Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

RTE does comic relief

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,916 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Andrew Maxwell couldn’t remember it then he recounts episodes Wow amazing continuity.

Eh, dude. He was taking the piss...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,517 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Left in 2006, jaysus I feel old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,675 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

He never did a panel show again.

Hahahha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Ah, the David Mitchell era on the Panel was unforgettable !

• Registered Users Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Banana Republic.

Eh, dude. He was taking the piss...

Eh yea I know haha it is comic relief

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    The bits about The Panel are hilarious

They should have just brought back the panel and told Eoghan McDermott to make the tea.

Oh God another one.

• Registered Users Posts: 250 ✭✭xii

To be fair, this has become surprisingly good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,679 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

He can act....like a cnut

LMAO

• Registered Users Posts: 148 ✭✭timfinnegan

bcklschaps wrote: »
    Baz and Jennifer gone for a dump

Maybe they're trying to disassociate themselves from this laugh free fest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,001 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

I know this is completely un PC - I'm sick of pride.

Almost forcing people into at work now.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,795 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

I remember Maxwell used to ruin the show going off on these unfunny, making it up as he goes along tangents, it was tedious.

RTE choose to waste tons of their budget on
    A) salaries of TV 'stars' with average talent
    b) unnecessary American exports
    c) sending their overpaid TV presenters on travel show junkets
    d) an abundance of terrible comedy shows that have no focus on providing quality.

CH4 have less budget than BBC and still do a great job. TG4 get less budget and still churn out quality TV.

I'd always assumed travel shows were at least partly paid for by travel companies, being, as they are, just ads for them.

Lads if we get Zoom is a thing, Jesus if I see another zoom montage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

The bits about The Panel are hilarious

Scriptwriters involved in The Den, The Panel and Waterford Whisperers sketches should be kept on. The rest of them by should be fired.

ETA: Sorry Foils, Arms and Hogs lads were good, but they write their own sketches.

He's wearing a feckin dressing gown!!

Just when you think you can't hold the lad in any more disdain..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,782 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Anne Doyle was the best bit of tonight.

Camp accent singing

• Registered Users Posts: 5,393 ✭✭✭Cody montana

Are the gays dying?

xii wrote: »
    To be fair, this has become surprisingly good.

You watching the Glastonbury?

She's some auld battle-axe..(DoK)..

I remember Maxwell used to ruin the show going off on these unfunny, making it up as he goes along tangents, it was tedious.

Jeez, always with the negative waves :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

I've donated for The Den, The Panel and Ann Doyle!

So much of it is awful though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,475 ✭✭✭decies

Where’s Bill Badbody when you need him !!

• Registered Users Posts: 250 ✭✭xii

You watching the Glastonbury?

Compared to the first hour, it has become quite entertaining.

She's some auld battle-axe..(DoK)..

Ouch

I'd always assumed travel shows were at least partly paid for by travel companies, being, as they are, just ads for them.

Maybe the ones that involved package tours but lots of them didn't and I'm also including comedy shows that opted to film in countries outside Ireland because, why not?!

Some good production quality in fairness.

M

Liam Ó Maonlaí looking fresh.

Hozier just raises it all to a completely higher level

Ah no..

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,795 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

I like the idea of All-Ireland finals Christmas week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭ibFoxer

Whatever about the rest of it, Hozier is some man for a tune.

Skid X wrote: »
    Ah, the David Mitchell era on the Panel was unforgettable !

Hey, I forgot about it!

I'm surprised Hozier didnt move that gig to a smaller venue.

He's murdering it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,320 ✭✭✭phonypony

Hozier sure loves his 6 pints of reverb

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,916 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Are the Hardy Bucks involved at all tonight? Or the Rubberbandits? Or Damo & Ivor?

Skid X wrote: »
    I'm surprised Hozier didnt move that gig to a smaller venue.

Social distancing guidelines..

M

With snow :D

He's murdering it..

He sings like he is eating something at the same time. Good setup though, they should have just got someone better to front it.

xii wrote: »
    Compared to the first hour, it has become quite entertaining.

I'm finding it remarkably consistent, apart from the far too brief cameo from Dustin.

Would be a pain in the balls trying to get around Hozier in the midfield.

Could take a violinist out but.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,028 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

Hozier just raises it all to a completely higher level

Hozier is the musical equivalent of a rich tea biscuit, boring as f**k!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,676 Mod ✭✭✭✭pinkypinky

I thought I'd only watch a bit but have stuck with it, laughed a lot of times and donated.

Also glad that there hasn't been too much hand-wringing worthy bits.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,729 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

What Charity benefits?

The Dee Forbes Licence Fee trust?

Have to say if you edited this down, deleted the five presenters segments and got one good presenter, there's the makings of a good variety show here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,506 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Stunning cover from Hozier.

Ireland's best male vocalist since Luke Kelly. Bar none

What sort of accent is he trying to sing it in?..He's been hanging around with Saoirse ronan too much..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭ibFoxer

Are the Hardy Bucks involved at all tonight? Or the Rubberbandits? Or Damo & Ivor?

What? Sure RTE have no room for actual comedy. Notions.