Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship (Liam Mccarthy Cup) 2020

• Registered Users Posts: 61 ✭✭thepogues

formerlyET wrote: »
    Hate to say I told you so.... - called it in the first half.

I got 7 to 1.

The game has passed Cody tactically.

I'm not sure that was Cody's fault...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭Rolo2010

Kilkenny would get cleaned out by Limerick or Galway again.

Pity they bottled the second half, hahaha.

I can't understand why people still say that. They've already collapsed against Dublin this year in the second half.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

Congrats to Waterford. Better team on the day. No complaints. Hope they go all the way now.

Stephen Bennett deserves Hurler of the Year for keeping Waterford in that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,581 ✭✭✭bennyl10

I thought this was Kilkenny’s championship after the Galway game? Sure with some on this thread there was no point even playing the games!

Gwan Waterford! Absolutely delighted for them!

• Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭Walter Alright

benji79 wrote: »
    Kk could knock in another 3 goals yet

I really don’t think so, they got destroyed second half!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Chalk McHugh

I do feel a little silly for saying this game was done in the first half but that's how i genuinely felt. You can only call it as you see it and hindsight can make fools of any of us. I didn't see that second half near total 35 minute Waterford domination coming in a million years. Truly astonishing half of Deise hurling and i'm over the moon for them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭Speakerboxx

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Not quite!

Fairytale was correct though.

A Waterford fairytale!!

Some comeback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,205 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Poor old tyrell is distraught!!

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

Well done Waterford. Better team won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

Fair play to Waterford... ye always had the hurlers... unfortunately ye had managers who suffered from small man syndrome... thankfully there gone and now we are seeing the full potential of the team.... that was somme win... not too many teams come from 7pts down to beat kilkenny in any match not to mind an all ire semi final....

• Registered Users Posts: 6,018 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

No Tipp,Cork or Kilkenny in the final.

Nothing against any of them but it great to see other counties win.

That's surely the first time in a long time?

EDIT: 2018 LOL

• Registered Users Posts: 836 ✭✭✭blackwave

Well deserved Waterford win in the end. We looked dazed in the third quarter, lot of players went missing for us. Hope Waterford win it out now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭marvin80

Poor old tyrell is distraught!!

Delighted!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,558 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

2018: Limerick vs Galway
    2017; Galway vs Waterford

Was your first thought to go back hunting for that? Jesus.

Hahaha

• Registered Users Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

Galway vs Limerick was the final 2 years ago. Waterford vs Galway was the year before that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭Rolo2010

Galway and Limerick in 2018.

Galway and Waterford in 2017.

Saves kilkenny another hiding in the final.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

Looks like 3 games in 14 days strikes again, TJ and Callum Lyons been outstanding so far
    absolutely delighted to be wrong, that 3rd quarter performance from Waterford was stunning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭slegs

Either a repeat of Munster final or 2017 AI final then. Either way will be a very exciting AI final with Waterford chomping at the bit for that elusive big win

• Registered Users Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭C__MC

It's not a surprise really that kilkenny lost
    As I said here a few weeks back, kilkenny will always be competitive with cody at the helm and who they are but they aren't the force they once were, remarkable they even leinster

• Registered Users Posts: 293 ✭✭Swamp_Cat

Shattered. congrats to Waterford & hope you go on to bring home Liam. Is Brick available for the final? Thx to all the KK players & all involved for all the entertainment during a nightmare year. Congrats again PL

Julie catch a rabbit by its hare...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,293 ✭✭✭threeball

thepogues wrote: »
    I'm not sure that was Cody's fault...

Kk don't have the players now. Dublin nearly caught them. Gslway let them off the hook with 24 wides. Waterford looked like doing the same in the 1st half. Great second half display and kk went the other way.

Apart from TJ they offered nothing. Richie had his swan song against galway but hes been a pale shadow for 4yrs now. Fennelly is nearly always held by quality defenders these days. Any good players they have are in their defense.

• Registered Users Posts: 160 ✭✭cave_dweller

Congrats to Waterford! Some comeback from them. Lyons and Barron were good, but delighted for Gleeson in the second half. Really stood up and came through with great points and an outstanding work rate.

TJ aside Kk were a shambles in the second half.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭formerlyET

C__MC wrote: »
    It's not a surprise really that kilkenny lost
    As I said here a few weeks back, kilkenny will always be competitive with cody at the helm and who they are but they aren't the force they once were, remarkable they even leinster

The 'honesty' and 'genuineness' Cody brings makes sure of that. He always has the teams ready to battle.

Reid's free accuracy, ball winning, and distribution is papering over cracks though.

Wave after wave of running through the center and down the wings - and KK management couldn't do anything to stop it...

• Registered Users Posts: 133 ✭✭booterboy

Gutted same 2nd half performance against the Dubs,blessed against Galway.
    Still proud of the Kats.
    Well done The Neighbour's fully deserved annihilated us in 2nd half.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭formerlyET

I felt Waterford would need to start well tonight to have a chance. You cannot afford to hit so many bad wides, defend so poorly for the first goal and fall seven or eight behind against Kilkenny of all teams. And this with the likes of Colin Fennelly and Walter Walsh still to come on. I dont like writing a team off so early but knowing Kilkenny and how they thrive on crushing teams when on top i'm afraid the game is over.

:):):) This aged well... :D Just joking with you

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

I do feel a little silly for saying this game was done in the first half but that's how i genuinely felt. You can only call it as you see it and hindsight can make fools of any of us. I didn't see that second half near total 35 minute Waterford domination coming in a million years. Truly astonishing half of Deise hurling and i'm over the moon for them.

I said/felt the same. They looked listless and dead on their feet and could feel the same old story playing out again. Contemplated stopping watching and everything.

But Jesus they turned it around. I've never seen such a blend of skill and grit in a Waterford team at the same time.

When the mighty cats were reduced to attempting 60/70 metre potshots for most of the 2nd half I knew we had them mentally destroyed and twas only a matter of keeping it going.

EPIC RESULT.

The downside now is our CoVid rate will go mental for weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Thank **** for Hurling anyway. What a win for Waterford. That work rate was ridiculous. It was like they had an extra man for that second half. All of the panel contributed and Gleeson stepped up big time in second half after an awful 1st half.

It’s mad to think what a change in manager can produce considering they had no championship wins the last two years

• Registered Users Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Chalk McHugh

I said/felt the same. They looked listless and dead on their feet and could feel the same old story playing out again. Contemplated stopping watching and everything.

But Jesus they turned it around. I've never seen such a blend of skill and grit in a Waterford team at the same time.

When the mighty cats were reduced to attempting 60/70 metre potshots for most of the 2nd half I knew we had them mentally destroyed and twas only a matter of keeping it going.

EPIC RESULT.

The downside now is our CoVid rate will go mental for weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,558 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

I thought the final was supposed to be limerick v kilkenny? Or so it was said here, just to play that game and skip the semis

• Registered Users Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭I see sheep

Unreal 2nd half performance, well done Waterford, delighted for ye.
    We'll see ye for a repeat of '17 lads!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,451 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Fair play to Waterford. Incredible comeback and were always able to keep at least 2 points ahead once they got a bit of daylight between them.
    Fair play to Rathmolyon's Jack Fagan. Had a tough first half but was immense in the second. When was the last time a Meath native played in an All Ireland senior hurling final?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

Might be time for Cody to call it a day. Since 2016, it really looks like there's no plan B anymore.

In last year's All Ireland final, Tipperary scored 2-16 in the second half once they got on top. Dublin scored 2-15 in the semi final this year. Today, Waterford got 2-17. That would have been completely unheard of from any Kilkenny team pre-2016.

The half back line was completely overwhelmed in the second half. Any team that tried to reign high balls in would have been cleaned out by Kilkenny ten years ago. Today, Waterford got serious change and honestly could have had more goals.

There's a bit of dead wood drifting around the squad and a lot less star dust than ten years ago. A serious over reliance on TJ, Fennelly and Richie Hogan all who have very high mileage behind them. Once they move on (Richie may well do now) then there's a serious lack of star quality remaining.

The Leinster final was a fluke and Galway threw it away. That Kilkenny side is going absolutely nowhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Ref giving everything to Kilkenny

Missed a few calls for both sides.No way did Fergal Horgan favour either side IMO.
    Who'd be a referee with the oft unfair criticism directed at them?

Watching as a neutral.

Congratulations to Deise.Awesome second half.

Hard luck on the cats but I am sure even the most partisan Kilkenny supporter would not begrudge Waterford this victory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭91wx763

Stephen deservedly MOTM. And frank and fair in his radio 1 interview afterwards.

thelad95 wrote: »
    Might be time for Cody to call it a day. Since 2016, it really looks like there's no plan B anymore.

Cody should look at what Harte did and walk before he out stays his welcome.

Maybe he could take the Laois job, I’m sure they would love to have him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,558 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

In last year's All Ireland final, Tipperary scored 2-16 in the second half once they got on top. Dublin scored 2-15 in the semi final this year. Today, Waterford got 2-17. That would have been completely unheard of from any Kilkenny team pre-2016.

The half back line was completely overwhelmed in the second half. Any team that tried to reign high balls in would have been cleaned out by Kilkenny ten years ago. Today, Waterford got serious change and honestly could have had more goals.

There's a bit of dead wood drifting around the squad and a lot less star dust than ten years ago. A serious over reliance on TJ, Fennelly and Richie Hogan all who have very high mileage behind them. Once they move on (Richie may well do now) then there's a serious lack of star quality remaining.

The Leinster final was a fluke and Galway threw it away. That Kilkenny side is going absolutely nowhere.

I would say the biggest worry is that their three neighbours that play at this level all have a winning record over them recently. Wexford no longer fear Kilkenny like they once did and Kilkenny have struggled against that system, while Waterford have now beaten twice in the last two championship matches, having only ever beaten them once in their championship history before that.

And of course, Tipperary have beaten Kilkenny by a combined margin of 23 points in the last two AI finals they have faced each other.

Haven't seemed to adapt to teams that adopt a sweeper or play a running game. And their fitness seems below that of the top table too.

Fair play to Waterford. Incredible comeback and were always able to keep at least 2 points ahead once they got a bit of daylight between them.
    Fair play to Rathmolyon's Jack Fagan. Had a tough first half but was immense in the second. When was the last time a Meath native played in an All Ireland senior hurling final?

Is his mother not a kilkenny woman, did a cousin of his win a munster football medal last weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,293 ✭✭✭threeball

This KK side is a pale shadow of pre 2016. If anything they're overachieving under Cody

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭91wx763

Fred Daly wrote: »
    Is his mother not a kilkenny woman, did a cousin of his win a munster football medal last weekend.

And he's a cousin of the Cascarino boy from Slievekeale :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭HBC08

C__MC wrote: »
    Deserved win
    Waterford need to contain the hype now before the final
    That's their biggest challenge

Those boys looked like they're on a mission,not even mad celebration at the end.
    I'm from Mayo so only watcg the hurling from provencial onwards but am rarely dissappointed,what a game!
    Hope the Deise go on and do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Frankie Machine

TJ looked a bit stunned at the end and I wonder what we will do without him if he calls it a day. He may have realised that we are just drifting backwards.

Thanks to all the KK hurlers and set-up, we appreciate it.

Congratulations to the Déise, let's hope ye can push on now and win the final. Love to see ye win it.

Cahill is some man, fair play to him.

How is he Meath lad allowed play for Waterford. Is transferring club all a player needs to do or has he family there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭Coybig_

Hopefully we get Cahill back in 2022. For now happy to see him do well. He deserves this success, what he did with our underage groups over the last few years was absolutely spectacular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,011 ✭✭✭enricoh

sligeach wrote: »
    That should have been a yellow for Kilkenny number 2.

Had he been booked earlier? Cop out from the ref for it, as blatant a yellow possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,733 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

threeball wrote: »
    This KK side is a pale shadow of pre 2016. If anything they're overachieving under Cody

Plus one.

AI Final last year, Leinster Champions & semi final this year.

For the players they have they've done very well with big wins over Galway and Limerick this year and last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,554 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

threeball wrote: »

I agree. They are a decent side that probably wouldnt even have the few trophies they have since 2016 without him