Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can we have some fcuking control on the airports from high risk countries please?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Cupatae

flazio wrote: »
    And how exactly are you going to make Arlene Foster close all Northern Ireland air and sea ports off from her fellow country folk?

Build a wall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Should we just save the effort and copy the Hungarian green list, or will ours be even more conservative?

greezone.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭YellowBucket

Doesn't seem the Irish attitudes are at all out of sync actually:

https://www.thelocal.it/20200709/most-italians-want-american-tourists-to-stay-away-this-summer-poll

https://www.forbes.com/sites/chrisobrien/2020/07/11/europeans-to-american-chinese-and-british-tourists-in-new-poll-keep-out/

The concern is quite simply about places that have let things get out of control and have major outbreaks.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Limpy

Should we just save the effort and copy the Hungarian green list, or will ours be even more conservative?

greezone.jpg

If Tommy from Derry travels from Dublin will he be stopped? Probably not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Limpy wrote: »
    If Tommy from Derry travels from Dublin will he be stopped? Probably not.

If Tommy has an Irish passport he should be okay!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 17,993 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Lillyfae wrote: »
    Well seeing as they’re not going to be flying anywhere, it’s obviously not as risky.
    I thought it was the place they were coming from/going to that was risky? Not the flying itself. Otherwise, we should have no issue with the UK folk driving over via ferries, etc.

Just pulling stats from European reports, Ireland spends €6bn per annum on tourism abroad, with 8 million trips a year made, including same-day travel (a lot of Irish-UK stuff in that bulking the number of trips)

Per capita and even in raw numbers, we're one of the biggest spenders in the EU on outwards tourism.

Income from international tourism (including NI) the Republic is about €5.6 billion per year and domestic tourism is worth about €2bn / year.

By European and North American standards, Ireland's not that dependent on tourism in terms of GDP and if we could move some of the 6bn we spend on foreign trips into the domestic tourism market we would stimulate and keep a lot of jobs.

Bringing in high risk tourism from parts of the US with outbreaks risks spooking both Irish and potentially European tourists if things open a bit more in a few weeks, sharing hotel accommodation. All it will take is one cluster in a hotel and you'll have hosed the domestic tourist market for the sake of placating a trickle of Americans who aren't even travelling in large numbers this year anyway.

We should be trying to pitch the fact that holidaying at home is a safe option, not portraying a risk of being in a hotel and suddenly having breakfast with a bus tour from Texas.

Opening travel's great, but open it to places that are safe first!

What happened to the notion of airbridges with similarly low risk places?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,255 ✭✭✭threeball

Just pulling stats from European reports, Ireland spends €6bn per annum on tourism abroad, with 8 million trips a year made, including same-day travel (a lot of Irish-UK stuff in that bulking the number of trips)

Per capita and even in raw numbers, we're one of the biggest spenders in the EU on outwards tourism.

Income from international tourism (including NI) the Republic is about €5.6 billion per year and domestic tourism is worth about €2bn / year.

By European and North American standards, Ireland's not that dependent on tourism in terms of GDP and if we could move some of the 6bn we spend on foreign trips into the domestic tourism market we would stimulate and keep a lot of jobs.

Bringing in high risk tourism from parts of the US with outbreaks risks spooking both Irish and potentially European tourists if things open a bit more in a few weeks, sharing hotel accommodation. All it will take is one cluster in a hotel and you'll have hosed the domestic tourist market for the sake of placating a trickle of Americans who aren't even travelling in large numbers this year anyway.

We should be trying to pitch the fact that holidaying at home is a safe option, not portraying a risk of being in a hotel and suddenly having breakfast with a bus tour from Texas.

Opening travel's great, but open it to places that are safe first!

What happened to the notion of airbridges with similarly low risk places?

Not to mention the eventual cost to the health service from a spike in cases. The yanks shouldn't have got a look in here but we're too subservient to tell them that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭mikep

American Airlines Texas flight only going from late last week.

Fewer than 20 on board apparently

https://www.thejournal.ie/texas-dublin-tourist-flights-5148726-Jul2020/

The other issue that's not being mentioned is that while EU travellers entering Ireland are always insured under EHIC, and UK travellers under a mutual post-Brexit system, US travellers are entirely dependent on the quality of their health insurance and there's been several articles talking about how they may not be covered at all if they're travelling against advisory notices or during a pandemic.

So, we could well end up with a bus load of Texans in ICU, at our expense.

On top of that we are not exactly flush with copious critical care resources and we do not need to be putting those at risk.

We need to be pragmatic, realistic and sensible about what we are doing here. It's not a political debate about imagining how we're offending American FDI or future tourism. Most Americans are fully aware that there's a major problem in the US and do not want to travel. There are a few morons who are breeching guidelines and those are the very people who'll cause an issue.

American and international investors here would be far more likely to see Ireland protecting itself from COVID-19 as providing their investments with a degree of safety and assurance of business continuity as a huge positive. The last thing they want is Ireland to just volunteer to see how infectious Texas or Florida is.

The US will still be there next year. The Pandemic may well be over and we can go about visiting each other and tourism to Killarney or Disneyworld when it's calmed down. Until then, it's nonsense.

It may also be possible to open tourism with testing and tracing as those systems develop.

We are basically looking at a global mess for tourism one way or the other. Whether Ireland's open to American tourists or not is probably entirely irrelevant in the economic big scheme of things, other than a trickle of high risk tourists (be they American or Irish returnees) is placing an unnecessary economic risk on the table and I really cannot see the upside.

We should be following the Schengen countries on this one, not trying to harmonise with Alexander Boris de Pfeffel Johnson and his titanic handling of the whole crisis to-date. The guy even managed to land himself in ICU!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,667 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

The other issue that's not being mentioned is that while EU travellers entering Ireland are always insured under EHIC, and UK travellers under a mutual post-Brexit system, US travellers are entirely dependent on the quality of their health insurance and there's been several articles talking about how they may not be covered at all if they're travelling against advisory notices or during a pandemic.

So, we could well end up with a bus load of Texans in ICU, at our expense.

Exactly, and sadly the types of American’s we get coming here aren’t the youngest or have the best BMI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,594 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I agree with Professor Luke O'Neill that it's outrageous and disgraceful to allow tourists enter from virus hotspots. It defeats the purpose of the last few months and the responsibility for any resurgence rests with FFG who have allowed this to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭Oxter

I just looked at FlightRadar24, there were 7 flights about to land here from high risk countries, including usa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,935 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Oxter wrote: »
    I just looked at FlightRadar24, there were 7 flights about to land here from high risk countries, including usa.

Cargo flights? Many passengers on it? Any Irish citizens?

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    Cargo flights? Many passengers on it? Any Irish citizens?

Passenger flights.

Seems Coveney is dead against closing flights but they’re going to put the locator app online and there’ll be some unspecified severe penalties if you’re followed up & not where you said you are.

A stiff letter no doubt!

Oxter wrote: »
    Passenger flights.

So how many passengers

Reason I ask is that I’d read all the social media stories about lines of UK cars rolling off the ferry at Rosslare. You’d think we were being invaded. Well, my wife went back to the UK to pick up our car, drove it back on that ferry. Turns out only one deck of the 4 was operational, there was only one line of cars on that deck, and all but 5 had Irish plates. Of the 5, one was mine, an Irish citizen, and a couple more were tradesmen’s vans. Hardly a rolling stream of UK cars heading around the country spreading disease

There is so much hysteria out there, fueled by anecdotes and fear

So how many passengers

Reason I ask is that I’d read all the social media stories about lines of UK cars rolling off the ferry at Rosslare. You’d think we were being invaded. Well, my wife went back to the UK to pick up our car, drove it back on that ferry. Turns out only one deck of the 4 was operational, there was only one line of cars on that deck, and all but 5 had Irish plates. Of the 5, one was mine, an Irish citizen, and a couple more were tradesmen’s vans. Hardly a rolling stream of UK cars heading around the country spreading disease

There is so much hysteria out there, fueled by anecdotes and fear

One is one too many. Flights shouldn’t be allowed in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭unhappys10

The country is fcuked when there are the likes of you lads up above trying to be clever asking how many passengers were on a flight.
    If you were half as smart as you think you are you'd realise this whole worldwide pandemic had to start with one person. Doesn't matter how many were on a flight, all it takes is one to spread it even more and if that one person causes the death of only one Irish person because they had to have a holiday that is one death too many.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭tiredcity

Definitely a few American accents kicking around Wexford town, especially today. None of whom seemed to be wearing masks. Not into public shaming or an outright ban but a bit of cop on would be nice. That applies to some of the locals too. Complacency has well and truly set in for many.

Mr.S wrote: »
    How many passengers per flight? How much cargo per flight?

Probably full of smuggled iPhones for the big sellers on Adverts.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Is that all flights or do you have specific ones in mind?

is_that_so wrote: »
    Is that all flights or do you have specific ones in mind?

From the US or anywhere else that’s a complete ****show. It’s been mentioned numerous times already, and is basically the subject matter of the thread. Keep up.

You’d shut the door on residents and citizens? Who are more likely to be the ones who would quarantine as have a connection with and care for the country

I agree that holiday makers should be discouraged, or perhaps barred, but stopping the few flights that are operating current is a nonsense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

I have no idea if this is true but I heard over the weekend that if you want to visit Thailand, you have to pay for a designated hotel for 14 days and you cannot leave the hotel.
    That is what we should be doing here with every flight that lands.
    Either that or it should be a criminal offence with a massive fine if you are not at your quarantine location for more than 1-2 hours for 14 days.
    Anything less than this and we will be back to square 1 before we know it.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Limpy

Wasn't that long ago Irish people were chastising China for putting an Irish couple in a hotel to quarantine.

Limpy wrote: »
    Wasn't that long ago Irish people were chastising China for putting an Irish couple in a hotel to quarantine.

I never did that.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,341 ✭✭✭facehugger99

unhappys10 wrote: »
    The country is fcuked when there are the likes of you lads up above trying to be clever asking how many passengers were on a flight.
    If you were half as smart as you think you are you'd realise this whole worldwide pandemic had to start with one person. Doesn't matter how many were on a flight, all it takes is one to spread it even more and if that one person causes the death of only one Irish person because they had to have a holiday that is one death too many.

No doubt you feel the same about driving a car.

After all 300 people die needlessly every year.

Why aren't you campaigning for everyone to walk everywhere?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

The mods of Reddit Ireland are helping out in a big way with this excellent post that they've pinned to page one

Posting on r/Ireland is all well and good - but don't forget to contact your TDs regarding your views on Ireland's Tourism/Travel policies.

Social Media is great for raising awareness on ongoing issues - and we've had a lot of posts today in regards to passenger flights arriving into Ireland, from Countries with extremely high Coronavirus Incidence cases.
    However, your local TD likely does not spend a lot of time on Reddit. Or at least, we hope they don't.

You can look up your local representatives at https://www.whoismytd.com/ . Their public/official Social Media profiles are listed, along with their official email address and phone number contacts where relevant.
    Reddit might prove cathartic, but making sure your local representatives are aware of your concerns does a lot more to help in the long run, especially when so many have the exact same concern.

Please remember to be respectful when contacting your TD. Real life doesn't reflect the comments section, and your local representative is likely no more thrilled about a rollback in restrictions than you are.

With over 286,000 subscribers, this is huge in helping us get the message through to Mehole & Co

Well done Reddit Ireland :)