Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are your views on Multiculturalism in Ireland? - Threadbanned User List in OP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 85 ✭✭macpaccrack

And? What's the relevance?

Ah nothing but if it was the other way around it would be all over this thread.

2 foreign nationals killed by Irish drivers in scummy hit and runs in the last 2 weeks.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,163 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

and if its old fashioned orientalism why dont they gravitate to east Asian cultures?
    Because East Asian cultures are too close to old style European cultures for the current college socialist mind. IE they tend towards conservatism, community, "family values", enterprise etc. Never mind East Asian cultures tend to be pretty hardcore culturalists, if not outright racist in a way not seen in Europe for decades and don't welcome "diversity". Oh and they're successful economically and that's a big no no. If the Chinese diaspora were a country it would be one of the wealthiest in the world. On the other hand they can't come out and point the finger at them either as they're not White. East Asian cultures and successes are a hard swallow for your college socialists.
    TomTomTim wrote: »
    Why don't you try argue some points without insulting people, and see how that goes for you?
    At this stage it is obviously clear that the pro multicultural people quite simply can't actually argue the points. Pretty much every post reinforces this. They haven't actually thought their politic through beyond the surface and are mired in the oppressor/oppressed narative so when pushed they parrot it by way of insult and because of the near given of an irony bypass don't see it and think they're fighting the good fight.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,620 ✭✭✭Hamachi

The problem with multiculturalism isn't generally the people who want to come here.

With inference being that the issue lies with Irish people? Care to elaborate on that one?

• Registered Users Posts: 288 ✭✭Slowyourrole

Hamachi wrote: »
    With inference being that the issue lies with Irish people? Care to elaborate on that one?

The issues tend to arise with the resistance to change.

2 foreign nationals killed by Irish drivers in scummy hit and runs in the last 2 weeks.

Do you have hard evidence that the Moldovan man who died yesterday was knocked down by an Irish driver? If not, you would be better served not spouting such unsubstantiated claims.

Furthermore, I don't believe a suspect has yet been arrested in the Thiago Cortes case. I suggest you allow the Gardai to complete their investigation and charge the offending party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Yeah seem to be a big issue everyone wants to come here and we've to change to suit their sensibilities and beliefs .

• Registered Users Posts: 288 ✭✭Slowyourrole

Gatling wrote: »
    Yeah seem to be a big issue everyone wants to come here and we've to change to suit their sensibilities and beliefs .

What have you had to change?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭Gervais08

Provide me with one improvement that mass immigration and multicultural change would bring to Ireland that currently we are resistant to would you ?

So a desire for controlled, high-caliber immigration that does not fundamentally alter the demographics of Ireland is an issue?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,163 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

The problem with multiculturalism isn't generally the people who want to come here.
    Actually I'd agree and generally add those who are already here into that mix. The problem with multiculturalism is multiculturalism itself, most certainly in its current form. Outside of hardline, even "right wing" imperial cultures it has never worked successfully and even with those the non locals were always not quite fitting in and tended to cluster at the bottom of the societies. In today's world, pick the most welcoming multicultural nation you can think of and where do those who are darker of skin or different in religion tend to cluster in the socioeconomic strata? Find me any White European ostensibly christian multicultural nation where those of African descent are not the most likely to be in gaol, or on social welfare, less educated, or in low paid employment, or prone to ghettoisation. In Ireland we've only had two decades of multiculturalism and yet the exact same trends have started here already.

And yes racism is most certainly in play as a reason. On the other hand and again across multicultural nations on Earth groups like East Asians, Indians are more likely to not be in gaol, not be on social welfare, to be more economically well off, more educated. So how does that work then?

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Gervais08 wrote: »
    Provide me with one improvement that mass immigration and multicultural change would bring to Ireland that currently we are resistant to would you ?

You just don't get it I'm afraid.

Imagine those pesky natives having the audacity to say that they quite like their country the way it is today and don't see any compelling reason to overhaul the demographics.

That just won't do and if you object, you're resistant to change. Continue voicing a contrary opinion and you'll be branded with the big gun epithets...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭TheBlackPill

Wibbs wrote: »
    Because East Asian cultures are too close to old style European cultures for the current college socialist mind. IE they tend towards conservatism, community, "family values", enterprise etc. Never mind East Asian cultures tend to be pretty hardcore culturalists, if not outright racist in a way not seen in Europe for decades and don't welcome "diversity". Oh and they're successful economically and that's a big no no. If the Chinese diaspora were a country it would be one of the wealthiest in the world. On the other hand they can't come out and point the finger at them either as they're not White. East Asian cultures and successes are a hard swallow for your college socialists.

At this stage it is obviously clear that the pro multicultural people quite simply can't actually argue the points. Pretty much every post reinforces this. They haven't actually thought their politic through beyond the surface and are mired in the oppressor/oppressed narative so when pushed they parrot it by way of insult and because of the near given of an irony bypass don't see it and think they're fighting the good fight.
    They cannot argue the points. They shout down all dissenting views. Their views need to be disrespected publically. The politicians will abandon them if there are no votes in it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭Gervais08

Hamachi wrote: »
    You just don't get it I'm afraid.

Imagine those pesky natives having the audacity to say that they quite like their country the way it is today and don't see any compelling reason to overhaul the demographics.

That just won't do and if you object, you're resistant to change. Continue voicing a contrary opinion and you'll be branded with the big gun epithets...

Been there - told “you hate immigrants”, reeled off a list of immigrants to Ireland in my life all of whom make it better in one way or another.

“You call them immigrants, not Irish - that’s racist!!”

Erm they are very proudly Polish, Croatian, Ghanaian, Swiss, Lithuanian (I asked that one, not obvious!!) and have no interest in being Irish currently!!

Actually, you're incorrect there... there have been a variety of immigrant, or racial stories over the last few months, and they weren't mentioned here. For the most part, It's not that kind of thread. Oh, there has been some references to 'foreign' gangs or anti-social behavior, but it's not like this is a thread dedicated to it.

Really? Care to argue that point beyond a vague statement?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭rgossip30

xvril wrote: »
    I have always found irish people to be extremely racist towards travellers.

I suggest you hire a traveler to do your roof, garden or tarmac your drive .

• Registered Users Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭olestoepoke

rgossip30 wrote: »
    I suggest you hire a traveler to do your roof, garden or tarmac your drive .

Just make sure you give them a big hefty deposit a week before they are due to do the job.

Actually, a goodly few years back I needed my shed roof sorting and it was a bunch of traveller lads that did it and I couldn't have been happier with the job, the fair price and the guys themselves who were good craic and good workers who turned up on time and actually finished the job early and well. Their only requirement was a supply of atomic powered builders tay that I was happy to provide. :D Shed roof is still bang on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Justin Credible Darts

Gervais08 wrote: »

what a surprise your question has gone unanswered.

maybe because there is no national improvement with immigrants coming in droves, in fact I wager it is doing the opposite, all those immigrants have to be housed most likely council houses, where there is already a huge waiting list by irish people.

some immigrants are jumping the queue for housing, that cannot be right.

I am sure someone will be along to call me a racist, as it seems ok on here for people to just bandy that term about with ease and no comeback.

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭excludedbin

To answer the question, you first have to accept that "mass immigration" is anything more than a right wing buzzword.

Massed immigration is fine if it is selective. Unfortunately our system let in every West African chancer and middle Eastern scumbag. We could have had targetted immigration, and got a whole pile of people from East Asia, Iran(persia) and Zimbabwe/Zambia/Botswana/Ghana

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

It's not the Oxford English, but wikipedia suffices all the same.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mass_migration
    Mass migration refers to the migration of large groups of people from one geographical area to another. Mass migration is distinguished from individual or small scale migration; and also from seasonal migration, which may occur on a regular basis.

Sweden could well be 30% Islamic by 2050, from <2% in 2000.
    This is not a normal, regular, natural, individual, seasonal, or skilled migration pattern, but a' mass migration' of people from one distant region, to another that it had very little in common with prior.

It's not the Oxford English, but wikipedia suffices all the same.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mass_migration

Sweden could well be 30% Islamic by 2050, from <2% in 2000.
    This is not a normal, regular, natural, individual, seasonal, or skilled migration pattern, but a' mass migration' of people from one distant region, to another that it had very little in common with prior.
    At least the Swedish dispensed with the islamic armies invading first. Remember most of what we consider the middle east now was Roman or Persian, all utterly destroyed

amazing how when all the white people moved to south africa, blacks complained about losing national identity.

but if a white swedish person about his home country losing their national identity...its perceived as some form of racism

amazing how when all the white people moved to south africa, blacks complained about losing national identity.

but if a white swedish person about his home country losing their national identity...its perceived as some form of racism

Paradoxically the Afrikaaners were already in South AFrica before a lot of waves of African immigration/invasions to the area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

I don't buy that. The politics of immigration is littered with attempts to control language.

For instance, I'm fully comfortable with calling the immigration to the UK from let's say the early 90s until the present as mass immigration. You can play scrabble if you want and come up with a different word than 'mass', but eventually you'd end up objecting to that too.

Such immigration was laissez-faire, changed communities irreversibly, and made very little distinction between skills and knowledge gaps that were desirable and cheap labour that undermined the bargaining power of British workers overwhelmingly negatively. It also has generated probably the largest political shocks to Britain since the war.

To play word games and just write it off as plain old vanilla immigration is a poltical value judgement in and of itself. It does not do justice to the massive social and economic shifts such immigration has caused; and if you were to take the poltical blinkers off, it's not all positive - in fact, a lot of it is decidedly negative.

I have no problem with people coming here from abroad

however...

1. there has to be a cap on how many we can take, we can only support so many financially.
    2, The Irish government elected by the Irish people have to firstly care for the Irish people who put them there in the first place, Their first responsibility is to their own people
    3. All people coming here, be it from scotland , tasmania, nepal or the congo need to be vetted, and anyone with a criminal record be banned.
    4. If one cannot abide by the laws of the land and breaks the law, they get deported

amazing how when all the white people moved to south africa
    You mean invaded, forcibly colonised, and oppressed the natives when they dared speak out. I know, I know, you lot think immigration is the same thing as "invasion" but please, try to maintain some kind of perspective. You're just making yourself look more ridiculous by comparing them.
    Because they haven't been invaded, forcibly colonised, and oppressed by foreign occupiers.

I mean really, do you actually think South African Apartheid is in any way comparable to having to see brown people in the same country as you?

You mean invaded, forcibly colonised, and oppressed the natives when they dared speak out. I know, I know, you lot think immigration is the same thing as "invasion" but please, try to maintain some kind of perspective. You're just making yourself look more ridiculous by comparing them.

Because they haven't been invaded, forcibly colonised, and oppressed by foreign occupiers.

I mean really, do you actually think South African Apartheid is in any way comparable to having to see brown people in the same country as you?
    The Afrikaaners were invaders too, but the invasions from further north were just as brutal and changed the demographics more than any other european invasion

Okay but that doesn't change the fact that immigration into Europe isn't comparable to Apartheid or that it's an "invasion" or comparable to one.

The Afrikaaners predated apartheid by a couple of centuries
    Also Sharia Law has many similarities to the Penal laws we had here and to the Apartheid era laws(different rules and restrictions for them and us)