Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Covid19 Part XIX-25,802 in ROI (1,753 deaths) 5,859 in NI (556 deaths) (21/07)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,551 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Gael23 wrote: »
    No deaths but 32 cases

Very good going with the level of opening up of pubs and other businesses in this phase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,676 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

There's quite clearly an issue with reporting. There was only 15 positive tests in last 24 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,838 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

After 11 yesterday and additional 40 odd cases added over the wekeend that never added up to the numbers announced im going to go out on the limb here and suggest something just isn't right with reporting. Case data gave 40 odd extra on Saturday I think but we never announced that many.

But this gives them the ammo to push out phase 4 even though it shouldn't. The headlines will be 32 cases but the reporting is off somewhere.

Why would they want or need to push it out if there was no justification?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,123 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Very good going with the level of opening up of pubs and other businesses in this phase.

Agreed. The more we open there was always going to be a rise. However the pubs are not open yet

• Registered Users Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

(Monday + Tuesday) / 2 ... is the way to take this stuff.

Still a bigger number than last week's Monday+Tuesday/2..

• Registered Users Posts: 15,302 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

And its begun on twitter, media going to love this. Gives the government ammo to push out phase 4 but the numbers being reported over the weekend and now just dont add up.

40 odd were added to the data on Sat and we never saw 40 cases announced.
    15 postive tests in the last 24hrs and we get 32 ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

32 additional cases despite only 15 positive tests in the last 24 hours. I'm not sure what they're up to with their reporting.

where can you see the tests in the past 24hours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,838 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭timmy_mallet

Yes I am, as are most sensible governments who are producing safer 'green lists' and also 'red lists' of countries where they do not want people coming from.

The positivity of a random covid test depends entirely on when it is taken during the infected period. The sensitivity of testing varies with timing of testing relative to exposure. Estimated sensitivity is 33% 4 days after exposure, 62% on the day of symptom onset, and 80% 3 days after symptom onset.

Using the reverse transcription polymerase chain reaction–based SARS-CoV-2 RNA test is not sensitive enough to exclude an infection, and impossible to do on everyone entering the country.

Quarantine for people from hot-spots is the only way to go.

Right, so no problem for Germans etc.?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭BringBackMick

If people are losing their ****t over 32 confirmed cases, they are going to be living under a rock for the next 2 or 3 years.

Unless we live in our rooms for the next 3 years there will be in the region of 30 cases a day.

And this is obviously delayed reporting from the weekend.

The aim was to flatten the curve, we cannot eradicate this disease without shutting up shop for 2 or 3 years. People are nuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Santy2015

And its begun on twitter, media going to love this. Gives the government ammo to push out phase 4 but the numbers being reported over the weekend and now just dont add up.

40 odd were added to the data on Sat and we never saw 40 cases announced.
    15 postive tests in the last 24hrs and we get 32 ??
    Worried about the bank holiday weekend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Ae Fond Kiss

Meanwhile, instead of sorting travel etc, our new government is still devoting time to the Barry Cowen issue, which in the greater scheme of lives, our economy, is a nothing story.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

If people are losing their ****t over 32 confirmed cases, they are going to be living under a rock for the next 2 or 3 years.

Unless we live in our rooms for the next 3 years there will be in the region of 30 cases a day.

The aim was to flatten the curve, we cannot eradicate this disease without shutting up shop for 2 or 3 years. People are nuts.

Portugal is reporting several hundred cases and a handful of deaths daily for months now with no signs of expoential growth, clearly there is a relatively sustainable point somewhere between eradication and it getting out of hand. Our cases don't need to be zzero or even close for life to go on.

Santy2015 wrote: »
    Worried about the bank holiday weekend

Can worry away, this isn't going anywhere so can't exactly keep things closed indefinitely. There's going to be cases indefinitely so 20,30 cases shouldn't be keeping business closed.

Guidelines and proper precautions is the best that can be done until a vaccine

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,003 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

Quick........jacks rolls....:pac::pac::pac:

Analysis of cases as of midnight Sunday 12th July - 25,638 cases (+11)

Healthcare Workers +9
    Clusters -2
    Cases associated with clusters +38

Age Range Affected
    0-4 No Change
    5-14 No Change
    15-24 +2
    25-34 +3
    35-44 No Change
    45-54 +2
    55-64 +2
    65-74 +1
    75-84 +1
    85+ No Change

Cases by County
    Cork +2
    Dublin +4
    Kerry +3
    Kildare +1
    Wicklow +1

• Registered Users Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Always_Running

No deaths again today.

32 additional cases.

Great to have another day without a death reported.

Highest daily case number since mid June. 7 day average is 20 cases a day which is still very decent when you consider the amount of testing done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭timmy_mallet

bb1234567 wrote: »
    Portugal is reporting several hundred cases and a handful of deaths daily for months now with no signs of expoential growth, clearly there is a relatively sustainable point somewhere between eradication and it getting out of hand. Our cases don't need to be zzero or even close for life to go on.

A society decides what it will accept in terms of illness and death.

From here, the sentiment seems to be none.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

32 cases today.

https://twitter.com/walls2/status/1282638132706410496?s=19

Nowhere on the airport form does it explicitly say that you have to quarantine.

Can we put the brakes on this mad experiment yet? How much more money can these Yanks possibly be putting into the economy? It will be removed tenfold by the perpetuation of this illness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Santy2015

Can worry away, this isn't going anywhere so can't exactly keep things closed indefinitely. There's going to be cases indefinitely so 20,30 cases shouldn't be keeping business closed.

Guidelines and proper precautions is the best that can be done until a vaccine

I’m not worried the curtain twitchers of a government are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭Storm 10

Where is the Country breakdown of cases today

• Registered Users Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

Right, so no problem for Germans etc.?

No problem with countries with an infection rate similar to ours.

but a BIG problem with yanks and their 3,491,699 cases to date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

I think the big frustation is that many of the cases are travel related.

US citizens even if Irish should be blocked from entering Ireland. It is rampant out there.

That said 30 cases is fine. It is just concerning it may keep rising.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭Onesea

UK related.
    June death figures are lowest over the past 5 years.
    Incidents of pneumonia and flu are statistically the same as other years. This would question how effective lockdowns are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,395 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

When you look at Denmark who have been widely praised for their handling of the pandemic they are still getting daily new cases of 46, 10, 12, 16, 30, 91, 24 over the last week or so. And they reopened back in mid May.

It would suggest that the Irish numbers are not unusual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,621 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

If we only get in "the region of 30 cases a day" for the next 3 years we'll be grand.

That's not even remotely plausible though.

Looks like my chances of having a pint in my local next week are diminishing by the day.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

The Global Pandemic Figures

1st reported case 8th December in Wohan, China
    1 million cases April 2nd… which was 114 days later
    2 million cases April 14th… 12 days later
    3 million cases April 27th… 13 days later
    4 million cases May 9th…. 12 days later
    5 million cases May 20th… 11 days later
    6 million cases May 29th… 9 days later
    7 million cases June 7th… 9 days later
    8 million cases June 15th… 8 days later
    9 million cases June 21st… 7 days later
    10 million cases June 27th… 6 days later
    11 million cases July 3rd… 7 days later
    12 million cases July 8th… 5 days later
    13 million cases July 12th… 4 days later

13,312,391 reported cases so far in a world population of approx 7.718,000,000 people.

That means reported cases make up approx 0.17 % of the world’s population.

Everybody agrees that reported cases are an underestimate of the true figure, but even if you multiply that percentage by 10 times or even 50 times, that still leaves an enormous number of humans vulnerable for this new virus to infect.

The virus is now beginning to ravage highly populated poorer countries without resilient health services, so unfortunately the death rate will continue to rise and rise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

Great to have another day without a death reported.

Highest daily case number since mid June. 7 day average is 20 cases a day which is still very decent when you consider the amount of testing done.

We should go back to 2,000 tests per day, bring posivites down to about a dozen. Donald is right, we Need less testing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

MD1990 wrote: »
    I think the big frustation is that many of the cases are travel related.

US citizens even if Irish should be blocked from entering Ireland. It is rampant out there.

That said 30 cases is fine. It is just concerning it may keep rising.
    Travel-related cases come from quite a range of countries, and they account for 12% of cases. Eejits at house parties here, account for a lot more.

I'm not a fan of our way of reporting case figures tbh. Makes it incredibly easy to skew the numbers.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭blowitupref

jobeenfitz wrote: »
    We should go back to 2,000 tests per day, bring posivites down to about a dozen. Donald is right, we Need less testing.
    One big difference is Donald didn't contain the virus like Ireland have done.

Screenshot-20200714-175358-2.png

• Registered Users Posts: 228 ✭✭Lyle

Storm 10 wrote: »
    Where is the Country breakdown of cases today

If you mean county:
    Analysis of cases as of midnight Sunday 12th July - 25,638 cases (+11)

Healthcare Workers +9
    Clusters -2

Age Range Affected
    0-4 No Change
    5-14 No Change
    15-24 +2
    25-34 +3
    35-44 No Change
    45-54 +2
    55-64 +2
    65-74 +1
    75-84 +1
    85+ No Change

Cases by County
    Cork +2
    Dublin +4
    Kerry +3
    Kildare +1
    Wicklow +1

Citizen has covered Sundays figures there. Today's county data will be released on Thursday.

If you did mean countries, as in for travel related cases, they don't update that daily. Monday at the brief they gave figures from the start of June.. Might be a feature of the Monday presser going forward but don't expect more up to the minute specificity from them I'd say!

• Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭SteHam

I'm not a fan of our way of reporting case figures tbh. Makes it incredibly easy to skew the numbers.

You were happy enough with it when the figures were trending downwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Healthcare Workers +9
    Clusters -2
    Are the community transmission/not cluster related/"we haven't a clue where they got it" figures published somewhere?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

After 11 yesterday and additional 40 odd cases added over the wekeend that never added up to the numbers announced im going to go out on the limb here and suggest something just isn't right with reporting. Case data gave 40 odd extra on Saturday I think but we never announced that many.

But this gives them the ammo to push out phase 4 even though it shouldn't. The headlines will be 32 cases but the reporting is off somewhere.

I wonder if they are trying to avoid announcing a large number of cases at once and instead they are breaking it down to announce a large number of cases over a few days and in smaller figures.

Whatever is happening, its still a large jump today. They need to give us history behind these cases. If it's community transmissions or travel cases or holiday cases or healthcare cases or cases from parties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,278 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Onesea wrote: »
    UK related.
    June death figures are lowest over the past 5 years.
    Incidents of pneumonia and flu are statistically the same as other years. This would question how effective lockdowns are.

Your logic doesn't hold. Lockdown led to suppression.

SteHam wrote: »
    You want to explain why we're backlogging figures when there was 15 positive tests last 24 hours? Or are you just gonna respond like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Non solum non ambulabit

SteHam wrote: »

Isn't everyone ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

You want to explain why we're backlogging figures when there was 15 positive tests last 24 hours? Or are you just gonna respond like that

can you share the dashboard with the tests/positive in the last 24hrs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,636 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

One big difference is Donald didn't contain the virus like Ireland have done.

Screenshot-20200714-175358-2.png

Trump is a virus himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭redmgar

What is the benefit of inflating the numbers?

mloc123 wrote: »
    can you share the dashboard with the tests/positive in the last 24hrs?
    Ireland's COVID19 Data Hub
    Positive tests yesterday was 28845, it is now 28860 - I keep track of this figure daily.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Mehole needs to concentrate on Covid and travel crisis instead of Cowengate

I wonder if all that stuff about Barry cowen was to diffuse the COVID situation and travel and quarantine. Try and get the public to focus on something else away from covid. I couldn't give a rats fcuking arse about Barry cowen and what he got up to a few years ago.

The biggest threat we have today in this country is the virus and the fall out from the virus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,395 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Positivity rate of tests is 0.3%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,278 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

owlbethere wrote: »
    I wonder if all that stuff about Barry cowen was to diffuse the COVID situation and travel and quarantine. Try and get the public to focus on something else away from covid.

Please tell us you're being facetious .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Ae Fond Kiss

Just listening to Rte 6 one news. Mary Lou calling for full disclosure from Cowen. Suddenly SF have found their voice after months of silence. Thank Christ they weren't in power for this crisis.

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    Your logic doesn't hold. Lockdown led to suppression.

https://t.co/b5NpPfJ8No

Interesting but not a surprise. In Ireland we counted all deaths, in all settings, suspected cases even when no lab test was done, and included people with underlying terminal illnesses who died with Covid but not of it.

The government could tell you nobody died of covid and you wouldn't believe them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

https://twitter.com/VirginMediaNews/status/1283084368295198721?s=19

Dylan Lynch in his 20s has permanent lung damage after picking up the virus while bringing his grandmother to hospital.

Onesea wrote: »
    https://t.co/b5NpPfJ8No

Interesting but not a surprise. In Ireland we counted all deaths, in all settings, suspected cases even when no lab test was done, and included people with underlying terminal illnesses who died with Covid but not of it.

The government could tell you nobody died of covid and you wouldn't believe them.

https://www.ons.gov.uk/peoplepopulationandcommunity/birthsdeathsandmarriages/deaths/bulletins/deathsregisteredweeklyinenglandandwalesprovisional/weekending3july2020?fbclid=IwAR0MkXp2EeNMmBeLMyWVfxQcZJH1qETuEgqpppH49HVcxUi6i4693ZyZRoo

When you look at Denmark who have been widely praised for their handling of the pandemic they are still getting daily new cases of 46, 10, 12, 16, 30, 91, 24 over the last week or so. And they reopened back in mid May.

It would suggest that the Irish numbers are not unusual.

I dont know why but there seems to be a feeling around that we would contually stay below 10 per day and some think we could have got to 0. I dont see how either are or were feasible.

People have to get used to seeing case numbers fluctuate. Countries that have reopened like Denmark as you've mentioned are open over 2 months and have a level of cases where there isn't a spike, it just a continually reporting of cases