Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can we have some fcuking control on the airports from high risk countries please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭Tazz T

Rodin wrote: »
    Regarding the Jack Lambert study with low numbers of cases linked to travel..

It is thought 90% of cases now are the UK variant.
    EVERY one of those is linked to travel.
    The UK variant didn't swim here or come in on an easterly.

Even Australia with their zero covid strategy didn't escape the UK variant. No one did.

Incidentally patient zero in France has been linked to a fish consignment from China. You want to stop all imports too.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,642 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Regarding the Jack Lambert study with low numbers of cases linked to travel..

It is thought 90% of cases now are the UK variant.
    EVERY one of those is linked to travel.
    The UK variant didn't swim here or come in on an easterly.

Why don’t you challenge him on it seeing as you know better than one of Ireland’s top infectious disease specialists? He’s on Twitter and his email address is in the public domain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

Minister for Justice Helen McEntee has said the introduction of mandatory hotel quarantining for arrivals into the country will be ready in “three to four weeks”
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/growing-covid-19-cases-in-young-people-due-to-visits-for-a-cup-of-tea-not-house-parties-hse-says-1.4491622

I'm done with Ireland as soon as I can escape it

It's a shambles

ShineOn7 wrote: »

It’s not as easy as it was for the UK, sitting outside of the EU. You can’t just put a German citizen, with a right of residence in Ireland, into quarantine without substantive changes in law. I assume that’s why no other EU country has considered it

Not saying that the government is covering themselves in glory here (and I wish they had done it sooner from certain countries and provided a more sensible framework for travel to others), but it can’t just be railroaded in

• Registered Users Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭Banana Republic 1

Remember the overnight bank guarantee and the bond holder bailout thing, it’s outrageous the langer holding their doing.

It’s not as easy as it was for the UK, sitting outside of the EU. You can’t just put a German citizen, with a right of residence in Ireland, into quarantine without substantive changes in law. I assume that’s why no other EU country has considered it

Not saying that the government is covering themselves in glory here (and I wish they had done it sooner from certain countries and provided a more sensible framework for travel to others), but it can’t just be railroaded in

And yet:

They've no problem introducing legislation so they can fine people 2,000 Euros if they leave their own country

And yet:

They've no problem introducing legislation so they can fine people 2,000 Euros if they leave their own country

I’m no lawyer but I suspect that that is easier to do than pass legislation to involuntarily detain a citizen of another EU country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭doublejobbing 2

faceman wrote: »
    Why don’t you challenge him on it seeing as you know better than one of Ireland’s top infectious disease specialists? He’s on Twitter and his email address is in the public domain.

I'm not one of Ireland's most eminent epidemiologists yet in June 2020 I predicted exactly what was going to happen in January 2021.

Dya think maybe some of these lads say things their employers want to hear, per chance?

Some good points getting raised on the Reddit Ireland thread about it
    It's become more an more evident how late to the party Ireland has been in all of this.

We were late to enforce masks We were late to implement full lockdowns And embarrassingly late on proper quarantining travelers.
    This should have been well and truly handled by last summer. The fact they are still pissing around with this while no one can even go for a hike is fcuking disgraceful.

I'd say they are just delaying it to a point where a chunk of people have been vaccinated and then they can say what's the point of quarantine and just not bother.

The latter is exactly what they're up to

What do they take us for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,058 ✭✭✭✭josip

Some good points getting raised on the Reddit Ireland thread about it

https://www.reddit.com/r/ireland/comments/lpl1r2/mandatory_hotel_quarantine_still_three_to_four/

The latter is exactly what they're up to

What do they take us for?

Any person living in the real world has known that the €2,000/quarantine would be rarely enforced if ever.
    It's been said on here enough times by many posters.
    It has a deterrent/political value only.
    This is the way.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,642 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

U.K. aiming to have international travel restrictions lifted by 17th May and all restrictions by 21st June.

https://www.rte.ie/news/2021/0222/1198499-england-restrictions-easing/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭DaSilva

U.K. aiming to have international travel restrictions lifted by 17th May and all restrictions by 21st June.

https://www.rte.ie/news/2021/0222/1198499-england-restrictions-easing/

Implicitly recognizing that the variants don't really pose a threat to a vaccinated population

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

I don't use twitter and I don't need my intellect validated by someone else.
    In our case, on an island, everyone with the UK variant only has it because it was brought here by air or sea. It really is that simple. We cannot keep out potential other variants unless we completely ban international travel.
    No country is doing that but we are not doing anything remotely near enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,935 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

e it was brought here by air or sea. It really is that simple. We cannot keep out potential other variants unless we completely ban international travel. No country is doing that but we are not doing anything remotely near enough.

Stopping Cargo by land and sea would help too, keep the variant out by being transported on food products and truck drivers also..we can grow and pick all our own food in Ireland for the next few years!
    And seal the border with N.I too.

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    Stopping Cargo by land and sea would help too, keep the variant out by being transported on food products and truck drivers also..we can grow and pick all our own food in Ireland for the next few years!

The country doesn't have the resources to seal the NI border. I think there are over 300 crossing points.
    Doesn't even have the Garda resources to enforce the restrictions currently in place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Stop your hyperbolic soundbites. Cargo will keep on trucking. Unless you are advocating another famine. You are becoming a parody at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

I personally hope the legalization for mandatory hotel quarantine doesn't make it.

What happens if an extremist government ever gets into power here in the future? God knows what it could be used for. Our parliamentarians need to be bold and brave and reject this populist piece being put into law.

Stand up for freedom and don't budge on the whim of an angry mob.

I personally hope the legalization for mandatory hotel quarantine doesn't make it.

What happens if an extremist government ever gets into power here in the future? God knows what it could be used for. Our parliamentarians need to be bold and brave and reject this populist piece being put into law.

Stand up for freedom and don't budge on the whim of an angry mob.

Yeah and support the beef barons. Salt of the earth them lot. I sympathise with business owners like this one. Who have to suffer due to reckless policies all in the name of cheap labour.

https://twitter.com/PaulTreyvaud/status/1363832229621862400?s=20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,935 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Stop your hyperbolic soundbites. Cargo will keep on trucking. Unless you are advocating another famine. You are becoming a parody at this stage.

Are you a mod now? If not then there's a place you can put your personal opinion, the sun isn't shining there...

If you want to keep going on like a pantomime then by all means carry on. Not my place but trying to say that implementing mandatory hotel quarantine will mean we will starve is coming across quite desperate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭ginoginelli

Yeah and support the beef barons. Salt of the earth them lot. I sympathise with business owners like this one. Who have to suffer due to reckless policies all in the name of cheap labour.

Restaurant owners are livid. And rightfully so. They likely would have been permanently open since the summer if we had of had proper travel restrictions.

Not sure Paul is putting his anger in the right areas

https://twitter.com/irishexaminer/status/1363885027772268546?s=21

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

Yet we can threaten people with jail for leaving the country.

There's also no reason the legal groundwork couldn't have been done months ago to have it ready in case it was needed. There have been plenty of cases of new strains before now, was only a matter of time before one of them required seriously consider mandatory quarantine. But nobody can ever accuse the Irish government of being proactive.

Aside from that, there still seems to be no enforcement, or even mention, of home quarantines for people arriving from other countries. Something which some other EU countries had 8 months ago.

Just more farcical incompetence.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭Banana Republic 1

MOH wrote: »
    Yet we can threaten people with jail for leaving the country.

There's also no reason the legal groundwork couldn't have been done months ago to have it ready in case it was needed. There have been plenty of cases of new strains before now, was only a matter of time before one of them required seriously consider mandatory quarantine. But nobody can ever accuse the Irish government of being proactive.

Aside from that, there still seems to be no enforcement, or even mention, of home quarantines for people arriving from other countries. Something which some other EU countries had 8 months ago.

Just more farcical incompetence.

The no enforcement thing is endemic in Irish culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Mod

You can find somewhere else to put your posts too, because it won't be here.

Threadbanned.

The no enforcement thing is endemic in Irish culture.

And the people behave suitably as there is no fear of being caught/punished.

These are strange times we're living in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

These are strange times we're living in

a typical American over reaction to what could have been peaceful. resisting arrest and screaming. I bet theres more to this than trying to get out of the country.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,214 ✭✭✭saabsaab

a typical American over reaction to what could have been peaceful. resisting arrest and screaming. I bet theres more to this than trying to get out of the country.

Not sure if he's US but there is an American twang alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,680 ✭✭✭Feisar

If only he said, “but I’m an American”. So close to being a classic. What a tit.

First they came for the socialists...