_for_their/
    I would argue this shows there is a very strong sense of Irishness, even if some deny it. In contrast in places like Germany national identity is perceived as toxic and far fewer are willing to fight for their country.
    Of course there is a cohort who lump all immigrants together whether they are illegal or not. They get put in the same box.

As for people accepting and integrating into Irish culture - argument. I always find it amusing. As the vast majority in Ireland converse in English as thier first language and are enveloped in English/British pass times/popular culture anyway!

What's Irish culture these days?

Religion? = No
    Language? = No

I presume you believe then that Mexican culture is really just Spanish culture? Are Canadians just English? Most Nigerian media is printed in English so is Nigerian culture mainly English culture? In India, English is absolutely everywhere.

Imagine telling everyone that there is no such thing as the local community and then later moaning that no one accepts you. Humility goes a long way.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭Gervais08

I specifically mean a creation of a myth of an 'Irish race' to suit a Republican narrative. You only have to look at P.H.Pearce's comments at the time.

You have zero clue.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,867 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

This thread is proof of it many off the wall people with an off the wall mentality.
    Once they die off Ireland will settle down for the better. Might be the odd working class riot, but it will give an opportunity for a rebuild.

Your attitude is frankly one of the most bizarre that I've ever read on this topic, or this forum in general to be honest.

You seem to hate Ireland, it's culture and its people. You place no value on any of these things and now seem to hope that those who do hurry up and die so they can be replaced by migrants in some sort of cultural genocide.

If you are actually Irish yourself, then it's even more bizarre, but either way I'd have to ask why you're living in a place you feel that negatively about.

It's also attitudes like yours that harden attitudes in others towards migration as a whole. I have no issues with genuine migrants entering and working through legitimate avenues and who are a positive benefit to the workforce and community as these people integrate well into our society rather than expecting it to change to suit them as you seem to be supporting.

But I have no desire to become a minority in my own country, and given that many of these latter types are chancers expecting me to support them (perhaps indefinitely) while they do so, they can frankly feck off back to wherever they came from.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Justin Credible Darts

Its not about about preserving an "Irish race".

I suggest you read what is written and not what you think is written.
    People want to retain national identity, irish type cultures, and not feel like a minority in their own country. Its not a race issue, but a cultural one.

Most certainly might be against working their ass off to pay for others coming here to sponge of the system, or allow foreign unvetted criminals in to the country.

Put aside the rose tinted views you want to force upon others .

• Registered Users Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭WrenBoy

Did anyone here vote the National Party by any chance? Be honest!

You are certainly making the case for them anyway.

Multiculturalism will bring about the following in Ireland in my view.
    A reenergising of working-class Ireland (which is why many of this cohort are the most fearful of it).

Example this report on Blanchardstown’s perception of migrants in 2009

https://www.itb.ie/ResearchatITB/documents/Perceptionsofmigrants-FinalReport.pdf

It may cause a few teething problems here and there. But the pros will outweigh the cons.
    The myth of an Irish race was used by the British to supress the Irish nation at times. But it was turned on its head in the Gaelic revival and the myth was made a source of pride.

However, in the past 20 plus years Ireland has had to get used to other cultures and races coming here by choice to find a better way of life.
    Normally many Irish people left Ireland if they were able to before this and made lives for themselves in other countries. In the 19th century many of these Irish had no English.
    Yet today, Irish people who have relatives of those scattered around the world don’t want to let the foreigners into Ireland (who are looking for a better life) without a hint of irony or awareness.
    Despite many Irish people speaking predominately English and following English pop culture. Many of these hypocrites view themselves as the 'true Irish'. Which gives rise to racism and so on.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/doing-an-about-face-on-race-1.1304604

Emergence of other languages and giving them a stronger foothold in Ireland will be a positive. Which will help fill the void left by a hundred years of neglect of the Irish language. And Ireland’s sole dependence on English.
    It is only approximately 70,000 hardy souls who speak thier native Irish tongue regularly as thier first language. In the last 100 years or so this is not the fault of the British. But of the Irish people themseleves through a mixture of indifference, laziness, and embarrassment.

It was Pearse and the IRB who politicised the Irish language and forced Douglas Hyde out of Conradh na Gaeilge. As Hyde wanted to keep CnaG apolitical. This was a travesty in my view as a language should not be politicised. A language should be used as intended for communication.

Some might even find a new appreciation of Irish when they see what many more non- Irish nationals have with their own language. Ironically in my experience it is the Non-Irish nationals who have less baggage towards the Irish language and are more open to learning it and using it. It really puts the Irish natives to shame.

Multiculturalism will solve another Irish issue a void left by the Catholic Church. Other cultures can bring thier religions with them. Hastening change. It was only as recently as 1972 that Bunreacht na hÉireann had enshrined the” special position of the Catholic Church.”

A 41.1.2 The State recognises the special position of the Holy Catholic Apostolic and Roman Church as the guardian of the Faith professed by the great majority of the citizens.

It was only in 2018 that baptism was removed as a prerequisite for entry to Irish Catholic schools!

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/education/baptism-barrier-to-be-removed-from-primary-schools-next-year-1.3649317

Another thing that will probably change with more multiculturalism is Ireland’s attitude to drink and the Irish pub culture. I always liken it to Ireland’s blind spot as American has their blind spot with guns. I understand the social aspect but is it necessary to drink at every social occasion? And have a social acceptance of drinking to excess?

Some blame those Brits for it!

https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/23662096/

So, in summary overall. More multiculturalism will have positives outweighing the negatives. And Ireland will benefit in time. Give it another 20 years.

It is inevitable really.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,976 ✭✭✭Cordell

The French drink more than the Irish, and they have multiculturalism, plenty of it. So I guess it's just another problem multiculturalism failed to solve.

Cordell wrote: »
    The French drink more than the Irish, and they have multiculturalism, plenty of it. So I guess it's just another problem multiculturalism failed to solve.

That is just one country you have named. There are many cultures who either do not drink to excess, and there are some who do not drink at all.

If you do not see Ireland's cultural acceptance of an abnormal relationship with drink. It is just pure denial. Plus the French do not have a binge drinking cultural acceptance like the Irish. Big difference.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Multiculturalism will bring about the following in Ireland in my view.
    A reenergising of working-class Ireland (which is why many of this cohort are the most fearful of it).

Are you going to get your calipers out to measure the working classes skulls on an ongoing basis to measure the improvements? :D

Fierce bang of Tan of your posts these days tbh

yOo9eeEn_400x400.jpg

Bambi wrote: »
    Are you going to get your calipers out to measure the working classes skulls on an ongoing basis to measure the improvements? :D

Fierce bang of Tan of your posts these days tbh

yOo9eeEn_400x400.jpg

I am just telling the truth that's all. It is the working class areas that are the main barriers to multiculturalism. As simple as that, because they are the ones who are most easily overtaken.

Darfur-born Abdullahi El-Tom is director of training and strategic planning for the Justice and Equality Movement (JEM), one of the main rebel factions that have been fighting the Sudanese government and their militias since 2003[/I]."

"Militant groups JeM, Hizbul recruited children in Kashmir during clashes with security forces: UN report
    The United Nations report noted “grave violations” and said at least three incidents of recruitment and use of children by terrorist groups were reported in Jammu and Kashmir during clashes with the security forces
    ."

Awesome. Exactly the kind of migrant we want in this country.

I suggest you do more research on the above rather than biased sources you might learn something. He was involved in a group which wants to replace a dictatorship and bring about emancipation of a people. Nothing very different what occurred in Irish history.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,867 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

So, in summary overall. More multiculturalism will have positives outweighing the negatives. And Ireland will benefit in time. Give it another 20 years.

It is inevitable really.

You are correct in that if left unchecked, Ireland's flirtation with the "multiculturalism experiment" will have the country unrecognisable in 20 years.

But few will call it a benefit or a success, no more than they do in the UK. France or other places where this short-sighted idiocy has been foisted upon the natives.

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    You are correct in that if left unchecked, Ireland's flirtation with the "multiculturalism experiment" will have the country unrecognisable in 20 years.

But few will call it a benefit or a success, no more than they do in the UK. France or other places where this short-sighted idiocy has been foisted upon the natives.
    You can't put the cork back in the bottle Kaiser.

Look at Irish politics.

We already had a Jewish Lord Mayor of Dublin, a Jewish Minister for Justice.
    In 2007 Laois had the first black Mayor in Ireland a guy from Nigeria.
    The current Lord Mayor of Dublin is of Chinese parentage. We have had a Taoiseach of Indian parentage. One of the founding fathers of our state was born in New York to Spanish father. Ireland had its first Muslim TD in the 90's.

By nature of the ease of travel in the world (pre covid) and Ireland's relative prosperity, it is inevitable. Plus Ireland is a peaceful nation not involved in wars. You cannot stop Multiculturalism. Too late

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

You cannot stop Multiculturalism. Too late
    Perhaps consult yourself with the Poland, who for example will be approx 0.2% muslim by 2050, from 0.1% now (compare to Sweden, then no longer 'Sweden' as we know it at 20-30%)...
    The V4 group will have all their customs, values and cultural heritage largely in place.

Ireland will likely by 4.6% muslim in 2050, not much, but still enough to affect or impede upon some daily experiences and forced changes of traditions.
    This could easily be reduced by having a better IPO system, and accepting only valid cases.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

It may cause a few teething problems here and there. But the pros will outweigh the cons.
    The myth of an Irish race was used by the British to supress the Irish nation at times. But it was turned on its head in the Gaelic revival and the myth was made a source of pride.

However, in the past 20 plus years Ireland has had to get used to other cultures and races coming here by choice to find a better way of life.
    Normally many Irish people left Ireland if they were able to before this and made lives for themselves in other countries. In the 19th century many of these Irish had no English.
    Yet today, Irish people who have relatives of those scattered around the world don’t want to let the foreigners into Ireland (who are looking for a better life) without a hint of irony or awareness.
    Despite many Irish people speaking predominately English and following English pop culture. Many of these hypocrites view themselves as the 'true Irish'. Which gives rise to racism and so on.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/doing-an-about-face-on-race-1.1304604

Emergence of other languages and giving them a stronger foothold in Ireland will be a positive. Which will help fill the void left by a hundred years of neglect of the Irish language. And Ireland’s sole dependence on English.
    It is only approximately 70,000 hardy souls who speak thier native Irish tongue regularly as thier first language. In the last 100 years or so this is not the fault of the British. But of the Irish people themseleves through a mixture of indifference, laziness, and embarrassment.

It was Pearse and the IRB who politicised the Irish language and forced Douglas Hyde out of Conradh na Gaeilge. As Hyde wanted to keep CnaG apolitical. This was a travesty in my view as a language should not be politicised. A language should be used as intended for communication.

Some might even find a new appreciation of Irish when they see what many more non- Irish nationals have with their own language. Ironically in my experience it is the Non-Irish nationals who have less baggage towards the Irish language and are more open to learning it and using it. It really puts the Irish natives to shame.

Multiculturalism will solve another Irish issue a void left by the Catholic Church. Other cultures can bring thier religions with them. Hastening change. It was only as recently as 1972 that Bunreacht na hÉireann had enshrined the” special position of the Catholic Church.”

A 41.1.2 The State recognises the special position of the Holy Catholic Apostolic and Roman Church as the guardian of the Faith professed by the great majority of the citizens.

It was only in 2018 that baptism was removed as a prerequisite for entry to Irish Catholic schools!

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/education/baptism-barrier-to-be-removed-from-primary-schools-next-year-1.3649317

Another thing that will probably change with more multiculturalism is Ireland’s attitude to drink and the Irish pub culture. I always liken it to Ireland’s blind spot as American has their blind spot with guns. I understand the social aspect but is it necessary to drink at every social occasion? And have a social acceptance of drinking to excess?

Some blame those Brits for it!

https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/23662096/

It is inevitable really.

All your reasons seem to be motivated by a hatred of the CC and alcohol culture. You seem to think these reasons alone are enough to essentially wipe out the native Irish. Do you not see how ridiculous that is? The CC is all but dead, the secularists have won, so you're beating a dead horse in that regard. While our relationship with drink is hardly positive, I don't think it's so bad that the Irish deserve to be punished over it like you desire. As has been mentioned already, you're go beyond the madness of the average, as you essentially want cultural genocide due to some trivial issues you have with the Irish. Like most narcissists, you want everything your own way, and your willing to do immoral things just to get your way.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

Perhaps consult yourself with the Poland, who for example will be approx 0.2% muslim by 2050, from 0.1% now (compare to Sweden, then no longer 'Sweden' as we know it at 20-30%)...
    The V4 group will have all their customs, values and cultural heritage largely in place.

Ireland will likely by 4.6% muslim in 2050, not much, but still enough to affect or impede upon some daily experiences and forced changes of traditions.

Would not bother me in the slightest. Ireland is no longer really a Catholic nation.
    Abortion, divorce and regular mass attendance rates demonstrate this. If religion is your basis for Irish cultural values - it is on very shaky ground.

TomTomTim wrote: »
    All your reasons seem to be motivated by a hatred of the CC and alcohol culture. You seem to think these reasons alone are enough to essentially wipe out the native Irish. Do you not see how ridiculous that is? The CC is all but dead, the secularists have won, so you're beating a dead horse in that regard. While our relationship with drink is hardly positive, I don't think it's so bad that the Irish deserve to be punished over it like you desire. As has been mentioned already, you're go beyond the madness of the average, as you essentially want cultural genocide due to some trivial issues you have with the Irish. Like most narcissists, you want everything your own way, and your willing to do immoral things just to get your way.

By "wiping out the native Irish" you essentially mean white?
    Yet you call me the narcissist? :confused:

I searched the following in a google search after your post:

"cultural genocide" "white race" immoral

It returned the following:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Racism

https://www.researchgate.net/publication/249060035_'Breed_out_the_colour'_or_the_importance_of_being_white

https://core.ac.uk/download/pdf/241087406.pdf

In my opinion if you were really worried about 'cultural genocide' you would be not conversing in English as your mother tounge.

Also I have no belief in any religion but people can believe what they want. Plus I do drink but only in moderation and socially. The Irish culture of binge drinking is daft and a definite problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Would not bother me in the slightest.
    As you're likely not even Irish, or only on paper.
    Ireland is no longer really a Catholic nation.
    Abortion, divorce and regular mass attendance rates demonstrate this.
    Somewhat accurate due to many scandals and corruption, the majority will still tick the CC box and beg to have their little ones sent to their schools.
    If religion is your basis for Irish cultural values - it is on very shaky ground.
    Culture isn't religion.

If you really wanted to consider something, where is the Christian movement now growing at its strongest?

Yes, that's right ...IRAN (far east also), many have woken up to their old backwards ideolology, state oppression, and are now turning in droves to the Jesus man.
    A middle East 'revival' is now well underway, Islam will collapse in time thanks to it's own fault: the welcomeing of globalisation.
    There will likely be a major war soon that will kickstart this trend, and wipe out most of the M'East area.

Would not bother me in the slightest. Ireland is no longer really a Catholic nation.
    Abortion, divorce and regular mass attendance rates demonstrate this. If religion is your basis for Irish cultural values - it is on very shaky ground.

Culture isnt black and white. A cultural trait does not have to be shared by every single person to be part of the ethnicity's culture. Ireland has always been pluralist and always had a variety of faiths. A shift or a secularisation doesn't change that or does not imply that there was multiculturalism in the past. The Catholic Church and and also Church of Ireland and a variety of other faiths may be less universal but they show no sign of disappearing or diminishing in cultural significance. Your views are very contrarian and most people who move here have an appreciation of Irish culture. After all look at the enormous tourist industry. Tourists don't come for the weather.

By "wiping out the native Irish" you essentially mean white?
    Yet you call me the narcissist? :confused:

I searched the following in a google search after your post:

"cultural genocide" "white race" immoral

It returned the following:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Racism

https://www.researchgate.net/publication/249060035_'Breed_out_the_colour'_or_the_importance_of_being_white

https://core.ac.uk/download/pdf/241087406.pdf

In my opinion if you were really worried about cultural genocide you would be not conversing in English as your mother tounge.
    Speaking out of both sides of your mouth.

As you're likely not even Irish, or only on paper.

This assumption amuses me no end and says a lot about the mindset of posters who state it.
    Culture isn't religion.

Irish culture was inextricably tied to a sense Irishness both culturally for centuries. It leaves many Irish people lost as to what thier sense of Irishness is now. Both due to that and the loss of the Irish language as a language of communication. For many now a sense of Irishness is attacking that which was never perceived as Irish example Muslims and so on,
    If you really wanted to consider something, where is the Christian movement now growing at its strongest?

Yes, that's right ...IRAN (far east also), many have woken up to their old backwards ideolology, state oppression, and are now turning in droves to the Jesus man.
    A middle East 'revival' is now well underway, Islam will collapse in time thanks to it's own fault: the welcomeing of globalisation.
    There will likely be a major war soon that will kickstart this trend, and wipe out most of the M'East area.

You are proving my point here your main sense of Irishness seems to simply equate to being anti-Islam. Which you have a problem with for some reason. Which is exactly the same thing the English did with Irish Catholics viewing it as a "backward ideology". It says a lot about your mindset can't understand your own Irishness anymore so you attack - what you perceive as other.

Speaking out of both sides of your mouth.

Chlóscríobh mé é i ndáiríre!

I typed it really!

If you look at data on what percent of people are willing to fight for their country, you will see ireland is off the charts compared to many of our European neighbours (mainly we are exceeded by the Scandinavian and Nordic countries and the Poles).
    https://www.reddit.com/r/MapPorn/comments/dikz9r/percentage_of_people_willing_to_fight_for_their/
    I would argue this shows there is a very strong sense of Irishness, even if some deny it. In contrast in places like Germany national identity is perceived as toxic and far fewer are willing to fight for their country.

I presume you believe then that Mexican culture is really just Spanish culture? Are Canadians just English? Most Nigerian media is printed in English so is Nigerian culture mainly English culture? In India, English is absolutely everywhere.

Imagine telling everyone that there is no such thing as the local community and then later moaning that no one accepts you. Humility goes a long way.

Irishness is basically a lost culture now and has copied and held on to many of Britain's despite nearly a century of freedom. No doubt you know people who hate the Irish language and say 'we' for British football teams. Yet are terrified of multiculturalism?

Irish people saying they will fight for Ireland is a typical Irish persons over compensation to show how 'Irish' they are. Despite many barely speaking a word of Irish and being enveloped in British culture. Makes me laugh.

Irishness is basically a lost culture now and has copied and held on to many of Britain's despite nearly a century of freedom. No doubt you know people who hate the Irish language and say 'we' for British football teams. Yet are terrified of multiculturalism?

Irish people saying they will fight for Ireland is a typical Irish persons over compensation to show how 'Irish' they are. Despite many barely speaking a word of Irish and being enveloped in British culture. Makes me laugh.

Last time I saw that, it was from a Ugandan girl with no links to Ireland actually. US sports are exported the world over. Did you ever tell an Austrian that they don't have a culture because they only speak German? If anything Ireland is far more influence from the US than the UK.