Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland wins security council seat over Canada

• 17-06-2020 9:11pm
    Registered Users Posts: 23,761 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Fair play, not sure it means much given it's the UN but well done all the same :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,800 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Saudi Arabia had it a while back. I'm sure it means something.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

How much did it cost us taxpayers ?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,362 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Up there with qualifying for the Eurovision imo. Fair play lads!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭TheW1zard

Gatling wrote: »

840 grand apparently

• Registered Users Posts: 167 ✭✭Murphy14

840k !

• Registered Users Posts: 23,761 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

800, 000.

Canada spent millions trying to get it though, were quite cocky in advance too.

Bit surprising.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Do we get free money from the UN now?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭buried

Security council seat is kind of like a useless bouncer at the door of a Irish nightclub at 1.30am saying to lads "Not tonight lads" but the lads have already done it already that night, are currently doing it and going to do it again later.

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Registered Users Posts: 8,124 ✭✭✭Odhinn

vicwatson wrote: »
    Do we get free money from the UN now?

Hopefully. That and a few flagons for the lads.

Hopefully this will result in a lot more UN missions for Irish military & police.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Hopefully it's put to use and they raise the issue of the occupied territories. Hopefully it's not just another talking shop.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,800 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

smurgen wrote: »
    Hopefully it's put to use and they raise the issue of the occupied territories. Hopefully it's not just another talking shop.

Considering the Irish govt are reluctant to enact the Occupied Territories Bill, I wouldn't hold out on them raising any similar issues at UN level.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,908 ✭✭✭Jizique

smurgen wrote: »

Northern Ireland?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,672 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

We were always going to get on it with how well we get on with the UN to be honest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

Jizique wrote: »
    Northern Ireland?

No, he means Iranian involvement in Syria.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,702 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

The Canadians ask too many questions.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 15,682 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

All a bit pointless really

• Registered Users Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭BluePlanet

American Lackies: Dwiddle-Dee, or Dwiddle-Dum
    /shrug

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

odyssey06 wrote: »

I suspect it was the Trudeau blackface controversy that cost Canada the seat.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

odyssey06 wrote: »

Eh?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Launch the nukes

• Registered Users Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭Darc19

U2 - 1

Celine Dion - 0

This'll be the first, and last, that we'll hear of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,761 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Anyone else think Coveney is the most impressive politician in the Dail at the moment?

Seems to get things done.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,466 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Anyone else think Coveney is the most impressive politician in the Dail at the moment?

Seems to get things done.

that is a very low bar

• Registered Users Posts: 30,702 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Anyone else think Coveney is the most impressive politician in the Dail at the moment? Seems to get things done.

Foreign minister the last time Ireland got a UN Security Council seat... Brian Cowen.

Really seems a pointless exercise except as a back slapping goal for those involved.
    https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/ireland-s-un-security-council-seat-campaign-an-exercise-in-vanity-1.3033769

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

Darc19 wrote: »
    U2 - 1

Celine Dion - 0

Some can never forgive Dion for that theme song from Titanic.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭golfball37

All the sucking up to the corrupt WHO obviously paid off.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,349 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

bubblypop wrote: »
    Hopefully this will result in a lot more UN missions for Irish military & police.

Yeah let's send a resource starved bunch of our lads into some tinderbox that's none of our making.