Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Detective Garda Colm Horkan killed in Castlerea, Roscommon - [MOD WARNING POST #1]

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

degsie wrote: »
    Can a gun be used immediately by someone with no knowledge (presumably) of weaponry? I thought safety catches were a thing. Just curious.

Absolutely yes ,

Just look at America where under 6s have being involved in accidental shootings ,there is very little to stop anyone from shooting another person with little or no experience

• Registered Users Posts: 25,329 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Now is not the time, but longterm AGS must review their procedures on how they handle firearms, when they are engaged, how they are protected, etc..... As bad as this incident was (and it was shockingly bad, I'm not making little of it in any way) it actually have been worse.

If I’m a Garda, with a firearm, and I’m physically assaulted and the perpetrator is trying to access my firearm... what is the training for that ? It’s reasonable in my mind to assume that the perpetrator is trying to access the weapon to use it, against me. My life and or the lives of others are in danger. I have zero interest in assessing the mental heath of the perpetrator. In fact that won’t be possible in the scenario. The protection of life is surly now paramount, both my own and the publics. This tosser could have taken out scores of people with that gun.

Therefore I’m wondering if after repeated warnings, can it be deemed necessary to shoot the individual as they are trying to overpower you ? To potentially disable them and neutralize them as a threat, to both the Garda and the public ?

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

From the report's I've read it seems he wasn't shot 15 times but 15 shots were discharged , could have been retreating to his car .

Still questions have to be answered this is the second Garda killed due to a domestic situation

• Registered Users Posts: 7,783 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Untrue.

As I posted earlier, every politician interviewed on the RTE news had the basic respect and savvy to use his title whereas Big Mac opted for the chummy "Colm".

You're easily upset. Not really the thread for political commentary but if it were me I'd be more upset by FG/FF cuts which left a Garda out on his own, and not for the first time either. Wasn't Garda O Donohue in Louth left in the same position as well as that other Garda that was murdered outside the Credit Union. Take your whinging and SF bashing over to the usual threads where yourself, Blanch, Francie and the rest of the lads can play with each other.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,233 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Fann Linn wrote: »
    You're easily upset. Not really the thread for political commentary but if it were me I'd be more upset by FG/FF cuts which left a Garda out on his own, and not for the first time either. Wasn't Garda O Donohue in Louth left in the same position as well as that other Garda that was murdered outside the Credit Union. Take your whinging and SF bashing over to the usual threads where yourself, Blanch, Francie and the rest of the lads can play with each other.

No, Adrian Donohue was with a colleague at the time. They were on cash escort, and ambushed. Totally different scenario.

Firstly, plenty of Gardai work on their own.
    Garda O Donoghue was the Garda murdered at the credit union.
    You clearly have no respect for any Garda killed on duty, anymore then deputy McDonald
    & I can guarantee that every guard in the country would want deputy McDonald to address them by their title not by their first name.

Gatling wrote: »
    Still questions have to be answered this is the second Garda killed due to a domestic situation

I don't think it has been said anywhere that it was a domestic incident?

• Registered Users Posts: 25,329 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Big questions need to be asked alright about the Garda working alone.

However, Mary Lou is the leader of a ‘political party’ and movement who defended and celebrated the murder and the killers of Gardai in this state and actively campaigned for their early release, so neither she nor anyone in her party or indeed supporters have a flicker of credibility as relates to this discussion...

• Registered Users Posts: 55,529 ✭✭✭✭walshb

bubblypop wrote: »

Yes, wasn't it an anti crime patrol type incident. Random kind of happening..

I wonder why was an armed detective on this type patrol?

Witcher wrote: »
    Because that's their job...detectives being out and about recognising criminals and interacting with them is what they do every day.

I was more thinking that detectives are called to incidents.....

This seemed like a copper on the beat scenario....

I know what you mean, though.

Has anyone mentioned if he was in garda uniform or more civilian type attire?

walshb wrote: »

He was a detective.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,484 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

I was more thinking that detectives are called to incidents.....

This seemed like a copper on the beat scenario....

I know what you mean, though.

It has been reported that he was on a routine anti-crime patrol, nothing all that unusual about that. Detectives also undertake patrol duties, it’s not just confined to uniform beat members.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,939 ✭✭✭selectamatic

I wonder did Colm Horkan not really suspect or think there would be aggro, and got too close to the person. The person then out of nowhere became a physical threat..

I'd imagine so, shur who would expect this level of violence in a random encounter. 15 shots fired! it's like something from a gta game.

Violence against the gardai wouldn't be common in this area at all really and Colm Horkan was a strong block of a man who wouldn't be physically overpowered easily RIP he was a very fair and professional man.

so it really all points to the suspect snapping pretty much all of a sudden.

• Registered Users Posts: 449 ✭✭RobbieMD

degsie wrote: »
    Can a gun be used immediately by someone with no knowledge (presumably) of weaponry? I thought safety catches were a thing. Just curious.

The Sig carried by most armed Gardaí doesn’t have any external safety on it and is designed to have a round chambered. It would’ve been as simple as that man pulling the trigger, albeit a heavier trigger pull than other handguns, with no firearms training needed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭Happy4all

It was reported on all media initially that this was a domestic incident. Subsequently changed

• Registered Users Posts: 16,544 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

The Gardai that arrested him should get an award for bravery, going after him after what just happened and remaining professional while doing their job.

These men and women don't get paid half enough.

It has been reported that he was on a routine anti-crime patrol, nothing all that unusual about that. Detectives also undertake patrol duties, it’s not just confined to uniform beat members.

Yes. Makes sense...

The Gardai that arrested him should get an award for bravery, going after him after what just happened and remaining professional while doing their job.

These men and women don't get paid half enough.

Any details on it? Was it long after, and was it straightforward, as in he gave himself up, or didn’t fight it?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,544 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Any details on it? Was it long after, and was it straightforward, as in he gave himself up, or didn’t fight it?

No didn't hear any details.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

Are you trying to say he was great to give himself in ??

Reports say he fired 15 shots which meant he probably had no more left for the two unarmed gardai luckily for them .

LuasSimon wrote: »
    Are you trying to say he was great to give himself in ??

Reports say he fired 15 shots which meant he probably had no more left for the two unarmed gardai luckily for them .

What?

Are you for real?

I simply was wondering how the arrest went, that's all.

Hence the question, was it a peaceful encounter or not.....

15 shots discharged. This lowlife maniac meant death alright..

• Registered Users Posts: 45,414 ✭✭✭✭Bobeagleburger

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    In this particular instance the post. By no means a Mary Lou or SF supporter but that is a very transparent attempt to politicise. Not the place for it.

Just watched the news now. Both the president and Taoiseach referred to him by his first name.

I think people just want to find offence at anything.

Condolences to the family involved. Shocking stuff.

Would detectives on duty wear bullet proof vests?

• Registered Users Posts: 289 ✭✭Sparkey84

Mwengwe wrote: »
    thanks for spelling that one out.

you're welcome

• Registered Users Posts: 7,783 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Firstly, plenty of Gardai work on their own.
    Garda O Donoghue was the Garda murdered at the credit union.
    You clearly have no respect for any Garda killed on duty, anymore then deputy McDonald
    & I can guarantee that every guard in the country would want deputy McDonald to address them by their title not by their first name.

Just watched the news now, Michael D, Leo and MLM called him by his name, Colm. From what was shown on the news only Alan Kelly called him by Detective Gda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭Happy4all

Don't know, but we favour an unarmed police Force, and can't help but feel that If he was unarmed in this instance we wouldn't be talking about a death.

Happy4all wrote: »
    Don't know, but we favour an unarmed police Force, and can't help but feel that If he was unarmed in this instance we wouldn't be talking about a death.

In a perfect world we’d need no cops..

Only select Gardaí have firearms. And they are 100 percent needed..

• Registered Users Posts: 14,903 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Not on a routine patrol but they would have access to them.

• Registered Users Posts: 254 ✭✭barrier86

RIP

Shockingly sad.