Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The National Party

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭.anon.

GT89 wrote: »
    How many people out of the total electoral base engage in Twitter I'd imagine a very tiny percentage.

An even tinier percentage share the racist views of the National Party.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭GT89

.anon. wrote: »
    An even tinier percentage share the racist views of the National Party.

When people are mowed down by Islamic terrorists on the streets of Dublin those views might change.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

When people are mowed down by Islamic terrorists on the streets of Dublin those views might change.

We'll all become rascist xenophobes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭.anon.

I think the word you're looking for is 'if', not 'when'. 'When' makes it sound like it's something that racists are eagerly anticipating. Are you disappointed that it hasn't happened?

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

L1011 wrote: »
    Second wife, yes

You'd think he'd be the type to be steadfastly opposed to divorce...............

• Registered Users Posts: 40,457 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

You'd think he'd be the type to be steadfastly opposed to divorce...............

oh he was. Until it affected him personally then he had a change of heart

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/barrett-denies-hypocrisy-over-divorce-u-turn-ppqh60lgf

• Registered Users Posts: 460 ✭✭Smegging hell

He likes to portray himself as a devout Catholic and 'pro-life' but he lets the mask slip sometimes. Like when he gloated about the 1980 killing of Archbishop Óscar Romero of El Salvador by far-right paramilitaries on the day Romero was canonised in 2018. 'Pro-life' indeed!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4 XAndroid

That's good banter between Hazel and Rebecca

He likes to portray himself as a devout Catholic and 'pro-life' but he lets the mask slip sometimes. Like when he gloated about the 1980 killing of Archbishop Óscar Romero of El Salvador by far-right paramilitaries on the day Romero was canonised in 2018. 'Pro-life' indeed!

The National Party are a secular party. Justin Barrett also hates Pope Francis.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,367 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

More amazed he managed to find two women willing to marry him.

The national.party also oppose holding a border poll.......while pertaining to want an ireland for the irish

This is biggest political issue facing ireland in medium term and they are opposed to it....kind if hard to shake the impression,they are agent provocateur for british interests here,given their senior membership is heavily ex-british army.....and their opposition to a border poll makes this brand of patriotism stink to me

The national.party also oppose holding a border poll.......while pertaining to want an ireland for the irish

This is biggest political issue facing ireland in medium term and they are opposed to it....kind if hard to shake the impression,they are agent provocateur for british interests here,given their senior membership is heavily ex-british army.....and their opposition to a border poll makes this brand of patriotism stink to me

They are opposed to it because they are against the idea of changing our flag, national anthem etc.

So their solition is to lock a million plus irish under british rule??

Face it mate,they are a trouble making front for mi5 here,ive seen enough of their leadership exposed as ex-british army to know its type front mi5 would push

Its not their policies are inherently wrong (some are quiet reasonable)....its to my eyes them.and irxit front are just rebadged british ideas....i never seen one single irexit poster highlighting the biggest gripe with the eu in ireland,that tells enough to me

So their solition is to lock a million plus irish under british rule??

Face it mate,they are a trouble making front for mi5 here,ive seen enough of their leadership exposed as ex-british army to know its type front mi5 would push

Its not their policies are inherently wrong (some are quiet reasonable)....its to my eyes them.and irxit front are just rebadged british ideas....i never seen one single irexit poster highlighting the biggest gripe with the eu in ireland,that tells enough to me

They pretend not to know Niall McConnell and Síol na hÉireann because Mr McConnell was a bit too blatant about the connection between the 'Irish' far-right and Jim Dowson's loyalists.

• Registered Users Posts: 69,006 ✭✭✭✭L1011

He hates Pope Francis because he's not JP II

It is an ultra-right wing Catholic party, not secular by any stretch of the imagination.

Wife II insists on Twitter that she's his first wife. Presumably because she actually believes a Catholic annulment (I assume this is her basis) vanishes away the legal divorce he obtained.

Fairly sure he had kids with the first wife; if the marriage never existed does that mean he had sex outside marriage :eek:

They pretend not to know Niall McConnell and Síol na hÉireann because Mr McConnell was a bit too blatant about the connection between the 'Irish' far-right and Jim Dowson's loyalists.

I was unaware of this,but it seems entirely plausible

I seen them down the town in waterford last year,holding a protest,and went along to see what its all about.....them lads had no interest in talking to.the locals (some who would be reasonable sympathetic),just wanted to take photos/videos,make some noise,....its middle aged political activism for facebook like/attention

Gaurds didnt put in/out,but republican sinn fein (another bunch of gowls) were selling papers down.the town the following weekend,and found emselves out numbered about 8 to 1????something not adding up here

Are you implying he's a sedevacantist? Because it's been claimed elsewhere, which makes the divorce even stranger. https://twitter.com/ResistanceIrish/status/1317134591019409409

I think Gemma is the controlled opposition that so she accuses so many of being. Really a stab in the back to all the National Party members who stood with her last year outside Google for over a month.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,637 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

What a horrid little man!

🙈🙉🙊

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 10,308 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

The reality is that the average Irish voter is more politically aware than most, it’s a common trait of countries with a sovereign people. It’s why parties like the NP have never, over the last 100 years, managed to established in the state and never well.

Now if it makes you happy you can pretend that it would be different if you were better known or that some events will make them see you in a different light to your heart’s content, but it’s never going to happen.

Hating someone just makes you twisted and bitter not secular. You clearly are having difficulties with this topic, otherwise give the history of the people involved, you would not come out with such a statement in their defense.

Jim2007 wrote: »
    The reality is that the average Irish voter is more politically aware than most, it’s a common trait of countries with a sovereign people. It’s why parties like the NP have never, over the last 100 years, managed to established in the state and never well.

Now if it makes you happy you can pretend that it would be different if you were better known or that some events will make them see you in a different light to your heart’s content, but it’s never going to happen.

There has never been a demand for a party like the NP before in this country as Ireland has historically been a homegenous society. The fact of tbe matter is mass immigration has been a failure in almost every country it has been implemented and most European countries now have a nationalist/anti immigration party with seats in parliament.

I'm not saying the National Party will be the party to fill that void I do think some of their views are extreme like their support for the death penalty and perhaps some of their views on abortion. I think if they toned it down to have more of a focus on immigration and possibly other things like taxation they could do better.

But ultimately I think there will be a nationalist anti immigration with seats in the Dail in years to come. It could be the National Party but more likely if they water down some of their more extreme views, it could be the IFP, it could an entirely new entity altogether or it could be an existing party with changed views possibly Sinn Fein as it seems a lot of their voter base would have anti immigration views but not the party itself.

• Registered Users Posts: 524 ✭✭✭DelaneyIn

.anon. wrote: »
    I think the word you're looking for is 'if', not 'when'. 'When' makes it sound like it's something that racists are eagerly anticipating. Are you disappointed that it hasn't happened?

It’s already happened.
    A Nigerian man who drove down Henry Street in Dublin at 60 mph knocking down shoppers like "skittles in a bowling alley" has been jailed for five years by Judge Elizabeth Dunne.

Jacob Odubajo sped down the crowded pedestrianised street without slowing or swerving to avoid people before ploughing into the back of a stationary construction van, Dublin Circuit Criminal Court was told .

The incident happened at lunch time and witnesses described a Ford Escort turning from O'Connell Street and the engine being revved. Horrified onlookers were thrown into the air before the final crash just outside Arnotts department store.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-30072830.html

• Registered Users Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

There has never been a demand for a party like the NP before in this country as Ireland has historically been a homegenous society.

Until the Norse arrived... and the Danes... and the Welsh/Normans...and the Scots/Norse...and the Anglo/Normans....and the English....and the French Protestants....and the lowland Scots...and more English... then the Germans and Dutch arrived to make pottery and cheese...

But everyone spoke Gaelige ... so...um...
    Hang on, most of those died. Hardly anyone speaks it now.

By 'homegenous' (sic) do you mean Anglicisation was violently imposed so everyone had to be as English as possible or face the consequences ?
    I ask as historically that's is what happened.

No need for a NP before as everyone was being as English as they could!

• Registered Users Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

DelaneyIn wrote: »

One Nigerian does not a horde of Islamists make - is he even Muslim?
    One of the people injured is Spanish - is it ok if the victims are non-nationals?
    Asking for a friend...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Whatever about the National Party, the bolded bit is absolutely damning of Irish people if true. Governed by leeches, shysters, gangsters and criminals since the year dot and the same parties voted in again and again, with no demands for accountability or punishment for rules flouted and laws broken.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    Until the Norse arrived... and the Danes... and the Welsh/Normans...and the Scots/Norse...and the Anglo/Normans....and the English....and the French Protestants....and the lowland Scots...and more English... then the Germans and Dutch arrived to make pottery and cheese...
    To be fair the first lot you can just label Vikings/Normans, then English and Scots(which were still mostly Normans until the plantations) and it didn't exactly go well for the locals. However modern multiculturalism is a very different and more recent(20 years in Ireland) thing and hasn't gone too well in every European nation it's been tried in. Not least for many of the immigrant populations, where some demographics cluster around the bottom end of the socioeconomic scale and do so generationally and we've already seen signs of this in this country after only two decades.

Controlled immigration of skilled people from similar enough socioeconomic and cultural backgrounds is a positive, immigration of unskilled people is not. The latter made up a large part of the immigration of the late 90's, early 00's. A loophole that was closed by a vote of the Irish electorate in a result that was a bigger majority than any other referendum in the last 20 years. Even in traditionally progressive leaning areas like South Dublin it was nigh on three quarters of the vote. Applying the current criteria to those who came twenty years ago would result in nearly 100% of them being refused.

And on that strong majority vote, there has been talk of rolling it back to something like it was, which would be against the democratic wishes of the Irish electorate. One of the reasons muppets like Trump get in and things like Brexit get through is because there can be a feeling of a fair chunk of the electorate not being listened to or represented in politics and even media* and that could most certainly happen here with a less obviously odious and frankly silly crowd that the national party fields. And that's not good.

And further on those other referenda that passed. Yes they passed thankfully, but they didn't pass by 90% or anything like it. On the same sex marriage vote nearly 40% said No for example, repeal of the 8th was 30%. We may like to think we're moving forward, but there remains a fair chunk of the Irish electorate that could be swayed by more conservative, even right wing leaning politics and I can see that increasing as time goes on. Doubly so if the expected post covid recession kicks in. Consider the aforementioned repeal of the Irish citizenship law vote. That was passed by a large majority at the height of the celtic tiger when confidence was high and our pockets were full.

So I'd not be so cocksure that a more conservative right leaning politic couldn't get established here.

*look at the current clusterfook of American politics. The media and poll pundits had Biden romping home, but it's a very close run thing, even though Trump is a thundering moron and a dangerous one, he's still seen by many, close to half the US voting bloc, as an alternative, one that many appear to be reticent to admit to pollsters.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

There has never been a demand for a party like the NP before in this country

And judging from the most recent election results there is not now either, enough said. Enjoy your delusion, it’s all you.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,979 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I think Gemma is the controlled opposition that so she accuses so many of being. Really a stab in the back to all the National Party members who stood with her last year outside Google for over a month.

I don't think these groups even believe have the ****e they are peddling. Like you they've found a group to be part of for the moment. People to do something with . It doesn't matter the subject. It's just a coming together. Looking for kinship.

A weak link to the subject matter but also delighted that they get some attention at all. They delight in being in a little grouping and it's more attention than theyve ever had before in their lives. Ultimately thats all it is , a kind of reverse anti celebrity celebrity.

The same people would sign up for big brother in the morning.

Off to the next subject that gives them the same feelings of being needed.... Rinse repeat.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

And judging from the most recent election results there is not now either, enough said. Enjoy your delusion, it’s all you.
    Oh there is near zero support for them. Well, they're a bloody joke on every level. The earlier link to their Ard Fheis was cringe central and that's being nice about it. However that is not to say that there isn't potential support for a right leaning crowd that aren't a silly joke. Hell the guy who went from "who's he" in the last presidential election to coming second on polling day on the back of one comment on Travellers says much. Mostly that there exists a sizeable enough proportion of the Irish electorate that a) agreed with him and b) don't feel they're being listened to. Ireland has come a very long way over the last couple of decades, but that's no reason for us to get comfortable, even smug about it. It's easy to forget that for most of the 20th century Ireland was a very conservative, even "right wing" state, politic and culture and being "right on" is a very recent thing and going on referenda between 30-40% are still leaning that way.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.