Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are your views on Multiculturalism in Ireland? - Threadbanned User List in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 23,695 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Y’know if we’re aiming for keeping it brief, it might help if you just summed it up as “people who aren’t me”, because it’s patently obvious you couldn’t give a shìte about other people whether they’re Irish or immigrant, taxpayers or not, or anything else, so long as they either agree with you, or they don’t.

That’s what multiculturalism means - it’s not just about immigrants or asylum seekers or taxpayers or unemployed, it’s the result of a society which isn’t as homogenous as you like to think it is, or should be from your perspective.

That’s why a statement like “it almost appears as if you have a hatred for your own people and want to see them negatively affected” means nothing, because it makes me wonder who is “your own people” in that context? It’s actually yourself you’re referring to when you come out with that kind of statement. Because it can’t be the Irish people who you refer to as leeches who don’t pay taxes or any of the rest of it, and apparently you have no time either for narrow minded conspiracy theorists who have angles or agendas.

It’s as though you don’t have an angle or an agenda of your own, isn’t it? 🤔

We both know that’s not true, which must mean I’m not one of your people 😂

• Registered Users Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭lmao10

I'm surprised you stopped there. Shouldn't I be hung like the "traitors' in the dail? lmao

Comparing the daily mail and guardian to some weird lunatic who has a twitter page dedicated to conspiracies. Nice comparison there I must say. And you wonder why you Gemma O Doherty fans are laughed at? Nice election results, keep it up.

Are you sure that the images don't mean that every immigrant is involved in fighting on the streets? I thought that was the inference. I'm glad you clarified that.

Are these lads even immigrants? I am ready for the funny retort about how they look like the O'Conner family from down the road. Don't disappoint me please. A family I clearly hate because I hate all Irish people.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭xxxxxxl

Plenty of Videos of Dublin japes and jostling must all be a conspiracy. Last one I seen was a casino getting a free renovation unexpected to the owners ofc.

Ireland is far better off with this cultural enrichment.

Any diverging opinions are from thinly veiled racists.

The more the merrier. It's needed badly for economic growth as Irish people aren't pulling their own weight with declining birth rates.

Talk of limiting numbers/closing borders is irexit claptrap. Amazed at how many long term posters are out and out racists.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,085 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

"Cultural enrichment". Here we go... Why is it always the paler nations of the West that are in such dire need of this "enrichment"? You never hear suggestions that what Ghana, Jordan, India, or Japan really needs is more White people to enrich their culture. Indeed for some such a suggestion would be racist or imperialist. Any diverging opinion is blasphemy of course, sorry racism. Oh and the birth rate narrative while it works for a few EU nations Ireland has one of the highest birthrates in the Union.

As for Irexit; I would consider anyone who supports such a notion a total moron and our border control is little to do with the EU when i comes to non EU migration. We can't blame or thank the EU for this mess, it's almost entirely down to our own policies, or lack of them.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,162 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

I'm assuming it was sarcasm?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Probably, but as this thread has shown no way could you positively conclude that. 😁

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Yep, I heard Steven Speilberg directed it. I saw a couple of those lads in the Titanic movie. Jacks mates on the boat. One of them was actually the captain of the ship. Great movie that. Fair play to Kate Winslet.

Post edited by lmao10 on

You seem really wound up about the video.

It's as if you want people to ignore these people actions.

Are you against Law and Order in this country?

I'm guessing you hate Ireland and maybe a reason for being so. That's fair enough, but for most normal people the actions in the video is not a society people want and rightly so.

I'm wound up about Speilberg using the same actors. Give new lads a chance.

If a person isn't white they aren't automatically an immigrant. You know some Irish people are not white right?

And another one of these "You hate the Irish!!" lads. lmao.

I'm against Law and Order because I questioned the validity of a video from a channel full of weird conspiracy stuff and challenged the notion that all immigrants fight on the street... because you know, all immigrants fight on the street and that's well known... riiiight. Not really seeing too much of that... In a thread full of every crime committed by immigrants in Ireland. Nice.

• Registered Users Posts: 394 ✭✭Miadhc

Brown Lads running out of the Grand Hotel in Wicklow (direct provision centre) .

But but how do you know they're not Irish 🤣

Hilarious isn't it! Glad you see the funny side :) I didn't see any lads running out of a hotel in the vid but great point! Top stuff once again! I think we've established that all immigrants fight on the street also! Amazing sleuthing here! I also hate the Irish too :)

Accusing anyone else of being wound up about a video of lads scrapping, and you guess anyone taking the piss must hate Ireland or is opposed to law and order in Ireland?

It’s pretty obvious you’re having a laugh and trying to make out the video is representative of anything, of course people are going to take the piss when it’s obvious you don’t actually care and you’re just trying to blow the incident out of all proportion.

People aren’t ignoring anyone’s actions, they’re just not interested in pretending to be as concerned like you’re doing. That’s what makes your efforts comical, knowing that if they weren’t immigrants, you wouldn’t give a shìte 😂

Obviously it’s my opinion. I don’t imagine I speak on behalf of anyone else 🙄

Tbh never bothered to look at his other stuff. Think he is fomer footballer here in Ireland.

Far worse things seem happen but it's still not great look.

Actually turning blind eye and more upset at the poster and not actions of people in video just bit different. But goalposts are always moved for actions of others. Everyone should be treated the same standards.

You’re not treating everyone by the same standards when you’re only highlighting certain groups and turning a blind eye to the fact that the phenomenon isn’t limited to any particular group in Irish society.

https://www.irishnews.com/news/northernirelandnews/2019/01/25/news/children-as-young-as-11-arranging-fights-on-social-media-police-warn-1535437/

https://extra.ie/2019/01/29/news/calls-for-probe-into-snapchat-fight-club-involving-kids-in-attacks

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/limerick-city-children-pummelling-each-other-in-filmed-fight-clubs-1.3774416

And sure you can continue to pretend drunken yobs scrapping outside of nightclubs and takeaways hasn’t been a regular feature of Irish society since long before there was ever the ability to record and share it on social media.

We are lucky enough to have every crime that's been committed by migrants posted in one thread. I'm not really seeing every migrant in the country fighting on the street? If an Irish person commits a crime, does that mean you and I are criminals? No. If an immigrant commits a crime, does that mean all immigrants are criminals? Yes. Not really logical is it? I would think a child in Junior Infants would have the ability to grasp this.

Is there thread about this?

You have spend all your day if you were lambast everything around the world everyday.

Not really sure of your point really. Given plenty of opinions of bad things Irish people have done in past.

Think I know what you're trying get at bit bit far fetched really.

Don't underestimate the willpower of middle aged men with many thousands of anti immigrant post/tweets online!

Well at least you’re willing to acknowledge you know what I’m getting at, that’s something, means we don’t have to play silly beggars which has been a feature of this thread, like in between the barrage of shyte about immigrants, every so often a discussion about multiculturalism breaks out 😂

I’m not saying anyone has to lambast everything, I’m making the point that if they’re only constantly highlighting a particular issue because of the people involved, then their agenda becomes a bit obvious.

There isn’t a thread specifically about the issue I posted above, but there is a more general thread about antisocial behaviour among young people and their attitudes towards others in Irish society here -

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058183552/teenagers-with-no-value-for-life-and-no-care-for-repercussions-read-op#latest

I started a thread a while back intending for it to be a discussion about sentencing in Ireland, but it wasn’t long before it descended to the usual shyte trying to portray antisocial and criminal behaviour as only something immigrants do, because it turned out the perpetrator in the example I used was an immigrant. I didn’t care at the time whether or not he was an immigrant. That’s what it means to treat people equally - holding everyone to the same standards, as opposed to just highlighting an incident involving immigrants to suggest that if it weren’t for immigrants, there would be no antisocial or criminal behaviour among people in Irish society. That argument is patently nonsense.

Here’s the thread I’m referring to btw, just for context so you can see for yourself what I mean about the direction the thread was driven by a small number of people with an entirely different agenda -

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058100577/healthcare-assistant-jailed-for-11-years-for-rape-of-woman-with-alzheimers#latest

• Registered Users Posts: 202 ✭✭Geert von Instetten

The former is an existing issue in Ireland, primarily a product of economic deprivation and subsequent social issues, that I want the Government to address through economic and social investment, education and judicial rigidity. The latter is an imported issue in Ireland, a product of economic, social, cultural and intercultural issues that I want the Government to address adequately at the source, that is, through immigration and asylum policy - effective integration policy depends on effective immigration and asylum policy; we are failing in the former and we will inevitably fail in the latter. Far less incompetent countries than Ireland have before.

Not meaning to turn this into a party political thread, but just found it a good example of the cultural differences between opposing groups in Irish society which influence Irish politics. It’s been an ongoing spat between Leo and Mary Lou which I expect will gather pace coming up to the next general election, but their latest taking pot shots at each other just underscores the deep rooted divisions in Irish society which both parties are hoping to capitalise on.

Mary Lou says something daft when put on the spot, Leo jumps on it by way of signalling what to expect if Mary Lou becomes the next Leader of the country -

Leo Varadkar has said the Republic of Ireland cannot have a taoiseach (prime minister) that does not view Troubles atrocities as crimes.

The tánaiste (Irish deputy prime minister) and Fine Gael leader made his remark in response to a comment by Sinn Féin leader Mary Lou McDonald.

Last weekend she had said there was "no comparison" between the IRA and gangland violence.

Mr Varadkar also ruled out going into a coalition government with Sinn Féin.

Speaking on the Indo Daily podcast, he said that any taoiseach should be clear that killings during the Troubles were crimes.

"I don't think we can have a taoiseach in this country who is unable to say that the killing of innocent children, guards, prison officers, members of Defence Forces, is not a crime," he added.

"If she wants to say it was a war and they were war crimes, fair enough, but she has to be able to say that.”

Mr Varadkar said that he would prefer to go into opposition than try to govern with Sinn Féin.

He said he viewed the party as "high-tax, anti-trade" and "Eurosceptics".

"We will not consider coalition with Sinn Féin... oil and water doesn't mix," he said.

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-63588979.amp

The two of them should just get a room at this stage 😂

• Registered Users Posts: 12,571 ✭✭✭✭Sand

Yes, and these issues are not independent of each other. Mass migration makes it far harder to address the existing issues in any society as it soaks up resources and policymaking that could otherwise be directed to problems that are not easily avoidable.

Advocates for mass migration constantly claim that if there is an existing issue within the indigenous population, it then means its completely invalid to object to mass migration on that grounds that mass migration makes things worse. Because the sea has strong currents, it makes it okay to tie a cement block to yourself before you swim in it. Apparently.

Given how clearly mass migration is a negative for the indigenous people, advocacy for mass migration only makes sense to a limited group of people. Those who personally benefit from it such as landlords, the construction industry and large corporations, those NGOs and politicians who are well funded by the first group, those who have been fooled by the propaganda dreamt up by the second group and finally those misanthropes who just despise the indigenous people for whatever reason.

The latter isn’t an imported issue though. If anything it’s the epitome of integration into Irish society that immigrants are engaging in exactly the same sort of behaviour as their Irish counterparts.

It can’t have escaped your attention that a Government voted in by the electorate is comprised of people who agree to represent the interests of the people who vote for them. Those people’s interests don’t appear to include either antisocial behaviour, immigration or integration as a priority. They are it appears for the most part, only interested in their own prosperity.

In order to prioritise the issues which matter to you or to anyone else here, it means having to lobby Government in the same way special interest groups do in order to increase the amount of public funding and resources they receive from the various Government departments and agencies.

It’s no surprise that people who aren’t socioeconomically or culturally deprived aren’t interested in advocating for or advancing policies which are to their own detriment, which means existing policies which you’re identifying as inadequate, aren’t necessarily viewed that way by people who are benefiting from those policies and are keen to ensure their continued existence.

Obviously people who are socioeconomically deprived, culturally deprived or poorly educated don’t have the same resources as the former in order to promote their ideas, which is why the end product is a society where an existing gap only widens, and social mobility doesn’t actually count for much when the people who already have wealth and influence are making the rules to ensure their own survival, while being critical of the people who they see as being an impediment to their economic advantage - they don’t want anything to do with those people unless there’s an incentive in it for them which gives them an opportunity to increase their own wealth or social status, let alone the idea they should have to accommodate them or allow them to integrate into ‘civilised’ Irish society. People with influence and power want to keep other people who don’t share their values on the margins.

It doesn’t matter what country or society you’d care to mention - the same phenomenon is observed in all of them, which is why in that regard at least, Irish society was never any different than societies in other countries. What you’re hoping for is to achieve the impossible, something which has never been done before and is unlikely ever to be done.

You’re putting the cart before the horse though in identifying mass immigration as the issue, and then trying to justify your position.

I’m not an advocate of mass immigration or anything else, I’m questioning the arguments put forward by people who portray mass immigration, or any sort of immigration really, as something negative. I’m questioning it on the basis that I think they’re cherry picking and blowing things out of proportion in order to make their arguments.

As you’re willing to admit yourself - there are many Irish people who are benefiting from the phenomenon, who are unlikely to share your view of its negative impact on Irish society.

Small niggle but it’s misleading to characterise misanthropes as though they bear any animosity toward indigenous people or immigrants specifically. Misanthropes more generally bear animosity towards people regardless of their characteristics, they’re egalitarian like that in their contempt of other people 😂