Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BLM, or WLM? [MOD WARNING: FIRST POST]

• Registered Users Posts: 4,332 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

It is deliberate, a number of publications also do the same, it's one of many modern day cure's for racism, like taking the knee....I suppose it is the least he could do because he didn't do a whole lot for the black community in his 8 years in power, in fact race relations were inflamed under his watch!

Too much and it favouritism, too little and it’s not enough. That’s a lose lose situation.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Basically calling all 74m people who voted for Trump as Nazis and White Supremacists.
    This is how you sow division.
    You make excuses for BLM/Antifa and demonise the opposition.

Your own protests are "mostly peaceful" while their protests are "terrorism".

Here is a fun quiz, which side said the below;
    “And please, show me where it says protesters are supposed to be polite and peaceful.
    Because I can show you that outraged citizens are what made the country what she is and led to any major milestone.
    To be honest, this is not a tranquil time.”

• Registered Users Posts: 6,505 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

biko wrote: »
    This is how you sow division.
    You make excuses for BLM/Antifa and demonise the opposition.

Your own protests are "mostly peaceful" while their protests are "terrorism".

Here is a fun quiz, which side said the below;

That is a fair point.

I like Jimmy Dore's take, it suits a lot of establishment types to keep the tribes fighting each other!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭nolivesmatter

Don Lemon stirring the pot again.

https://twitter.com/tomselliott/status/1349672644455575554

https://twitter.com/NickFondacaro/status/1349923064138625024

Basically calling all 74m people who voted for Trump as Nazis and White Supremacists.

Wow, Lemon just peddling non-sequiturs there. That Cuomo was making the logical case not to smear all the voters was surprising, fair play to him. Lemon was just raving by the end.

Just when you though Biden would have appeased the fringe left by becoming president.

https://twitter.com/ByMikeBaker/status/1352037060421402629?s=20

https://twitter.com/MrAndyNgo/status/1352185677501370369

• Registered Users Posts: 17,066 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Just when you though Biden would have appeased the fringe left by becoming president.

Tumbleweed blowing through this thread now...

Glazers Out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

Well that little experiment lasted what ................ a full day of the Biden administration?
    Looks like cracks developing between the BLM and Antifa camps. This could give us an entertaining implosion.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭Mic 1972

As always, it looks mainly peacefull

• Registered Users Posts: 6,505 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Should we change this thread name to "The violence of the Political Left in the US"...or start a new thread?

Maybe. This thread is really about BLM. Antifa just goes where the violence is (which during last year was at BLM riots).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Biker79

Mic 1972 wrote: »
    As always, it looks mainly peacefull

It's the presumption that people will believe what they read, rather than what they are seeing, that is really stupefying.

giphy.gif?cid=ecf05e47wju42wj8p0gb1jcjbw77mh0z7iqw8k4j9qvhj1tg&rid=giphy.gif

Biker79 wrote: »
    It's the presumption that people will believe what they read, rather than what they are seeing, that is really stupefying.

"He Who Controls the Narrative Controls the People"
    George Orwell - 1984

We are living in a time of spin, and with billionaires owning the big media outlets we have large numbers of gullible people actually believing what the billionaires are telling them. Poor old George would be horrified.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,541 ✭✭✭✭Varik

Looking through the comments for that New York Times reporter it's a lot of people trying to distance this from anything left wing, and a few claims that these are right wing protestors masquerading.

Varik wrote: »
    Looking through the comments for that New York Times reporter it's a lot of people trying to distance this from anything left wing, and a few claims that these are right wing protestors masquerading.

Wait, somebody is claiming that these lunatics are now right wing protestors masquerading, as in "fancy dress"?
    Very odd indeed.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭Mic 1972

I watched the video. He never directly said "white privilege".

Read the article then, it's full of the usual cliché

personally I have an issue with statements like this one:
    "In your business what colour are the people who have the power? What colour are the people who make the decisions?"

Why is it assumed that in Europe there should be an equal distribution of races in positions of power? Do we expect the same in African Countries or in other nations outside the EU?

native Europeans are mainly white people, it is expected to see more white people in positions of power.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,908 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

A bit early for Aprils fool day isnt it ?

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2021/jan/29/black-lives-matter-nobel-peace-prize-petter-eide-norweigan-mp
    The Black Lives Matter movement has been nominated for the 2021 Nobel peace prize for the way its call for systemic change has spread around the world.

In his nomination papers, the Norwegian MP Petter Eide said the movement had forced countries outside the US to grapple with racism within their own societies.

An Award for the best advertising might be more appropriate.

• Registered Users Posts: 363 ✭✭fantaiscool

Racism is alive in part because most don't or won't address it or recognise it.

Agree completely. Most who are racist will be too cowardly to admit that forthrightly but a blind man can see it in them, despite how clever they think they are about hiding it.

Oh, sure.. because you have the magical ability to know what they're thinking, and even if they, themselves, don't know that they're thinking racist thoughts, you do.

Racism is a part of human nature. It's common throughout the world, and it's not going to disappear any time soon. We have laws to mitigate the risk of it affecting society, and protections available for those individuals who want to claim that protection.. but to suggest that this drive to remove racism is going to succeed, is naive at best.

The sad part is this focus on reverse racism, and the application of double standards. There's little real interest in removing race as an issue, and encouraging genuine equality. It's just a game to promote one group over another, while patting yourself on the back for being so enlightened.

2021 now brings us the Nobel Mostly Peaceful Prize.

https://twitter.com/AF632/status/1355322524888825858?s=20

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

that's a fairly racist thing to say don't you thing ?

every one white and doesn't want to be a victim is racist ?

fair enough but you are going to divide and contribute to conflicts

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

mynamejeff wrote: »
    that's a fairly racist thing to say don't you thing ?

every one white and doesn't want to be a victim is racist ?

fair enough but you are going to divide and contribute to conflicts

It's certainly ableist. It's deeply offensive to highlight the deficiencies of the blind. Also, I know many blind people who identify as non blind, so said poster is insulting their lived experiences.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 17,066 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

A mostly peaceful assault on a woman.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,364 ✭✭✭1800_Ladladlad

Yet again The Babylon Bee satirically predicted this :D

BLM Rioters Awarded Nobel Peace Prize
    August 13th, 2020

https://babylonbee.com/news/blm-rioters-awarded-nobel-peace-prize

Why the feck has satire become reality? And this is not their first prediction.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,364 ✭✭✭1800_Ladladlad

The Nobel Peace Prize .....

Es64cfWW8AkmLtU?format=png&name=900x900
    bjlbl

• Registered Users Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

^^^^ BLM = Burn Loot Murder

• Registered Users Posts: 21,685 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

#thoughtsandprayers

• Registered Users Posts: 363 ✭✭fantaiscool

Yet again The Babylon Bee satirically predicted this :D

BLM Rioters Awarded Nobel Peace Prize
    August 13th, 2020

https://babylonbee.com/news/blm-rioters-awarded-nobel-peace-prize

Why the feck has satire become reality? And this is not their first prediction.

The fact that you frequent websites like that is worrying.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

The fact that you frequent websites like that is worrying.

Erh I think you will find its a satirical site which generally takes a humorous view of current events. But no worries - apparently the fact checking site Snopes is also not familiar with such radical concepts such as 'satire' :eek:

Some satirical news articles on Babylon Bee have been fact-checked by Snopes ... and some of these fact-checks have been controversial (and hillarious)
    For example in March 2018, The Babylon Bee published an article alleging that CNN was using an industrial-sized washing machine to "spin" the news. Snopes fact-checked the article, rating it "false." Facebook then cited this fact-check in a warning message to The Babylon Bee, threatening to limit their content distribution and monetization.  Ford tweeted a screenshot of the warning message to his followers, drawing public attention to the matter. Facebook quickly apologized, with the statement that "there’s a difference between false news and satire. This was a mistake and should not have been rated false in our system. It’s since been corrected and won’t count against the domain in any way

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

#thoughtsandprayers

thoughts and prayers indeed

for another victim of blm