Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mickey Dee sells a house!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Pkiernan wrote: »
    Gotta love the Lear Jet Liberals!

Pulling the wool over lefty eyes for 50 years!

Saps.

That's making the false assumption people who care about equality and fairness take a vow of poverty. It's a fairytale created to scare little boys into voting for the corporations friends.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,126 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

They wont print that one, same reason a famous boyband producer doesn’t have it printed about him either, media outlets printing it would be blackballed from a lot of PR and music events
    Anyone want to PM me with the details?

Bowie wrote: »
    What bollocks. He sold his gaff. Would you have him give it away? What kind of a f***ing ejit do you want as President?
    Oh a left leaning man sold a house :)

Tbf he dont need the money (nor the house),why not donate it to the state?

Even.if state sold it for the 470K,then use that money to build 3 social houses and take people off housing register/direct provision?

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

That's making the false assumption people who care about equality and fairness take a vow of poverty. It's a fairytale created to scare little boys into voting for the corporations friends.

its not so much that, its pontificating to people many income rungs lower than themselves that they should be taxed into poverty while at the same time reaping the rewards of not paying the tax levels they pontificate for themselves.

atleast those politicians who live on the median salary (or claim to) are making a more genuine effort at it. If you want to preach about more taxes , step 1 is to donate every cent you earn over your own intended thresholds so you can experience your own hardship.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

46meb8.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

300 grand a year for a bull**** job, plus a driver plus the government jet plus expenses.

And he claims he's a socialist.

And the left believe him!

Who's fooling who?

Anyone want to PM me with the details?

I think if we had to guess he's probably from the same vicinity as a bloke who had three houses to run, maids too

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,577 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Thread title change to reflect more accuracy in the "story"

Beasty wrote: »
    Thread title change to reflect more accuracy in the "story"

Sells his investment property tax free would be accurate!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,897 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

its not so much that, its pontificating to people many income rungs lower than themselves that they should be taxed into poverty while at the same time reaping the rewards of not paying the tax levels they pontificate for themselves.

atleast those politicians who live on the median salary (or claim to) are making a more genuine effort at it. If you want to preach about more taxes , step 1 is to donate every cent you earn over your own intended thresholds so you can experience your own hardship.

Who wants people taxed in to poverty?

Zebra3 wrote: »

Sinn Fein

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Zebra3 wrote: »

the greens, SF, PbP, Saoirse Mchugh, Some members of SD. just off the top of my head.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

He be labelled a Kulak in the soviet union.

🙈🙉🙊

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

He likes his socialist dictators, who were / are millionaires like himself

the greens, SF, PbP, Saoirse Mchugh, Some members of SD. just off the top of my head.

Links?

• Registered Users Posts: 22,312 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Thought you meant this Mikkey Dee, OP.

mikkey-dee-yamaha-dtx.jpg

That would have been interesting. Your thread, not so much...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭StackSteevens

endacl wrote: »
    Thought you meant this Mikkey Dee, OP.

That would have been interesting. Your thread, not so much...

Funny really - when it's Apple that's doing the tax avoidance every half wit in the country jumps up and down like a flea with rabies, but when it's El Gnomo Magico doing it, it's the biggest non-event since Garth Brooks pulled out of his Croke Park concerts.

But hey! we're Irish and consistency is a British concept with which we have no truck.

Funny really - when it's Apple that's doing the tax avoidance every half wit in the country jumps up and down like a flea with rabies, but when it's El Gnomo Magico doing it, it's the biggest non-event since Garth Brooks pulled out of his Croke Park concerts.

But hey! we're Irish and consistency is a British concept with which we have no truck.

Is Higgins gonna be up in court?

• Registered Users Posts: 27,971 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

What bollocks. He sold his gaff. Would you have him give it away? What kind of a f***ing ejit do you want as President?
    Oh a left leaning man sold a house :)

He rack-rented a house he bought as an investment to poor students, evicted them when he wanted to cash in on his investment and make money tax-free (paying less tax than a vulture fund), without a thought for them being made homeless in the middle of the academic year, and you, of all posters, have no problem with that?

Words can't express the hypocrisy you are displaying.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

gmisk wrote: »
    Man owns house....man sells house....thrilling it should be all over the news....ffs

Man preaches about housing and also funding public services with appropriate taxes while appearing to do his utmost to avoid paying such taxes. Man also said he wouldn't run a second time for president. And keeps lecturing us about the need to do the right thing.

Pkiernan wrote: »
    300 grand a year for a bull**** job, plus a driver plus the government jet plus expenses.

And he claims he's a socialist.

And the left believe him!

Who's fooling who?

He has a driver?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭KiKi III

blanch152 wrote: »
    He rack-rented a house he bought as an investment to poor students, evicted them when he wanted to cash in on his investment and make money tax-free (paying less tax than a vulture fund), without a thought for them being made homeless in the middle of the academic year, and you, of all posters, have no problem with that?

Words can't express the hypocrisy you are displaying.

That’s a lot of false assumptions in a short post.

It was a 6 bedroom house so €2200 doesn’t seem like “rack rent”, €370/month sounds very reasonable for a room in a nice area in Galway actually.

Where did the idea that students are poor come from? Don’t see any evidence of that.

And they weren’t evicted, they were given the appropriate notice that the landlord intended to sell.

No idea why you would expect him to pay tax in that situation if no one else in the same situation does?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,195 ✭✭✭ZeroThreat

I'd be more interested to know what he did with his share of the loot from the dwarven expedition to the lonely mountain...

KiKi III wrote: »
    That’s a lot of false assumptions in a short post.

It was a 6 bedroom house so €2200 doesn’t seem like “rack rent”, €370/month sounds very reasonable for a room in a nice area in Galway actually.

Where did the idea that students are poor come from? Don’t see any evidence of that.

And they weren’t evicted, they were given the appropriate notice that the landlord intended to sell.

No idea why you would expect him to pay tax in that situation if no one else in the same situation does?

https://www.myhome.ie/residential/brochure/2-sylvan-road-fairlands-park-newcastle-galway-city/4394548

A four-bedroomed house, with two bedrooms squeezed into attic space.

The decor is early-1970s, you wouldn't get away with renting that to professionals.

https://www.daft.ie/galway/houses-for-rent/

114 properties to rent in Galway.

https://www.daft.ie/galway/houses-for-rent/?s%5Bmnp%5D=2200&s%5Bignored_agents%5D%5B0%5D=1551

Only 24 of them over €2,200. From a quick glance, nearly every single one of them in better condition and location than Michael D's. So yes to rack-renting.

Tenants were evicted in December according to the article - the middle of the academic year. Houses for rent to students go on the market in September every year, nearly impossible to find one in December, so yes, he made them homeless. Proper notice to evict still means that they were evicted.

Fair play to the man for making money, but he can't call out vulture funds or multinationals for doing what he is doing. Anyone who defends him must also defend vulture funds doing the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭krissovo

https://www.myhome.ie/residential/brochure/2-sylvan-road-fairlands-park-newcastle-galway-city/4394548

A four-bedroomed house, with two bedrooms squeezed into attic space.

The decor is early-1970s, you wouldn't get away with renting that to professionals.

https://www.daft.ie/galway/houses-for-rent/

114 properties to rent in Galway.

https://www.daft.ie/galway/houses-for-rent/?s%5Bmnp%5D=2200&s%5Bignored_agents%5D%5B0%5D=1551

Only 24 of them over €2,200. From a quick glance, nearly every single one of them in better condition and location than Michael D's. So yes to rack-renting.

Tenants were evicted in December according to the article - the middle of the academic year. Houses for rent to students go on the market in September every year, nearly impossible to find one in December, so yes, he made them homeless. Proper notice to evict still means that they were evicted.

Fair play to the man for making money, but he can't call out vulture funds or multinationals for doing what he is doing. Anyone who defends him must also defend vulture funds doing the same.

LOL you must have bad eyesight.

Big house, plenty of space and decent furniture if not dated, no way in any form is it rack renting.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭bmc58

what seem to be the issue?

Are you so happy for him that you felt the need to start this thread?

Are you so enraged by this that you felt the need to start this thread?

What's your thoughts on him selling the house for a profit?

And he claims to be a socialist?? The Champagne Socialist title he has worked so hard to earn fits him so well.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭bmc58

Man with money makes more money via a shrewd investment - nothing to see here, move along

man who all his life professes his want for a better life for the ordinary people all his life dumps students on the side of the road..Yea there is something to see here.This is being hushed up by the media.Why??

• Registered Users Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭quokula

whnuvoh4od031.jpg

An old and somewhat overused image, but hard to think of a more fitting response to this thread.

Only the squeezed middle pay taxes

The dole scroungers at the bottom and the civil servant scroungers at the top.

The world is upside down.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,820 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

...Tenants were evicted in December according to the article - the middle of the academic year. Houses for rent to students go on the market in September every year, nearly impossible to find one in December, so yes, he made them homeless. Proper notice to evict still means that they were evicted....

How can a proper notice of termination be an eviction
    I thought eviction involved a RTB / legal process or the sheriff after a breach in the tenancy agreement like non-payment of rent or anti-social behaviour?
    I would appreciate it if someone would explain this.