Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE does comic relief

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,067 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Jesus - even the least embarrassed man in Ireland - Bannon must have fingers in ears and is behind couch at this.

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Rats from Paths to Freedom was a great character, i cant believe they got the actor all dressed up in character with that haircut and then only gave him a single 10 second sketch with one line. Rats let loose on the streets of Dublin with a Naked Camera crew following him would have made for good comedy.

No Dave McSavage or John Colleraan either. The Savage Eye was one of the best Irish comedies yet we're served up Amy Huberman lip syncing :rolleyes: It really shows you who is in favour in RTE and who isnt. Its almost criminal that we havent seen a sketch from Mick the Bull or him as a priest stealing children.

Dave McSavage is more dangerous to RTE “stars” than Dustin :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,713 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

PsychoPete wrote: »
    What the hell is this

Better'n Westlife Zoom calls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,941 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

just switched over after The Man with the Iron Heart on RTE2, was it all this good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

phonypony wrote: »
    Is that Risteard Cooper??

Yeah, last time I saw him Aisling Bea was persuading him to commission Who Wants To Be A Millionaire? on Quiz on ITV

• Registered Users Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Foggy Jew

This. Is. Unadulterated. ****e.

It's the bally ballyness of it that makes it all seem so bally bally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,453 ✭✭✭CH3OH

The orchestra must have come out of cocooning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,858 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Do you reckon Jennifer could fly in that suit?

M

They left the best for last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭phonypony

Partially makes up for the lack of this evening's glaring omission; Apres Match...

M

More man bashing.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,921 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Yeah, feck it.. another episode of cracker..

Great show, that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭Dickie10

didnt watch it after first 3 mins did it better. kind of be shocked if this thing was a success. bbc used to do a decent job in 90s.

• Registered Users Posts: 148 ✭✭timfinnegan

I feel like I'm in a lockdown with RTE comic relief, unable to leave this zone until I see something funny. I think I'm expecting the impossible and will never get out of this room. Help!!

Completely understandable - I'd say McSavage is banned from RTE.

He is completely nuts - and could say anything - I mean anything. ,

Like he could come on and say

"this is all balls, you over paid talent less clowns, raising money for non charities and having a laugh when people die of covid"

I'm not actually exaggerating there.

Would like be reading this thread out loud.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,705 ✭✭✭obi604

Jesus - even the least embarrassed man in Ireland - Bannon must have fingers in ears and is behind couch at this.

Ya I had to mute after 3 seconds. Sounded pure muck.

I wish I had said earlier that with the orchestra in Croke Park, Hozier had more people at his gig than Trump did at his in Tulsa

Ah well, too late now.

More man bashing.

It's not. It's about helping people who need it who are, in this case, more often women.

That's all.

• Registered Users Posts: 148 ✭✭timfinnegan

Dave McSavage is more dangerous to RTE “stars” than Dustin :D

That Savage eye was fecking brilliant TV. Oddly enough it was a comedy on RTE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,537 ✭✭✭touts

Do you reckon Jennifer could fly in that suit?

She's getting hotter with age.

M

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    It's not. It's about helping people who need it who are, in this case, more often women.

That's all.

But not point in RTE playing the equal rights card and then not being equal, crooked organisation.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,757 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Are there a lot more beards now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭Car99

Late to the party I guess but did that girl get a boob job.

M

That Savage eye was fecking brilliant TV. Oddly enough it was a comedy on RTE

This is very very very funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭Cape Clear

Chronic. Off to search YouTube for Neil Toibin clips. Dermot Morgan also worth a search.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,941 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

This is very very very funny

too good, too good...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,705 ✭✭✭obi604

An unreal show. I loved it al.

M

Wohoo Rats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭phonypony

Cape Clear wrote: »
    Chronic. Off to search YouTube for Neil Toibin clips. Dermot Morgan also worth a search.

Don't neglect Michael Redmond and Dave Allen!

Class -

He genuinely could do another series.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭Whereisgalway

Aisling bea is hilarious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

Was Sarah Cooper the first one to do that type of comedy or did I miss something?

Edit: Sarah Cooper is class

Ahhhhh Rats, f*cking love him

• Registered Users Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Wishox

SCOOOPS ? lol loved him. Taken from "Paths to freedom" look it up very funny

• Registered Users Posts: 33,757 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

"If you are ancient or you're fat"

You hear that ****e working class poetry all serious these days.

This was the original - but they don't get it is a joke.

That guard with Rats was the Taoiseach in a play I saw earlier this year

He was corrupt and infirm and a threat to democracy, still looked a better bet than Micheal Martin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

This guard sounds suspiciously like the narrator from Angela’s Ashes.

Very very good

Have to say best to last , last hour good.

M

Rats is gold, they left the best for last.

• Registered Users Posts: 837 ✭✭✭False Prophet

Best
    1) den
    2) panel
    3) jennifer dress
    4) hozier aisling clip
    5) rats

• Registered Users Posts: 388 ✭✭RunningFlyer

Jesus. Tried to give this a chance and have watched the whole thing so far; to say I’m cringing is an understatement.

If you’ve ever watched UK Comic Relief it’s worlds apart. Irish comedy as portrayed by this evening is just not funny - it’s no wonder our only comedic successes move to the UK.

Have always thought 2FM was geared towards the younger/immature generation but really didn’t expect this flagship event be run with the 2FM cast with immature humour (maybe I’m outside the young target audience?)

Embarrassed.

Is McSavage on - jaysus.

Must be pre recorded ?

• Registered Users Posts: 837 ✭✭✭False Prophet

Best
    1) den
    2) panel
    3) jennifer dress
    4) hozier aisling clip
    5) rats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,363 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Rats is gold, they left the best for last.

I've never heard of Paths to Freedom.
    When was it on?

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,980 ✭✭✭Storm 10

Could have been funnier and not take a swipe at the Garda

• Registered Users Posts: 388 ✭✭RunningFlyer

Jesus. Tried to give this a chance and have watched the whole thing so far; to say I’m cringing is an understatement.

If you’ve ever watched UK Comic Relief it’s worlds apart. Irish comedy as portrayed by this evening is just not funny - it’s no wonder our only comedic successes move to the UK.

Have always thought 2FM was geared towards the younger/immature generation but really didn’t expect this flagship event be run with the 2FM cast with immature humour (maybe I’m outside the young target audience?)

Embarrassed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭nomdeboardie

Ha ha - Jason Byrne and David McSavage coming up?
    The consensus worst-case and best-case scenarios together? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,363 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Best
    1) den
    2) panel
    3) jennifer dress
    4) hozier aisling clip
    5) rats

Mine was Normal People.
    The absolute worst was Pat Shortt.

To thine own self be true