Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BLM, or WLM? [MOD WARNING: FIRST POST]

Cupatae wrote: »
    heres the reality of what you and foxtrol are defending

That man was shot 15 times, and rightfully so.

Defend that please either you or foxtrol, lemme guess she should have tried her tazer first or something!

Im glad the majority of people here are shredding this blm nonsense ye are spinning its great to see ! most people arent buying into this hateful racist crap dressed up as change for the supposedly down trodden!

Ye seem to be under this illusion that police should give the suspect every chance at killing them before using lethal force. And even worse you think its done because of skin color like no one only black people are shot which again is nonsense!

Great to see yer strawman arguments getting ripped apart!

That video skews the oppression Olympics though. How can we swing it???

Got it... That guy was using his male privilege and was obviously part of the patriarchal society that Donald Trump created and that poor woman had no option but to return fire.

Phew.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Cupatae

That video skews the oppression Olympics though. How can we swing it???

Got it... That guy was using his male privilege and was obviously part of the patriarchal society that Donald Trump created and that poor woman had no option but to return fire.

Phew.

Gonna be a tough one but I don't underestimate the mental gymnastics that will be done to make this man a victim!

She should have shot him in the leg! Clearly she must be racist! Defund em!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

Armed citizen in Kenosha has shot a protester dead overnight.

It seems he was being attacked with skateboards by a group of protesters, he fell to the ground and responded with a volley of shots. One shot struck a protester in the head.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭kildare lad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭Irishman80

Jimbob1977 wrote: »
    Armed citizen in Kenosha has shot a protester dead overnight.

It seems he was being attacked with skateboards by a group of protesters, he fell to the ground and responded with a volley of shots. One shot struck a protester in the head.

Kenosha is a swing district in a swing state.

BLM is fast becoming a big negative for the Democrats.

Clarification:

The armed civilian shot a man in the head at a car dealership.

He was then chased by a group of protesters down the street and fell to the ground. While striking him with skateboards, the armed civilian opened fire again. He hit three protesters... leg, arm and stomach.

Footage of the two segments is on Twitter.

He then surrendered himself to police.

Two dead in Kenosha now.

The gunman is really young.... possibly 17 or 18 years old.

He was protecting property and it escalated rapidly.

If Kenosha has 100,000 inhabitants.... Chicago and Milwaukee is on a far wider scale of potential unrest.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

Overheal wrote: »
    The stat in itself is racist,

I could go on.

A statistic cannot be racist , it is a fact it does not have a agenda or politics .

its a fact and it disproves almost everything you post here on a daily basis ,

deal with the facts , you are the one who is shouting about race and deciding to ignore the statistics and facts because it doesn't suit your and the lunatic lefts agenda and narrative .

fact black men commit more crime
    fact black people kill more people
    fact black people are more likely to fight or kill police
    fact police deal with black people with more caution and tension because of this
    fact the guy who got shot could have stopped moving and been arrested for his crimes without any danger but he chose the path himself

facts are facts anything else is you trying to manipulate and stoke anger and fear , ie politics

• Registered Users Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭Tipperary animal lover

Jaysus the blm crowd in kenosha are going at it hard tonight, looks like the wild west shots going off all over the place, eaten themselves alive, seen at least three people shot in videos, but yeah it's all about police brutality..... in one of the videos the crowd are calling for the cops to be called, oh the irony of it all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭Irishman80

Two dead in Kenosha now.

The gunman is really young.... possibly 17 or 18 years old.

He was protecting property and it escalated rapidly.

If Kenosha has 100,000 inhabitants.... Chicago and Milwaukee is on a far wider scale of potential unrest.

Chicago has food deserts i.e areas with no convenience stores because businesses refuse to open in those areas. Usually minority and poor areas.

• Registered Users Posts: 572 ✭✭✭R.F.

Jaysus the blm crowd in kenosha are going at it hard tonight, looks like the wild west shots going off all over the place, eaten themselves alive, seen at least three people shot in videos, but yeah it's all about police brutality..... in one of the videos the crowd are calling for the cops to be called, oh the irony of it all.

The protests are as a result of police brutality. You know when people are backed into corner you can expect to see reaction, especially when peaceful protests have little or no impact. Also I think the shootings were against BLM protesters not by them

• Registered Users Posts: 4,108 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

mynamejeff wrote: »
    A statistic cannot be racist , it is a fact it does not have a agenda or politics .

its a fact and it disproves almost everything you post here on a daily basis ,

deal with the facts , you are the one who is shouting about race and deciding to ignore the statistics and facts because it doesn't suit your and the lunatic lefts agenda and narrative .

fact black men commit more crime
    fact black people kill more people
    fact black people are more likely to fight or kill police
    fact police deal with black people with more caution and tension because of this
    fact the guy who got shot could have stopped moving and been arrested for his crimes without any danger but he chose the path himself

facts are facts anything else is you trying to manipulate and stoke anger and fear , ie politics

Are blacks just poorer than any other segment of the population in the US? Then all those statements would be the same in any other country- poor person most likely to be kiled by another poor person, poor people commit more crime, poor people kill cops more than any other segment in society.

I would think the downside of a race being poor in a particular country like the Algerians in France means anyone of that race/ethnicity is going to be treated differently by the police/juries due to inherent bias.

• Registered Users Posts: 524 ✭✭✭DelaneyIn

R.F. wrote: »
    The protests are as a result of police brutality. You know when people are backed into corner you can expect to see reaction, especially when peaceful protests have little or no impact. Also I think the shootings were against BLM protesters not by them

Two of the shootings were in self defence. They had him on the ground and he shot two of them. Fair play to him.

Call the police” began trending on Twitter after BLM rioters in Kenosha made the plea following the shooting, a massive irony given that Black Lives Matter’s goal is to defund and abolish the police.

The protests are as a result of police brutality. You know when people are backed into corner you can expect to see reaction, especially when peaceful protests have little or no impact. Also I think the shootings were against BLM protesters not by

Its gone past police brutality its wanton destruction now, They were looting and destroying stores but sure been backed into a corner gives them rights to destroy ordinary people's livelihood, its not right people been shot but when people are backed into a corner you can expect to see a reaction, especially when staying by watching thugs destroying property and little or no impact on blm gangs see i can turn it back around, two rights and all that.

DelaneyIn wrote: »
    Two of the shootings were in self defence. They had him on the ground and he shot two of them. Fair play to him.

Call the police” began trending on Twitter after BLM rioters in Kenosha made the plea following the shooting, a massive irony given that Black Lives Matter’s goal is to defund and abolish the police.

one of the guys had a gun in he's hand that came at him while he was on the ground, but blm are all peaceful protesters just look at all the state of cities in the usa after their friendly/peaceful protests every night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Biker79

It just goes to show that BLM, in terms of the movement they have become, don't care too much about black lives.

Just like Hamas doesn't care that much for the suffering of Palestinians.

Their primary concern is power.

I don't think they want power per se, in that they don't seem to be running political candidates and even the Dems are a bit wishy washy in supporting them fully- as in their support for defunding the police.

I think they want to protect black criminals from being shot, and being given easier sentences by juries. But that could lead to more deaths in their communities.

BLM should focus more on getting increased funding for their schools/local businesses.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,992 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

I don't think they want power per se, in that they don't seem to be running political candidates and even the Dems are a bit wishy washy in supporting them fully- as in their support for defunding the police.

I think they want to protect black criminals from being shot, and being given easier sentences by juries. But that could lead to more deaths in their communities.

BLM should focus more on getting increased funding for their schools/local businesses.
    BLM should be defunded and a new movement for equality started.

Yeah, however, you're ignoring the mandate of BLM and other associated groups whose aim is not peaceful protest, because peaceful protests don't capture and hold the attention of society. Short attention spans abound. So, throughout their literature and interviews by BLM activists, we see references to the need to do far more than peacefully protest. Which is why we've seen so much violence erupt, when you consider the messages being sent out. The rhetoric by BLM activists is often related to the need to disrupt society and to do whatever it takes to get peoples attenton.

Don't get me wrong. I know that there is police brutality and racism in the US. That's pretty much a given, and well documented. However, I don't get this need to pick a side and then ignore everything negative that side is involved in. We're not Americans. Surely, we can step away from the emotional entanglements and be more balanced as to what's going on?

It might help if they released factual and verifiable information as to where they're spending all the donations they've already received, before looking for more funding.

For all the talk about needing to help Black people, there seems to be little actual investment in black areas, and most expenditure points to salaries, and consultancy fees.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

ELM327 wrote: »
    BLM should be defunded and a new movement for equality started.

For what purpose? The west will never be more equal than it is now; unless you mean "equality", which is handing all power over to aggrieved minorities in the name of supposed fairness, with is more akin to vengeance.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

TomTomTim wrote: »
    For what purpose? The west will never be more equal than it is now; unless you mean "equality", which is handing all power over to aggrieved minorities in the name of supposed fairness, with is more akin to vengeance.

I think all countries try to decrease inequality. i mean the EU gives special funding for deprived areas for that very reason. Inequality will always exist but if the gap gets too large there is a breakdown in society.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,270 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

All of this is just music to Trump's ears.

Someone on some thread a few months ago compared this year with 1968 were civil unrest resulted in a Nixon landslide, because Nixon supported law and order.

In reality most right thinking people support law and order and their local police over protests that end up in violence.

The longer theses go on and the further they spread the better for Trump.

Think of it in an Irish sense
    Which would you support, AGS or a bunch of rioting skannangers

• Registered Users Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

Biker79 wrote: »
    It just goes to show the BLM, in terms of the movement they have become, don't care too much about black lives.

Which like other movements or religions, has a negative selection, those who want power are oft least suited to it

All of this is just music to Trump's ears.

Someone on some thread a few months ago compared this year with 1968 were civil unrest resulted in a Nixon landslide, because Nixon supported law and order.

In reality most right thinking people support law and order and their local police over protests that end up in violence.

The longer theses go on and the further they spread the better for Trump.

Think of it in an Irish sense
    Which would you support, AGS or a bunch of rioting skannangers

True but Nixon was not in power at the time. LBJ was law and order too but this stance didnt improve his popularity so I think it was more about Nixon's stance on the Vietnam War that resulted in his election.

George Bush Snr was very much law and order after the Rodney King riots but that didnt help him get re-elected.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

Biker79 wrote: »
    It just goes to show the BLM, in terms of the movement they have become, don't care too much about black lives.

If they did care about black lives they would be in Chicago and Baltimore, to name just 2 cities and trying to end black on black murder and crime.

The killing of a child in a drive by does not matter a jot to BLM it seems. Just like the murder of 5 year Cannon Hinnant does not matter.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,473 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Overheal wrote: »
    A massive study published in May 2020 of 95 million traffic stops by 56 police agencies between 2011 and 2018 found that while black people were much more likely to be pulled over than whites, the disparity lessens at night, when police are less able to distinguish the race of the driver. The study also found that blacks were more likely to be searched after a stop, though whites were more likely to be found with illicit drugs. The darker the sky, the less pronounced the disparity between white and black motorists. The study also found that in states that had legalized marijuana, the racial disparity narrowed but was still significant.

It's interesting when people readily accept one set of statistics to prove something and completely dismiss another set of statistics which are inconvenient.

Which like other movements or religions, has a negative selection, those who want power are oft least suited to it

Exactly right. The Cathloic Church in Ireland, after the formation of the state, slipped into a power vacuum and it didn't go well for them ( or the Irish ).

statesaver wrote: »
    If they did care about black lives they would be in Chicago and Baltimore, to name just 2 cities and trying to end black on black murder and crime.

The killing of a child in a drive by does not matter a jot to BLM it seems. Just like the murder of 5 year Cannon Hinnant does not matter.

100%

• Registered Users Posts: 11,146 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

Clarification:

The armed civilian shot a man in the head at a car dealership.

He was then chased by a group of protesters down the street and fell to the ground. While striking him with skateboards, the armed civilian opened fire again. He hit three protesters... leg, arm and stomach.

Footage of the two segments is on Twitter.

He then surrendered himself to police.

The 'armed civilian' was a vigilante wandering the streets breaking curfew and ends up shooting 3 people, killing 2.

Unsurprising that there is a video of the police supporting him earlier in the night. Also unsurprising is posters losing their mind about a guy getting punched the night before but have no issues with this guy shooting people