Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are your views on Multiculturalism in Ireland? - Threadbanned User List in OP

Lucan seems to be a highly diverse area. I drove through the area during the week around the same time the schools were on lunch. Very diverse.
    Is it a problem? I don't know I don't live there.
    Would I want to live there? No I would not.

By diverse do you mean you saw lots of people with a different colour skin then yourself?
    Why wouldn't you want to live in lucan? What is wrong with it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

bubblypop wrote: »
    By diverse do you mean you saw lots of people with a different colour skin then yourself?
    Why wouldn't you want to live in lucan? What is wrong with it?

Of course that's what I mean. What did you think I was referring to? Diversity of opinion was it?

Its too far away from the m1. It wouldn't suit. Plus the traffic is very slow

I also said I didn't know if it causes any problems because I don't live there. You left that bit out.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,415 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

People seem to use ‘diversty’ as some sort of badge of honor...what’s the fascination with it ?

Where I live i cant look out my window and see any residential property that is obviously occupied by people of different ethnicities. It’s not culturally diverse..

I don’t feel I or my neighbors are at an advantage or disadvantage because of it.. it’s an older settled area that has been historically in demand due to the quality of the property builds and the location of the properties..and excellent transport links, the metro too will be a not too far walk..

Neighbors are well the originals are late 70’s - early 80’s, not very diverse, what does the area benefit from being more diverse ? Taxpayer won’t benefit,

Quality built houses, 3-4 bedrooms, big gardens, 3 bus routes, will have a metro stop nearby, college nearby ... all that dictates market rate... 440,000 - 550,000 grand for the detached corner properties, they should be bought up by the state, by US in the name of ‘diversity’ ?

TomTomTim wrote: »
    On the topic of not reporting things that are inconvenient. I can't seem to find the story about the Islamic protests in the UK in most places, it's not on the Journal or RTE's website from what I can see. How they can justify stuff like this is beyond me. I hate to repeat myself, but if was Christians doing similar, it would be prime time news all week.

That's the most dangerous thing about the media these days. It's not outright lies. It's the lies by omission, the careful wording of articles/headlines. Designed to drive certain narratives (Trump/Brexit = "bad", diversity/feminism = "good") etc.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

So after hundreds of pages the positives for multiculturalism still remain the same at some nebulous "culture" reference and food? The political philosophy always boils down to exoticism of the right kind and charity. In before "the Irish were immigrants too" reference.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,520 ✭✭✭jmreire

Wibbs wrote: »
    So after hundreds of pages the positives for multiculturalism still remain the same at some nebulous "culture" reference and food? The political philosophy always boils down to exoticism of the right kind and charity. In before "the Irish were immigrants too" reference.

Yes,and always a positive "spin", no mention of any negatives at all, even in the face of a general realisation that multiculturism simply does not work, and Country's now putting the brakes on and becoming less welcoming.

• Registered Users Posts: 921 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

Basically, yes. It seems to boil down to "Where can I order "exotic" food tonight because I am too lazy to cook my Spag Bol. And I can go into work/talk to friends and family and wax lyrical about this really cool "exotic" food I ate."

• Registered Users Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭DeadHand

I suspect it would have been possible to diversify Ireland’s restaurants without a transformative influx that means at least one fifth of the people living in this Republic were not born here.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

If you can find not a single positive thing apart from kebab shops from all the immigration even in the last 20 years to Ireland that says more about you than anything else.

I mean the over 30% of doctors who are foreign born and trained who work in our health system obviously bring no benefit. Nor the foreign born and trained nurses.
    Not a single one of them brings any positive benefit to Ireland.
    Who needs healthcare, certainly not a country in the middle of a pandemic.

Basically, yes. It seems to boil down to "Where can I order "exotic" food tonight because I am too lazy to cook my Spag Bol. And I can go into work/talk to friends and family and wax lyrical about this really cool "exotic" food I ate."

Usually these people have no kids so they are completely wrapped up in themselves. The type of people who wish they had a black friend.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Cordell

If you can find not a single positive thing apart from kebab shops from all the immigration even in the last 20 years to Ireland that says more about you than anything else.

I mean the over 30% of doctors who are foreign born and trained who work in our health system obviously bring no benefit. Nor the foreign born and trained nurses.
    Not a single one of them brings any positive benefit to Ireland.
    Who needs healthcare, certainly not a country in the middle of a pandemic.

The doctors and other highly skilled migrants are not a benefit of multiculturalism. They are skilled in fields like science and medicine which are part of the western culture.
    Acupuncture will be an example of a positive of multiculturalism, if only acupuncture would be a real science and not a scam.
    So yeah, good luck finding the benefits of multiculturalism.

Cordell wrote: »
    The doctors and other highly skilled migrants are not a benefit of multiculturalism. They are skilled in fields like science and medicine which are part of the western culture.
    Acupuncture will be an example of a positive of multiculturalism, if only acupuncture would be a real science and not a scam.
    So yeah, good luck finding the benefits of multiculturalism.

The foreign born and educated health professionals don't count, right got ya.
    :D:D:D

Maybe I wasn't clear enough: they do count as a benefit of immigration, not multiculturalism.
    Their skill and education are not multicultural, we want them schooled in western medicine, not that eastern acupuncture and chakra alignment crap.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

That's the most dangerous thing about the media these days. It's not outright lies. It's the lies by omission, the careful wording of articles/headlines. Designed to drive certain narratives (Trump/Brexit = "bad", diversity/feminism = "good") etc.
    Well it's not just reportage, Hollywood / Netflix frequently show white men as old unviable, black men as young and virile. It's just a common PC theme in the shows.

Maybe I wasn't clear enough: they do count as a benefit of immigration, not multiculturalism.
    Their skill and education are not multicultural, we want them schooled in western medicine, not that eastern acupuncture and chakra alignment crap.

Foreign born and educated doctors with a high percentage coming from Asia and the middle east don't count towards the positive benefits of multiculturalism?

No, I think I was quite clear, it's a benefit of immigration, not multiculturalism.

Well it's not just reportage, Hollywood / Netflix frequently show white men as old unviable, black men as young and virile. It's just a common PC theme in the shows.

As well as advertisements. If you ever see UK or US ads in particular, you would there's no such thing as a happy, functioning family with a white mother and father. Everything has to tick a box. Got to squeeze in the muslim trans woman of colour somewhere.

No, I think I was quite clear, it's a benefit of immigration, not multiculturalism.

Are we still talking about immigrants who make up over 30% of our doctors coming from many different cultures to Ireland to live and work in our health service.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

Are we still talking about immigrants who make up over 30% of our doctors coming from many different cultures to Ireland to live and work in our health service.

Once again, you think you've got a "gotcha", but your own comments has an implication in it that you don't even see. If these peoples cultures were so great, they'd likely never have to move to west to get a decent salary and life style in the first place.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

We had a shortage of doctors..

We advertised for more..

Doctors came from Asia and beyond, great, they came to fill a skills shortage...

That’s a two way win for our citizens and those doctors... they are in receipt of better pay, better quality of life, better prospects etc. we are in receipt of more doctors, better healthcare ie. shorter waiting lists etc and their experience and expertise...

Those doctors both earn good money and make contributions..back.. they are contributing to society, it’s aims and overall wellbeing.. in addition to them filling a skills shortage...they pay tax on what they earn, they contribute, they buy their own food, pay their own rent / mortgages... they ‘contribute’ and put back in to the running and wellbeing of the state and their fellow citizens...

People coming here to attain a life based on simply and solely attaining financial benefits, property and whatever other life enhancing handouts... while putting zilch back..world of difference. That’s a benefit to nobody.

Wanna come here ? Contribute... not prepared to ? Not welcome or shouldn’t be.

Strumms wrote: »

We advertised for more..

Doctors came from Asia and beyond, great, they came to fill a skills shortage...

That’s a two way win for our citizens and those doctors... they are in receipt of better pay, better quality of life, better prospects etc. we are in receipt of more doctors, better healthcare ie. shorter waiting lists etc and their experience and expertise...

Those doctors both earn good money and make contributions..back.. they are contributing to society, it’s aims and overall wellbeing.. in addition to them filling a skills shortage...they pay tax on what they earn, they contribute, they buy their own food, pay their own rent / mortgages... they ‘contribute’ and put back in to the running and wellbeing of the state and their fellow citizens...

People coming here to attain a life based on simply and solely attaining financial benefits, property and whatever other life enhancing handouts... while putting zilch back..world of difference.

I don't think anyone here has ever even argued against skilled immigration, most are for it. So we're once again arguing against a position that none of us hold.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Site Banned Posts: 78 ✭✭Jerrykay6

Strumms wrote: »

We advertised for more..

People coming here to attain a life based on simply and solely attaining financial benefits, property and whatever other life enhancing handouts... while putting zilch back..world of difference. That’s a benefit to nobody.

Wanna come here ? Contribute... not prepared to ? Not welcome or shouldn’t be.

I don't know why people find this concept so hard to understand? It's really very simple.

There is a massive difference between a trained doctor (or any other skilled/educated person) vs a family of 10 from feck knows where with anaverage IQ of 70.

I don't think anyone here has ever even argued against skilled immigration, most are for it. So we're once again arguing against a position that none of us hold.

So are skilled immigrants positive multiculturalism then?

• Site Banned Posts: 78 ✭✭Jerrykay6

No we are not hiring them for their culture, we're hiring them for their skills.

I think your argument would be more accurate if you said "multiracialism". Skilled immigrants are usually not the types to force their cultural ways on us, so the cultural element isn't that relevant. If your whole arguments was one of multiracialism and not multiculturalism then your whole position would be sounder, as multiracialism has a higher chance of success if we all agree to live by shared values.

So yes skilled immigrants are a positive in a multiracial society.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

6061873349a46.jpeg

I think your argument would be more accurate if you said "multiracialism". Skilled immigrants are usually not the types to force their cultural ways on us, so the cultural element isn't that relevant. If your whole arguments was one of multiracialism and not multiculturalism then your whole position would be sounder, as multiracialism has a higher chance of success if we all agree to live by shared values.

So yes skilled immigrants are a positive in a multiracial society.

So let me get all this straight
    Foreign kebab shop owners that's multiculturalism
    Foreign doctors that's just skilled immigration.

I don't know what the fudge multiracialism is in this context. Want to offer a definition for that word in this context Tom?
    Equality of political representation and social acceptance in a society made up of various races.

https://www.thefreedictionary.com/multiracialism

We can accept x number of qualified people, skilled people because they add to society, their skills will be utilized, for this they will be compensated, they require nothing on arriving aside from being shown where the shuttle bus for the car rental place is...

I agree, but many people just want an open door free for all for anybody not just having quite such a good time of it in their homeland...

Of course many of these people are projecting these ideas with the simple goal of attempting to drive down labour costs and denying people here the ability to earn a fair wage in respect of their qualifications, experience and skillsets...

More people prepared to work for less ? We have to match or struggle getting hired..

Gotta resist that shît of being sold down the river.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

KevRossi wrote: »
    SF have historically been very pro-immigration and pro asylum seekers. In fact their policies have usually been the more radical of all parties.

On the topic is cuisine, Gerry Adams is concerned about the contents of an Ulster Fry being 'Anglicised'
    Mr Adams wrote: ‘Beans in a fry is an anglicised 6 counties version of the traditional Ulster fry with dipped farls, black & white pudding, eggs, bacon & ispiní.

‘Fried spuds in a fry is Americanised addition. If you’re gonna eat a fry eat an authentic indigenous fry.

https://extra.ie/2021/03/28/must-see/gerry-adams-fry-beans

The takeover of whole streets in Ireland by Non EU citizens and their culture will be less of a concern to Gerry and his pals.