Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are your views on Multiculturalism in Ireland? - Threadbanned User List in OP

By that logic, just because something is difficult to do or may cause difficulty for some, is reason enough to do nothing?

If that were the case we'd never change anything.

Given the large amount of support among communities around the country for newcomers, I think thats public consultation enough.

Thankfully this is one time where we (Ireland) are proceeding on the basis of what is right to do, rather than on who is shouting their opposition.

Sure there'll be bumps along the way, but overall, we'll be a better nation for it. Multiculturalism has been great for Ireland and the country is richer, culturally speaking, for it. I'm talking about all the Chinese, Polish, Brazilian, Nigerian, Indian etc folks who have come here, who have made this country their home.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

By that logic, just because something is difficult to do or may cause difficulty for some, is reason enough to do nothing?

Avoiding the point made and one definition of stupidity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result. Again point to a "multicultural" nation in Western Europe, or indeed the West where the exact same negative trends haven't happened. You quite simply can't. It's been and remains "difficult" for ALL. But we'll do it right this time eh? Pity the trends are already emerging here.

Given the large amount of support among communities around the country for newcomers, I think thats public consultation enough.

Citations please. The birth passport loophole was shut by one of the largest majorities of any Irish referendum. In more current news a feelgood survey in the Irish Times proclaimed that 50% of Irish people would take Ukrainians in, while not promoting the codicil "if they had room", never mind the other 50% who wouldn't whether they had the room or not. The gobshíte who reversed a truck into the gates of putin's embassy to the cheers of the clapping seals was the same gobshíte who protested a DP centre in his area. The Irish people, with that one referendum exception have never, not once been asked in any sort of public vote about non EU migration. The political class here across the Dail floor have all been singing from the same hymn sheet. There are no alternative voices, or people simply asking valid questions except for utter morons like the national party who are about as valid as an invalid thing in Invalidland. When that aforementioned referendum was called, the media lost its shít at the time, as did Labour and SF, shouting "racism!!", yet when the result was in...

Thankfully this is one time where we (Ireland) are proceeding on the basis of what is right to do, rather than on who is shouting their opposition.

What's "Right" has a remarkable fluidity over time and who decides it is fluid too.

Sure there'll be bumps along the way, but overall, we'll be a better nation for it. Multiculturalism has been great for Ireland and the country is richer, culturally speaking, for it. I'm talking about all the Chinese, Polish, Brazilian, Nigerian, Indian etc folks who have come here, who have made this country their home.

Annnnnd... we're back to exoticism. And feck all else. I'm shocked that the Poles even made it into your list, though I suspect that's an insincere addition. And how pray tell is the country richer, culturally speaking? Citations please. Irish Black history month? Which outside the bounds of Montrose and a page on the seemingly endless NGO's pages that was a blink and you'd miss it event. Is it richer, culturally speaking simply because there are more Brown and Black faces around? Would you say somewhere like Zambia would be richer, culturally speaking if a couple of hundred thousand White faces showed up in the last twenty years? I seriously doubt it. As has been repeatedly shown in this thread and wider debate on it, it seems it's only White Western nations that are in such dire need of this "diversity". For our sins or something. More like the sins of ex European colonies desperate to shore up their appalling record with Black and Brown people spouting empty BS about "multiculturalism".

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Yeah, the National Party are utter morons

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

Lazy as it might be, I honestly think that all this comes back to self hatred to a degree, as there's honestly no metric in which we can clearly say that we're "culturally richer" for it, never mind that it's been "great" for us. Posters like yourself seem to have an exotic fetish of sorts, where having different cultures alone is considered "great" just because. It's a mental state more than an actuality. At least half of the groups you've mentioned are very inward for the most past, and don't do too much mixing with natives, which makes the supposed positive qualities that you're trying to sell not very sell-able. It all comes back to the same narrative at the end of the day, that being that diversity is good because I think it's good, not because I can actually prove that it's good. As others have said many times, it's a faith like approach to massive civilizational shift, where the supposed goods and rarely seen, and the bads that are often seen, are meant to tolerated in the name of the good that we can't see.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 902 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

This is the attitude that sums up why Ireland will never reach its full potential, ever, because too many of the population think like this - "It'll be grand".

• Registered Users Posts: 34,106 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Same poster must live a very privileged life, plus knows very little on Irish history. Plus he won't house refugees but will expect others to. Just the way it is with these people.

• Registered Users Posts: 41,062 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Yeah there is something wrong. Your attitude of trying to pit one vulnerable group against another.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

My heart goes out to these young ladies. thankfully they made it here, are safe now and are continuing their studies

Anyone around Galway on Sat should try to come along

On Saturday next (May 28) in Salthill Park, Galway’s African community invites people to join them in a celebration of culture as part of the national Africa Day celebrations.

Africa United Galway, emerging from lockdown and having hosted online festivals for the past two years, will be delivering a family fun day event.

Africa Day 2022 will reinforce a collaboration between Africa United Galway and Galway Africa Diaspora, Shining Light Galway and GoCom Radio (broadcasting live), who have worked to create a festival that will showcase Galway as a city of culture.

Among the performances on the day will be Afrobeat dancer Lapree Lala of Southside Moves, who will show how to dance in African style; Elikya Band will be bringing indigenous African Congolese music; The Youth Performances will be displaying their talent in rap, singing, speaking, and dancing and for the young at heart.

Galway Afrobeat performer Dave Kody will get the crowd moving and there will be poetry through spoken word and cultural displays. There will be a photo booth and face painting and everyone will get to have a taste of African cuisines.

In the spirit of inclusion and integration, The St Nicholas Collegiate Church Parish Choir will be presenting a special African performance as well as a feature presentation by the Hession School of Irish Dance, who will be presenting the famous Riverdance.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,919 ✭✭✭Cordell

Just don't bring any blackcurrant juice.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Another sterling contribution to society from our new friends, its gas that the Irish media will tell you that this scumbag was "formerly of loughrea" but apparently informing the public where he's originally from is a no no 😂. Three previous is Romania and Germany including one for attempted rape, but sure what harm letting him in, lads?

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/criminal-court/woman-raped-three-times-by-stranger-left-feeling-like-a-piece-of-meat-1.4886275

• Registered Users Posts: 23,695 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

The article doesn’t look to have been updated, maybe you missed it -

Bernard Madden SC, defending, said his client had arrived in Ireland from Romania in December 2017

’Formerly’, because he’s been in prison since 2018 -

Mr Madden said Pirvu has been in prison since August 2018 and that the only visits he gets are from his solicitor.

Well, I’m just all choked up about the fact he only gets visits from his solicitor, has medical issues and was (rightfully) attacked in prison.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,695 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Couldn’t give a fcuk about him tbh. @Dyr was making the point that the media were reluctant to publish where he was originally from. If he’d wanted to make a point about immigrants committing rape and the media not reporting on them, it was a shìt example.

Not to worry, there are at least 3,000 more sexual offences cases to go, from this year alone. Have to wait anywhere between 3 and 5 years though before they’ll come before the Courts, and we can all have a good snicker about the perpetrators nationality isn’t being reported in the media, even when it is, because that’s the real important aspect of these cases -

Sexual offences - 3,039

https://www.cso.ie/en/releasesandpublications/ep/p-rc/recordedcrimeq42021/

It’s madness that the waits are that long. Like half a decade to get into court in some instances, is insane.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,530 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Don't they deserve better that to have people that only appreciates them for their skin colour and origin ruining their celebration with their virtue signaling?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

It's a real nod to the "progressive stack" too, the hierarchy of the oppressed, when African cultural events seem to get a lot of focus, while other minority groups will never get a fraction of the focus. The "anti hierarchists" have ironically created a reverse hierarchy of victims.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

There are 2 types of racists and I'll use an example / analogy to make my point as clear as possible: let's assume there is a black doctor going to treat you, or your loved one:

• there are ones that won't like or not even accept being treated by a black doctor. They are openly racist and they are aware of their racism
    • there are the ones that are delighted when they see a black doctor because they are not aware that in their mind it's an extraordinary achievement for a black person to become a doctor. They are as racists as the ones above, or even worse, because they won't even accept their racism.

In the second category we can also put people that are openly supporting diversity for the sake of diversity. They don't see the diverse people as people, they just see them as a tool to achieve their goals.

I would have been more impressed with the inclusivity and integration if it was a African-Irish event with the focus being on Africans engaging in traditionally Irish expressions, such as Irish dancing, Irish songs, sporting etc.

Promoting African culture in Ireland simply reinforces the differences between the cultural groups, and encourages them to remain apart. Because they can. It always makes me smile when I see the "inclusivity and integration" phrase being trotted out for activities that don't encourage what they claim to be.. and yet, there's so little interest in pointing out the stupidity of it.

there are ones that won't like or not even accept being treated by a black doctor. They are openly racist and they are aware of their racism

I dunno. I think the people who don't like it, and simply prefer to be treated by another ethnicity aren't actively being racist. I think racism has to involve the open expression of it, or the implementation of some kind of discrimination.

I sometimes wonder what kind of society we will have in a few decades time if the interpretation of racism continues to evolve. It doesn't fill me with much hope about a tolerant and accepting society. What goes on inside the minds of people is of no concern to anyone else. What is actively expressed is what matters.

Not sure. I'm in Athlone on the day so I'll probably make it to Burgess Park there instead.

The event will be held at Burgess Park on Saturday, May 28th, 2022, from 11 a.m. to 8 p.m. This event will allow the African community to celebrate and showcase their various cultures and enable the African community to participate, volunteer, socialise and integrate with the Irish community and other ethnic groups by presenting African cuisines, fashions, music, art, and dancing. AAC has taken the initiative to invite the Irish, Polish, Indian and other communities to join in and celebrate with us with an estimated attendance of 400 people.

Activities will include kids’ entertainment, such as face painting and simple beaded braiding. The kids will be encouraged to participate in showcasing African attire and cultural dance. Also African short stories and poems for kids. The event will promote trade and development in the community; all the ingredients for the African cuisine and general food are bought in the local shops. AAC will promote local shops by providing a platform to create awareness of their products and services. The event will strengthen relations between the local businesses and the African community by participating in the day’s events.

There's events on all around the country, feel free to take a look on the site

• Registered Users Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭rgossip30

So the people protesting outside the Hotel as seen in the video are imagining this . Do you think the attempted assault should be ignored because the person is an asylum seeker . I take you have proof that he is a violent thug and animal abuser .

Accommodation is drying up for Ukrainians not surprising that this great woke is getting out of control .

Former mental hospital in line as ‘last resort’ to house refugees from Ukraine

The accommodation crisis for Ukrainian refugees may force the Government to house them in a 200-year-old former psychiatric hospital in north Dublin as a “last resort”.

www.independent.ie

Labour Force, Nationality, Migration, Foreign Languages - CSO - Central Statistics Office

www.cso.ie

A CSO survey in 2016 showed Ukranians had a 24.5 % unemployment rate . When you consider that most coming are women and children and men over 60 I think this is going to work well .

I'm scratching my head trying to work out how the 3 links in your post relate to the post you replied to.

So the people protesting outside the Hotel as seen in the video are imagining this . Do you think the attempted assault should be ignored because the person is an asylum seeker . I take you have proof that he is a violent thug and animal abuser

So the people protesting outside the Hotel as seen in the video are imagining this . Do you think the attempted assault should be ignored because the person is an asylum seeker . I take you have proof that he is a violent thug and animal abuser . I hope this is now easier for you to understand .

• Registered Users Posts: 41,062 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Hiding and not acting on your racism doesn't make it go away :) and everyone is entitled to feel whatever they like including racism. I for one I am at peace with mine, and this is what being tolerant actually means: not acting out on things you don't like, and not the woke definition of forcing yourself and others into celebrating what you don't like.

Soz, I prefer to let the Gardai, Courts and established media inform me regarding criminal acts, rather than a mob led by a National Party thug.

Again, just so its clear, I'll reiterate, if a crime has been committed it should be investigated and pursued through the normal processes only.

Mob rule has never worked out well, most especially when controlled by far right extremists