Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are your views on Multiculturalism in Ireland? - Threadbanned User List in OP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Justin Credible Darts

I am fine, just it never ceases to amaze me how agendas are so obvious, one poster when they saw there was 18 terrorists decided to instead focus on those irish ones instead of the immigrant ones living here.

That shows how much of an agenda they have, and how their deflection tactics work.

nor does it alter my initial point, not a single pro immigration poster condemning it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

I am fine, just it never ceases to amaze me how agendas are so obvious, one poster when they saw there was 18 terrorists decided to instead focus on those irish ones instead of the immigrant ones living here.

That shows how much of an agenda they have, and how their deflection tactics work.

nor does it alter my initial point, not a single pro immigration poster condemning it.

Condemning what. The 17 jihadists arrested for terrorist financing?

Using all of the magical secular powers bestowed on me by pro-immigration Ireland (I just made this group up) I condemn them. The bastards!

Feel better now?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Cordell

bubblypop wrote: »
    Who exactly do you mean?
    When should Gardai do those checks and on who?

Every foreigner here was at some point facing a Garda and had their papers checked. That is an excellent opportunity for a background check - if they can do it in other countries surely they can do it here.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭WrenBoy

Some more excellent insights from the Report in question.
    https://www.europol.europa.eu/activities-services/main-reports/european-union-terrorism-situation-and-trend-report-2021-tesat

This threads creation coincides with the period under discussion in this section of the report too.

Although the thread was created during Covid times, I'm sure you're not saying that discussing Multiculturalism in Ireland is "right-wing extremist propaganda " Are you?

WrenBoy wrote: »
    Although the thread was created during Covid times, I'm sure you're not saying that discussing Multiculturalism in Ireland is "right-wing extremist propaganda " Are you?

Just pointing out the piece from the report linked by enrich and being discussed in this thread.

The report noted that online right wing extremism has increased online during the pandemic. I think I quoted the section from the report that detailed those types of right wing ideology earlier.

If your want to infer or not from the report that this thread is part of that online dialogue mentioned is up to you.

The report was linked and I'm discussing the contents.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭WrenBoy

Just pointing out the piece from the report linked by enrich and being discussed in this thread.

The report noted that online right wing extremism has increased online during the pandemic. I think I quoted the section from the report that detailed those types of right wing ideology earlier.

If your want to infer or not from the report that this thread is part of that online dialogue mentioned is up to you.

Thats fair enough, what about yourself ? Do you think this thread " What are your views on Multiculturalism in Ireland?" is "right-wing extremist propaganda " ?

Cordell wrote: »
    Every foreigner here was at some point facing a Garda and had their papers checked. That is an excellent opportunity for a background check - if they can do it in other countries surely they can do it here.

No.
    That's not correct.
    Some people are required to have visas entering.
    Some people are allowed to enter and stay here.
    Some people claim asylum.
    So which of those people had a Garda facing them and papers checked?
    Or are you talking about immigration?

Ok, let's focus less on who must do a proper background check and more on the fact that no one does it.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

CULTURAL NATIONALISM
    the belief that ‘Western culture’ is
    under threat from mass migration
    into Europe and from the lack of
    integration by certain ethnic and
    cultural groups. Cultural nationalism
    tends to focus on the rejection of
    cultural practices such as the wearing
    of the full-face veil (burqa or niqab) or
    perceived attempts to impose Islamic
    law in Western countries.

I'd say a lot of this country is radicalised based on that :D

I like how they stretch the word "nationalism" to its breaking point for these little categories

• Registered Users Posts: 4,919 ✭✭✭enricoh

Dunno about anyone else but if right wing extremists wanna blabber away online I'd view it as less than a threat than Islamic jihadis blowing up kids at a concert in Manchester. Apparently Ireland is viewed as a safe haven for jihadis away from the prying eyes of mi5 etc.

Here's a reformed radical telling of meeting one of the London bridge attackers in Ireland. I'm after watching a video of some scobes scrapping on o Connell street and no hint of any cops for an eternity, I reckon they might get more time in dublin before getting shot than London!

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/news/radicalised-irish-woman-claims-she-travelled-ireland-with-london-bridge-attacker-and-says-there-are-up-to-150-islamic-extremists-living-here-37349339.html

enricoh wrote: »
    Dunno about anyone else but if right wing extremists wanna blabber away online I'd view it as less than a threat than Islamic jihadis blowing up kids at a concert in Manchester. Apparently Ireland is viewed as a safe haven for jihadis away from the prying eyes of mi5 etc.

Here's a reformed radical telling of meeting one of the London bridge attackers in Ireland. I'm after watching a video of some scobes scrapping on o Connell street and no hint of any cops for an eternity, I reckon they might get more time in dublin before getting shot than London!

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/news/radicalised-irish-woman-claims-she-travelled-ireland-with-london-bridge-attacker-and-says-there-are-up-to-150-islamic-extremists-living-here-37349339.html

Enricoh I don't think that is what the report from the article you linked to says about right wing extremism.
    Did you read the report or just the news article?

WrenBoy wrote: »
    Thats fair enough, what about yourself ? Do you think this thread " What are your views on Multiculturalism in Ireland?" is "right-wing extremist propaganda " ?

I would have some concerns about some of the points raised by the authors of this report such as
    The use of irony and memes, as has been observed on
    online platforms linked to the ‘chan culture’ (a succession
    of message boards similar to the original 4Chan181) can
    lead to the emergence of a shared feeling of community,
    an ‘in-group’, especially among a younger generation of
    digital natives. Central to this ‘in-group’ status is the shared
    consumption of extremist content. Users are initially drawn
    in by the visual culture and then become slowly more
    tolerant of radical and extreme ideologies hostile to ‘outgroups’, such as black people or ethnic minorities, Jewish
    people, women, or the LGBTQ+ community
    Often the propaganda is delivered in a
    subliminal way, combined with irony, paving the way for
    possible radicalisation. V

Has this thread or indeed the current affairs forum had any formation of what might be described as an "in-group" like in the sections quoted above.
    Truly I don't spend enough time here to know and ultimately it would only be my opinion and of no real importance to the broader discussion in this thread.

Cordell wrote: »
    Ok, let's focus less on who must do a proper background check and more on the fact that no one does it.

Does noone do one?
    You have to know who exactly requires a background check and who has to do it.
    You don't have any idea about either obviously.

You do know immigration officers at point of entry are not Gardai?

we have a situation where a lot of pro immigration people, mostly white people trying to appear all woke love defending the rights of the immigrants.And that is fine. I am all for equality
    The same people speak out how they stand up for lgbt issues and of course womens rights, which is also commendable.

The problem is a lot of the immigrants they defend do not share their same view on womens rights or gay rights, and are defending people from nations that openly discriminate against women and gay people.

Surely all these pro women and pro gay groups would want less bigots in this country ?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

What activities could the Garda have stopped if they were better equipped?

The murder of Yosuke Sasaki could have been prevented if the Gardai had been equipped with an ounce of sense.

Fandymo wrote: »
    The murder of Yosuke Sasaki could have been prevented if the Gardai had been equipped with an ounce of sense.

So we were talking about a report on 2020 crimes and you now suddenly want to talk about a crime not included in the report brought up for discussion and where the crime actually occurred in 2018.

Ok Pal.

If only there that was some sort of word or ism to describe this sort of what about type of arguing.

we have a situation where a lot of pro immigration people, mostly white people trying to appear all woke love defending the rights of the immigrants.And that is fine. I am all for equality
    The same people speak out how they stand up for lgbt issues and of course womens rights, which is also commendable.

The problem is a lot of the immigrants they defend do not share their same view on womens rights or gay rights, and are defending people from nations that openly discriminate against women and gay people.

Surely all these pro women and pro gay groups would want less bigots in this country ?

But your all pro LGBT rights, right?

I just read the article and I’m trying to figure out what the substantive issue is here. The article calls it a pro-Islamic party which could mean several things to be honest, but also seems to suggest that it’s also a kind of pluralist party that appears to lean pro-EU and wants to prevent what happened in France from happening in Sweden.

Am I missing something ?

You see nothing wrong with pro Islamic political parties popping up in Europe in the future, that could hold the balance of power, like what is happening in Sweden?

And what might look OK on the surface with current numbers can change in nature as numbers change too.

I'm not sure it's a path we even want to go near to going down

• Registered Users Posts: 526 ✭✭✭yoke

You see nothing wrong with pro Islamic political parties popping up in Europe in the future, that could hold the balance of power, like what is happening in Sweden?

And what might look OK on the surface with current numbers can change in nature as numbers change too.

I'm not sure it's a path we even want to go near to going down

What’s your solution?

We send them all back into the Middle East, wait 500 years until they develop a WMD capable of destroying the world, and then destroy the world in a big war with them?

Or is it, send them back to the Middle East and try to eradicate them right now?

Those are the only 2 options I can see, if you refuse to allow them to merge.

But your all pro LGBT rights, right?

nice deflection as I have come to expect from you.

I already stated, which you seemed to ignore, I am all for equality.
    So much so I find the practices in other countries where women and gay people are treated like dirt to be a terrible thing,

I don't want those women hating gay hating people coming here.

if that makes me a racist, that make you anti women and anti gay if you support those people.
    you cannot have it both ways.

• Registered Users Posts: 526 ✭✭✭yoke

So much so I find the practices in other countries where women and gay people are treated like dirt to be a terrible thing,

if that makes me a racist, that make you anti women and anti gay if you support those people.

If they come here, they can change.

If you leave them where they are, you can’t change them and will eventually have to fight them.

yoke wrote: »

If you leave them where they are, you can’t change them and will eventually have to fight them.

Yes, a lot of them will change, but quite a few won't, why do we need to deal with those that don't?
    Why should we accept the islamic terrorism as an unavoidable reality when there's still a clear way to avoid it is some european countries?

Relax there pal.
    And hold of on the nonsense accusations.

If you want to trawl through my history you will find I am no fan of Islam or any religion in particular.
    In fact I think I mentioned it in this thread. But me actively opposing the forced imposition of any religous beliefs or constraints on other people does not automatically mean that I end up hating individuals of said religions without a fair reason for that anger and hatred.

What’s your solution?

We send them all back into the Middle East, wait 500 years until they develop a WMD capable of destroying the world, and then destroy the world in a big war with them?

Or is it, send them back to the Middle East and try to eradicate them right now?

Those are the only 2 options I can see, if you refuse to allow them to merge.

We now have a situation in Ireland last year where per head of population we had the most arrests for Jihadism terrorism. A lot of these people hold joint nationality or even non Irish nationality. The solution is tighten our immigration policies so they can't come here in the first place. We are seen as a soft touch throughout the world.

There should also be an investigation held as to how these people have managed to base themselves in Ireland and action should be taken to prevent it happening again.

Attempts by posters here to suddenly start talking about right wing terrorism or Northern Ireland are the usual tactics of deflection.

This is patently not true, we do not need open borders to change people, nor should our immigration policies be tailored to "changing people". Our immigration policies should be tailored to helping out Irish people and society where and if it is necessary.

We also do not need to fight people who remain where they are. What kind of war-mongering policy is that?

It is up to them to change if they choose, it is not the West's job. Huge changes are already talking place anyway over the last few decades fueled by social media, changing societal norms along with massive demographic transition throughout most areas.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Terrorists are bad, mkay JCD!

Risk assessment by law enforcement is and should be carried out on all of those terrorist threats and their implications to this state.

You ok JCD hun?

Why do you do that ?
    I have seen this type of line thrown out a few times now.

It appears smarmy, condescending and provocative.

Are you trying to provoke an argument trying to get someone of an opposing view to say something so you can get them thrown out of the thread/forum ?

I am not allowed discuss …

We now have a situation in Ireland last year where per head of population we had the most arrests for Jihadism terrorism. A lot of these people hold joint nationality or even non Irish nationality. The solution is tighten our immigration policies so they can't come here in the first place. We are seen as a soft touch throughout the world.

There should also be an investigation held as to how these people have managed to base themselves in Ireland and action should be taken to prevent it happening again.

Attempts by posters here to suddenly start talking about right wing terrorism or Northern Ireland are the usual tactics of deflection.

absolutely,

We dont want their scum coming here, everyone should be vetted.

Its not like we dont have our own scum here without adding those from other countries to the mix.

As for Irish terrorists sadly we are stuck with them, but we can deport the foreign ones, but i rather we stop them from ever coming here, in the first place

• Registered Users Posts: 151 ✭✭Sue de Nimes

Multiculturalism bad. Multi-racialism fine.

IMO

Actually, the best chance for other cultures to change is for those people to remain there, become dissatisfied with what they have, and seek change. Those people coming to the west, will invariably look back at their own culture (and nation) with rose-tinted glasses (nostalgia), and want their own culture to be transplanted here, ignoring whatever negatives there are, instead focusing on the negatives within western culture.

In any case, different national/cultural groups behave differently. While many might see it as a form of racism, such considerations should be examined/researched, and used in determining policy regarding immigration policies.

As for fighting them... I don't buy it. War has changed. It's virtually impossible to take and hold territory without the extermination of the local population, and that's pretty much impossible these days. Most wars which involve the taking of territory concern neighboring countries with similar cultures. Beyond the problems with terrorism, I don't believe we have much to fear about needing to fight anyone, and terrorism is not going to solved any time soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Ah yes something that slips through every now and then is the air of superiority dripping off those that subscribe to mass immigration of people from more certain cultures.

If someone anti immigration were to say most of the immigrants/asylum seekers come from sh**holes that are backward in the extreme they would castigated by people who are pro immigration/pro asylum seeker/etc.

But you are openly of the viewpoint that you and this culture in the West is superior and all it takes is for these lads to be welcomed in and hey presto they will see the error of their ways.

Next thing you know Kalid who was forcing his wife to live as a second class serf, was advocating death to gays and joining protests against Western nations for allowing cartoons depicting a somewhat fictious character as a joke, only needs to spend some time in the likes of Ireland and next thing you know he will be joining a gay pride march and buying his missus copies of Germaine Greer's books.

Fecking hell the delusion.

I am not allowed discuss …