Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can we have some fcuking control on the airports from high risk countries please?

He clearly didn't!
    He is a Dutch National and flew from Holland (not on the list) and was sent over by his company to do essential work for a food production company - normally no quarantine is required.
    He found himself in MHQ for unwittingly admitting he ad been in Belgium in the previous 2 weeks and is now unable to get released even though he is not going to do the job he was sent for any more and just wants to go home..

There is nothing stopping him from walking out the door. Nothing. None of the people in the hotel will stop him.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,267 ✭✭✭Red Silurian

This is appalling.
    A Dutch man comes over to do his job, is forced into MHQ for unwittingly admitting he had been in Belgium.
    Is forcibly detained and now is not allowed to go home until he has spent 2 weeks in Hotel Jail.

https://twitter.com/IrishTimes/status/1386360752634740743

It's been widely publicised in Europe and Ireland what countries are on our MHQ list, his own fault for not checking

• Registered Users Posts: 193 ✭✭rahmalec

Why isn't India on the list?

• Registered Users Posts: 741 ✭✭✭aziz

rahmalec wrote: »

Don’t worry,they will get around to it in a couple of weeks,just in time for it to be too late

• Registered Users Posts: 7,433 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

rahmalec wrote: »

Austria was on it from the start.

India the worst at the moment.

Sure we'll wait a while.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,048 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

There is nothing stopping him from walking out the door. Nothing. None of the people in the hotel will stop him.

Really?
    He's been told he can't go back to the airport. besides I assume he'll need a travel PCR cert to fly back to Amsterdam- should he walk out, rock up to Randox, get one, head back to the hotel, wait a day for the result and head back to the airport to board a flight?
    If he does all that, would he not be reported as absconding more than once and then what's the point of MHQ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭Tyrone212

In exclusive interview with the
    @nytimes
    European Commission president
    @vonderleyen
    says United States vaccinated tourists will be welcomed to the E.U. this summer.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

This is appalling.
    A Dutch man comes over to do his job, is forced into MHQ for unwittingly admitting he had been in Belgium.
    Is forcibly detained and now is not allowed to go home until he has spent 2 weeks in Hotel Jail.

https://twitter.com/IrishTimes/status/1386360752634740743

I baffled at the way we are determined to destroy our FDI prospects at all costs

The chap was here to carry out essential repairs only he had the expertise to do

I’m telling ye lads we will regret this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

I baffled at the way we are determined to destroy our FDI prospects at all costs

The chap was here to carry out essential repairs only he had the expertise to do

How do you know only he has the expertise to do the work? You think he is the only guy in the world that can do it?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,882 ✭✭✭acequion

By "we" you mean who exactly? Please do not associate rational minded people of which you are one yourself with the baying mob who spawned this abomination! There is no "we" and certainly no being in this together with those people. They may or may not regret it, we will all suffer for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

Not to mention people working here who cannot service contracts in other countries. It is off the wall economic suicide driven by RTÉ and the loony left.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

So the wishes of 1 should trump the needs of the many?
    This is undoubtedly a sad case, but there is no guarantee that this person entering the country is not carrying some variant that could rip through society. There will always be extreme cases and everyone thinks that theirs is special, but we need to try and contain the situation and look at it in the big scheme of things. There have been thousands of unnecessary deaths in the past year and hundreds of thousands of people haven't been able to say goodbye to their loved ones. It's a horrible situation, but what makes this one more important than another similar case?
    It's yet another example of how chronically flawed the system is. Given the absolutely tiny number of cases identified, if this was being driven by the HSE they would have long abandoned it as a very poor use of resources. Let's not forget that the people we are being protected from will be at risk once they are released.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭IngazZagni

is_that_so wrote: »
    It's yet another example of how chronically flawed the system is. Given the absolutely tiny number of cases identified, if this was being driven by the HSE they would have long abandoned it as a very poor use of resources. Let's not forget that the people we are being protected from will be at risk once they are released.

This guy is also only there because he was too honest. Ryanairs CEO even hinted at saying some people are simply travelling from Belgium to the Netherlands and flying out of Amsterdam and not admitting having been in Belgium. The Irish authorities have no way of knowing and have to take someone's word for it in most circumstances.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,252 ✭✭✭plodder

How much longer can the system last for? The EU seems to be intending to allow vaccinated US tourists in this Summer, and pointedly insisting it applies to all 27 members.

https://www.nytimes.com/2021/04/25/world/europe/american-travel-to-europe.html

• Registered Users Posts: 261 ✭✭Accidentally

aziz wrote: »
    Don’t worry,they will get around to it in a couple of weeks,just in time for it to be too late

This just points out how useless and shambolic the whole thing is. It's obvious that India is a mess, but we have to follow procedures and cover our asses. Can't be making an actual decision, now can we.

Really?
    He's been told he can't go back to the airport. besides I assume he'll need a travel PCR cert to fly back to Amsterdam- should he walk out, rock up to Randox, get one, head back to the hotel, wait a day for the result and head back to the airport to board a flight?
    If he does all that, would he not be reported as absconding more than once and then what's the point of MHQ?

I presume the PCR tests taken during his MHQ would suffice for re-entry to Amsterdam, no?

The point of MHQ is for the govt to look like they know what they are doing. Due to the long list of exemptions and the short list of countries on "the list" it will be deemed by the govt to be a failure and no longer fit for purpose and it will be canned in June against the advice of public health doctors and the opposition.

The govt will lose the next election so the end result will be fairly progressive

I presume the PCR tests taken during his MHQ would suffice for re-entry to Amsterdam, no?

No, to fly you need a travel cert with your passport number etc on the certificate.
    The HSE don’t issue such certificates to fly. I doubt a text message from a random number would be very useful.

No, to fly you need a travel cert with your passport number etc on the certificate.
    The HSE don’t issue such certificates to fly. I doubt a text message from a random number would be very useful.

It's not a random number though is it? It's the official HSE number... I know a few friends who came home for Christmas last year from England, they are all in professions where they get regularly tested by the NHS (Nurses, Doctors and Teachers) and a text sufficed for them getting in to Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 7,643 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

It's insanity.

Whatever about MHQ in general (and I certainly have issues with that as well), defending this case in particular is unbelievable.

It's not a random number though is it? It's the official HSE number... I know a few friends who came home for Christmas last year from England, they are all in professions where they get regularly tested by the NHS (Nurses, Doctors and Teachers) and a text sufficed for them getting in to Ireland

You didn’t need any test to get into Ireland at Christmas.
    We only brought the need for a pre flight test in January. You’re supposed to get a private test to fly the company issues a certificate with passport number, flight number etc.

In January all building sites other than the "essential" ones were closed house building was not considered essential but FDI construction was so to say we are determined to "destroy our FDI prospects" is completely untrue

You didn’t need any test to get into Ireland at Christmas.
    We only brought the need for a pre flight test in January. You’re supposed to get a private test to fly the company issues a certificate with passport number, flight number etc.

I didn't fly myself but the rules did state you needed a PCR 3 days before and 5 days after which they all managed to do via the NHS who take the PCRs by post and text out the results... In saying that they definitely weren't followed up on the 5 day post-landing test and might not have been checked pre-departure

• Registered Users Posts: 473 ✭✭Ramasun

Has anyone flown out of Dublin airport recently?

Are they still issuing fines for trips to the "dentist" in Tenerife?

I didn't fly myself but the rules did state you needed a PCR 3 days before and 5 days after which they all managed to do via the NHS who take the PCRs by post and text out the results... In saying that they definitely weren't followed up on the 5 day post-landing test and might not have been checked pre-departure

It’s clear you really don’t know what you are talking about. Ireland only began requiring a pre flight negative PCR test for arriving passengers on January 16th 2021.
    Before that you could just walk through with the passenger locator form and a promise to restrict your movements.

The test for flying needs to state the exact time the sample was taken which needs to be no more than 72 hours before arriving.
    Most countries require the certificate to also state your passport number and incoming flight number (including the Netherlands, I know).

A text from the HSE or NHS does not suffice as it’s too easily manipulated/falsified.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,252 ✭✭✭plodder

In January all building sites other than the "essential" ones were closed house building was not considered essential but FDI construction was so to say we are determined to "destroy our FDI prospects" is completely untrue
    It could be causing problems for major projects like Intel where pretty much all the specialist equipment would be supplied from outside Ireland, eg from the US. Never mind US management who might want to pop over and see how their billions are being spent. Certainly, the longer it goes on the bigger a problem it will be. I can't see it lasting more than a month or two.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,888 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

interesting comment from Von Der Leyen
    “The Americans, as far as I can see, use European Medicines Agency-approved vaccines,” she said. “This will enable free movement and travel to the European Union.

“Because one thing is clear: All 27 member states will accept, unconditionally, all those who are vaccinated with vaccines that are approved by EMA.”
    https://www.thejournal.ie/ursula-von-der-leyen-5420142-Apr2021/

ooooooooooo.
    Tony wont like that

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,641 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

https://www.thejournal.ie/ursula-von-der-leyen-5420142-Apr2021/

ooooooooooo.
    Tony wont like that

Vaccinated travellers are currently permitted to travel to Ireland without having to do MHQ. They still have to quarantine at home and I don’t think the EU can influence this

• Registered Users Posts: 7,888 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

faceman wrote: »
    Vaccinated travellers are currently permitted to travel to Ireland without having to do MHQ. They still have to quarantine at home and I don’t think the EU can influence this
    wouldnt "unconditionally" mean with no conditions, as in no quarantine required ?

Either way, it is meaningless to the normal working person in Ireland or the EU (or anywhere in the world outside of UK/ US/ Israel) to have qurantine free travel for the vaccinated as we will be waiting until mid to late summer or early autumn to be fully vaccinated, so no quarantine/ test free travel for the tax-paying masses.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,908 ✭✭✭zom

Greece, Spain and Portugal have to be able to start paying their multibillion debts somehow..

• Registered Users Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭joseywhales

This is slightly unrelated but is she not overstating her power as eu commisioner? member states agree to freedom of movement for eu citizens but we still have sovereignty of access by all non-eu nationals? The EU is not a state.