Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NWCI complains that only 4 in 15 ministers are women

• Registered Users Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Farming, Fisheries, Construction

The three most dangerous jobs in Ireland

All well underreprestended by women

I don't hear any women hanging off bin lorries on a November morning and talking about disparity in primary school teaching

• Registered Users Posts: 13,897 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

How many men serve on the board of the NWCI?

I’ll assume it’s 50% because they love gender equality.

Am I right?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

LiquidZeb wrote: »
    I think you'll find gender and skin colour reigns supreme in the old boys club. Not merit or qualification.

Leo's some man then, taking a position reserved for whites only according to you.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Like any lobby or special interest group the NWCI are perfect entitled to push the interests of their constituents.

And the rest of us are perfectly entitled to ignore them.

• Registered Users Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Clarence Boddiker

Friendly reminder that the NWCI receive 729k annually from the taxpayer and 718k of that goes on wages.

ah stop that cant be true

• Registered Users Posts: 18,305 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

So why lock women out of the boys club because of it?

30% of candidates in the election were women but 22.5% make up the elected TDs. 26.7% of the cabinet are women so if anything women are proportionally over-representated at cabinet relative to the overall makeup of the Dáil.

• Registered Users Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Clarence Boddiker

ah stop that cant be true

It is true, the info was obtained through a freedom of Information request.

lol, well its no surprise really, an awful lot of NGOs and "charities" are primarily run for the benefit of their staff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭LiquidZeb

TomTomTim wrote: »
    Leo's some man then, taking a position reserved for whites only according to you.

One exception doesn't change the rule. Ireland's political system is deeply misogynistic and racist. We're decades behind our European allies in regards to diversity and inclusion and representation of racial and religious and sexual minorities. Call me a troll all you want I'm right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

How many people's wages. Like if it is 500 peoples wages it is not a lot :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭davetherave

Gruffalox wrote: »
    How many people's wages. Like if it is 500 peoples wages it is not a lot :pac:

From their last submitted accounts, 15 people. With an operating deficit of €150k.

Government Funding €719,160
    Department Of Justice and Equality: €519,320, for a gender equality programme. Gender equality through our work to engage with Government, provide a women's equality analysis on all policy areas, consult with women and women's organisations and to leverage additional private funds to promote women's equality.

Health Services Executive (HSE): €91,000, Grant to be used for the delivery of a service: To cover the salary costs, including pension contribution, and associated costs for two core staff positions, a full-time Health Co-ordinator and a part-time health assistant, direct costs for mobile phone expenses and overhead costs towards light, heat, rent photocopying ard audit fees. Activities budget to support the priorities areas of healthy Ireland, a focus on women in national mental health policy and practice and Violence against Women.

Pobal: €90,000, Grant to be used for the delivery of a service: To cover the salary costs, including pension contribution, and associated costs for two core staff positions, a full-time Women in Local Government and Development Co ordinator and a part-time Membership Liaison Officer, direct costs for mobile phone expenses and overhead costs towards light, heat, rent photocopying and audit fees.

Department of Rural and Community Development: €18,840, To assist in our role as a contributor to public policy as a member of the Community & Voluntary Pillar. Grant to be used towards the cost of salary of the Economic Policy Co-ordinator

Source: https://search.benefacts.ie/org/94a0834a-4cfa-42e6-967d-e4f57d46e5a3/national-womens-council-of-ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 18,305 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

One exception doesn't change the rule. Ireland's political system is deeply misogynistic and racist. We're decades behind our European allies in regards to diversity and inclusion and representation of racial and religious and sexual minorities. Call me a troll all you want I'm right.

We just had a Taoiseach who is of Indian heritage and currently Leo Varadkar and Roderic O'Gorman are in the cabinet and Zappone in the last one. Sexual minorities have been extremely well represented in government recently. We're well ahead of our European allies on that front.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

Are we to seriously believe a majority female cabinet would be better?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,897 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Jobs for the boys girls.

When you're so well funded by the government it actually means you never go all out in criticism.

Keep the game going.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,971 ✭✭✭Paulzx

Would you go on out of that.........our PR electoral system came into being specifically to ensure representation of a religous minority.

There have been plenty of openly gay TD's elected over the last few years up to and including the former Taoiseach.

The marraige referendum proved that we as a population don't give a damn if someone is gay or straight

• Registered Users Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Anytime Mary Lou is on the T.V. all I hear from women is "would you look at the state of her"
    No point blaming men if that is how the women judge the politician.
    Its not just Mary Lou. Yesterday Catherine Martin was the target. "Whats that she's wearing"

• Registered Users Posts: 77 ✭✭Arealred

The NWCI and all these type of organisations are in it for one thing and one thing only and that is to draw as much out if the public purse as they can. They manipulate statistics to suit. The media are partly to blame and just publish what they say as gospel without interrogating it. Often they will use extreme examples to justify their existence.

The NWCI are not the only ones at this but the wages paid directly and indirectly from taxpayers money to these bodies is frustrating.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,174 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

So why is it ok to ridicule a male majority cabinet but not ok to question a female majority senate?

Maybe you need to go count the numbers of male and female senators.

40% is not a majority.

Zebra3 wrote: »
    I look forward to NWCI and its' supporters campaigning for women to take 50% of jobs on building sites.

We're all mad for equality, aren't we? :rolleyes:

Equality of opportunity.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,182 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Edgware wrote: »
    Anytime Mary Lou is on the T.V. all I hear from women is "would you look at the state of her"
    No point blaming men if that is how the women judge the politician.
    Its not just Mary Lou. Yesterday Catherine Martin was the target. "Whats that she's wearing"
    Please don't blame women for their own oppression. I am sure its not something Mary Lou herself would agree with.

I have never heard a woman do this to another woman in the public eye.

I agree too much is made of how women should appear.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Lillyfae

I have a science degree in a niche area.
    There was 1 girl and 11 boys in my college course.

The CAO application process is as blind as Stevie Wonder. What's stopping girls from applying?

When I was in school a couple of girls in my class had to trek to the local boys school to partake in more technical subjects such as tech drawing and applied maths. Funny that you didn't see a similar cohort of boys coming to do home ec with us :rolleyes:. So there's the fact that the opportunity to take up specialised courses would have been denied to many girls at that time.

To be honest, I think there's a lack of expertise at government level in general, the gender of the candidates won't change that. It's only a popularity contest. People who study public policy and governance either end up working at the quangos or in civil service because the pay/conditions are more stable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭Hairy Japanese BASTARDS!

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Maybe you need to go count the numbers of male and female senators.

40% is not a majority.

9 of 11 of the recently appointed senators were women.

Imagine if 9 of 11 were men?

Imagine if a man dared to question the 9 / 11 female panel? You can bet your months waged it'd be questioned if it was reversed.

People have their knickers in a twist that the majority of democratically elected TDs are men but the same people are silent at the fact that the majority of the undemocratically chosen senators are women.

9 of 11 of the recently appointed senators were women.

Imagine if 9 of 11 were men?

Imagine if a man dared to question the 9 / 11 female panel? You can bet your months waged it'd be questioned if it was reversed.

People have their knickers in a twist that the majority of democratically elected TDs are men but the same people are silent at the fact that the majority of the undemocratically chosen senators are women.

So that means that of the other 49 senators elected only a paltry 34 were men, but I don't see you complaining about that.

And these so-called democratically elected senators have a very exclusive electorate, but I don't see you complaining about that.

Pherekydes wrote: »
    So that means that of the other 49 senators elected only a paltry 34 were men, but I don't see you complaining about that.

And these so-called democratically elected senators have a very exclusive electorate, but I don't see you complaining about that.

Read my post.
    I clearly said the senators were UNdemocratically chosen.

Christ. Learn to read.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Please don't blame women for their own oppression. I am sure its not something Mary Lou herself would agree with.

I have never heard a woman do this to another woman in the public eye.

I agree too much is made of how women should appear.
    Women are the worst critics of other women, particulary those who are high profile

Are you talking about all senators? Because only 40% of all senators are female.
    Read my post.
    I clearly said the senators were UNdemocratically chosen.

Christ. Learn to read.

Are you only bothered by the 9 female nominees? Why are you not bothered by the other 49, 34 of whom are male.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Are we to seriously believe a majority female cabinet would be better?

thats never even considered

• Registered Users Posts: 2,824 ✭✭✭irishproduce

All this soft pressure and lobbying isn't harmless. It weighs on the minds of people. Making them feel they're doing something wrong when making decisions. Blurring lines between reality and malice. Gradually it changes decisions. All on a false premise in the first instance.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQfUeaVNyedo4ne8onzdOu_YpiCF_QgxmWWQfAhnurnUo9VpI9_&s