Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Detective Garda Colm Horkan killed in Castlerea, Roscommon - [MOD WARNING POST #1]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

I know people are always giving out about how the Gardai do such great work apprehending criminals and scumbags who do stuff, and then go to court only for the judge to let them off the hook with suspended sentences and then when they get a custodial sentence, they only actually serve a fraction of it.
    We need to realise that this isn't really the judges or courts' fault either. The problem is that our prisons are overflowing and overcrowed on a chronic places. We litterally have not got enough prison spaces to accomodate the scum of the country.
    Nothing will or can change until we build more prisons. However, that is not an attractive election promise and wouldn't be a popular proposal as the electorate and constituents will always want the money spent on housing, roads, healthcare, etc above spending it on prisons.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,544 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

The death penality should be in place for such crimes against the Gardai. Nothing short of it is sufficent punishment.

Sure we had the death penalty and they got rid of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 359 ✭✭Experience_day

All those baying for blood should wait until it is investigated. For all we know the person was going through an acute mental health crisis. The circumstances sound very odd.

Desperately sad news to be waking up to this morning.

Err. Wut. So what if they have a mental issue, they still killed someone. No change in my opinion here......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

We should bring in tough laws, get caught stealing twice, hand off.
    Assault someone, give the person the same beating in public
    Rape someone, cut it off.

Erra shut up. Taliban nonsense.
    Originally Posted by IamMetaldave View Post
    The death penality should be in place for such crimes against the Gardai. Nothing short of it is sufficent punishment

This is impossible. Both the EU Charter of Fundamental Rights and Bunreacht na hEireann forbid it laws that bring in the death penalty.

These sort of eye for eye type punishments only serve to satisfy a desire for revenge.

Justice system should be about rehabilitating those who can be rehabilitated, and protecting the public from those who are so bat that they are lost causes and must be locked up long term.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

That's waffle , read the paper and you'll see that it's not true , if that was the case you'd have no walking round with dozens of convictions

Wrong.

"Judges have discretion to impose concurrent or consecutive sentences.

Generally, concurrent sentences will be imposed where the crimes arise from the same incident. This is known as the ‘one transaction rule’.

Section 11 of the Criminal Justice Act, 1984 provides for consecutive sentences where an offence is committed while on bail and the Judge has no discretion in this regard."

https://businessandlegal.ie/tag/consecutive-sentence

• Registered Users Posts: 4,485 ✭✭✭harr

• Registered Users Posts: 29,319 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Detective is allowed to carry a gun. To be honest the PC culture in this country is to blame for most of our problems. We should bring in tough laws, get caught stealing twice, hand off. Assault someone, give the person the same beating in public Rape someone, cut it off.

Oh ffs!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭joe40

Detective is allowed to carry a gun. To be honest the PC culture in this country is to blame for most of our problems.

Kids are now carrying knives and stabbing other kids and it doesn't make the news these days. We are going down a very dark road

You might be happier living in Saudi Arabia.

There are issues with crime and prison but it is nothing to do with PC gone mad, whatever that is.
    Cutting hands off for stealing, we never did that.

There are overcrowding issues in prisons for a start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

Big difference between here and the USA....here the criminals are so spoiled by the Judges and free legal solicitors they kill the police the opposite of america.......
    How many cases have we read of scumbags hitting guards and biting them and the judge leaving them off....no respect for gardai or the general public in this country...drugs also has fcuked up many peoples brains

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

Castlerea has suffered as a town with the prison only brining scumbags around the place to be near their friends in jail.....like many west of ireland towns emmigration for decades has taken many of the decent people to foreign shores.....its a far cry from Brendan Shine singing The Rose of Castlerea......

Soft Judges have a lot to answer for

• Registered Users Posts: 16,544 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

begbysback wrote: »
    You can post how you like, but it does get very tiring every time there’s an incident like this people want more armed Gardaí, harsher sentences, more persecution of minorities, basically saying “let’s get more like policing & sentencing in the US, they lock their convicts up for hundreds of years, and have the death sentence, and they seem to be doing great”.

It gets tiring, and it gets really really tiring when “most likely” an influential factor here may be something like alcohol, but let’s not mention that because I’ll be fcuked if someone tries to interfere with that.

Whats wrong with harsher sentences, theres people walking around without a care in the world with multiple convictions to their name.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭bloodless_coup

Got his gun taken from him and shot dead with it. This is why at times in the US the cops shoot first and ask questions later.

Pity this Garda didn't do the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,485 ✭✭✭harr

You also have to look at how even the most evil prisoners are treated in prison here .. 3 good meals a day , single cell with TV , DVD players and game consoles ... 24h GP cover , dental cover , gym , games rooms , Library and free education , free legal representation, and training if they want it , sweet shop and what ever else they need .
    Prison officers friends of mine tell me they are given what they like to keep them quiet including a blind eye to a certain amount of drug use.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭GIMP

He was talking about an incident in Lusk where a gang of youths surrounded two detectives. Tried to take ones gun and tried to push the other in front of traffic.

Do you have a link to this, I live in Lusk and never heard of this incident!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Spon Farmer

Very sad news.

LuasSimon wrote: »
    Big difference between here and the USA....here the criminals are so spoiled by the Judges and free legal solicitors they kill the police the opposite of america.......
    How many cases have we read of scumbags hitting guards and biting them and the judge leaving them off....no respect for gardai or the general public in this country...drugs also has fcuked up many peoples brains

You'd imagine with their harsh sentancing, for profit prisons and almost paramilitary style policing that the US would have much lower crime rates and social problems than Ireland then wouldn't you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

Detective is allowed to carry a gun. To be honest the PC culture in this country is to blame for most of our problems.

Kids are now carrying knives and stabbing other kids and it doesn't make the news these days. We are going down a very dark road

Detective is permitted to carry, don’t think anybody on here is disagreeing with sections of Garda having firearms, given that they may be confronted with firearms.

Incidents like this are rare, and will never be completely prevented. So, as a society we have to accept this. Punishment will be dealt, unlikely the perpetrators will see daylight again, that to me as a member of this society is sufficient.

At this point the problem becomes social media, everybody with any gripe against anyone is now using this as a pulpit to remonstrate about how current policing & laws are ineffective, and should be harsher, without understanding the consequences of their requests.

The reality is that these incidents will occur, no matter how long criminals are sentenced for, or even if we had the death penalty, this has already been proven, but is ignored by sections because they feel that every time something tragic like this happens then drastic change is necessary so that lawful society is regaining control, but that just isn’t the case.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,677 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Yurt! wrote: »
    You'd imagine with their harsh sentancing, for profit prisons and almost paramilitary style policing that the US would have much lower crime rates and social problems than Ireland then wouldn't you?

You have obviously never been to the United States.

Paramilitary style policing?

Hyperbole much?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,160 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

First thing I thought was - was it travellers? As it's the midlands and usually crime there is associated with them.
    Any details on the suspect?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Gooey Looey

First thing I thought was - was it travellers? As it's the midlands and usually crime there is associated with them.
    Any details on the suspect?

Nothing like that, someone with acute mental health issues. It was a nothing incident

• Registered Users Posts: 4,716 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Shot with his own gun there on midwest

• Registered Users Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Kilboor

Nothing like that, someone with acute mental health issues. It was a nothing incident

Not the best use of language there...

You have obviously never been to the United States.

Paramilitary style policing?

Hyperbole much?

Police in most parts of the states are ridiculously militarised and a lot of them (not all) are meatheads who shouldn't be anywhere near a gun and a badge. So no, almost paramilitary style policing is not hyperbole.

And I've spent quite a bit of time in the US you may or may not be pleased to hear.

AGS are not without their problems, but as a policing service they are streets ahead of their US counterparts. We should keep it that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

Awful news and the perpetrator should suffer perpetually. Utter scum.

I wouldn't say this is a 'nothing incident'!

• Registered Users Posts: 17,949 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

That's the dangers of arming gardai, it can go both ways. God only knows what he was doing on patrol alone. RIP

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Yurt! wrote: »
    Police in most parts of the states are ridiculously militarised and a lot of them (not all) are meatheads who shouldn't be anywhere near a gun and a badge. So no, almost paramilitary style policing is not hyperbole.

And I've spent quite a bit of time in the US you may or may not be pleased to hear.

AGS are not without their problems, but as a policing service they are streets ahead of their US counterparts. We should keep it that way.

So have I and your points are not worth engaging they are that ridiculous.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Absolutely shocking news to wake up to. May he rest in peace.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

An absolute hero and an example to the rest of the world as to the difference between a "Guard" and "The Police". Anyone who watched Inside the K knows what these men and women bring to the job and to the rest of us

So have I and your points are not worth engaging they are that ridiculous.

I see you brought your A-game this morning. Have a nice day.