Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

L’Oreal to remove the word “white” and “whitening from product labels.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Nigeria to change name to Blackeria

• Registered Users Posts: 6,505 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

joeguevara wrote: »
    e
    A black man in a bow tie, is consistently seen as a consistent symbol of a black man in servitude. Couple that with the fact that he is called Uncle, and the fact that rice plantations were manned by slaves in the US.

Isn't it mad how people think...I never once thought that, I assumed he was the original owner....I've to rethink everything now...is Captain Birdseye a pale male stale oppressor? Am I an oppressor for thinking that...it's hard to keep up!!!

Imagine looking at a black man in a tie when your mind thinks slave. Imagine thinking the word uncle has racist undertones.

Guy was a maitre d in a Chicago hotel multiple generations after slavery ended and he got paid for that photo. His name was Frank Brown. His face as been removed because modern day progressiveness has done a full loop back to removing black people from packaging.

The same people would have a problem if he was white. Looking forward to the mental gymnastics of KFC changing their logo. Bow tie obviously means wealth means wealth means slave owner means racism. Bellends.

• Registered Users Posts: 147 ✭✭Achebe

Wibbs wrote: »
    Retarded is a good example of how words can become verboten. Say "retarded" in a sentence and you get attacks of the vapours from many, say "imbecilic", or "cretinous" or "moronic" or "idiotic" and you have tumbleweed. Yet all are terms once used medically to describe various intellectual disabilities, but "retarded" alone has been marked out as the baddie that shouldn't be used.

Because only one of those was really associated with developmentally disabled people in common parlance.
    Wibbs wrote: »
    annnnd... you missed the point entirely. I dunno how, it was pretty clear. Again; "imbecilic", or "cretinous" or "moronic" or "idiotic" are also "medical terms that were commonly used for a person with an intellectual disability", but are not apparently offensive and would be among the 100's of other words that are acceptable.

Retarded has been jumped on - and quite recently too, mostly from the US and spread from there- as the bad word. Tropic Thunder's never go full retard scene is from 2008 and would never get a green light in Hollywood today. Never go full moron would likely pass muster, until someone somewhere had another attack of the vapours over that, and on we roll. I just find it interesting how infectious such shifts are and how quickly they become diktat, particularly on the internet.

That scene was deliberately provocative at the time. I was in secondary school in the mid 2000s and that word was already considered beyond the pale by many people. You're absolutely daft if you think it just became offensive since then.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,077 ✭✭✭joeguevara

Imagine looking at a black man in a tie when your mind thinks slave. Imagine thinking the word uncle has racist undertones.

Guy was a maitre d in a Chicago hotel multiple generations after slavery ended and he got paid for that photo. His name was Frank Brown. His face as been removed because modern day progressiveness has done a full loop back to removing black people from packaging.

The same people would have a problem if he was white. Looking forward to the mental gymnastics of KFC changing their logo. Bow tie obviously means wealth means wealth means slave owner means racism. Bellends.

Does it bother you. Do you feel better if you have a black man promoting your white rice?

Is it worse that I never really noticed that he was Black, and just bought the rice because of the bright packaging? (although I only bought it twice. Didn't like the rice overall)

I'm guessing some people would be offended that I never really paid attention to his skin color. It didn't matter to me what color he was. Do people really pay that much attention to packaging, or advertising?

It never occurred to me that he was black. He was just a friendly smiling figure. That's generally how people who've never been racist view the world. I never had to force myself to change my opinions.

Is it worse that I never really noticed that he was Black, and just bought the rice because of the bright packaging? (although I only bought it twice. Didn't like the rice overall)

I'm guessing some people would be offended that I never really paid attention to his skin color. It didn't matter to me what color he was. Do people really pay that much attention to packaging, or advertising?

I just think its bizarre people getting annoyed if packaging or advertising is changed. Couldnt care less what a company wants to do.

Ditto... but then, advertising/packaging never really strongly influenced my desire to buy one product over another. I just don't pay attention to such things.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,078 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

Isn't it mad how people think...I never once thought that, I assumed he was the original owner....I've to rethink everything now...is Captain Birdseye a pale male stale oppressor? Am I an oppressor for thinking that...it's hard to keep up!!!

i have a theory that it is the racist people (subconsciously probably) that make these links.

like you said, it never occurred to me either :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

its not them changing the packaging thats the problem, its why they're doing it.

if we went the other way and started putting minstrels on packaging or re introduced something like say this product : https://scontent-dub4-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/18922194_1391950190872267_5285955687755150096_n.jpg?_nc_cat=107&_nc_sid=e007fa&_nc_ohc=BgcG-aNMoNMAX93EKR3&_nc_ht=scontent-dub4-1.xx&oh=60396bf5cb915372b8bfa5f9b23737c9&oe=5F9169E0

would you see why people would have an issue ?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭Feisar

e
    A black man in a bow tie, is consistently seen as a consistent symbol of a black man in servitude. Couple that with the fact that he is called Uncle, and the fact that rice plantations were manned by slaves in the US.

I thought Uncle was a deference.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Do you equally think it's bizarre that some people got annoyed with the packaging the way it was? That is the reason it's being changed isn't it?

AllForIt wrote: »
    Do you equally think it's bizarre that some people got annoyed with the packaging the way it was? That is the reason it's being changed isn't it?

I don't think its because its about people getting annoyed. Its because people have a deep seeded past connected to racist abuse. Anyone who thinks its about some sort of annoyance hasn't a clue. As do I, that is why I don't have an issue if its being changed.

its not them changing the packaging thats the problem, its why they're doing it.

if we went the other way and started putting minstrels on packaging or re introduced something like say this product : https://scontent-dub4-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/18922194_1391950190872267_5285955687755150096_n.jpg?_nc_cat=107&_nc_sid=e007fa&_nc_ohc=BgcG-aNMoNMAX93EKR3&_nc_ht=scontent-dub4-1.xx&oh=60396bf5cb915372b8bfa5f9b23737c9&oe=5F9169E0

would you see why people would have an issue ?

I don't have an issue with Uncle Bens changing their packaging. If you have an issue with taking a ficticious black man of a package, go buy Ku Klux Kreme Rice. Problem sorted.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I don't think its because its about people getting annoyed. Its because people have a deep seeded past connected to racist abuse. Anyone who thinks its about some sort of annoyance hasn't a clue. As do I, that is why I don't have an issue if its being changed.

It's all the same thing, it's all some emotional reaction to something. If it is even a genuine reaction at all because the way you put it all sounds a bit melodramatic to me.

AllForIt wrote: »
    It's all the same thing, it's all some emotional reaction to something. If it is even a genuine reaction at all because the way you put it all sounds a bit melodramatic to me.

Its nothing to do with the way I put it. Im a white guy from Tipp. Thats the whole point. Nothing to do with me. And anyone who tries to put themselves in their shoes is being ridiculous.

but uncle ben on the rice had nothing to do with racism, nobody even slightly felt it was racist until this 'woke' year. It was grand for 77 years and I've never once heard it referred to as racist until lately.

if the brand just wanted a change then that would be fine, but they've explained that is not the case, they're being motivated by the outrage of a small perpetually offended minority.

that people can look at the uncle bens box of rice and derive racist vibes from the branding is the real ill here.

If you have an issue with taking a ficticious black man of a package, go buy Ku Klux Kreme Rice. Problem sorted.
    "Ku Klux Kreme Rice" is also fiction.

biko wrote: »

the fact that was the posters parallel to uncle ben remaining on the rice says everything I needed to know...

Ah jaysus, was using it as an example.

Just don't make things up and you won't get pulled up on it.

What are you talking about. If thats pulling me up on something, then you have little to be doing.

Anyway these things aren't a fiction: https://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2015/feb/17/hull-krispy-kreme-kkk-wednesdays-promotion

Shove that in your pipe and smoke it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

Anyway these things aren't a fiction: https://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2015/feb/17/hull-krispy-kreme-kkk-wednesdays-promotion

Yes, it is fictitious. Once again, people like you love to ignore intent. Krispy Kreme weren't promoting the Klan for gods sake, it was a marketing mess up at worst.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

TomTomTim wrote: »
    Yes, it is fictitious. Once again, people like you love to ignore intent. Krispy Kreme weren't promoting the Klan for gods sake, it was a marketing mess up at worst.

People like me? All I said is that I didn't give a sh1t if Uncle Bens change their logo. I don't get annoyed if I dont get to eat rice without a black man. And where did I say anything about the KKK? I just said eat Ku Klux Kreme Rice if you want. Triggered much. And KKK wednesdays is a marketing mess up? Kracker.

So why didn't you just mention those instead of coming up with something yourself?

Remember, for next time:
    Research - good
    Making it up - bad

So why didn't you just mention those instead of coming up with something yourself?

Remember, for next time:
    Research - good
    Making it up - bad

Do you have a list of racist brands you like?

Me, i don't particularly like compiling lists of them. Nor do i care if brands want to get rid of them.

Remember, for next time:
    Research - good
    Making it up - bad

Just for you.

https://www.indiamart.com/giriimodern-ricemill/

https://www.wsoctv.com/news/local/bags-filled-with-rice-candy-kkk-flyer-found-in-alexander-co-yards/651521537/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

i have a theory that it is the racist people (subconsciously probably) that make these links.

like you said, it never occurred to me either :confused:

Yeah, this is an interesting point.

I once listened to an interview with a British woman of Pakistani descent who talked about how oppressive she found her time as a BBC intern. She was reminded of her ethnicity all the time and was made to feel like that was all there was to her. She wasn't an individual, she a box to be ticked. And this was from apparently progressive colleagues. She recalled one particularly demoralising incident where one of the higher ups told her that she'd only get so far in life because of her ethnicity. And this was him trying to be supportive and right-on. Seriously. Her bosses were singling her out based on her ethnicity under the guise of inclusiveness.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

2+2=5

🙈🙉🙊